Mac Baren 7 Seas Regular Blend

(2.71)
Black cavendish and golden burleys. A soft and exceptionally mellow smoke. Delightful, aromatic taste. A true pleasure journey. New pouch description: golden Virginias are blended with selected light brown burleys and a large part of Virginia black cavendish. A loose cut tobacco with sweet vanilla and dark chocolate that is a good all day smoke.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Series 7 Seas
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Other / Misc, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 100 grams tin weight, 100 grams pouch weight, bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.71 / 4
23

51

31

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 118 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 31, 2014 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Reminiscent of coffee caramel chocolates and Bailey's Irish Cream Liqueur. In the same camp as Dan Tobacco's Milonga and Trout Stream. I don't get the Captain Black White (marshmallow) connection at all. Burns well. No goop. A bit of overenthusiastic puffing did scorch the roof of my mouth somewhat but this could simply be personal chemistry. I'm not particularly fond of coffee/caramel/cream flavourings, so this is a 2-star tobacco for me personally. Setting aside my personal taste preferences, I rate it 3 stars and heartily recommend all aromatic smokers give it a try.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The first paragraph of this review is the same for all of the 7 Seas blends, as it applies to all of them equally. This blend falls victim, as many aromatics do, to being reviewed against type. In this case Mac Baren was going for something very specific with the 7 Seas blends, and it makes no sense to review these in a vacuum and ignore that fact. Comparing this, for example, to the HH Line is like comparing a fruit smoothie and a steak as if they were the same thing. In this case the 7 Seas blends are reflections of very traditional american style aromatics. Within that context I think that they are very good (perhaps the best currently offered) reflections of that style of pipe tobacco. A significant caveat is that Mac Baren uses a base of virginia for these blends instead of burley. I personally like the result, as I find that they retain the American style and flavor, but offer a more well-rounded smoking experience with a little more depth of flavor and sweetness. Of course, they still use burley as well, so that flavor component is retained.

A major difference in my estimation is that flavor and quality of the cavendish. The cavendish found in american blends is often awful, with a strange odor and strong flavor that funks pipes and leaves an aftertaste. Mac Baren has a very fine cavendish which leaves no aftertaste, has softer, purer tobacco flavor, and has better smoking characteristics in that it burns and lights readily.

With respect to the burn characteristics of this blend, I find it is a nice smoke. It packs and lights easily, and stays lit without much effort. Of course, like most blends everything works better when it is not dripping wet. While I think the humidity is good out of the tin, I prefer to dry it out a little. All of the 7 Seas blends are very mild in terms of tongue bite.

This is a mild blend, and Mac Baren describes it as such. The flavor is described as having sweet vanilla and chocolate. This is my favorite of the 7 Seas blends, and I find it to have a slightly richer, fuller flavor than 7 Seas Royal. 7 Seas Red is a different animal and really does not warrant a comparison to this. While I do not find this to be have a strong chocolate flavor like some chocolate aromatics, it is a very nice mild smoke with hints of vanilla and chocolate. There is no bad aftertaste, and the tobacco flavor, while mild, is present.

Overall this a very satisfying smoke within its genre, and is worth having in rotation if you like a nice mild aromatic.
Pipe Used: Caminetto Full Bent Brandy
Age When Smoked: 1.5 years
52 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 15, 2015 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The first thing that strikes you is the vanilla and chocolate toppings, the latter being a little more noticeable. I also get a little caramel and a very mild fruitiness, which I believe comes from a topping as well. At times, I get a little butter, and every so often, a minor syrup note. The black cavendish is creamy smooth with some brown sugar as a supporting player. The Virginia cavendish provides honey, tart and tangy citrus, and light grass, and plays back up to the nutty, woody, earthy, molasses sweet burley. By design, the toppings do sublimate the tobaccos to a fair extent, but that’s hardly unusual for an aromatic, and often desired as well. A little moist out of the tin, but I wasn’t compelled to dry it any. Burns cool and clean at a reasonable rate with a few relights. The sweet flavor remains consistent from start to finish with no dull or harsh spots. The strength is mild, and the taste is just past the center of mild to medium. Has a mild nic-hit, and won’t bite even if pushed. Has no rough edges. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl without the goop so you can burn it to ash. A decidedly comfortable all day smooth smoke with a very pleasant after taste, and an enjoyable room note.

