Samuel Gawith 1792 Flake

(3.05)
Notes: 1792 Flake is a full-strength, mellow tobacco comprising a blend of dark fired Tanzanian leaf. It is Gawith's best selling premium grade flake. It starts as 7 lbs. of hand stripped leaf and goes through a steaming process prior to being pressed. The cake, having been prepared, is wrapped in a select leaf and packed by hand into a 12 inch square. This cake is pressed and left for a minimum of two hours. Then, the pressed cake is placed into a steam press where it is baked at full heat for two to three hours. The baked cake has then taken on 1792's characteristic rich, dark color. Its hardening occurs during cooling. Once the process of cutting the flake and adding a tonquin flavor is carried out, hand wrapping and packing finalizes 1792, making it ready for rubbing into your pipe. Sold as "Cob Flake" in England.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Tonquin Bean
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.05 / 4
192

138

70

50

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 450 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2019 Medium Very Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Who would have thought that dark fired tobacco and the tonquin flavor would complement each other so well. 1792 Flake is a delicate balancing act. I found that this blend really shines upon sipping it. Too fast and you lose the synergism afforded by this blend. 1792 Flake earned its way into my regular rotation.
Pipe Used: Peterson's Special Edition
PurchasedFrom: 4 Noggins
Age When Smoked: 10 years
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 13, 2017 Strong Mild Full Tolerable
When I first tried Samuel Gawith’s 1792 Flake I braced myself for a nicotine riptide. It never happened. Yes, it’s strong, but not like G&H Brown Irish X or Sillem’s Commodore Flake. Rather, I would put 1792 between, say, Peterson’s Perfect Plug and BIX. Like HH Bold Kentucky, if you will. Strong. Take it slow and there should be no trouble. In a popped tin, 1792 presents a pile of moist, rough-ish, dark flakes with red-brown and dark gold streaks and flecks. It smells deep but mellow, like brown bread and deep, dark fruit, also rather earthy, and fairly floral, with something like an exotic, hybrid plum/lavender note, along with faint, chocolaty, cigar spices, maybe some coffee, and I gather all this has to do with tonquin added to the highly conditioned VA/KY tobacco blend. Whatever, I find it very nice, and I am picky about additives. Over time the tin note came to remind me of Play Doh, though it never did when I smoked it To prep it, it’s OK to fold, spindle, load and smoke a flake right from the tin; or rub it and/or dry it out, if you like. I always start out smoking straight from the tin and go from there, and in this case I’ve stuck with this approach, despite I always wind up with re-lights and some dottle, because I think it is cooler, smoother, and richer smoked at tin moisture. I suppose it’s the fermented VAs that provide the “dark fruit”, along with significant sweetness, although some of this is certainly casing, as well. There is plenty of fragrant smoke, and there’s very little tobacco “edge”, despite the growing intensity as it’s smoked down. The smoke is dry yet creamy, like a fine cigar with a dark wrapper, top to bottom, plus the “dark fruit”, along with the ethereal tonquin scent. The spices are reminiscent of a fairly intense Middle Eastern dessert rather than a pepper shaker. Overall, I find 1792 quite delicious, with a delectable snork. Although 1792 is not an aro, the top note holds through the smoke. I’m thinking 1792 is similar to Old Dark Flake, but it’s smoother, fruitier, and sweeter, and I think some will prefer it, if only because it is “more accessible”. Regarding 1792’s leaf proportions, the chosen varietals are well met and well balanced, and no doubt the Old World stoving, pressing and steaming affect the results, in the end. One flake provides a lengthy smoke. Again, strength is strong. Tastes are “mellow” but still full. Room note is not bad for a strong KY blend. Aftertaste is the best of the smoke.

