Samuel Gawith 1792 Flake

(3.05)
Notes: 1792 Flake is a full-strength, mellow tobacco comprising a blend of dark fired Tanzanian leaf. It is Gawith's best selling premium grade flake. It starts as 7 lbs. of hand stripped leaf and goes through a steaming process prior to being pressed. The cake, having been prepared, is wrapped in a select leaf and packed by hand into a 12 inch square. This cake is pressed and left for a minimum of two hours. Then, the pressed cake is placed into a steam press where it is baked at full heat for two to three hours. The baked cake has then taken on 1792's characteristic rich, dark color. Its hardening occurs during cooling. Once the process of cutting the flake and adding a tonquin flavor is carried out, hand wrapping and packing finalizes 1792, making it ready for rubbing into your pipe. Sold as "Cob Flake" in England.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Tonquin Bean
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.05 / 4
192

138

70

50

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 450 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 25, 2013 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm glad I tried this. I found out that I don't like Tonquin Bean. Other than that it's a decent smoke.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 22, 2001 Extremely Strong Mild to Medium Extra Full Tolerable
A very dark flake, fairly fine cut, and a bit moist. The aroma is almost nasty, possibly owing to the fermentation. It rubs out easily to whatever degree you prefer, and is easy to pack. When first lit, there is a blast of spiciness that's hard to describe, (almost like the sweet components of a curry mixture), not unpleasant and soon subsiding to a manageable level. The fullness of the virginia soon becomes apparent, possibly the fullest I have ever tasted. It is also the smoothest and coolest I can recall, just the "low" note of the tobacco, and a small amount of the tonka flavor. It burns best when puffed very slowly, but never got hot, and leaves a clean white ash. The room aroma got positive comments from my wife. In summary, it is probably not going to be a regular smoke for me, but will probably be an occasional treat to come back to periodically.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2018 Very Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
Now this is a good smoke. Big, Strong, bold flavor. Love the Dark Fired Kentucky. Demands respect or will put you on your butt. The tonquin bean adds the nice mild vanilla taste. Wanted to try for a long time, finally had the chance and bought 250gr. Glad I did because sold out soon after my order shipped. Need to add this piece, it's like a T-bone steak with a red wine, soy sauce, Worcestershire, balsamic vinegar reduced sauce.
Pipe Used: Stanwell Tivoli Rhodesian and cob
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: New
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2017 Strong Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
Dark Fire Cured is my favourite type of tobacco and it was a pleasure to sample this rich, strong and old-fashioned blend. (Old it may be, I'm sure "1792" is not the year when the blend was introduced: they made quite different kinds of pipe tobacco then. I guess it's rather a sort of commemorative name, but I have no sources to prove it).

Liking almost everything about this mighty blend, I tried (as I always do when sampling tobaccos) to verbalise my general impression of 1792 in a single word. The result was confusing as the most exact definition that instantly came to my mind was "sexy" O_O. "Sexy" is not a standard term in tobacco sampling vocabulary so it was really confusing. I kept smoking my way through the rest of the tin and every pipeful did confirm the first impression again and again: yes, it's sexy. Very very sexy. What's wrong with me?..

Finally I discovered the simple reason behind the strange phenomenon (I'm proud I didn't need a psychoanalytic couch to find it out). The Tonquin Essence, which this blend is generously sprayed with, in some twisted way recalled my long forgotten subconscious memories about perfumes worn by some sexy girls I knew back in the 1980s. Probably, their perfumes contained Tonquin Essence as well. To this day I've completely forgotten both the perfumes and the girls themselves. And the good old 1792 Flake took care to kindly remind me of them. (I'm lucky to not be old enough to remember what sexy girls smelled like in the 1930s or 1950s. Otherwise, I guess, I'd have quite similar response to Ennerdale Flake and its likes).

1792 is a really good tobacco. It's just me who's got a weird subconscious response to Tonquin. Next time when I want some Dark Fire Cured tobaccos from Samuel Gawith I better crack open my last remaining tin of the discontinued Bracken Flake or buy some more Lakeland Dark. Both are made of essentially same leaf as 1792 and have zero sexy flavourings.

Recommended.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 22, 2013 Strong Medium Full Pleasant to Tolerable
1792 is a dividing tobacco blend, that's for sure. Personally I love the stuff. Despite its reputation, when handled with care it's quite satisfying and smokes soft, sweet, creamy, flavorful and cool. I recommend dedicating a cob to it. I smoke it in a MM Country Gentleman that I rarely fill more than 3/4ths of the way full.

Tin note? I am tempted to classify it as repugnant, but let's just skip this part and get right to how it smokes….

Once lit, the flavor is deeply sweet and I find the room note surprisingly pleasant. The scent is ambrosia of dark spices, vanilla and talc powder which balances nicely with the earthy dark fired tobacco tone. The flavors do intensify as the bowl develops, but the casing keeps the smoke quite mellow at a slow puff.

Speaking of which, technique plays a very important role with this one. I smoke it slow and keep the ember barely burning. Like most strong predominantly dark fired flake you'll be treated to a challenging affair and spoil the subtleties if you stoke it up past a slow crawl.

Tin vs. Bulk - Infrequently I will notice larger or less subtle differences between a tinned and bulk version of a tobacco. 1792 Flake is one of those blends. An extended stay in a sealed mason jar does wonders for the bulk variety. Right off the bat the tinned version really does smoke sweeter, softer and altogether more balanced.

