The Country Squire Tobacconist Tombigbee

(3.67)
By far one of our most popular and widely celebrated aromatic blends, Tombigbee is comprised of Virginia, several strains of Burley that have been through the cavendish process. A sweet and creamy smoke that will have your senses traveling down a long Southern road.
Notes: This blend was formerly named Old Toby as part of Country Squire's Middle Earth series. Released 2015.

Details

Brand The Country Squire Tobacconist
Series Fantasy South
Blended By  
Manufactured By The Country Squire
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Sweet / Sugar
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.67 / 4
27

2

3

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 33 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2024 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Country Squire
Tombigbee
(bulk)

Blend notes from Country Squire website: “By far one of our most popular and widely celebrated aromatic blends, Tombigbee is comprised of Virginia, several strains of Burley that have been through the cavendish process. A sweet and creamy smoke that will have your senses traveling down a long Southern road. Carmel, Undertones of Vanilla, Brown Sugar, Nutmeg, Almond.”

Blend notes from Tobacco Reviews website: “The choicest blend of Tobold Hornblower himself! Straight from Middle Earth, Old Toby brings together the finest Virginia and Burley leaves with a generous sugar casing and a dash of Louisiana Perique. A treat for your senses and your companions!”

The blend used to be called ‘Old Toby’ until (according to people referencing unknown other people) the estate of JRR Tolkien decided to contest the naming convention.

Note (above) that the Country Squire notes do not mention Perique, and frankly, I don’t taste any Perique in the blend. I do get the caramel, the vanilla, and maybe some of the nutmeg. Like most or many Aromatics, the base tobacco is some combination of Virginia and Burley.

Tombigbee is a decent Aromatic. It is ‘like’ Lane Limited’s 1Q, Sutliff’s Black Kathy, MacBaren’s 7 Seas Gold (or Black), or Sutliff’s Molto Dolce. The base tobacco is of good quality, the taste is consistent, and there is no harshness.

3.5 stars out of 4 rounded up.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2019 Very Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
The Country Squire: Old Toby

This came to me in bulk as a gift from a good friend. It is a lovely & contemplative Aromatic.... this from a fan of the English blenders Samuel Hoggarth & Gawith Hoggarth & the Mac Baren blends. I don’t know if JRR Tolkien smoked this with CS Lewis & the Inklings ... but then it wasn’t around then! It is a blend of Virginia’s, Burleys & the blender says Louisiana Perique... which is very very mild. It has a sugar casing & one reviewer aptly termed it “baked brown sugar, maple, bourbon”. I concur... can’t identify the Bourbon as I quit drinking (for all the usual reasons). It is a sumptuous smoke. The moisture content was extremely high so I dried it out several days. It smokes cool w/no bite. The Nic hit is mild ...( remember I’m used to the English blends). The room note is very pleasant & the briar exuded a pluffera of smoke. It is a coarse cut. It is not hard to recommend this tobacco... especially to Aromatic affectionados or English fans like meself wanting a quality Aromatic. 3+ Stars.
Pipe Used: Briars: Dunhill, Ashton, Comoys
Age When Smoked: New
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 02, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I don’t know about all the nuances of tobacco reviews, but I will say Old Toby is the best tasting tobacco I’ve ever smoked. May have to relight or dry out or whatever ( I wouldn't think so but some might)... but as far as taste, best I’ve ever tasted. May benefit from a longer shanked pipe as I smoked it in my Bing's favorite and a Nording handmade, but again just damn good. Jon David hit a homerun mixing this blend. I swear I was shocked this was an aromatic. No bite, smooth as hell. Just wow!
Pipe Used: Brand new Bing's Favorite, Nording Handmade
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: fresh
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 29, 2020 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Prep: Needs Dry time

The sugar casing is evident. Not overly sweet. The natural flavors of the Virginias and Burley are evident. Dark fruit, a bit of molasses and nuttiness. The Perique is slightly peppery/spicy, but their description is accurate; it is a dash. All in all, a great aromatic, which is coming from a guy who doesnt care for aros all that much. A top 5 for me in the aromatic category. I’d rate it highest out of all the Middle Earth aromatic blends from The Country Squire. 7.5/10 https://youtu.be/dZoI94b9GeI
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 29, 2017 Mild Strong Medium Very Pleasant
Like most people who are Tolkien fans, the name alone drew me to this blend. It is a sweet smoke on the milder side of things with a woody sense from the burley. I do not have the most developed palette, but I could get a sense of the sugar coating that helped to create a great mouth feel. But, there is no tongue bite and a very generous amount of smoke. It presents a wonderful room note. I imagine it would go wonderfully with a port or sherry as a dessert or "end of the day" smoke.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Extra Smooth (806) - a lumberman
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: New
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 15, 2020 Very Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is the first tobacco that's prompted me to write a review and that's because I can't understand this blend.

