Rattray Hal O' the Wynd

(3.39)
"A pure Virginian tobacco of a most unusual share of strength". This is a strong, sharp aged red Virginia blend that will perk you up quickly. New tin description: "Hal O' The Wynd" is an unusually strong Virginia-based mixture. Fire-cured Kentucky is added to a base of a variety of Virginias and Perique completes this mixture. It is then pressed and finally rubbed by hand.
Notes: The booklet inside the tin says "A full-bodied Virginia tobacco with a slight sweetness and extremely pleasant smoking characteristics. The name comes from that of the armourer in the novel "The Fair Maid of Perth" - a man who had "a most unusual share of strength". In the German decription is written: "und einem Hauch wurzigem Perique" that means: "and a touch of spicy Perique".

Details

Brand Rattray
Series British Collection
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Kentucky, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
152

80

28

10

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 80 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2017 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Medium brown ribbony broken flake. The smell I get in the tin is a thick syrupy sweet aroma. Others describe fruit notes, but I dont get any. It's a hint on the moist side. It's fairly well behaved right out of the tin, but it does benefit from a little drying time.

I've read other guys' reviews, but I don't see anyone describing the dominant flavor I'm getting. I do taste the malty-yeasty flavor others describe, but it's subtle. Stronger than that is some sort of herb or root or something that I can't quite put a finger on. The closest thing I can think of is root beer. There! I said it. HOTW tastes like root beer to me. No vanilla and no pepper like some root beers....but whatever essence there is that makes root beer distinctly taste like root beer is what I'm tasting. It's not at all strong or overpowering (and not even quite the dominant flavor) but it's quite distinct and once I noticed it, I taste it with every puff. On top, the biggest most up front flavor to me is a very distinct syrupiness (is that even a word? LOL). When I was a child, I remember my grandmother making homemade biscuits for breakfast when I stayed over with her. She always served them with some kind of syrup that came in a big brassy metal can with a pry off lid that looked like a can of paint. It was thicker than most breakfast maple syrups are today, and it tasted different....I dont know what exactly it was, to be honest. But it was sweet, had an interesting "other" flavor to it, and I loved it. I probably haven't had anything like it in 35 years. But that old timey country syrup in the big brassy can - that's the dominant flavor of HOTW.

Good stuff, recommended.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 26, 2015 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a great blend! I am actually having a second bowl right now. The more I smoke it, the more I like it. It has a pretty monochromatic tin note that most VaPers have (grass/hay). It is a rubbed flake, but I found that rubbing it out even more helps with the packing and makes it smoke a bit cooler. It takes and holds a light well after a good false light.

This is more robust than other Rattray blends I've tried so far. It's sweet, but to me I get more of the sweetness on the back of my tongue. It's citrusy and fragrant, but not annoying. The Perique is definitely there, and the Kentucky teams up with it to add the signature "robustness" this blend offers up. I can see this becoming a good cold-weather tobacco, as it warms me up whenever I smoke it. The only thing that bothers me about this blend: the nicotine is weaker than I anticipated. I was really hoping for a kick in the teeth, but it's definitely not a deal breaker.
Pipe Used: Meers, Various briars
PurchasedFrom: JR Cigars
Age When Smoked: 6+ months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 18, 2015 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
For whatever reason this tobacco calls me in the fall. It tastes strong and makes a good long smoke. Packing the pipe is stright forward as is first light. So when the temp falls down to the 60's this will shine. Good hour smoke with no relight and a flavor that you will not forget. Low Nicotine and little Perique just a lot of sweet Virginia and Kentucky.
Pipe Used: Dunhill, Peterson, Savinelli, Comoy
PurchasedFrom: Westlake Village CA
Age When Smoked: Tub over 2 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 30, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant
HOTW is a sharp VA, to my senses anyway. This is not a bad thing, there are some dark flavors here as well (burnt caramel, roasted nuts). This is a stout blend for a VAPER, but not the strongest I've had mind you. This blend really shined after leaving the contents exposed to air for about 8 hours; after this it really took off. I broke it up a little more than it already was and it filled the pipe well, accepted flame, and made some nice clouds of smoke in no time! Very fresh aroma and taste, this would be sublime after some aging, I'm wagering. Very nice tobacco. LETJC
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 14, 2014 Strong Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
At first the tin smell put me off a little. I thought this must be another pure Virginia with a little preique and no character. Well, I was wring. It's one of those tobaccos that gets better and better as the bowl goes on. Stick with it if you don't like it at first. It quickly grows on you. Not as strong as the label would suggest.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2012 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Kohlhase & Kopp has nailed it with this one. The three tobaccos have a good thing going on, the Kentucky is nicely complemented by the Perique and the Virginia. Nice dry fig smell off the tin, burns well with plenty of smoke. A dry, cold smoke with woodsy and spicy tones better enjoyed in the evening or at any time in winter.

