Peter Stokkebye B&B (No. 23)

(3.06)
One of Stokkebye's top selling blends. Primarily a mixture of Black Cavendish blended with light pressed Burley tobaccos, sweet Vanilla flavor. Cavendish and Loose cut.
Notes: B&B stands for "Black & Burley".

Details

Brand Peter Stokkebye
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley
Flavoring Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.06 / 4
12

10

8

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 31 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 27, 2002 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Oh, YES!!! This hard-to-find tobacco is the real thing. It is reputed to be the orginal Crown Royale of Tinder Box fame, but you will find it much more subtle and far more consistent than that tobacco which I have noticed over the years is widely inconsistent in its taste from batch-to-batch. If B&B is in fact Crown Royale, somebody is doing something terrible to the Tinder Box version while transforming it into its mass market counterpart. Deliciously flavorful and full of room appeal, I never fail to get compliments when I smoke B&B in public unless I am dealing with those joyless souls suffering from ideosomatic diseases. (afflictions brought about by ideology.)

My wife may have been initially attracted to me because of this stuff.

A basic cavendish blend with black cavendish, lightly pressed burley and a mild vanilla casing, this is the classic all-day smoke. It is by far my favorite tobacco, and even though I have enjoyed many others over the years, this is the one I always come back to.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2013 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
The vanilla topping is very mild. I get the typical burley notes: some nuttiness, a little toast, maybe a slight chocolate hint. The black cavendish is lightly vanilla-like. The tobaccos are toned down by the topping. Hardly has any nicotine. Packs easy, burns at a reasonable pace, won't bite, needs few relights, and leaves little moisture in the bowl. Has a decent after taste. The flavor, though suffering from lack of depth, is consistent all the way through. I consider this more of a mixer than a solo blend, but as a solo blend, it's a fine, pleasant, unobtrusive all day smoke to walk around with.

-JimInks
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 28, 2010 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I am becoming very impressed with PS aromatics of late. They have all the fine attributes of a good tobacco and none of the bad attributes that give aromatics a bad rap. These are not the over preserved, wet, biting, goopy aromatics that one expects especially at the price points PS is at, they are dry smoking, very tasty yet not cloying, non biting, and yet you can still taste the tobacco itself. B and B is just this and more. It comes as a mixed color tobacco running from dark brown to light brown in a ribbon cut and some rough cut flakes within and the pouch aroma is a rich, fragrant vanilla with a somewhat sour aroma, not bad but good sour. Tart is you will. Surprise number one is that it comes at just the right moisture level and no sticky feel to it. It loads very easy in the pipe and lights up very easy, it does rise on first light so need to tamp then relight. Upon lighting it up, one is rewarded with a very pleasant vanilla with a slight chocolate craminess on the tongue, very cool and not hot at all. It stays lit well, burns at a nice slow pace and a plus is that the smoker gains a little of his own room note, which by the way wonderful. It never gets bitter as you smoke it down and it remains consistant all the way down to a black and grey ash at the bottom of the pipe. No moisture or dottle is left at the bottom, you could easily relaod and smoke another bowl. I could not make this blend bite. It remained easy on the tongue no matter how fast I smoked it. This blend could easily be an all day blend and one would never tire of it. I am so impressed, I am going to order a pound of it and keep in my cellar. It's that good! I highly recommend it, even if you are not an aro smoker, it has none of the negatives of an aro.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2010 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
There seems to be a nice scent out of the bag with this fine blend from PS. The cut is kind of on the bulky side, for lack of a better phrase. But it loads nicely in a normal sized pipe. Some will say vanilla and some will go the chocolate route. Either seems to be the norm from people close enough by to smell the great aroma. This seems to be a nice slow burner, has no tongue bite and produces a nice amount of smoke. None of the goop left by many other aromatics, this weed burns to a nice white ash at the bottom of the bowl and there is absolutely no gurgle, as is the case with alot of other aromatics out there. The price can't be beat for the quality of the weeds used in this great blend from PS. Highly recommended.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 15, 2012 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
What a nice surprise! This is definately my favorite aromatic. I generally prefer straight burley blends but enjoy the occasional aromatic. The aroma and taste is very light and I am not getting any of the vanilla flavor. To me it is just a nice pleasant sweetness. Cant quite place the flavor but definately not vanilla. None the less it is a great smoke. Stays very dry as well. Had no moisture build up in my pipe which is un typical of aromatics which usually do. Highly recommend giving this a try even if you dont smoke aromatics.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 30, 2016 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
In the pouch, there is a faint vanilla scent and it appears to be about 2/3 black cavendish, There are a few pieces of mostly rubbed out flake. Moisture level is good.

