Peterson De Luxe Navy Rolls

(3.56)
De Luxe Navy Rolls are made in Denmark using hand-stripped Virginia tobaccos from Brazil and Africa, married with perique from Louisiana. This recipe produces an aromatic smoke with natural tobacco flavors and lovely sweet notes.
Notes: Formerly known as Dunhill Deluxe Navy Rolls, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Curly Cut
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.56 / 4
143

48

16

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 210 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 12, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
3rdguy

Top tier VaPer that is a must try if that is your lane. I do find it sweeter than Escudo which it is often compared to. Escudo also has a slight cigarette taste to me which is not a bad thing, they are slightly different and I enjoy both. I cellared deep on this one several years ago and it ages fantastic.

Glad I did as I see it is approaching $18 USD a tin currently..
Pipe Used: briars and cobs
Age When Smoked: Numerous tins, fresh to 9 years of age.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2013 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I spent a few days comparing the new version of this to the Murray's, in addition to comparing both with old and new Escudo, and the following is my opinion on the differences. The Murray's version is superior to the later versions. It was richer and fuller in taste with a natural tangy ripe and dried dark fruit, woody, earthy, lightly bready and grassy Virginia sweetness that was wonderfully complimented by the plum and peppery, raisiny, figgy perique. The latter was a supporting player. It was also a tad more floral than the later versions. Light prune and licorice were the toppings.

The new version is still very good, but less sweet than before (though still more so than Escudo), a little less richer in taste, and maybe slightly less peppery than the Murray's version. And there are hay/grass notes in the current rendition that were barely present before, though I still get some of the fig accents. It looks and tastes more like Escudo than the Murray's did, too. Many say - and some have gone to great lengths to prove - that the new Navy Rolls and Escudo are one and same, as both are apparently produced in the same factory. They are more similar than they had been in past times, and the basic tobaccos used may well be similar or the same, but there is a taste difference. Navy Rolls is a little sweeter, still a little earthier, still slightly stronger, even with the now lightly noticeable hay/grass flavor that is more prominent in the drier tasting Escudo. Escudo’s floral note is a hair less, and it doesn’t seem to possess the very light licorice and prune toppings either. Maybe there is something in the tangy dark fruity, earthy, woody, bready, lightly floral Virginias used in Navy Rolls that provides the difference, or perhaps it's a light casing of some kind that isn't obvious to the touch or tongue, but it's not exactly like the current Escudo in my estimation.

Navy Rolls still a four star mixture, though not as good as before. It may cost a little more than Escudo, but I think it's worth the difference. Some may disagree with me, and perhaps they'll notice or not some of the flavors I get from the new Navy Rolls. It's all a judgement call. The important thing for the current smoker to know is whether or not he/she likes it, and is willing to buy it.

The strength and taste levels, as always, are medium. The nic-hit is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium. Never had a chance to bite you in any version, though there’s always been a few rough edges. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires some relights. The flavor has always been mostly consistent with a pleasant, lightly lingering after taste and lightly stronger room note. Can be nearly an all day smoke for the veteran.

-JimInks
102 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2014 Medium to Strong Very Mild Full Tolerable to Strong
It seems there are a number of reviewers on here that believe that this is the exact same tobacco as Escudo. Yes, the evidence would tend to suggest that they are the same. Same producer, same size coin, ect. I would contend that they are not the same, but similar. In my opinion, DNR has a slight edge over Escudo. I have opened a tin of each and smelled them side by side. The tin aroma is definitely different. DNR has a slightly more ketchup smell to it in the tin. But once you light them up, DNR is a more full and flavorful smoke. I love both, so please don't take this as a negative comment on Escudo. They are both great VaPers. DNR is just a hair better for me. And I don't base that on price, because I strongly disagree that a more expensive tobacco is automatically great. I have had some very inexpensive tobaccos that hit it out of the park for me. These reviews are so enjoyable to read, because people are so subjective and everyone has a different taste. I have bought tobacco based on reviews and hated it. I have bought tobacco on a whim with no review and loved it. All I can say on this one is that DNR is very similar to Escudo, but I think DNR is slightly superior. (For me!) If you aren't that picky, then get the cheapest one and you cant go wrong, because they are both excellent, high quality smokes in my book!
Age When Smoked: <1 yr
47 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant
I was on a business trip in Halle an der Saale, Germany, and I always make a point of stopping by "Tabak Kleiner". They have one of the best selections of pipe tobaccos I've come across in recent years. I always try something new, and the owner recommended Dunhill's De Luxe Navy Rolls. I'd never tried a VaPer before, so I was intrigued. In this day and age of mass produced wares, I was pleasantly surprised by the product presentation, with the discs of rolled tobacco (obviously) packed by hand in such a way that it is a delight to look at!

