Dan Tobacco Old Ironsides

(3.29)
This hardy blend celebrates the oldest battleship in the U.S. Navy, the U.S.S. Constitution. This blend is a latakia lovers dream. A high percentage of Cyprian latakia is complimented by Kentucky, Oriental, and Virginia tobaccos. Cake aged for twelve weeks, this flake cut blend is full and cool smoking.

Details

Brand Dan Tobacco
Series American History Mixtures
Blended By Dan Tobacco
Manufactured By Dan Tobacco
Blend Type Balkan
Contents Kentucky, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
62

43

12

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 124 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 24, 2005 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Not a Penzance clone. Excellent burn qualities, as it smokes cool and dry with a brilliant white ash. My reason for withholding the fourth star is the quality of the non-oriental component. I am not able to say whether it is the virginia or the kentucky that gives Old Ironsides a sharpish edge which diminishes the overall experience. Nonetheless, a very pleasant smoke.

The best Balkan flake in my experience has been Abu Riha, a flake made in England for G de Graaff and Sons of the Hague. In the mid-nineties I was able to obtain a couple of dozen tins but subsequent efforts to locate some have not been successful.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2005 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Strong
The tobacconist sold this as a Penzance clone with a stronger kick. Since I've never tried Penzance, I can't compare the two, but to me, it's a one dimensional latakia smoke, which isn't to knock it down--I just prefer a blend that is a bit more varied, like Dunhill 965.

As far as knocking me on the floor with its punch, I was somewhat disappointed. I found this to be a cool..and, yes, creamy smoke, but not overwhelming in strength--though it is full. I didn't have a problem packing this like some suggested. It rubbed out very nicely and lit with ease despite its flake form, burning consistently throughout.

Honestly, I need something more in this, so I've been blending in a little perique to diversify the taste, with nice results. I will say that I was a chump to buy this for $13, as I have seen it advertised online for less than $9..and I would buy it again, at the latter price.

UPDATE:

I'm upping this from three to four stars. I've got around ten blends on hand and I keep turning back to this..to the point that I don't bother adding anymore blending Perique but instead throw some of this into my Elizabethan Mixture. It's nice and rich, so it makes its presence known right away. Good stuff. Still wouldn't pay $13 though.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 22, 2002 Medium to Strong None Detected Extra Full Strong
I normally don't smoke Latakia but this was in a nicely prepared, moist flake form that I prefer. Mostly black in color, the tin aroma = high test latakia. The taste and room aroma are similar. I made the error of trying a bowl before dinner and still had the tobacco taste with my desert. However, after dinner, this cool, creamy and rich smoke is really enjoyed. I can't judge the influence of the other tobaccos in this blend due to the latakia dominance but the end result is good. You should probably dedicate a pipe or two just for this blend since the intense flavor impacts the bowl and effects other tobaccos even after several complete cleanings. The room aroma is not accepted by my family members and I therefore smoke this blend only outdoors. Even this can be a problem. On a recent trip to Vegas, I was puffing while walking between casinos and received many stares and several negative comments from others. Naturally, none were pipe smokers. In fact, I was surprised that over the week that I spent there, I only saw one fellow puffer. With this in mind but considering your own needs, if you enjoy Latakia, this one is a must try.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 29, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I enjoyed my time with this one. This blend is right up my alley. It has all the flavors and complexity of a balkan, but a substantial amount of body thanks to the kentucky used in the blend. It made smoking this one a joy to me.

The Kentucky does not overpower this blend in taste or nicotine as it is prone to do with many blends in which it is used. In fact, I could not necessarily distinguish it on its own; whereas, the latakia and oriental presence was out front all the way in varying shades. the flavor shifts in this one against a very smooth and somewhat creamy background.

The flakes were not necessarily presented well, like most flakes in a round tin, but they were easy to work with and were at the perfect moisture level upon opening. The tin I had was 10 yrs aged and the latakia still tasted as fresh cyprian latakia should to my tastes. If I was still buying tobacco, I would buy more of this one to scratch the latakia itch.
Age When Smoked: 10yrs1mth
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2022 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
Well, this is not going to be an objective review! This tobacco is the one I love. I just love this one! This is the perfect tobacco for me. Truly a friend. Everytime I lit this one I feel home. Immediately. I've been given this mana by my inner man as the archetype of my inner strength. The taste and aroma is just godly. My wife told me that if you pick the right perfume you are not able to smell it on yourself but the others are. The same goes for this tobacco for me. I can't distinguish the particular tastes here. It just work togheter to give an absolute delightful symphony. A masterpiece!

