Peterson Irish Whiskey

(2.74)
A traditional Irish ready rubbed blend renowned for its smooth smoking quality. This blend incorporates various selected Virginias to provide roundness of taste. Kentucky fired, Indian cured and aromatic Thai Burley are also added. Finally, a light spray of Irish Whiskey essence gives this tobacco its unique aroma.
Notes: Due to regulations this is now called "Irish Mixture" in the EU.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Whisky
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.74 / 4
39

55

31

23

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 148 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 28, 2023 Medium to Strong Very Mild Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a review of a 4 years old tin.

Both out of the tin and in the bowl I mostly get earthiness, grass, some cocoa, smokiness, and just a drop of alcohol.

The balance between the grassy Virginia and earthy Burley are at the lead, with the Dark Fired Kentucky providing some smokiness in the background. The whiskey is faint. I prepared myself for a strong alcohol aromatic type of blend, but this wasn't it. It's a great Virginia-Burley-Kentucky tobacco. I've smoked many blends produced by Cornel & Diehl that felt like they were supposed to provide the same result, but I often find them too sharp and/or boring. Irish Whiskey, however, provided the full package - body, flavor, and strength.

I love the Peterson / Dunhill ribbon cut. It's fairly fine but not a shag. I find it the most comfortable for packing and smoking and this one does not fail. The flavor maintains itself throughout the bowl, with the strength increasing as you go. Moisture level is ready to go out of the tin but if you like your tobacco especially dry, as I do, it dries fairly quickly in the tin. Smokes cool at a moderate pace. No relights and no tongue bite. Can be an all-day smoke if you're ok with fairly strong tobaccos.

Full body, medium-strong in nicotine.

I was pleasantly surprised and will buy more. In fact, I smoked almost nothing but Irish Whiskey since opening the tin. Perfect score.
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 4 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2002 Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
Irish Whiskey is a blend only a true pipe smoker with years of experience can really appreciate. You newbys should steer clear until you develop some hairs on your chest! Lots of nicotine in this blend! It contains mostly virginias, but has enough burley to keep the smoke cool. The light misting of whiskey is barely detected, but slower puffing will bring the flavor to the forefront.

If you enjoy smoking 4 or 5 bowls a day, this may not be the blend for you. Though gentle on the tongue, it gives the palate a good pasting, and you will feel the presence of the smoke for several hours after completing your pipe load.

The nicotine content will satisfy the veteran and cross the eyes of the neophyte. Enjoy!
35 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2014 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Opening the tin was something of a hassle, For these are not readily available in south Africa. Once I had the tin opened, I was surprised by the smell of this tobacco. Very pleasant, nutty, almost reminded me of fermenting custard. (don’t ask!)

The moisture levels was perfect, the tobacco packed perfectly fine, still do for that matter, And smokes mostly dry all the way through.

This tobacco caught me by surprise on the char light, didn't see it coming. Not as if I can see anything coming, being that I cannot see at all.

Peterson Irish Whiskey takes to a match like my wife to chocolate. Second match and it was smooth sailing strait threw the bowl. The Whiskey is very subtle, almost shy. Dominated by something rather smoky. I first thought it was Latakia, but I discovered it was not, due to the fact my pipe did not smell of Latakia after-the-fact. I was pretty happy with this discovery though.

Peterson’s Irish whiskey Burns rather cool, but I found it is one of those You could put down for 4 to 5 minutes And just keep going when you pick it up again.

The vitamin N kick took me totally off guard the first go around, to such an extent that I had to stay seated for a few minutes after my smoke.

