Peter Stokkebye English Luxury (No.17)

(3.08)
A characteristic English mixture, developed from mellow Georgian Virginias, black cavendish, Mexican burleys and Cyprian Latakia, a classic. Mild to medium strength.

Details

Brand Peter Stokkebye
Blended By Peter Stokkebye
Manufactured By Peter Stokkebye
Blend Type English
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Extremely Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.08 / 4
22

40

16

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 78 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 26, 2021 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
From the bulk sample I received, the tobacco is ribbon cut and came a little on the moist side, but smoked well as is. The tin aroma is very sweet. I easily pick up on the black cavendish. The burley shines through as well, with a lot of earth and nuttiness. Of course the smoky Latakia is present, but isn’t overly powerful. I believe this has has a light topping applied that is adding to the sweetness.

Upon lighting, the Latakia is in the forefront. It’s smoky, woody, and fragrant. It is on the light side however. The Virginias add a hint of sweetness, a blade of grass, and undertones of citrus. The Burley is quite present in the blend, and is nutty with a good amount of earthy notes. The Cavendish adds adds brown sugar and sweetness, and mixed with the sweetness from the topping, drowns out the tobacco to a degree. The topping, whatever it may be, doesn’t add a lot of flavor, mostly just sweetness, as mentioned before. Overall, an uncomplicated, very sweet, and mild English blend.

English Luxury smoked cool and dry, but could get a bit nippy if puffed aggressively, so slow gentle puffs will win this race. It stayed lit well and required few relights, so there was no fuss keeping it going. The flavor is in between mild and medium and Nicotine is just a hair less than that. This would be a good all day smoke for someone wanting a light and sweet English. 2.5 out of 4 stars.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 12, 2016 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The various Virginias are mostly grassy with tart and tangy citrus, and minor tangy dark fruit notes, and mostly form the base for the other components. The burleys offer earth, wood, nuts and a little molasses as an obvious supporting player. The brown sugar from the black cavendish adds a smooth and creamy undertone all the way through. The smoky, woody, earthy, musty sweet Cyprian Latakia is a team player that plays nearly at the same level of the burleys. There is a slight sweetness from a topping - most likely sugar - though it’s not distracting from the tobacco taste. Lacks a little body. The strength and nic-hit are just past the mild mark. The taste is in the center of mild to medium. Won’t bite or get harsh, and has few rough edges. Burns cool and clean at a reasonable pace with a very consistent sweet and more savory flavor from start to finish. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. The after taste and room notes are short lived, but pleasant. An all day sweet American English that could well serve one delving into this genre for the first time.

-JimInks
35 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Tolerable to Strong
This is one of those easy smoking English/Scottish blends. I really enjoy it and it is quite the bargain as well. It has a sweetener added to it, but I don't know whether it is topped, cased in whole or if just some of the Cavendish or burley is treated in such a way, but there is something sugary to this blend, to my tastes, perhaps a bit of vanilla.

Unlike other blends of this sort, the sweetness does not stand in stark contrast to the smoky Latakia. Rather it compliments it in a nice way. The Latakia is also present and is not hiding at all. Of this sort of blend, this is one of the better that I have tried. I would put this in the company of Bald-headed teacher and distinguished gentleman, but better than those two.

I recommend this for what it is; but would probably highly recommend it for someone just venturing into Lat blends. Also highly recommended to anyone on a budget as it is quite the bargain.
PurchasedFrom: B & M in Dudee Michigan
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 30, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
So I've read about this blend a good bit. From other favorable reviews this seemed to be just my ticket. As it turns out it is. The leaf is a nice consistent cut with a bright variety of colors. Not the usual English oily black. The Virginias look great against the Burley and Latakia. The smell out of the bag is a pleasant smokey aroma. All tobacco leaf here, no garbage stems and such. My first batch required quite a bit of drying but this was due to the tobacconist. He keeps it almost to the point of soaking wet. Needless to say I won't be going back. After hours of plate drying I packed a full bowl in a Peterson Kinsale XL15. It has a nice initial light with a very traditional English flavor. The Burley adds a nice full billow of smoke which I find particularly enjoyable. Burning through I felt like I was rushing the smoke. I really enjoyed the natural sweet taste. I didn't have much complexity to the taste. Once in a while I picked up a touch of a peppery zing. Mainly just a sweet creamy flavor. I felt as though it was enjoyable through. Not a tremendous nicotine hit by my standards. I really like this blend just about any time of the day. Perfect with a full dark roast coffee.
Pipe Used: Peterson Kinsale XL15
PurchasedFrom: King Beaver Cigar
Age When Smoked: 1year
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 29, 2013 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Tolerable
This is a very mild blend, basically an English, with the addition of Burley in greater amounts, which tends to create a slightly different flavor than the standard English blend. I'm going to state that many blends that do not list the burley content, actually have some burley in it, (I believe Greg Pease will agree with me on this). While English Cavendish is supposed to be made from VA, the word cavendish can mean either burley or VA, or a combination of both, and defines more of a process than a particular tobacco. Anyway, this blend actually has a decent content of Burley, outside of any that may be present in the form of the cavendish component. I don't know the exact formula but I would wager the burley content is relatively significant. The good thing about Burley is that in proper amounts, it can add a pleasant foundation to the blend, while taking on some of the characteristics of the other tobaccos, but too much can actually reduce the dimensional aspects of the blend. This blend balances the burley content nicely with the Lat/VA. I am smoking a 5 year old sample from one of my jars, so the fact that the Latakia is pushed a bit to the back during presentation may be in part due to the age (Lat can mellow with age) of this tobacco, and there is some loss of complexity due both to the age, and to the fact that it is aged with burley which tends to absorb, for lack of a better term, some of the distinct complexities of a blend over time. Still, there is a subtle nutty and sweet flavor with a small woody element to the smoke, which would likely be more notable if the blend had not been aged. The blend smokes cool and dry. Very few relights needed. I don't recommend aging this tobacco for long periods. Buy it in amounts that you will use within a 6-12 month period.