Smoke and drive: Guess what! A heaven! I can imagine smoking this one even on a bike or during lovemaking 🙂
Pipe Used: cob, Krška
PurchasedFrom: etrafika.cz
Age When Smoked: from fresh to 1 year old
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 14, 2021 Medium to Strong None Detected Extra Full Tolerable
This is one of my preferred tobaccos. If you liked HH Macbaren Latakia and Old Dark Fired, THIS will make you feel as the USS Constitution in the middle of the Ocean. Love it!

On the other side, after the first tin , I would add that this tobacco is not a every-day smoke for sure. I think is a special tobacco for special moments. It's very strong and can really shake you somehow.
Pipe Used: Rattrey's Joy
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 14, 2021 Medium None Detected Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm smoking this for the first time in maybe twenty years. It was one of my first encounters with Latakia as I was transitioning from bulk aromatics back then, and I recall at the time that I found it almost overwhelming but intriguing enough to finish the tin. I've since run the gamut of Balkan / English mixtures (and all other manner of blends) and found myself feeling nostalgic enough to give it another go.

The presentation is one of a solid flake of mostly black leaf with streaks of lighter brown tobacco in rather sparse measure. The tin note is pure campfire and well-done meat.

Needless to say, Latakia takes center stage here, but to dismiss this flake as a simple Lat bomb does it a disservice because whatever amount of the other ingredients are in here do a fantastic job in support of the lead. The relative pinches of Virginia and Orientals lend the Latakia a well rounded flavor that prevents it from devolving into a tire fire as you make your way through the bowl, and the Kentucky gives it a nice jab that puts the FU in full. As such, the flavor has a remarkably consistent and somewhat addictive steak-y quality to it that makes you not even miss the salad and baked potato. There is little to no dottle left and no moisture in the bowl at the end of this feast. You may well find that it fatigues your taste buds a bit to the point of feeling like your tongue is wearing a overcoat, but it will not bite or heat up your pipe no matter how hard you push it. I'd recommend it be your last smoke of the day if you're not used to it, and I can't count it as an all-day smoke no matter how much I like it. And if your significant other finds the room note pleasant, you've got a keeper. I know I do.

I'm glad I came back to this blend. It's easy to dismiss tobaccos like this as unsophisticated Lat bombs with little thought given to balance or complexity, but Old Ironsides is not an indiscriminate instrument of war, but rather like the ship itself, an example of how old-fashioned craftsmanship can merge elegance and power seamlessly. A must for the Latakia aficionado.

Pipe Used: Tinder Box Sherlock Holmes LE Calabash
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2018 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant
English Flake Nirvana! Well worth the wait and hunt to get ahold of. If you like English blends and Latakia this ones an absolute must to try.
Pipe Used: Peterson Dublin Edition Sandblasted (B57) Fishtail
Age When Smoked: 2 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 22, 2015 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
With a 4am wake up and coffee in hand I pulled a tin of this out for my wakeup smoke. I love a strong blend and this delivers. Packs in a bowl very well. Lit with one match. Tamp and smoked for an hour plus. Very earthy and nutty taste from start to finish. Heavy smoke as well. Goes in and out of my rotation.
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: JR'S Cigar Outlet
Age When Smoked: Tin - 1 year old
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 25, 2012 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
How much can a man love a tobacco? I'd sleep with Dan on a bed of this crumbly flake and have no regrets in the morning.

It is just great. I do not think there is much more that I can say that other reviewers have not mentioned. Except maybe that I do get a touch of anise, and slightly burnt cob nuts. I also found my tin labelling funny. It came with a German health warning, which I peeled off only to find a printed health warning in English underneath. I guess this particular tin was destined for export!

In my rotation? If I did not know of Peterson's Perfect Plug and S. Gawith's FVF there would be no rotation!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"