Obviously being blind makes it rather difficult to read the info on the tin, so there you have it, a totally blind review of Peterson’s Irish Whiskey.
PurchasedFrom: Wesleys, rosebank store.
Age When Smoked: New.
30 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2015 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The bold earthy nuttiness of the burleys is the star component. The dark Kentucky is an important minor player that offers some smoky woodiness and a mild spice. Though Virginia is not listed in the description, I'm sure it is here in some capacity because I get some grassy sweetness that I don’t think comes from the burleys. The Irish whisky is mild, and not always very noticeable. It seems to shine a little more when you puff slow, and I recommend a slow cadence to avoid potential harshness or cigarette notes. The flavor is fairly consistent. Has a medium nic-hit. Burns at a normal rate if you let it, and leaves just a little moisture in the bowl. Needs a few relights, and has a pleasant after taste that lingers a little. Same goes for the room note. Not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 11, 2008 Medium Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
I will be brief, for a change. This is a nice burley dominated blend, mostly dark brown with some medium brown and a minority of golden brown. The cut is fine and average length.

The aroma is slightly sweet, mostly natural tobacco. I conducted a test and breathed from a Jameson bottle and compared with the tin the similarities between the aromas. The results were somewhat similar.

As the wise Pipestud said, our one and only Patriarch, you must need some hair on your chest before challenging this mixture. If you do, this smokes smooth, without biting and leaves you fully satisfied on the nicotine department.

Definitively recommended.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 04, 2012 Mild Medium Very Full Very Pleasant
The taste and aroma is full on this one. With a little patience you'll discover burley at his best mix with whatever else (in this case Kentucky). Whiskey is here but... you'll not notice if you already are after one glass of it, so if you wanna discover, try cognac or whatever else alcoholic drink. It burn evenly with no effort and you can let away the pipe for 3-4 min in discussion with no problems
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 11, 2015 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
In short - an enigma.

The whiskey note is very subtle as previously noted, it tends to pair quite well with a speyside whiskey. Personally i think this is enjoyed best with a sweet dark coffee to help bring out the whiskey sweetness.

It will forever remind me of a winter spent roaming the remote highlands with little in my bag bar this baccy , some coffee and and sometimes a small flask of glenmorange or even some bourbon. Its not very exciting truth be told , but it burns well and is reliable - a moderate strength tobacco best enjoyed on a dark night.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 21, 2014 Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I have tried several whiskey flavored tobaccos and I must say this one is superb! The flavor and strength are in perfect harmony in this offering. I have smoked 4 bowls of this today, and have dedicated one of my best briars to this tobacco. For me, this is without a doubt an all day smoke. It burns well, taste great, and is absolutely spectacular! This will be a mainstay for me, and I highly recommend this tobacoo. It is not too strong, but not too weak, the burley peaks out from the liquor casing and it just gets better the further down the bowl you go...
Pipe Used: briar
PurchasedFrom: smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2014 Overwhelming Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
Coming from Ireland I can vouch for the Irish Whisky notes in this blend. Others said they could not detect it but it is definitely there. The taste upon initial lighting is like Bushmills Honey blend. The tobacco is overpowering to smoke and hindered by a harsh cigarette-y nature. I found this difficult to enjoy, even in small quantities. It burns hot straight out of the tin and rewards smokers with a good deal of tongue bite. There is a nutty note to the burley--one of the few redeeming qualities--but the dry cigarette character of the bowl makes this a tough one to like. The nicotine hit is even stronger than Condor, another Irish blend. I think I will give this one a pass in the future. It tastes like a dry pack of Winstons you found under the seat of your car. If I could offer one suggestion to Petersons I would say this blend needs to be cut in half with some good black cavendish. That would mellow out the rough, biting nature of this harsh overpowering blend.
Pipe Used: Peterson's, German briar
PurchasedFrom: Peterson's, Dublin
Age When Smoked: New tin
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 18, 2017 Medium Medium Very Full Very Pleasant
Thanks to the "great new world" it's not called "Irish Whiskey" anymore, no it's "Irish Mixture" now.....insanity at it's best!

