Samuel Gawith 1792 Flake

(3.05)
Notes: 1792 Flake is a full-strength, mellow tobacco comprising a blend of dark fired Tanzanian leaf. It is Gawith's best selling premium grade flake. It starts as 7 lbs. of hand stripped leaf and goes through a steaming process prior to being pressed. The cake, having been prepared, is wrapped in a select leaf and packed by hand into a 12 inch square. This cake is pressed and left for a minimum of two hours. Then, the pressed cake is placed into a steam press where it is baked at full heat for two to three hours. The baked cake has then taken on 1792's characteristic rich, dark color. Its hardening occurs during cooling. Once the process of cutting the flake and adding a tonquin flavor is carried out, hand wrapping and packing finalizes 1792, making it ready for rubbing into your pipe. Sold as "Cob Flake" in England.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Tonquin Bean
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.05 / 4
192

138

70

50

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 192 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 12, 2013 Strong Mild Very Full Tolerable
I bought a bulk supply of this about a year ago. It sounded like something I would like and I figured I would pick up enough to keep around for awhile. At first I was amazed at the N kick this had. I was looking for something with a hefty kick and this did the trick. It didn't bite at all, which is good because if it bites me I don't buy it again. The taste is something unusual and I was on the fence about it for a while. I eventually found myself smoking other tobaccos more often and about forgot I had a big bag of 1792 flake.

I rediscovered my stash of 1792 a year later. It was still in the same bulk bag and dry as desert dirt. I didn't want it to go to waste and was hesitant about re-hydrating with water for fear it might mold. I decided to put some Bacardi 151 in the bag for hydration. I applied enough to make the bag a little wet and set it back again to revisit a month later.

Folks, let me tell you. As I smoke a bowl of this now, this is some fine pipe weed. Sure, it's strong. It's real strong, but it is also mellow. Mellow in the sense that you can smoke anyway you want and not be concerned about it biting you. It tastes just as good as it ever did, possibly better for having been aged and re- hydrated with 151 proof rum. It is simply the most satisfying pipe tobacco I know for those that really want the N kick too. I say this as someone that smokes a good amount of Irish Flake.

Overall, I recommend every pipe smoker give this one a try. At least for an occasional smoke if nothing else. If you are vitamin N sensitive, you may want to try it in a really small pipe. It is potent stuff. This tobacco is a perfect example of one that is best enjoyed slowly. It almost forces slow smoking anyways. It will need drying if it is a new tin. It ships pretty moist which is part of the reason it is hard to get started and keep going for many people. Give it time to dry out, possibly overnight, and you will have a fine evening smoke. If you are new to smoking and you are a light-weight for strong tobaccos, you may want to venture forward with caution. This is one of the strongest blends out there. The only smoke I have ever had that is stronger is a homemade blend I make using straight KY burley from the barn mixed with a Virginia twist I cut up for smoking rather than chew. That's my camping blend, because I'd be divorced if I smoked it in the house.
70 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 14, 2013 Medium Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
I bought this one about five months ago and am not even half way through the tin yet but I think I am in some position to give a review.

When I first opened the tin, the smell was queer, not sure I could pin it down but seemed to have something "woody" to it. Rubbing out and packing were without issues, the lighting, however, was something else entirely. I wasted half a box of matches on that first bowl just trying to keep it lit and eventually gave up. A couple of attempts on subsequent bowls were abandoned in similar fashion, even when drying a plenty was performed. The taste that I could discern was much the same but the lighting issue was so frustrating that I gave up and slung the remaining weed into a jar and threw it to the back of a cupboard. Over the next few months, I tried the odd bowl with similar results. A couple of weeks ago, though, I dug it out again and chucked it in a pipe to give it another go and was pleasantly surprised to find, after two or three relights, it stayed lit for the rest of the bowl. The flavour was still fantastic, if a little sweeter and thoroughly enjoyable. A couple of more smokes have followed in much the same vein.

I have to say, I have wrestled with how many stars to give this one. That lighting issue upon opening was unforgivable. Although I much prefer to whack a tobacco in the pipe and get stuck in, I get the idea that some offerings do require some drying. This, however, was unforgivable, no tobacco should be so damp, even after drying, that it it requires so many relights, enough to near ruin the tobacco in my view. Yet the flavour is just so nice, probably putting it up there as one of the nicer tobaccos I have smoked, a sheer joy to smoke from this perspective. So here was the quandary, do I give it a 1-star review for the sheer unlightability on first opening? I struggle to recommend to anyone a tobacco that requires five months of aging before it is anything like smokable. Or do I give it four stars? That flavour is just too nice not to recommend to anyone. What about 2 or 3 stars? Well, to me that wouldn't do the review justice in my mind. So here it is, four stars for that cracking flavour with easy rubbing and packing but with one major proviso - age it.
32 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 30, 2010 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Tolerable
This is a powerful blend and an excellent example of Tonquin flavoring. The flakes are very rich in flavor, appearance, and aroma. Upon opening the tin I was slapped in the face with an aroma that I've never experienced. I can only describe it as a very strong musky adult type fragrance...Tonquin. The smoke is bold, rich, and tasty. There's no bite and it maintains a sweet nature. This is a very unique flake, strong yet smooth tobacco (the proverbial "good stuff") and Tonquin flavoring.
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 24, 2014 Very Strong Medium Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Samuel Gawith - 1792 Flake.