S. Gawith say 1792 is a bestseller, so I guess I am not alone in finding it a relaxing and satisfying, first quality smoke, not to mention “Old School”, in the best sense. It’s “simple” in a good way. Some describe the topping as overwhelming, but I think it yields to the fine, tasty, fragrant tobaccos, ultimately adding to the smoke. 4 stars.
Pipe Used: various briars
PurchasedFrom: Liberty Tobacco
Age When Smoked: fresh and jarred
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 03, 2016 Very Strong Strong Very Full Tolerable
As JimInks said, this is a love/hate flake. I experience this as a monotonous, bitter smoke, the tobacco flavour can't keep up with the tonquin. Relighting after the pipe has been set aside for awhile unleashes a taste that strikes me as just noxious.

If you like this sort of thing, then you'll like this. I'll continue to mourn Bracken Flake...
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2013 Strong Mild to Medium Very Full Strong
Took a coin, opened the tin, I was welcomed by pungent yet paradoxically sweet smell. It was as if though I stumbled across a farm and and a flower plantation field at the same time. The smell of the tobacco is pure bliss. I almost wanted to start chewing on those flakes!

The tobacco is very dark and the flakes cut unevenly as with all Sam's flake.

In addition, his flake was the wettest out of all 3 Sam's flakes I have already tried. This one proved to be a combat to light, even after I shredded the flakes into tiny ribbon like cuts. keeping it lit was another fight I had to endure. Admittedly, I did not wait to dry the flakes as with the other flakes I tried.

The smoke however, is soooooo soooo rewarding. This Va/Ken tobacco delivers all the goods. Vitamin N wise, it gives a lot. Taste of the smoke is very earthy, slightly floral (Kentucky taste I am guessing), and the Virginia gives the smoke a more subtle balance to it. The smell of the smoke is heavenly (for me). Room note is strong for the other party.

I am still fighting to keep my pipe lit... Fighting... fighting... Why was I so impatient... Let the flakes dry for at least 15 minutes before breaking them, and then wait at least 15 more minutes to put it in your pipe.




Update: Almost a week a after opening the tin, I had to write this damning paragraph, simply because even after breaking the flakes into ribbon like tobacco, the tobacco is still wet and it is still a struggle to keep it lit.

It seems to be that it has nothing to do with the flake, but with luck! Sometimes you can get a tin that does not require much drying up, while others are very wet.

SG should do something about the consistency of the humidity of their flakes. I had almost no issues with St James Flake and the FVF, but with this one, it is a battle with every bowl. From the different SG flakes reviews, I see that the wetness is not the same depending not on the tobacco type (FVF, St James, 1792, etc...), but the tin itself. Maybe they need to age more in the tin? I don't know... I just know that those guys do great tobaccos, but sometimes I feel it rains on the flakes inside the factory, and sometimes it doesn't! This drives me crazy!
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2011 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is ok.

Weird tonquin odour reminds me of a charity clothes shop run by 'LOLITS' (Little Old Ladies In Tennis Shoes) or of a musty/sweet, larder or pantry.

Darker in colour than FVF, but smokes similar. I really don't get how this is supposed to be a strong blend at all. I have read that, according to some, it is believed to be stronger than Irish flake. . . . . Really?!?

I shall get some more when I can afford it, but there are others I wish to purchase before coming back to this. This is just a flavoured version of FVF.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 21, 2020 Very Strong Medium to Strong Full Tolerable
This could possibly reserve a spot in my top 5 tobaccos, out of the measly 15-odd tobaccos I've reviewed, and the 20 I've tried so far.

The post office wasn't too kind to my tin, it arrived heavily dented and without any sort of seal, due to Covid-19 issues it also sat for about 3 months, so no doubt it lost quite a bit of it's uniqueness. But let's move on.

The smell from the tin is incredible, rich, very rich and heavy, sweet, spicy, warming, brooding, inviting and dark. This is not a homely cottage kitchen baking a spiced cake, this is the smell of an old castle, full of perfectly restored gilded antiques, thick perfumed carpets and varnished dark pine. A smell which makes you question if you dare to go in. Of course I do!

