Dan Tobacco Old Ironsides

(3.29)
This hardy blend celebrates the oldest battleship in the U.S. Navy, the U.S.S. Constitution. This blend is a latakia lovers dream. A high percentage of Cyprian latakia is complimented by Kentucky, Oriental, and Virginia tobaccos. Cake aged for twelve weeks, this flake cut blend is full and cool smoking.

Details

Brand Dan Tobacco
Series American History Mixtures
Blended By Dan Tobacco
Manufactured By Dan Tobacco
Blend Type Balkan
Contents Kentucky, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
62

43

12

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 124 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This tin has been very weird for me, because it started off one way and ended up differently.

Tin note: When I opened the tin, I was blown away and said to myself “Wow, this sure smells good!” I could detect a good amount of leathery oriental and latakia. Leathery, woody, smoky, spicy. Quite strong actually. However, as time went by, they changed to a more floral scent with some market spices.

Cut & Moisture: The flakes are not in the best shape, and since the tobacco came quite moist in the tin, the flakes were stuck together and broke when I tried to separate them. However, once dried, you can actually pack the pipe with folded flakes, since they are easy to pack unlike other flakes, but it will need some relights.

The smoke: Same as it happened with the tin note, at first there were leathery notes and it was really smoky. Tangy at times, probably from the kentucky, yet still delivering a sweet taste and lots of smoky and leathery notes.

The first description I gave to this blend was: This is Nightcap’s balkan brother. First lines I wrote about it were “The smoke is both creamy and spicy. To make some comparisons, I’d say it has the creaminess of Margate, the straight-in-the-face leathery orientals of London Mixture and the latakia of Nightcap, however only with the kentucky added, to make it even more complex and straight in the face. This would be Nightcap’s balkan brother. And indeed, it’s perfectly defined as a balkan since the balance of orientals and latakia are perfect, unlike an english blend. For those who think that SG’s Commonwealth Mixture has a lot of latakia, they probably didn’t try this one. There is a complex taste and flavor to this tobacco that it really surprises you when you take the first smokes. There is a high quality oriental that delivers both floral and leathery notes, a kentucky that gives just a little spice, a virginia that gives a good amount of sweetness and the latakia which is smoky, woody but also sweet. It’s a dance of flavors! It is by no means a dull tobacco. It has its complexities given by the orientals and the kentucky which change and dance with the latakia, and the virginia is the one that keeps them burning and dancing.”

However, this has changed. The smoky character is almost gone, and so is the leathery taste. Now it’s floral and sweet with some cinnamon notes, thyme, oregano, rosemary, juniper, figs, anise and even a bit of vanilla. There’s spiciness which can be from the orientals and the kentucky. The latakia has laid back, unlike it was when I first had the first bowls.

It probably contains basma and izmir, however the izmir is probably in a higher amount.

It’s still very good, but I would’ve preferred if it remained the same as it was when I opened the tin. I prefer a leathery and smoky blend instead of a floral, herbal and bit fruity blend. I will most likely buy another tin, and when I do, I’ll be able to have a better impression of this blend.

This baby is definitely medium to full.

Delivers a thick, cold, and dry smoke. The room note is quite strong, so I don’t suggest smoking this in the presence of non smokers
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 14, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Before trying this, I remember a friend describing it as a "Latakia railroad track of a blend". Well ... the latakia is present in this one, and is quite a fore front, but not the sole player by a long shot. It is no doubt a strong blend that starts off with a latakia scent, full and smokey, but as being a complex blend it carries off into a spicy, earthy and quite fiery Kentucky direction. The first half of the bowl is smoky rich with a hint of sweetness, from the Virginia, while the latter part evolves into the fiery/spicy Kentucky, which at first is not that obvious. The orientals are a mystery, one can get a scent here and there, but the main balance is a battle between latakia and the kentucky. I guess the blend wouldn't taste the same without that oriental leaf, but it sure isn't a major component. Vitamin N is present in quite a dose. I smoke this in a no 4 Dunhill pot, which gives one a fix to the point I feel a little light headed if I stubbornly finish the bowl in one sitting. Not an everyday blend for me, a good blend, but not a day in and day out smoke ... perhaps a good digestive after a rich meal. Overall 3.5/4 because I am not that big of a fan of strong Kentucky, but a good blend non the less. Mine was not obviously moist out of the tin, although I did drain the pipe a couple of times.
Pipe Used: Dunhill no 4 pot
PurchasedFrom: https://www.danpipe.de/
Age When Smoked: roughly 1 year
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2019 Medium None Detected Full Strong
Summary: a sweet English with depth of flavor.

