Lane Limited Captain Black Copper

(3.34)
Captain Black Copper is a smooth, bite free blend of rich, nutty burley, Lane's renowned black cavendish and a bit of bright flake cut Virginia, topped with a warm vanilla note that delivers a mellow sweetness and an aroma that everyone will love.
Notes: Released 2015.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc, Vanilla
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 12 ounce tin weight, 12 ounce pouch weight
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.34 / 4
14

11

4

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 04, 2016 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The burley is nutty, woody with a touch of earth and a little molasses, and is more noticeable than the grassy, citrus sweet Virginia. The brown sugary black cavendish helps smooth out the blend. The vanilla topping is mild with a little richness, and does sublimate the tobaccos to a fair extent. There’s a little caramel and toffee topping, too, though they play back up to the vanilla. The strength is mild, and the taste is a couple of steps past that level. The nic-hit is extremely mild. Burns at a moderate pace, won’t bite or get harsh, and has a cool, clean, very smooth flavor from top to bottom. The toppings weaken very slightly in the last quarter, but you’ll not observe that unless you’re paying real attention. The burley will help you do that. Turns to ash with little trouble, requires few relights, and leaves very little dampness in the bowl. Has a very pleasant after taste and room note. A mild all day smoke that you won’t mind repeating as you go about your business.

-JimInks
41 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 02, 2015 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
If you enjoy plainer burleys with faint hints of vanilla and toffee this mild to medium strength you are sure to enjoy. CB Copper is a ribbon cut/broken flake burley and Virginia blend with some Vanilla Black Cavendish tossed in for smoothness. As an occasional aromatic smoker I tend to gravitate toward the blends that are not too heavily topped or flavored. This fills the bill nicely. Smooth and satisfying and a bit of strength at the finish. It could easily be an all day smoke.
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 05, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
I should have smoked CB Regular (my favorite of the line) before Copper to be better able to differentiate. Saying that, and being a fan of burley tobacco, I think this one has a more tobacco smoke to it, less flavor, that CB Regular (which is a good thing for me). I think this blend of theirs might deliver the most cross-over appeal...those that want to enjoy an aromatic once in awhile, yet know they are smoking tobacco. For those that enjoy aromatics, it still delivers that famous CB taste and fantastic aroma. I would need to smoke Regular and Copper back to back to see which I like better. My guess is that Copper would be my new favorite of the line. I smoke like a chimney and with Copper I had no tongue bite. A very smooth, easy and enjoyable smoke...and this is coming from someone who normally does not smoke aromatics.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 14, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Based on about half a pouch, a gift from a friend. Friends who don't know anything about pipe tobacco except that you smoke it tend to give something like this. But I have to admit I was curious about it, so I popped the cellophane to give it a spin. Warm brown color and not terribly wet in the pouch. Nice light scent of vanilla and perhaps caramel.

Not only was this comparatively dry in the pouch, it was dry in the bowl as well, something blends of this type aren't known for. The flavor was light but not lightweight as the Captain Black Round was. No chemical taste or excessive goopiness as I find in most of these types of blends, although I have less difficulty with Lane's than Sutliff. I could actually taste tobacco! By the taste, this was a reasonably good strain of burley with (as Lane's claims) some bright Virginia. The vanilla/caramel topping was conservatively applied but I got a nice gentle taste of it with each puff. It smoked dry and cool and at no time did the sickeningly sweet flavor of PG rear its head. Of all the Captain Black blends I've smoked (I haven't tried the Dark - no friend has provided me with any yet!), this one is the best for my tastes. If you like the basic premise of Captain Black but find it too goopy, give this one a go. I'm keeping the rest of the pouch, although it may take me awhile to finish it. I find myself abashedly impressed with this one. 2.5 stars but I have to round it up to 3, not because it's a 3 star blend necessarily but because it accomplished what no CB has done before - a tobacco tasting blend with just enough flavoring and aroma... not too little (Round) or too much (White and the rest).

9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 19, 2016 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
I've never smoked Captain Black before. I was led to believe that it wasn't "quality tobacco." This belief came from other, more experienced pipe smokers. The idea is that, well, since one can only seem to find it a drug stores and never at tobacconists (at least where I live), it mustn't be very good. This belief is strengthed by the fact that most reviewers don't rate the blends very well.

But...

Recently, I stumbled upon an ad for Captian Black and, for the first time, I really looked at the different offerings. After reading mostly favorable reviews, I ordered a couple of pouches--Original (in the white package) and Copper (in the copper package). After my parcel arrived, I waited until the weekend before trying out the blends.