The tin note is reminiscent of raisins and prunes, though certainly not sweet. I detect no additional flavouring whatsoever. The moisture content of the discs is rather high, so I left a few out overnight to dry. The next day, they were easily rubbed and had just the right consistency for packing.

This tobacco lights up very nicely (after some drying as noted above) on just 2 matches and does not need a relight. I was also pleasantly surprised that DLNR provides a cool smoke with no tongue bite, something I have not experienced with many other VA blends.

The smoke has a taste I find indescribable. It is most certainly the Perique I'm detecting, which is never overpowering, but always present enough to intrigue and please. It is spicy, but not a peppery kind of spice. I find the natural sweetness of the VA just right. This is a very well balanced smoke!

The tobacco burns down to a fine grey ash and leaves no dottle. I would not recommend this tobacco for beginners because it is a bit too complex for the unexperienced. Not that it is difficult to smoke, just that it is too good NOT to be appreciated. I highly recommend DLNR for the distinguishing connoisseur. This tobacco will please both lovers of English as well as those who prefer natural (unflavoured) aromatics.
Pipe Used: Vauen bent billiard
PurchasedFrom: Tabak Kleiner, Halle (Saale), Germany
Age When Smoked: new
44 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 22, 2002 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I scarfed a tin of this blend off Ebay a couple of months ago. I am not sure whether it can readily be purchased in the U.S., or not.

The discs are easily crumbled, and the packing is also very easy. This particular blend comes a bit drier than many of the Dunhill tobaccos.

I think this is better by far than Three Nuns or Escudo. Those two blends have way too much Perique for me to consume regularly. As is typical of Dunhill, the Virginia base is top notch. Perique, if very subdued, can be tolerated by my palate, and I detected just a smidgen of the Louisiana goo in this particular blend.

If you fancy laid-back Perique blends with full flavor, then join Dunhill's Navy, otherwise, ship out on a different boat.
34 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2014 Medium Mild Medium Tolerable to Strong
Two coins folded, kneaded and stuffed produces a long, consistent and utterly delicious smoke. The perique is deep and alternately fruity and tangy, with enough refined pepper to keep the tongue awake and the nostrils singing. The Virginias are of the highest quality, edged with a little crisp hay, but for the most part presenting a raisin-like sweetness that aligns wonderfully with the perique's bassier plum. The pepper mellows toward the mid-point of the bowl and by the end the flavours cohere into something approaching liquorice.

Overall, a rich, luscious, truly 'luxury' blend.
Pipe Used: Bent meerschaum
Age When Smoked: 6 months
33 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2013 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Dunhill has long occupied a "Luxury" niche in the world of tobacco, asking and getting high prices that are widely believed to reflect high quality and attention to detail that - one supposes - characterize products offered to well-heeled patrons of the exclusive, clubby establishments that sell Dunhill's offerings. In this respect, DNR well reflects Dunhill's image. Tobacco, preparation, presentation, handling and smoking qualities are all first class. Tin note is dark, figgy raisin bread. When I fold, spindle and stuff a couple of "coins", it takes some persistence to light it. Once lit, it takes regular but minimal attention to keep it going. Absent some stirring, I often wind up with sort of a semi-obstructive "briquette" at the bottom of the bowl. But I owe this latter to my "technique" rather than any fault of DNR and, no doubt, others will have no idea what I'm going on about.