Neatly packed flakes are within, very dark brown, moist and pliable, of course the failed seal and sitting unjared dried them a bit, but actually it dried them to the point I was able to fold one in my pipe and begin smoking immediately.

What a glorious smoke this is, I am losfer words (come on, this is an English tobacco, need to drop in a favourite English band reference!). The taste follows the smell from the tin, dark, sweet, spicy, warm, heavy and serious. I detect vanilla, cinnamon, cloves, very occasionally pine, citrus, alcohol on a bed of delicious, creamy and heavy tobacco.

The taste develops and stays consistent throughout the bowl, I found that regulating how hot you smoke this allows you to play with the flavours, hot makes the tobacco shoot up, while smoking it when it's almost about to die out is pure tonquin. Incidentally I knew of tonquin before but I'd never tasted it in its pure form, I can only guess what wonders it can do for deserts with it's warm vanilla, cinnamon, clove and citrus notes. It is also savoury, very multidimensional, and the taste lingers around your mouth, nostrils, fingers for hours to come. It's not an all day smoke by any means, doing this would be no good to anyone, you need to savour this.

Let's talk nicotine now, this flake is famous for its strength. My first retrohales were puzzling because I got pepper in my nose like when having a Perique-heavy blend, then I realised it is the nicotine blast that singed my nostrils! This just adds to the immense pleasure this blend brought me as it's filling, satiating like only the Sweet Rum Twist (Gawith house again) had managed to do. Yes, this is a nicotine bomb, eyewateringly, nose-runningly strong but, like the Twist, not a coarse tobacco at all. It is in fact extremely refined.

Need to stop chanting praises for this tobacco and simply say this is easily in the top 5 of tobaccos I've tried. It's like catnip, I can't stop smelling that tin to take in all that dark and delicious flavour.

Need to also say a few words about the Gawith house, what they do is unique. Simply unique. Their flakes are miles different from anything else I've tried so far, something about how they blend, flavour and steam press them. Some detractors like to cynically say "Gawith sells you 25g of water and 25g of tobacco". My answer to that is that yes, their flakes are very moist, however they burn very differently to other flakes I've had: first they turn to stone in the pipe, smolder cooly for a long time, before turning to ash. I got an hours' worth of pure pleasure from one flake, in the same time I could have smoked 2 flakes of another house, so it balanced itself out on that front, and a lot of their stuff blow so many others out of the water.
PurchasedFrom: www.thebackyshop.co.uk
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2019 Very Strong Medium to Strong Very Full Pleasant
1792 Flake. Time to sing some praises.

If I wanted to keep this brief, I could simply tell you that this is my favourite tobacco. But keeping it brief wouldn't do this blend justice.

Instead, let me start by telling you what greets you when you open the tin. The blend produces lovely notes of cinnamon, perhaps some caramel, but also some good, earthy tobacco notes.

In terms of cut, you'll find that it comes in large, rather "crumbly" flakes that easily come apart. Out of the tin, it's on the moist side of things and will need some drying.

Once that's done and you have your finest pipe (This blend deserves it) packed with this blend, you'll find that it takes a light with no issues, and then..... oh my, then the magic happens.

Now, you get a good bit of sweet, mellow virginia leaf, as well as some earthy spice from the kentucky. Both of these components are absolutely top-grade, and would probably taste wonderful without any added flavour, but in this blend, the flavouring is a farily strong player. So strong in fact that I consider this blend to be an aromatic, if an unusual one.

As for what the flavouring is, it's tonquin bean and whisky. Now, i'm not sure i've ever tasted tonquin bean outside of this blend, so i'm not certain what it's supposed to taste like, but boy, does it do wonders for this blend. It's a flavour that makes me think of vanilla, but it's more dry-tasting. Almost like it's powdered vanilla, with maybe a bit of cinnamon in there. It gets along marvelously with the tobaccoes. As for the whisky, I do think I detect a slight alcoholic note, but it remains very much in the background.