Jan 2017 update: I'm moving this blend up to 3 stars. Not sure if my tastes have changed, or I'm just getting more of a sweet tooth, but this blend does an exceptional job of conveying a touch of sugar to the palate. It's not a full dimensional English, but it is pretty good for an all day.

2021 update: I should have updated this 2 yrs ago. I'm moving this to 4 stars. This should serve as an example of how our tastes change over time. Some of it is perhaps due to subtle shifts in body chemistry. This tobacco blend has become a mainstay in my rotation.
Pipe Used: GBD, Wiley, Ferndown, Castello
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 month, 2 yrs, and 5 years,
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2009 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant
Lesser in Latakia than Proper English and English Oriental Supreme. Sweeter but not cloying in any way. Nice for a change of pace
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 05, 2015 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
English Luxury presents as a wide array of dark to light brown ribbons. The nose from the bulk bag is smokey sweet yet subdued, musty and earthy. 

The charring light takes quickly, as this blend ships ready to smoke in terms of moisture content. It's surprisingly dry for an aromatic English, and brings much less sweetness than one might expect. I get musty, earthy, damp, mushroom flavors from the Latakia with a very neutral burley base - parchment and wood rather than overt nutty or chocolatey flavors. The Virginia is smooth and mild, and far in the background. The Cavendish is truly unflavored and adds a subtle sweetness to balance out the blend. 

While the Latakia here is damp and musty in flavor, the blend itself smokes surprisingly dry. The Burley and Virginia are remarkably smooth and biteless. This blend reminds me of Wilke No.5 without the trademark Wilke flavoring on the Cavendish, dryer smoking, and less sweet. Another comparison would be a lighter, more mild version of Black Mallory.

English Luxury could be an all-day smoke, a great introduction to Latakia blends, or a solid choice of an aromatic English for those wanting only a touch of sweet within a smooth smoke that still imparts a Latakia flavor. Though an import, English Luxury is an outstanding and understated example of an American English blend. There is absolutely no bite to be found in this blend.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 26, 2006 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
A very pleasant bulk English, and very inexpensive as well. I do believe there is a bit of sweetener in this, but it is very discreet and is no hindrance to enjoyment.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2009 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
The addition of cavendish makes for a slightly sweeter and more aromatic smoke than the English Oriental Supreme. Sometimes it's exactly what I want. Always a pleasant smoke. It's also very mild (no tongue bite), and leaves a very nice room note. My wife loves it. This may just be the best deal in bulk tobacco out there. Not the most exhilarating perhaps, but very very well done.

Update: I bought a pound of this and it's a quite different than my first sample. Less sweet and more subdued aroma. More bite. I liked the first batch more, so I am downgrading it to 3 stars to average out.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 17, 2018 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Once you get this to the proper humidity level, English Luxury gets my vote as the most user friendly, smokeable English blend you can lay your hands on.

It has little complexity, Latakia depth or strength. However, it has

1) Absolutely no bite at any speed, it's impossible to get this to misbehave 2) Virtually no PG, 3) Pleasing room note, 4) Very smooth, rich mouthfeel, 5) Subtle sweetness under the surface, 5) A balanced, English flavor, with the taste of Latakia always present. 6) Mild (very mild) nicotine. It's also cheap.

I'd reccomend this as your first tobacco, your first English or I'd reccomend it to anyone as a change of pace.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2015 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Yet another of the bombing gifts from BoB. I got a few ounces of it and am smoking the final bowl now. I have to say, I will miss this one.

The tin note is Latakia heavy and smokey. The cut is a finer ribbon, nice looking. It packs and lights pretty easy. Not much bad to say about this blend in general. It has a good consistent flavor that is well balanced. Nothing stands out too much. I'm not sure about any topping here. I get little hints of sweetness here and there that I can't place a finger on. The strength is mild, maybe medium for some.

I don't know if I would recommend this to those who enjoy full English mixtures. Newer smokers will love it though. I've been enjoying it as a good change of pace from my normal heavier fare in the English family.
Pipe Used: IMP meer
PurchasedFrom: BoB gift
Age When Smoked: Fresh I think
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"