Not as wet as is usually the case with Sam' G: moist, but not soaked!

It gives off plumes of thick smoke, without a bite to be had. The tonquin is notable, it offers a kind of mild vanilla flavour. Due to the thickness of the flakes I find it a better smoke if fully rubbed; when folded and stuffed it takes some igniting and can be a pest to keep lit! The tobaccos taste robust, and not for the faint-hearted!

Nicotine: very strong. Room-note: a heavy weight.

This is a blend for nicotine lovers! But, although I don't pipe for nicotine, it's very well accomplished. Highly recommended:

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Various
Age When Smoked: New
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 31, 2013 Very Strong Medium Extra Full Extra Strong
This tobacco is strong in both flavor and nicotine content. I am not sensitive to nicotine so I don't get a gurgling stomach or a light head, but a small pipe leaves me satisfied.

Don't listen to the ridiculous claims that this tobacco tastes like manure and smells like the street on England in 1792 with a hint of lumberjack's armpit. That's just hogwash. Another ridiculous claim is that people who smoke this don't smoke it for the taste, again, hogwash.

This tobacco tastes like a strong rope with a very strong cigar character. It's obvious that it is cased, but the Tonka is barely noticeable. Most of what you taste and smell is strong, good ol' fashioned tobacco. Fairly one dimensional, but good, very good.

As many have stated, this tobacco needs drying time, and it is still a pain in the butt to keep lit, but with some practice you can do it. I would ssuggest that, during the first few bowls, you have enough matches handy, or use a lighter.

If you are an aromatic smoker, a newbie pipe smoker, or a 20 year old hipster, this is NOT for you. If you enjoy TOBACCO flavor and can tolerate nicotine reasonably well, you'll love this.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 28, 2018 Strong Strong Very Full Tolerable
I don't know what a tonquin bean is and I don't care. I also don't give a rip if this is lightly or heavily cased. What I do care about is never running out of this stuff. It's addicting, and I don't mean the Nicotine. I crave it, I love it, I want to be buried with it.
Pipe Used: various briars and cobs
Age When Smoked: 1 year
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2017 Strong Mild to Medium Very Full Strong
I have grown very fond of this flake over the years and it has become my go to morning smoke, a ritual I will never tire of, it was made to be smoked while sipping on a hot cup o' joe. The added Tonquin flavoring couldn't compliment the natural flavors of the leaf any better as it just perfectly enhances the Dark Fired and Virginia leafs. This is a true, olde worlde British tobacco and one of the finest on the market. I would not consider this a Lakeland scented tobacco as I don't pick up on any floral or perfume notes whatsoever. I buy this stuff by the box and I like to lay all the flakes out and dry them for a couple of hours before properly packing them into ball top jars for immediate rotation. If I'm wanting to cellar it, I prefer to keep the flakes moist as I think they age better in that state. The nicotine is in the brilliant range (high) and the smoke is heady and stout but also smoooooth as velvet. If you tend to like olde worlde style flakes and you have yet to try this bad boy, than look no further. It doesn't get any better than this my friends.

100% Essential!!!
Pipe Used: Squat Bulldog's and Princes
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 29, 2013 Extremely Strong Mild Very Full Pleasant
1792 Flake

Star Rating = 4.00

Rating Scores - 10 is the Best and 0 is the Worst

Pouch Note = 10

Room Note = 10

Flavor = 10

Bite = 10

Burn = 10

After Taste = 9

Raw Score = 59

Rated Percentage = 98%

Comment = Smooth, nice Strong Full Body Flavor, high Nicotine content, white ash Burn, this is a wonderful smoke but you better be sitting down when you light-up, because this blend is going to kick your butt, ya it's that strong. But oh boy what a delightfully enjoyable smoke this one is.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2018 Very Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
Now this is a good smoke. Big, Strong, bold flavor. Love the Dark Fired Kentucky. Demands respect or will put you on your butt. The tonquin bean adds the nice mild vanilla taste. Wanted to try for a long time, finally had the chance and bought 250gr. Glad I did because sold out soon after my order shipped. Need to add this piece, it's like a T-bone steak with a red wine, soy sauce, Worcestershire, balsamic vinegar reduced sauce.
Pipe Used: Stanwell Tivoli Rhodesian and cob
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: New
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2012 Strong Medium Full Pleasant
This is one of my absolute favorites, for all of the positive reasons covered in previous reviews. Many of the negative reviews though have me puzzled. First , the ubiquitous moisture complaints: most tobaccos need drying before smoking - so I never understand complaints about that. This blend burns beautifully when allowed to dry. It will easily rub out almost to a shag too, if you like. Second, when dry, the tonquin flavor mellows & sweetens, looses any mustiness or "overwhelming" scent & takes on a dried tart cherry aroma. Tonquin though, is a very complex flavoring & is obviously not for everyone. Third, I see a lot of complaints about the strength & body of this flake- but why purchase a 100% dark leaf, fire-cured, FULL STRENGTH flake, if you know you don't like strong tobacco? Then go as far as to give a negative review on a flake you were bound not to like?

This is Gawith's best selling flake, & is so for many good reasons.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"