-JimInks
47 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 02, 2018 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
When I read some of these reviews my mouth has this unnatural dropping and find myself pushing it back to close position because of the large amounts of bull some people take the time to write out about this wonderful aromatic blend of high quality tobaccos, if you don't smoke aromatics then why are you smoking aromatics? And why are you writing a bogus review about a aromatic? Leave it to the tin hugging black pepper camp fire yuppy club to weird out pipe tobacco smoking there are weirdo's in every pile I guess. If your a new pipe smoker please ignore bogus reviews especially if they start off with "I dont usually smoke aromatics but" because aromatics are the top selling style pipe tobacco in the world for a reason just know that much now on to my review. Mac Baren 7 Seas Regular when you first smell it gives off a nice sweet tobacco smell with hints of chocolate and vanilla and in the background a almost coconut liquor smell with a slight whiff of raisins. Mac Baren modern cavendish always has such a unique smell I just love it and the taste of Mac Baren aromatics are truly epic in there own right. I also love the fact that the danish style blenders use 100% all natural toppings because always remember they must abide by a strict EU standard to NO ARTIFICIAL or CHEMICAL flavorings which is a plus when it comes to pipe tobacco. Upon lighting a bowl you will notice a chocolate with raisins taste and then you will notice a touch of vanilla in it, because everyone taste tobacco differently you may notice many types of unique tones as you smoke down but with depth and weight its smooth but robust and maintains its taste very well. This blend is alot sweeter then the Royal version and alittle sweeter with more chocolate but the tobacco taste shines right through and is well rounded. There is nothing grassy about it, no earthy tones, it might be slightly nutty from the burley but barely and does not taste funky it just taste like sweet tobacco as I described above. The nicotine level is quite low but the room note is very pleasant and offend nobody. This blend is so good and so smooth it can be a all day smoke easily but alittle pricey for most 7 Seas can be purchased in bulk which is the same quality and the same pipe tobacco as the tin. I highly recommend this blend because its actually that good and guarantee it to be a tasty treat that I'm sure will keep you coming back for more because its that awesome. Mac Baren did a great job at blending a pipe tobacco that is close to a American style aromatic but still has that Danish touch, the difference is all in there modern cavendish unlike American black cavendish is not super wet and ultra sweet and done with Virginia tobaccos resulting in a crisper taste and sweet in a natural way, that makes all the difference in the world when it comes to Mac Baren's aromatic blends which separate there's from the rest rightfully so. Mac Baren's 7 Seas Line (does not) resemble Lanes Captain Black line whatsoever and in no way, shape or form taste like one another. Mac Baren 7 Seas line stands as there own in taste, quality and uniqueness. Mac Baren 7 Seas is mostly sold in the United States to appeal to American pipe smokers so there marketing is right on and makes perfect sense. If your new to pipe smoking this blend is golden and its perfect to either start out with or add to your collection. A proper pipe smoker is a well rounded pipe smoker and enjoys tobacco in general, you like what you like not because its the cool thing to do or not do, if it taste good freaking smoke it!!! Thank for reading my nice and long review this blend has been a pleasure to smoke and more of a pleasure to write about, God bless you and God bless America. Support your right to smoke tobacco and support your tobacco growers and shops. Have a goodnight my friends.
Pipe Used: Peterson CnS Pipes
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 39
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2015 Very Mild Very Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
7 Seas Regular smoked like a typical Mac Baren enhanced Burley blend. Nice flavor with a bit of top note and flavor that was added. In this instance, I was struck by a somewhat caramel/vanilla hint along with the Burley which was not very strong and processed to the point where it would be difficult to get tongue bite no matter how hard one puffed. The leaf burned very fast and the smoke was lightly enjoyable.

Pipestud
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2014 Very Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The main flavor is dark chocolate, out of the pouch and in the smoke. After the half of the bowl a natural burley flavor takes the lead, which can be a little bitter at times and reminds me of Prince Albert. I got it once really wet in the pouch and once a little dried out. The dry tobacco smoked better, but was harsher and less refined. The moist tobacco tasted better, but was a little harder to smoke cool. Large bowls are preferred, as the flavor comes out much better.

Let's face it, this is a cheap tobacco and you get what you pay for, but it is a good allday smoke, if you are into that style. For the price, it gets an additional star.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 08, 2010 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Wow..!!!

Fair dues to Mac Baren, this is a sleeper on the aromatic front. I only discovered this today when my newsagent in England (and one of the very few left in my area that sell a variety of pipes AND tobacco) waved this under my nose and said in his native pidgeon English tongue.."This one new sir...This one new!"

Mac Baren 7 seas?!?! Never heard of that before. So out of the three that were available in this range, I opted for the 'regular blend' because it says it has a cocoa and vanilla taste/aroma to it.

Well, this is quite a surprise from Mac Blowtorch.....because there is absolutely no bite whatsoever from this superlative blend. Saying that it is what it is, an aromatic. So what? It's not actually a crime to be an aromatic, or for that matter to like one. Most tobacco's are, including those that like the Latakia's under the English banner (myself included).

This blend was a REAL surprise. It actually smoked like it smelt (A rather nice concoction of chocolate with a hint of vanilla) It smoked utterly dry with no goopiness, yea sure it got a fraction toasty in the last few millimetres of the bowl, but what aromatic doesn't?!?!? I generally tend to smoke aro's with 9mm filters to keep the moisture, and heat out of the smoke should it be there.