While no where near an everyday smoke for me, I do feel that every admirer of traditional tobacco blends should try this flake at least once.

Recommended
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 27, 2014 Strong Strong Full Very Pleasant
This blend came packed so wet that the inside of the tin was rusting under the paper, and around the lid/rubber junction. The smell of this stuff is strong in the tin, and the dark brown/near black irregularly sliced flakes have a white residue that I can only presume is evaporated topping. There are some nice sugar crystals on the tobacco, but this does not translate to the taste, which is dark, cigar like at times, and bitter. I love the room note of this, but don't care for the heavy tonquin that comes through in the taste during the first half of the bowl. The tonquin is almost like a floral vanilla, and it smells like captain black should when burning. Alas, this is not for me, but this is indeed a classic tobacco that all should at least give a shot.
Pipe Used: numerous
PurchasedFrom: iwan ries
Age When Smoked: 4 years
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2012 Strong Medium Full Pleasant
This is one of my absolute favorites, for all of the positive reasons covered in previous reviews. Many of the negative reviews though have me puzzled. First , the ubiquitous moisture complaints: most tobaccos need drying before smoking - so I never understand complaints about that. This blend burns beautifully when allowed to dry. It will easily rub out almost to a shag too, if you like. Second, when dry, the tonquin flavor mellows & sweetens, looses any mustiness or "overwhelming" scent & takes on a dried tart cherry aroma. Tonquin though, is a very complex flavoring & is obviously not for everyone. Third, I see a lot of complaints about the strength & body of this flake- but why purchase a 100% dark leaf, fire-cured, FULL STRENGTH flake, if you know you don't like strong tobacco? Then go as far as to give a negative review on a flake you were bound not to like?

This is Gawith's best selling flake, & is so for many good reasons.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 07, 2020 Medium to Strong Medium Full Very Pleasant
Presentation: Iconic orange/gold label with all black art of a vine wrapped around the text and a fella on his horse in colonial attire enjoying a pipe.

Cut: Comes in messy, thick flakes. Moisture of this 1792 is good. I remember the 1792 I purchased 2 years ago as being pretty wet.

Tin note: Smells like cinnamon, light earth. ENCHANTING tin note. I wish they made candles with this tin note.

Tasting notes: Sweet earth, smooth smokiness, leather, bit of spice, a bit creamy. I have never tasted something like Tonquin, it's very unique and hard for me to describe. It makes the earthy note different though, the earth in here is very rich and different, much more intriguing.

Mechanics: This blend's moisture level was good but this blend will still not take flame as easily as you'd think. This is a very cool smoking blend and will NEVER bite. Kick back and enjoy.

Extra Remarks: Something similar to 1792 would be Gawith Lakeland Dark. It is very similar if not the same blend just without the Tonquin. Anyways, back to my baby. I have been smoking 1792 Flake for years now. Very strong nicotine level for some people, but it's nice to me. It is my absolute favorite tobacco. It's very unique tasting, full flavor, and while not the most complex blend, it has solid complexity. I could smoke this blend all day and sometimes do. I'd give 5 stars if I could. Impeccable blend -- 4 stars!
Pipe Used: IMP Straight Billiard Meer
Age When Smoked: Fresh from tin to 2 years
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 29, 2019 Very Strong Very Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
If the tonquin is too strong you’re smoking too fast. Take 1792 real slow. This old style, classic tobacco will teach you to sip. Great for gently slow mornings and soft, languid afternoons – make sure you’re sitting in a chair with a back to it. Best if you have a drink to sip. Strong; but smoked properly, very economical. Relights OK and can be used as a strengthening additive on the understanding that the tonquin will make its presence felt. I recommend drying and packing than adding some moist, finely rubbed 1792 to the top of your bowl, as the moist tobacco revives the drier beneath.

This is something to purchase in bulk and store away with a little dark rum added and immense pride! If you don’t like 1792; trust me, in time you will because the longer you leave it to rest in storage the more your tastes will advance and the more mellow in flavour it slowly gets while losing none of its fortifying strength. A real on the front foot masterpiece for the true connoisseurs. Delightful!
PurchasedFrom: 4Noggins
Age When Smoked: New & older
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 08, 2019 Medium to Strong Medium Full Pleasant
As said to the late, great Anthony Bourdain (about grouse) "It is a very adult taste. Somewhat repugnant, but something in that repugnance is quite compelling". It has been said this is a "Sexy" tobacco, and I agree. Not in a bubblegum-and-plaid skirt way; it smacks of leather, darkness, and musky sweetness. My perception of strength is not a good barometer for most people; this is certainly a powerful tobacco, but I never have any trouble with it. Certainly more approachable than many ropes. I seem to have gotten a drier tin, as it was immediately smokeable. There is sweetness to it, but a deeper, more savory sweetness than aromatic smokers may be looking for. In that vein, can this truly be called an aromatic? I don't think so, preferring to put it in a class all its own. The topping- though pronounced- seems to be integral to the tobacco. It accentuates and enhances the inherent qualities of the leaf, and I can't imagine this without it. Burns very cool and never offers to bite, even in a short Pipo. A little moisture left, but I tend to smoke a bit wet anyway. Nothing out of the ordinary. The room note is... Complicated. My wife actually likes it, but it tends to evoke less wistful nostalgia of "Grandpa's Pipe" and more of an... Ahem... Animalistic response. When I can get this in bulk, I'll stock up a lifetime supply.
Pipe Used: Big Ben Pipo
PurchasedFrom: Ebay
Age When Smoked: 2 years
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"