Erik Stokkebye 4th Generation 1982

(2.68)
The 1982 Centennial blend celebrates our family’s 100-year anniversary in the tobacco business and I believe you will truly enjoy this mixture. The 1982 is a slow burning mixture, comprised of golden Virginias, sweet and soft mild black cavendish, light burleys and blended with small plugs of navy flake to ease the burning. French vanilla and black berry top dressing is added as a final step, creating an outstanding room note and a distinctive taste experience.

Details

Brand Erik Stokkebye
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Blackberry, Vanilla
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 1.4 ounce tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Extremely Mild (Flat)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.68 / 4
5

6

5

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 17, 2016 Very Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Pleasant
The Virginia provides a fair amount of grass, tart and tangy citrus with a very light acidicity as the lead component. The burleys have a little nuttiness and molasses along with a mild toasty earth in a support role. The black cavendish offers a little brown sugar. I notice very little vanilla while smoking this blend. The tart, lightly sour blackberry topping is mild. The tobaccos are muted by the toppings some. The strength, taste and nic-hit are very mild. It won’t bite. Burns fairly clean and cool at a moderate pace with a very consistent sweet and slightly sour, acrid flavor that translates to the short lived after taste and room note. Requires an average number of relights. Leaves very little moisture in the bowl. While everything related to the taste is well integrated, a definite lack of body and depth works against it. A reasonably comfortable all day smoke that somehow manages to be offer no more than a routine experience.

-JimInks
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 12, 2015 Very Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
When I recently ordered the complete line of 4th Generation blends this was the one I tried first. Mainly because I could not recall ever having smoked a true blackberry aromatic. For some reason, blends with fruit extract all seem similar to me and I have trouble telling the flavors apart - unlike my jams and preserves on my morning toast - anyway, I didn't taste the vanilla in this one but I did taste the fruit. Typically Danish in flavor and very remindful of a few of the Danish blends on the market today. Very light in strength, by the way.

Pipestud
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 23, 2014 Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
I was really looking forward to trying this after enjoying 1957 so well. Unfortunately it just didn't live up to my own hype. I will finish this tin but will not purchase any more. It was just too flat on taste and never really opened up throughout the entire bowl. Big letdown; maybe try bumming a bowl from someone instead of buying a whole tin.

Update 1/4/15. After drying a little in the tin for a few weeks this has improved ever so slightly. The blackberry peeked through a little more but not much vanilla. Will be fair and move to 2 stars but will finish the tin and order no more.
Pipe Used: Peterson Killarney
PurchasedFrom: J&R Tobacco while road tripping
Age When Smoked: Fresh tin
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2018 Extremely Mild Very Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
The rumour, down our way, is that 1982 is made from shredded chipboard. The flavour comes from the burning glue, known in the trade as glueberry.
Pipe Used: Stanwell billiard
PurchasedFrom: The Danish Pipe Shop (nice chaps).
Age When Smoked: New.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2021 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Tolerable to Strong
Eric Stokkebye 4th Generation 1982 is the eighth, and last, of a series of tins that traveled from my den to my NASPC tables and back over and over for about four years. I'm opening them to gain insight into why this is so. Let me start by saying that I wish I could say I was as happy with other Danish aromatics I have smoked as I am with 1982. When I reviewed Sutliff Country Estate earlier in this series of test smokes, I felt that past buyers had missed the boat on it. I feel the same about this blend. Opening the tightly sealed tin revealed a nicely verigated pipe tobacco with a range from near-lemon yellow to near-black. Nearly ready to smoke out of the tin, thirty minutes of airing out revealed that there really was a fruit aroma in this Danish blend; probably a berry flavor. Though not in fear of becoming my favorite aromatic, I enjoyed smoking this blend. I have two things to say after that: I wish the range of it's aromas and tastes were wider and it has a tolerable, but strange, room note. In addition to traditional tobacco notes, there was always an odd undercurrent like smoldering, dry grass clippings. I didn't find it so much as offensive, but odd. Blending with this mixture was a positive adventure and, all in all, I can recommend it at three stars.
Pipe Used: Charatan black sandblasted 44
Age When Smoked: tinned 4/2014
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 27, 2017 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Very Pleasant
Erik Stokkebye - 4th Generation 1982.