From its subtle and soft flavours that exude from every puff to it's inexplicable resilience. For a tobacco as goopy as this, it burns as if it were enchanted.

It lights like a dream and offers absolutely no tongue bite. Whilst we all agree we should sip our pipes and savour the flavours, I pushed this to its limits like someone chugging a glass of fine red. I couldn't find its limit.

It stayed cool despite my constant assaults. It refused to bite me for my impatience..

And I couldn't slow down because I didn't want to stop enjoying the flavour of this tobacco.

10/10 first time smoke out of the bag.

Next time I'll remind myself to slow down, if only to keep testing it but from the opposite perspective.

Would recommend and will be stocking up enough to last the fall of humankind
Pipe Used: Peterson Fisherman X105
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 19, 2020 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Sweetness, something on the edge of a holiday spice but a lot more rounded out and subtle which leads into a flavor and aroma I just can’t quite put my finger on, which is what I love so much about it. I have a feeling after smoking for a while longer this will be a go to and become an old friend. I can’t say anything bad about it so I give it 4 stars.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Arcobaleno Green 606
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire in Mississippi
Age When Smoked: New
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 26, 2018 Mild to Medium Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
This Tobacco is sweet and smooth and smokes well. A little drying time before packing helps to keep the relights down. This like all of the Country Squire blends is blended on-site and is not merely a relabeled bulk blend. If you are an Aromatic smoker or just wanting to dip your toe into the water so to speak, this is a good PREMIUM example of the genre.
Pipe Used: Variety of Briars and Cobs
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Both fresh and cellared for 4 years
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 02, 2018 Mild Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Tastes like baked brown sugar, maple, and maybe a hint of bourbon. Not bad for an extremely wet aromatic, I need hand wipes after I smoke this stuff to remove the sticky residue from my fingers after packing the bowl. I wil say, this is one of the few aromatics that I can actually taste in the smoke and not just smell.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Little Devil
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire (online)
Age When Smoked: Fresh from new pouch
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
CCW
Feb 28, 2019 Mild Strong Very Full Very Pleasant
Old Toby is one of the finest aromatics I have yet to smoke. I can't exactly say it's my favorite, because maybe I haven't smoked my favorite yet, but right now, this is my favorite full flavored aromatic tobacco on the market. I say full flavored because it is hefty in the aroma and taste department. Sometimes I might not be in the mood for such a full flavored and rich smelling tobacco, but this one, for me at least, just cannot be beaten.

I ordered 4 ounces of it off the recommendation of a friend and I'm so glad I did. Being a fan of JRR Tolkien's work and the movies as well, I had to give it a try. My only sadness is that I don't have a proper wizard inspired warden to smoke it in.

When I first opened the bag, I was instantly hit with the aroma of maple and vanilla, maybe even some brown sugar. If comfort, peace and relaxation had a smell, this would be it. It also has the hard to find characteristic of smelling and tasting exactly as it smells right from the bag. It comes a little moist, more so than I typically receive in other aromatic blends, perhaps even slightly sticky leaving a bit of a residue on your fingers, but I've encountered this before in other blends and it never ended up being an issue.

I've smoked it right from the bag and also provided a little dry time, but in either case, it seems to smoke just fine. When still moist, you can hear the soft crackle of the tobacco dry out as the flame approaches. It still lights great and smokes just fine with a few relights in my case, but no more than average.

When lit, you instantly smell the maple and vanilla hints and you can taste them just the same. It has no bite, but if you tried to smoke it too hot or fast, I can't promise it won't. Take this one slow and easy and just enjoy the aroma and imagine yourself in the Shire on a bench with Gandalf puffing and blowing smoke rings. You owe it yourself to try this one if you enjoy sweeter aromatics. This one will definitely become one to which I order frequently.
Pipe Used: MM Washington Rob Roy
PurchasedFrom: The Country Squire
Age When Smoked: Fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 06, 2022 Mild Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Just tried this for the first time and found Old Toby delicious. One of very few tobaccos that tastes good as well as smelling divine. Nutty, sweet, mild but rich.
Pipe Used: Graco bent prince
PurchasedFrom: Country Squire
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"