The initial taste of DNR has a nice balance between the "mellow", stoved and aged VAs and the very interesting Perique used for this blend, which features a slight mustiness, overripe figs and plums, along with light pepper-type spices. But the glory of DNR is realized as it is smoked down, and the flavor and the aroma become richer, evolving into a "bigger", more complex and interesting smoke. This is not only a matter of sugar, though this is a factor, but the VA tobacco and the Perique quotient both ramp up, sharpening somewhat, and there are often notes of exotic "Asian" spices, as well, and all within a still-balanced tobacco profile.

Though DNR is not really a "big" blend, it reminds me of certain big Bordeaux that are tightly knit yet not unyielding of their complexities, and I find much to like and nothing not to like about DNR. The aftertaste is 3-phase, with phase 1 being a cool-down lap of the end of the smoke; phase 2 being the "spent campfire"; and phase 3 being VA sugar and memory of Asian spice.

Like any really good tobacco, DNR might not smoke exactly the same twice; but it is always an interesting, enjoyable, satisfying smoke. Setting aside the cost, highly recommended to VA/Per aficionados. I should add before closing that as DNR dries, its flavors begin to delineate, to the extent that the non-tobacco additives (one in particular) are plainly revealed as such. For this reason I like to keep my stash near original tin moisture.
Pipe Used: various briars
PurchasedFrom: Liberty Tobacco
Age When Smoked: fresh to 2+ years
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
With Escudo being one of my favorite all time blends, I had to compare an aged tin of each, especially since the cost of DNR is about 20% more here in the US. I compared a tin of earlier Orlik production of DNR bought in Europe several years ago. I used a tin of Escudo of similar age. If I were look at both blends in the tin, I don’t think there would be any way to tell them apart. However there is a noticeable difference in the scent of each tobacco. I smoked my older tin of DNR is the same fashion I currently smoke Escudo by thickly unrolling the coins and breaking them into pieces. DNR is sweet, and the Perique comes clearly though the smoke. In addition to the sweetness, there is an earthiness to DNR that I don’t find in Escudo. I find DNR to be richer in taste, but that doesn’t mean better. It is also stronger in the nic department too. I am going to disagree with some of the other posts as I find aged Escudo to be a little sweeter than aged DNR. Since DNR was produced in England at one point by Murray’s prior to being moved to Denmark to be produced by Orlik, Orlik would likely have had to change the component tobacco percentages in order to produce the same blend sold under two different names. I think that is unlikely. In the end, Deluxe Navy Rolls is IMHO a fantastic VaPer.
Age When Smoked: 5 or 6 years
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 04, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
After all the hype on here for this blend, I decided to give a tin a go. And, boy, was it worth it. Upon opening the tin, the coins are obviously hand packed with care and the tin note is just wonderful. The taste on lighting was great and did not disappoint in any way as the tobacco burned to a nice ash at the bottom of the pipe. Once lit, it stays lit with little effort needed. The nicotine content is a very healthy dose, so those who are affected by it, beware it might have you weak kneed after about half a bowl. As others have noted, this is a bit more expensive than other blends, but well worth the extra cash. Highly recommended.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2014 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium Very Pleasant
Dunhill - De Luxe Navy Rolls.

Very neatly presented, sort of overlapping. They arrive a little too damp, but not majorly so. However, for an optimum smoke a quick airing is beneficial.

The smoke has a wonderfully fruity/tangy note of Perique to it, without totally monopolizing the smoke leaving no room for the Virginia. I get a superb, cool, burn, that gives me no tongue bite. Another thing to note is it gets even more enjoyable as the bowl goes on; the Perique seems to become richer.

The nicotine: nearly strong. The room-note: quite pleasant.

A steadfast four star smoke:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a supermodel of a tobacco. Gaunt, serious, faultless. The presentation in the tin is beautiful. Dominated by virginias from the tin note on, the smoking experience is light and clean. The perique doesn't assert itself until well into the bowl but is excellently married throughout.

I give this full marks because the style is what it is and DNR seems to exemplify the VaPer experience.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"