What an inimitable looking blend! There's all sizes of ribbon, blacks, browns, and golds, and even one or two actual flakes: bizarre! It smells strongly aromatic, and the moisture's smack on.

The smoke, to me, is quite strongly aromatic. The vanilla's subordinate to the blackberry, it can be identified, but struggles to compete with the sharp, slightly acidic, pungent, blackberry flavour. There's also a notable sweetness present, seems like honey. The tobaccos are of a decent weight with one another, giving a smattering of the standard 'heavy-aromatic' flavour, and plenty of a light-and-fresh quality. The heat can be different from bowl to bowl. It's dependant on the selection of cuts used to fill with: a cool smoke can easily be obtained by filling with the chunkier ribbons and flakes, but if the smaller shag-like cuts are used the heat can rise. I get absolutely no tongue bite from it.

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: lovely.

1982: I bought it because I was born in that year, and it would make a perfectly indulgent birthday smoke for me! Highly recommended:

Four stars.

Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 26, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
I rate this blend a 7 out of 10.

I ordered this blend to try for a couple of reasons, but the main one was simply because 1982 was the year I was born! I figured I ought to at least give it a try. 🙂 Boy am I glad I did! I have only been a hobby pipe smoker for a couple of years and maybe it is just where I am at in my journey, but at this point mildly aromatic tobaccos seem to be my favorite. I have tried ALOT of heavy aromatics, several non-aromatics including some VAs, VApers, VA/latika blends, and even some of the more hardcore balkans like Black House. While I can appreciate the complexity of those english blends, I am not sure I am quite ready to abandon the candied aromas completely, thus the mildly aromatics such as this wonderful 1982 blend.

Opening the tin I smell the sweet blackberry flavor as well as the rich tobacco scent of the full bodied virginias that are incorporated into this blend. It smokes perfectly by my standards and last a long time with good flavor all the way through the bowl and a definitely present nicotine punch from the virginias. Overall this is one of my favorite tobaccos right now!
Pipe Used: various
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 6 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 25, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
As a big fan of firedance flake, I had to try this as I really enjoy blackberry topped pipe tobacco. Well, this delivers it in spades! More natural tasting than most mystery berry aromatics you find in tobacco shops. The blackberry is fairly light, but enough to make this a solid 4 star blend. Plenty of vanilla also, and a room note to die for. This is also incredibly smooth and bite free. If you are searching for the perfect fruit aromatic, this blend will punch your ticket! I plan to buy quite a few tins of this. Its only downside is that it burns wet, and you may need a filter, to prevent pipe gurgle. It however, does not translate to a hot steamy smoke.
Pipe Used: cobs
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 10, 2023 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Stunned that this tobacco is so underappreciated. Blackberry, vanilla, burley...what is there to dislike? Oh, wait... yep, yea, I am certain, uh huh, ya, just as I thought, nothing to see here. Move along, citizen.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Victory Pipes
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2023 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Tin note of berries, vanilla and sugar. Tobacco is a mix cut of tan, dark brown, black and light brown. Moisture content is great. Burns slow with a few relights. The strength is mild to medium and nic is mild. Flavoring is mild, with notes of Vanilla and Blackberry. Vanilla and blackberry drop to the background during the first 1/4, Blackberry hangs around a little longer than the vanilla. Taste is mild to medium and moderately consistent, with notes of vanilla, sugar, berries, wood, earthy, hay, peaty vegetation, bitter, toast, spices, floral, molasses, nuts, tart and tangy citrus, mildly savory, orange peel/zest, acidic, a lemon grassy background note, and a peppery retro. Virginia is leading with Flavoring, Burley and Cavendish supporting. Room note is pleasant to tolerable, and aftertaste is good.
Pipe Used: 2015 XXX Ashton Brindle Author
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 year
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"