What makes this stuff truly special in my eyes is the fact that it's without question quite strongly aromatic, and yet, it's also a very strong blend. And I mean -very- strong. Irish-flake-strong. It's got some power. Much more power than anything else I would consider an aromatic.

Throughout the smoke, it burns quite clean and dry, doesn't need too many relights and doesn't lose flavour until there's nothing left but fine gray ash.

If you smoke it too fast and hot, I could well imagine it getting a tad harsh and maybe even biting a bit, but due to it's strength, I never dared to test that. It also burns fairly cool in general, so that shouldn't be an issue.

Also, it gets some bonus points for the room note. Admittedly, I live by myself, so I can't ask an unbiased party, but I do love how my apartment smells after a bowl of this.

So, high quality leaf, genius flavouring and it's well behaved to boot. Yeah, this blend is amazing and just about perfect. Though I can see that nearly 50 people gave it 1 star, so I suppose your mileage may vary. Still, if you smoke a pipe (And I mean, you're reading this, so surely you do), I very much recommend you give this a try and see what you think.

Just so that no-one suspects me of being bribed to sing praises here, I will bring up one little complaint: The rectangular tins Samuel Gawith use for their tobaccoes have a tendency to bend quite easily when you first open them. That means if you keep your tobaccoes in the tin, you may get a problem with the tins not properly sealing after opening, and the tobacco drying out over time. I use mason jars, so it's not an issue for me, but I felt the need to write something so this review wouldn't be entirely one-sided. 😛
Pipe Used: Various briars
PurchasedFrom: Cigarworld.de
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 26, 2018 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Unnoticeable
I bought 1792 from bulk that was carried at a Pipe and Cigar Store I visit from time to time. This was at least 5-7 years ago and stored in a jar. Not many pipe and cigar stores left in California I might add. More pot shops now. I remember when I bought this, it was really moist. Now it is dry as a bone but if anything, I guess it has mellowed out. I am not going to write paragraphs about this one because so much has been said about it already. It is a great and smooth pipe tobacco. It has a particular smell to it which I find pleasant and with the Tonquin bean flavoring I only smoke this in one particular pipe, Eriksen, an Eric Nording second. Top quality and I can see how this one gets a lot of 4 stars.
Pipe Used: Eric Nording Second
Age When Smoked: 5-7 years
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2017 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
I wanted to like this as I like SG blends. The tonquin bean and whiskey don't go well together in my opinion. Tastes like those hard shell candies you find at wedding tables.. but the whiskey and kentucky gives it a sour rancid kind of taste. Burns kinda hot, but could be the Marcus Cob. Don't want to get this flavor in any of my other pipes so.. some earthiness and pepper but pretty much a consistent one trick kind of blend, burns slow which is nice if you like the flavor, lends itself to sipping.. I don't think it tastes good when relighting.. drying is useful, and no need to run a pipe cleaner if you do let it dry.. no Dottle.. 2 stars because of the quality tobacco- 2.5-3 if you like tonquin, guess I'll let it rest for a couple years. The Nicotine factor i find myself immune to as I dip and smoke very strong cigars.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 21, 2014 Strong Strong Very Full Pleasant
With the disappearance of Bracken Flake I was hunting for a suitable replacement and 1792 Flake seemed like a good start. A good rubbing out followed by 2 or 3 hours of drying (It is an SG product) and we were off to the races. The flavor is delightful with a strong hit beef jerky (or maybe burning tire?) note that fades into sweet vanilla which itself fades to a note that reminds me of clove/cinnamon. The tobacco flavor is there all the while offering a dialed back version of that classic FVF cereal note. Good stuff! Strength? I guess it's pretty strong in the nic department but no more so than Peterson's Irish Flake (My go to morning smoke) and FAR less brutal than SG's own Bracken Flake (RIP). For me this will make a great morning pipe for the commute.
Pipe Used: Nording Freehand
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: New tin received the night before I tried it.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"