Not a trace of the Mac Baren honey flavour at all, and I'm one of those who find MB blends relatively similar. (Mixture, Navy Flake, etc) This should be promoted immeadiately to '50gm/100gm tin available' status.

I wasn't looking for the rich tobacco taste nor the 'N' word hay- maker, because I knew it wouldn't be there. Primarily because I knew what I was smoking. An aromatic. However, for when I need to smoke in company, such as waiting to go into bat on a Saturday/Sunday afternoon during the cricket season, this was a real team/crowd pleaser.

This enhanced by the fact that I was smoking it in a churchwarden (always novelty value for the un-initiated) was a real visually quintessential and oral-factory experience for smoker and observer alike. All whilst sat on the bench of the thatched pavillion, with summers evening shadows stretching across the field of play to the sounds of blackbirds melodically chirruping nearby.

Just as the local church bells tolled 6pm there's a cry of HOWZAT!!! And the thin blue aromatic wisps of SSRB's chocolatey/vanilla smoke that have been drifting out to deep mid- on from my direction, slowly dissipate, as I place down the long- shanked briar, and stride out to place leather on willow!

Well done McBaren. (For a change)

Still, the three stars you get from me (Coz I'm a VA man at heart) will only stand tall if you make this blend available in massive tins!!!! This is certainly comparable to my other aro fav's such as those by Peterson so why not tin it?

Give it a go all, but remember to take it for what it is...

Even the missus, (who thinks everything else I smoke, from Penzance to Erinmore to FVF, smell's of dead old men's clothing, and in turn, begs me the question as to how she knows what that smells like in the first place ?!?) thinks that this is acceptable........she being a women, and this being chocolate after all!!!!

Still, the floor......or rather, the 'bowl' is yours.

I'd say it's certainly comparable to Navy flake by the same blender.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 07, 2018 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Having gone through quite a bit of pouches of this tobacco the last couple of months i can honestly say this is a great aromatic tobacco for a cheap price.

Upon opening the pouch you immediately get a wiff of vanilla and chocolate and a secondary nosing of it will reveal the smell of pure tobacco. Same goes for the smoking of it. You tend to get quite a bit of the vanilla and chocolate taste in the first half of the bowl and more of a pure tobacco, burley, taste in the latter half of the bowl. That is something i like very much about it.

The room note is great and very pleasant. I have gotten quite a bit of positive comments about this one from people passing by and even my girlfriend likes it a lot.

I cant say anything about the tinned version since i cant seem to find it here in Denmark but the tobacco in the pouch comes perfectly smokeable. Not to wet and not to dry. It will bite when provoked but so does every tobacco.

It is Mac Barens version of an American OTC aromatic tobacco a la Captain Black but with tobacco of better quality and not as heavely cased and therefore not so goopy.

You can find better aromatic tobacco ofcourse but for the price and the quality you get it cant be beat. A great all day tobacco that will satisfy a sweettooth and the people around him. It never seems to bore me.
Pipe Used: Falcon Coolway and many others
PurchasedFrom: Danish Pipe Shop
Age When Smoked: Fresh from Pouch
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 20, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
7 Seas Regular.

One of the rarer aromatics which isn't awash with black Cavendish. The Cav' enhances the flavour with vanilla but doesn't take over. The majority of 7 Seas flavour goes to the chocolatey sweet Burley. It burns well from beginning to end remaining free from bite. There isn't a great deal of nicotine and the room-note makes it one to smoke in company!

Not great, not bad, but a pleasant enough blend for three stars.

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Butz Choquin
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 23, 2016 Mild to Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
As a pipe smoker that is happy with smoking Captain black regular. I have been toying with the idea of trying out Macbaren's seven seas blends. I was told that Mac Barens is a copy of captain black. The captains regular is the same as Mac's regular. Well it's not! Mac Baren hit this out of the park a grand slam. The moment you open the tin the notes of cocoa and rich chocolate with vanilla is so creamy and balanced. The flavor comes through so well the entire smoke. I am jumping ship with the captain and setting sail on the seven seas. If you love aromatics you will love this. Ready right out of the tin and is a cool no bite smoke.
Pipe Used: Savinelli
Age When Smoked: Fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 11, 2018 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I have been trying to pinpoint why I like this aromatic much more than similar blends. Blends of black Cavendish, burley and Virginia tobacco topped with chocolate and vanilla seem to be ubiquitous in most brands' lineups. However, 7 Seas is no Captain Black.

The tobacco itself is pretty mild, but hints of Virginias and Burleys come through. The cocoa topping is at front of the flavor profile with vanilla playing a supportive role—which is one reason why I tend to favor this blend over more vanilla heavy concoctions.

The other reason why 7 Seas Regular has become one of my favorite aromatic blends is that is very well behaved. It packs well and burns clean and not too hot. I just keep coming back to this blend.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"