Dan Tobacco Old Ironsides

(3.30)
This hardy blend celebrates the oldest battleship in the U.S. Navy, the U.S.S. Constitution. This blend is a latakia lovers dream. A high percentage of Cyprian latakia is complimented by Kentucky, Oriental, and Virginia tobaccos. Cake aged for twelve weeks, this flake cut blend is full and cool smoking.

Details

Brand Dan Tobacco
Series American History Mixtures
Blended By Dan Tobacco
Manufactured By Dan Tobacco
Blend Type Balkan
Contents Kentucky, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.30 / 4
63

43

12

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 63 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 26, 2002 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Old Ironsides will ram you, boys! Even lovers of most Latakia infested blends will surely cry "uncle" with this one. Whew! I needed to brush my teeth for a week after smoking Old Ironsides before my wife let me back in bed. Seriously, this is quite strong as well as full of flavor. The Virginia element was a little overwhelmed by the Lat bomb within, but I think I did taste it some. The Orientals never had a chance.

I gotta get more of this stuff!

35 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 20, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Unnoticeable
A Very very flavorful mixture. Really enjoyed this, comes in a broken flake. I rubbed it out slightly, packed and smoked it immediately no drying time. Smoked wonderfully right out of the tin.

Has a super rich flavor, not your average latakia mixture by any means. I think the kentucky has a strong role in developing this taste, but not overbearing on the other components.

Smoke this last if you plan on sampling other blends in your session as it will seriously leave an impression on your palate that you can't shake off. I consider that a good thing though.

Sweet, cool, smokey, thick, long smoke. Just plain savory and delightful.
Pipe Used: Bent Bertram
PurchasedFrom: smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: new
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2007 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable
Beautiful presentation in the form of roughly broken flake. This stuff is smooth smooth smooth. Hardly any sweetness compared to a lot of other "lighter" English tobaccos (like, say, Squadron Leader or Frog Mo). More like a cup of coffee with no sugar. Can be smoked all day with no fear of bite.

Room note: Old coffee and maybe maybe a touch of spilled beer.

I like this stuff better than Penzance in taste and in leaf style. Not a clone, but in that ballpark. If you expect to require your sense of taste for about 6 hours after, don't smoke this stuff. I can just see a wine-tasting now: Lovely ruby colour, bouquet... Latakia. Taste... Latakia. Finish... mm hmm, more latakia.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
TEO
Nov 14, 2010 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
Wow, this is tobacco time machine! A sort of "dual" blend, It starts as English and evolves in a spicy balkan, a full flavour flake.

Old Ironsides is the only tobacco I fell in love with after the very first bowl. Strong, with a full, nutty, crispy and smoky taste that just push you dreaming of a london night, back into a dark and smokey tavern on the river Thames, in the mid of the 18th century! I packed an entire flake down my small Peterson and had some little trouble keeping it lit, as it was just out of the tin, but after all, what a great flake!

The generous amount of latakia it contains comes from great leaves along with the base. It doesn't stun, obviously it doesn't bite and smokes veeery quiet and slow. As you proceed down the bowl, a certain deeper spicyness, that makes me think of perique or matured red virginias, shows up and stays there, enriching the taste with some more complexity.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 02, 2003 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Old Ironsides will ram you, boys! Even lovers of most Latakia infested blends will surely cry "uncle" with this one. Whew! I needed to brush my teeth for a week after smoking Old Ironsides before my wife let me back in bed. Seriously, this is quite strong as well as full of flavor. The Virginia element was a little overwhelmed by the Lat bomb within, but I think I did taste it some. The Orientals never had a chance.

I gotta get more of this stuff!
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2017 Medium None Detected Full Strong
Smoky and leathery full-frontal Latakia mixture which you can tell from the moment you pop the tin. Smokes cool and dry. Has medium strength and medium weight although taste is very full and mostly Latakia. Orientals and Virginia sure play a part but they are not really discernible per se. For me they just add the cushion upon which Latakia sits and add a small variety.

It’s not as complex or as refined as Penzance but it really has similarities and the Latakia used here is of high quality and very reminiscent of that found in Penzance.

It is dry tasting, with no harsh points but does not have any juiciness or sweetness which, if present, might make Old Ironsides an even better blend. In larger bowls it may become overwhelming, but I think it can be smoked, if not all-day, at least quite a few times a day, as it is not a really strong blend. Room note is very intense though.

Flakes are very dry but as I said they smoke cool and I didn’t try to rehydrate them. However while rubbing a significant part of the Latakia crumbles to black dust. Not to mention that my hands get dirty from it.

3.5 stars from me, it’s a fantastic tasting Latakia. Highly recommended as such.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 02, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
If you are not a Latakia fan please stay clear of this one. If you love Latakia, order you a tin asap! Excellent smoke-- smokey sweet Latakia with a side of Virginia and just enough dark Ky and oriental to make a winning combo. Tin note is excellent and the moisture damn near perfect. Rubbed out easily and packed well. Stays lit throughout with few relights. Goes really well with a pint of Guinness extra stout as well. While this is not an all day everyday smoke for me it will become one that I will smoke several times a week, most likely as my last smoke of the day or night.
Pipe Used: Peterson 303
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: New tin
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2018 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
A very creamy, sweet, rich and full Latakia Flake. Burns very cool and slow. For me it is the best Latakia Blend i smoked so far. Highly Recommended for Lovers of a very full Latakia Mixture.
Pipe Used: Briar
PurchasedFrom: Dtm Dan Tobacco
Age When Smoked: fresh from the tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2022 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
Well, this is not going to be an objective review! This tobacco is the one I love. I just love this one! This is the perfect tobacco for me. Truly a friend. Everytime I lit this one I feel home. Immediately. I've been given this mana by my inner man as the archetype of my inner strength. The taste and aroma is just godly. My wife told me that if you pick the right perfume you are not able to smell it on yourself but the others are. The same goes for this tobacco for me. I can't distinguish the particular tastes here. It just work togheter to give an absolute delightful symphony. A masterpiece!

Smoke and drive: Guess what! A heaven! I can imagine smoking this one even on a bike or during lovemaking 🙂
Pipe Used: cob, Krška
PurchasedFrom: etrafika.cz
Age When Smoked: from fresh to 1 year old
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 18, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Strong
A fairly dark semi broken flake with yellow stripes...not too moist, not too dry... just about ok to smoke out of the bag (yes I ordered 250g). Nevertheless I let it air dry for sometime before packing.

Tin note: Latakia smokiness combined with some spicy and sweet aroma.

Firstly, let me tell you that I am still finding my Latakia bearings and although this blend is Latakia heavy I was captivated.

The smoky, mildly spicy, floral Latakia is in the lead throughout the smoke but very very nicely complemented by woody, earthy and mildly nutty Kentucky. Some notes of leather are present past the 15 mins mark.

The orientals and Virginia show their presence on sipping adding the tangy, zest and fruity sweetness.

As the bowl progresses, it gets creamier without compromising the above mentioned notes and some coffee nuances.

Retrohale is fantastic throughout with notes of white pepper blended in a creamy sauce.

Note: the spice and tang will be overwhelming if one puffs or sips too hard on this blend

It makes the mouth slightly dry because of the generous amount of Latakia present in the blend but I didn't find it off-putting.

A cool, dry smoke with minimal relights and burns into fine ash. 

The strength is medium with a fuller taste and strong room notes.

Not an all day smoke for me but something to have in the rotation for sure.

4 stars.

Age: 5 months Pipe: savinelli dolmiti poker with 9mm balsa filter
Pipe Used: Savinelli dolmiti poker with 9mm balsa filter
Age When Smoked: 5 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"