Anyways Peterson Irish WHISKEY: Virginias, Burleys, dark fired Kentuckys - does it remind you of another Peterson blend? Yes, Irish Flake has exactly the same ingridients and I have to say, both share quite a few similarities regarding the taste of the Burleys and Kentuckys.

Tin note is delightful, even tho dominated by the flavoring The flavoring is hard to describe, yet I'd say it has slight (fermented) fruit notes, malt, and lots of a honey-sweet/sugary note to it. The malt-note is what I guess supposed to come from the "Whiskey flavouring", which doesn't smell, nor taste like Whiskey, nor alcohol at all! It just slightly resembles the scent of a Bourbon (that's a good thing to me, as I don't like alcohol for it's effects, but like the smell and taste of a fine Whisk(e)y). EDIT: After storing the tobacco for ~2 months in its tin, the flavoring diminished quite a bit and the tobacco steps forward a tad.

Appetizing appereance. Fine ribbons of medium- to (very) dark-brown leafs are pressed very densly into the tin. Comes in perfect smoking condition right out of the tin and is rather on the dry side for a tobacco with a flavoring. Easy to pack, easy to light and keep lit.

Irish Whiskey´s most noticeable tobaccos (which are competing with the flavouring) are Burley and dark fired Kentucky. The added Virginia rounds the edges and supports the flavoring very well with it's natural sweetness, as well as earthy and citrusy-fresh tones by times. Burley and dark fired Kentucky melt into a delicious melange that offers rich and intense notes of slightly smoky wood, bursting nutty flavours and pleasing tanginess & spice. Hints of cigar now and then. The tobacco components remind me a bit of Irish Flake.

The flavouring is rather strong, but in a unobtrusive way, and I'd consider this an "semi-aromatic", as the flavouring isn't as strong as in the tin smell and leaves plenty of room of the tobacco to shine. I'd describe it as 50% tobacco / 50% flavouring in the taste. The flavouring itself offers (fermented) fruits, which remind me of tangerines and raisins, as well as a decent share of malty notes and a tad of honeyish sweetness maybe. No Whiskey, not even really reminiscent of Whiskey to be honest - BUT it's a very tasty and very refined flavouring that's never obtrusive, nor artificial in any way. I only bought this, because reviews stated it wouldn't taste like Whiskey or alcohol - and it really doesn't. It has plenty of malt-notes, enough tobacco taste that is in balance with the added flavours, and enough "punch" to keep me interested and satisfied.

This blend has a VERY creamy smoke, really, especially on the first quarter of the bowl, I get the feeling of real milk-cream, which I find very, very pleasant. I describe a lot of other blends as "creamy", but this blend is LITTERLAY creamy.

Even tho this is a rather strong smoke, it's well suitable for any time of the day imo, as it offers enough sweet, malty and slightly fruity flavours, to not be overwhelming for a smoker that's used to some Vitamin-N.

Room note as stated by my girl is just like the tin note - very pleasing! So this seems like an alternative for people whom like Kentucky-forward blends, but have to take care of his surroundings (which I luckily don't have to, but still this is an issue for a lot of pipers)

3 stars, as it doesnt quite hold up to it's name (no Whiskey), and isn't the most sophisticated blend I got to smoke. Yet it is one of the better blends out there, especially compared to other blends with "Whiskey" flavouring (f.e. Borkum Riff....). Not a blend I always keep a tin at hand, but I surely will grab a tin again by times.

Update: As I've grown to have smoked more Whiskey flavored blends I'll have to say: This is only 2,5 stars for me here! Solid? YES! But nothing fancy! 😉 Might strike a chord for you though!

6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 14, 2014 Medium to Strong Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
Realy nice blend. No tongue bite, nice aroma and slight notes of sweetness on the tongue. Also nice room note. I even went out to buy another tin - easy one of my new favorites. I prefer more strenght so that didn't bother me. Notes of the whisky flavour but not too strong.
Pipe Used: Stanwell & Bari
PurchasedFrom: JJ Cale Tobacconist
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"