Virginia lover
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2011 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
This is what I think of as a quintessential VA blend. I think that if there is something that Rattray really does well it is VA. Hal O' The Wynd will not disappoint the discerning smoker, with a nice perky, bitey flavor, it's like aged cheddar. The flavor reminds me of dry hay in a barn if you've ever jumped into a pile of it, kind of scratchy, but fun none the less. This is not my favorite smoke, but it sure places itself as a classic in it's genre for me. The room note is not to be sought after, but it's a good blend, I can't comment on the tin note as I've only ever had baggies of it. I think it would be worth an experiment to smoke this in tandem with GLP Union Square just for an interesting compare and contrast, two different VA's might be good partners in a VA lover's rotation. I found I really like this blend in fresh new pipes, meerschaums and narrow small cobs like the MM Pony Express. Give it a shot, it's curiously strong, kinda like Altoids...
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 08, 2011 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I was reluctant to try this tobacco. The only Rattray blend I'd previously tried was Red Rapparree, a strong English blend that almost made me burn my pipes. But after hearing raves about it, I decided to give it a go and see what the fuss was all about. The tin arrived in a box with a bunch of Pease blends, innocently hiding behind styrafoam packaging. I immediately cracked it open, and was at once delighted by the tin aroma – the sweet, thick scent of a good Virginia. The tobacco was a bit moist, but a few moments of drying before loading into a bowl cured that. The leaf is a nice golden-brown, ready-rubbed.


The initial flavor was stronger than I expect from a Virginia, though in a good way. There was a real sweetness to it, and I could almost detect a hint of fruit. After a few minutes, with the bowl burning nicely, the flavor became really robust, which again is unusual for a Virginia. With strength comes flavor, though, and this tobacco has flavor. I like my coffee strong, too, after all. This strong flavor stayed, consistently, through the smoke. Though there is a development, or progression, of the strength through a bowl, it is about as consistent in flavor as a Virginia tobacco can be, start to finish. Though the first few puffs seem to be plotting a case of tongue bite, I've yet to experience a bite from this blend.

Additionally, Hal O' The Wind DGTs extremely well, which I like because I often smoke a pipe on the 20-minute drive I make to work each morning, leaving me something to look forward to on the drive home. In fact, the strength of the tobacco seems to wake me up just a bit for the afternoon drive, while keeping a smile on my face despite the traffic.


This isn't a blend for the beginning Virginia smoker. That said, it's one of the absolute finest tinned Virginias I've smoked, equaling, in my opinion, even the delights of such favorites as Red Flake. I know I'll keep this tobacco available on my shelf from now on, and will turn to it often. Hal O' The Wind is a pleasurable and enjoyable smoke.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 10, 2010 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
A lot of reviews clain this one as strong. I will say it will get your attention, but it is not particularly strong in my book but full bodied yes. It is really quite tasty and it has to be paid respect too or the smoker could end up with tongue bite with this one. But having said that, if one smokes it nice and slow, they are rewarded with a very creamy, slightly nutty and spicy smoke that is great savored with a glass of red wine or a full bodied beer. The tobacco in the pouch is a pretty uniform brown in color and is a ribbon cut broken flake. It has a sweet but peaty pouch aroma and is very easy to load in the pipe. One light to start it, a tamp to the rise and then a good light and one can sit back and enjoy the smoke without constant relights. it burns nice and slow, and one can taste the sweet VA in the foreground and then whisps of the perique spice comeing and going. The kentucky just gives it body. It has a nice strong but sweet room note, won't make enemies but won't make friends either. It burns down to a medium grey, fine ash all the way to the bottom of the pipe with no dottle and no moisture. It really smokes clean. I smoke mine a little dry though so right out of the tin, it could smoke a touch wet. The taste remains consistant all the way down, it picks up a little more of the VA sweetness as it burns down and the perique notes retreat a little. All in all, this is a fine smoke and I find it quite enjoyable and therefore recommend it.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2010 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
Not a bad virginia at all, prhaps the strongest of the trio, Old Gowrie, Marlin Flake and Hal O' The Wynd bringing up the rear. My main problem with this otherwise very fine tobacco, is that I can only get it to work if I let it air for 24 hours on a sheet of newspaper, put it back in the can, then leave it for a further month.

This seems to smooth it out for me as it can be a little steamy straight from the can with a mild tendency to try to bite.

However, having prepared accordingly, a smooth and tasty evening smoke for the summertime follows.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"