Original: Since this is a review of Copper, I won't take a lot of time with Original. I didn't (don't) really care for it. It didn't really impress me that much. No real flavor; just bland. Of course, it was very mild and didn't have any tongue bite, but I wasn't all that impressed.

Copper: Copper, on the other hand, was the complete opposite of Original! It was/is fantastic! The waft of scent I get from opening the pouch is chocolate or cocoa--not the sweetness of a milk chocolate candy bar, but the deep semi-sweet scent of a dark chocolate. Which surprised me. There's also a depth to it; it seems very well rounded. The tobaccos in the pouch look great--mostly dark with some bright, golden leaf blended in.

The first time I smoked it, I used a late 1960's Savinelli Punto Oro 9004 bent Dublin sterling silver army mount that a friend had given me. CB Copper packed very easily and lighted without any issues. The taste of the tobacco was just as pleasant as it smelled! It wasn't overly sweet, mind you, just that little semi-sweetness I mentioned above. This lasted the entire bowl. No matter how hard or fast one puffed (I was working outside at the time), there was no tongue bite of any kind. Copper finished off with a fine, powdery, white ash. Also, there wasn't that dreaded scalded tongue when I brushed my teeth that night or the next morning!

Since that initial smoke, I've smoked it several more times and keep it with me. It's just such a pleasant, all-day, smoke. I highly recommend it.
Pipe Used: Savinelli, Peterson
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2016 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Captain's newest blend. When I opened it smelled lighter of Capt Black White.The smoke had no bite what so ever.The taste was lighter vanilla than Capt Black White.This blend had a little bright leaf in it which is a nice touch since the white is only burley and black. I love it ,the smell ,the taste ,everything . I have bought it now two times to enjoy. I will buy a full can of this for my third purchase.
Pipe Used: Meershaum, Briar
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars
Age When Smoked: new
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Even though I can thank the Captain for welcoming me aboard this ship of pipe smoking, I can't say I have been a fan of his blends. Sure I have a pouch of white label in my cellar, every real pipe smoker should, Its like man potpourri. However good CB smells, I really never have enjoyed smoking it. For me, It's always been a hot, tasteless smoke with an excellent room note. On a whim, with my last cellar resupply, I tacked a couple pouches of CB Copper onto my order. When my order arrived I opened up the package of CB Copper and was surprised by how much bright leaf was in the blend. The tin note had that really nice CB smell, but was much more lightly cased than in other offerings. Copper is really well behaved in the pipe, I have had no issues of bite with the blend. As aromatics go, I would say this is a real winner. Great flavor throughout the smoke and burns cool, with a great room note. Good work Capn'!
Pipe Used: Various
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 20, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I love finding bargain tobacco gems and this one did not disappoint. I've said it before- I don't care much for aromatic blends, but this one is really satisfying. Spicy and possessing of real tobacco notes all the while wrapped in a kind of.. toffee/butterscotch flavour. Clean burning with a decent nic-hit. I plan on buying a couple buckets of this stuff.

If this had been repackaged, relabeled, and sold to me in a tin at a premium, I'd still give it 3 of 4 stars. This is an all day Aro and I cannot imagine anyone hating this blend for what it is. Great job, Lane Limited.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: PipesAndCigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2020 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I've been coming back to this one every day for about a week now, so I guess I've found something I like. This is probably the most natural Captain Black smoke you're likely to find. I think the casing/topping here is pretty light which leaves you tasing mostly tobacco with a faint hint of those signature Captain, Christmasy spices. If you've had a Va/Bur/Cav (Aromatic) blend before then you probably have a good idea of what you're in for here. I could easily see this being an all-day, everyday kind of smoke. Probably my favorite CB blend and I've tried almost every one of them except for the grape.
Pipe Used: Cobs
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 26, 2019 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
Just tried a pouch recently and was very impressed. This addition to the CB Fleet has little to none of the old humectant chemical flavoring that so disappointed me in other CB versions. I think Lane is correcting this and leaving out more if not all the humectants. Copper has a mild vanilla with caramel topping that works well with the burley and cavendish, simple, no bite and smokes relatively dry. A great basic aromatic blend the likes of which have made CB so famous. Great for the newbie or the experienced pipester. Enjoy!
Pipe Used: Any
PurchasedFrom: PipesandCigars.com
Age When Smoked: New Pouch
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"