This blend makes the venerable English into dense flakes, which brings out the sweetness of the Virginias and reduces the tang of the Orientals to a slight vinegar-bittersweet flavor which melds with the Kentucky Burley to give the blend a bit of spice. On top of that, the Latakia injects a warm smoky flavor, and when taken as a whole, the blend performs like a sweet English with some depth to it and strength behind it. These flakes, less dense than the UK variety, burn easily and smolder long, making this tobacco perfect for long drives when you want something to think about other than the mile markers ticking past.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
You know itll have enough lat for ya when you rub it out and you have lat dust on your hands.

has a very nice tin note. fist the lat hits you then you smell the nice sour fermented virginias which to me smell very quality.

when smoked you get the lat first, thats pretty par for the course. the orientals come in shortly after that, and lay a nice kinda sunflower seed flavor to the mix. aftter a few minutes with it you can get some sweetness from the Va's. but in my opinion not enough, it could use some more imo. but all in all this is a solid balkin style flake. and im gonna get a few tins to age, figure ill let one go for 3-5 years and one for 10 years.

now its not what i would call a lat bomb but its not mild with the lat. i would suggest this and i would buy again but tht being said its not ever going to be a part of my daily rotation. so i would give it 2 1/2 stars but cant do 1/2 stars so ill give it a solid 3.
Pipe Used: cob,falcon,brebia paneled dublin
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 24, 2017 Strong None Detected Very Full Tolerable to Strong
Listed as a Balkan there is some sweet and sour noticed during the smoke which offsets the smokiness of the Latakia and Kentucky to create another successful straightforward blend from Dan Tobacco. Rich in flavor from the quality tobacco, this blend does not need a topping or strong casing to carry it. I could still taste it on my breath the following day but it was a welcome obtrusion like finding some leftover Remoulade in your beard from the night before.
PurchasedFrom: Iwan Ries
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 28, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Broken flakes with optimum moisture, dark brown. The smell is smoked by distinguishing two types, the resinous aroma of latakia and the dry woody of fired kentucky. It is a mixture dominated by latakia and kentucky, these appear at the beginning of the smoke, later the oriental are shown as spice, I do not encounter virginia, the smoke is not sweet, it is very dry. It is a potent mix for lovers of latakia, highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Stanwell
PurchasedFrom: Duaso tobacco shop from Barcelona
Age When Smoked: New from new tin
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
This is a very good blend overall. The Oriental's lead the way just a little. They are musty, slightly floral, and have that buttermilk like sourness to them. This is trailed by the Lat., which is smokey and sweet, with hints of old leather here and there. The KY comes within a few puffs once it is going good. I get some earthiness and a slight spice which may be from the KY or perhaps the VA which is a little sweet but not overly so. It is way in the background. The finish is about average and the nic hit is closer to the mild to med. end. The flakes come ready to fold or rub no need to dry.
Age When Smoked: 2 yrs.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Smooth the Latakia and Kentucky create a kind of salty sweetness when mixed with the oriental and Virginia, which adds a bit of vegetal notes and woody spice. Tastes like a Balkan blend, well balanced and easy to smoke fast doesn't get too hot, and does not cause any Dottle.. the broken flake in my tin was pretty much ready to go with no drying time needed and rubs apart easily. You've gotta enjoy Latakia / Kentucky to enjoy this blend.. it's not one I reach for all the time, but has its place in my cellar.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 08, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
I can't say I liked this blend. I found it somewhat monochromatic. That is to say it lacks complexity. From beginning to end the flavor is consistent and overwhelming. I usually like dark English flakes but this one doesn't seem to have much to recommend it. The latakia predominates in a way that is just overpowering and I can't get any other flavors to come through. Even when slow sipped there is but a single taste. Not my cup of tea. If Latakia is something you can't get enough of this might be your blend but for me Latakia is and should be a condiment tobacco and in this blend it's dominant.
Pipe Used: GBD 9438
Age When Smoked: six minths
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 10, 2014 Medium None Detected Very Full Strong
Tobacco was a little drier than I prefer. It has lot's of Latakia. However, it has none of the sweetness that a blend like Odyssey has. I just found nothing special about this blend.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"