Smoked, it is slightly sweet with a whiff of chocolate and vanilla. There is not much tobacco flavor here, but the burley gives a few nutty and sour notes, and I get the slightly musty flavor I get with some black cavendish. It is pleasant and benign, but there is not much here in terms of flavor. It does not intrude, but there is not much that is very remarkable.

I will say my wife liked the room note and said it smelled sweeter than things I usually smoked. As a mild aromatic that is "den friendly," this is probably a 3. For me it is something I will finish and not order. I am giving it a 2, but it is maybe a little better than that. I can believe there are folks who would love this.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2018 Very Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Burley and Black is wanna my favorite aromatics and I love smoking this fine blend. The tobacco is just so good and so rich and smooth that the taste of the topping keeps me coming back for more, I smoke this blend every single day in my rotation day or night driving or sitting its just that freaking good. I love the pressed burley and cavendish its just the way they did it, you can taste the tobacco as you smoke it down but is nice and sweet, it taste like a mellow vanilla with a hint of cream and a dash of a caramel chocolate but in no way like 1-Q or any other of the burley and cavendish mixtures, that's what I love about this blend it stand alone in taste. It is smooth and will not burn hot if smoked properly, it is alittle on the moist side but still smokes and does not steam, the nicotine level is quite low but its not always about that and it packs well in most pipes, you can leave it as is or rub it out if you wish either way it will work. One of the reasons I like as well is its not overly stupid sweet but just right and has a lovely room note. With this blend I love sniffing the jar all the time to, its just one of those blends I only do that to a few I have. This stuff is most excellent with coffee and the two go hand in hand perfectly, if you love vanilla style aromatics this is good for the collection. I highly recommend it because I love it that much, trust me I am not a fan of all aromatics there are quite a few I can do without, it does not taste chemically at all, its not a PG bomb because PS uses a different technique to keep there tobaccos moist and serious no steam you will absolutely enjoy nice velvety smoke. Happy Smoking Fellow Pipe Smokers and God Bless You!!!
Pipe Used: MM Cobs Tinderbox Pipes etc.
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 39
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 29, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
As others have noted, vanilla is not extraordinarily noticeable in this blend, and the ability to discern natural tobacco taste is a large factor in my judgement that this is a good aromatic at a great bulk price point. I get more of a sugary raisin note from the pouch note and charring light, but the room note deliciously evolves into what I can only describe as fresh pecan pie. I get more flavor out of this blend than I do with the majority of aromatics, but I wouldn't go so far as to say it will knock your socks off. It's unobtrusive, mild, mellow, perfect for sipping while in the mood for an aro and a good book. It burns evenly with little maintenance. I've enjoyed mixing a dash of this in some of my strong balkan, english, and VaPer blends to create some interesting variations. I plan to keep in my rotation and will buy again.
Pipe Used: various MM cobs
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 9 months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 25, 2010 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I am a big fan of Peter Stokkebye blends like Balkan Supreme, and this one is no exception. B-B is a wonderful cavendish and burley blend, and while it is advertised with a vanilla casing, I detect no vanilla flavor as such. I do however taste a very slight amount of cherry which makes this a tasty blend with coffee or after a good meal.

This lights easily, and burns to a fine whitish-gray ash with very little dottle left in the bowl.

All in all, you will be quite happy with this aromatic blend.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2003 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
I personally enjoy this tobacco as one of my all time favorites, although I must admit I love an aromatic with a Vanilla aroma. I find this most pleasurable after dinner for myself as a good slow relaxing smoke and would recommend this to anyone who enjoys an aromatic pipe tobacco.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 07, 2010 Mild Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
I am currently exploring the aromatic vanillas and yes, it may take years. This mission has led me away from perique to the taste of burley. This particular tabacco is delightfully different. The taste is subtle and has a lingering depth that is quite pleasant. I am still seeking my "go to" blend, but this is an inspired effort and sure to be in my stash for the foreseeable future.

Opening the pouch was reminiscent of visiting the Tinder Box. The leaf is chubby and contained long strands of pressed pieces. There is very little bite and its a very cool smoke for an aromatic. It is the most satisfying vanilla I've tried to date.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"