Mac Baren Mixture: Scottish Blend

(2.94)
A mild and lightly aromatic Scottish Blend, manufactured from ready rubbed, matured Virginia tobaccos, golden brown burley, cavendish and loose, ripe Virginia. Mixture is one of the most popular pipe tobaccos in the world, and is the leading brand tax free, a position which Mixture has been able to maintain through decades.
Notes: A.k.a. "Scottish Blend". Introduced in 1958. Mixture is made from more than 35 different tobacco leaves from different parts of the world. MacBaren blender Per Jensen states there is no honey added to this blend.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc, Sweet / Sugar
Cut Mixture
Packaging 200 grams tin weight, 200 grams pouch weight, bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.94 / 4
138

149

78

42

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 407 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 19, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
As smoking habits change, pipe smoking declines in popularity and more and more 'traditional' tobaccos go out of production, the market has tended to swing towards heavily cased aromatics. My heart sinks regularly to see yet another old-fashioned savoury tobacco vanish from the shops. Well: Mixture Scottish Blend is an aromatic, but not in the worst and most violent sense. I bought a couple of small samples out of curiosity because I had heard many good reports of it. I was a bit skeptical at first because my taste doesn't usually run to aromatics; but I was immediately won over by its pleasant, mellow taste and agreeable room note. It's a well behaved and civilized Virgina, Burley, Cavendish mixture put together in such a way that the natural flavours of the tobacco are enhanced but not swamped by the added topping. (Despite the 'Scottish' name there's no Latakia.) It burns slowly and evenly all the way to the bottom of the bowl, and leaves behind only a clean white ash. One very strong point in its favour is its ready availability in a world where the range of pipe tobaccos on offer is so rapidly dwindling. The only thing I would say by way of warning is that Scottish Blend is a tobacco that must be taken very slowly or it'll bite you hard. This tendency is a common feature of MacBaren tobaccos and here, as elsewhere, a sensible pace is essential. Smoked sensibly, Scottish Blend is a classy tobacco that will certainly find a regular place in my rotation. Highly recommended.

Pipe Used: Dr Plumb Lumberman
PurchasedFrom: Green's of Leeds; then My Smoking Shop
Age When Smoked: Fresh from the shop
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2013 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Watch out for this one, she's a biter!

Decent room note, the flavor was quite good, and it did provide a slight dose of nicotine, which I don't mind. I would have probably given it three stars, but it bit my tongue like a rabid dog. I realize tongue bite can differ from person to person, but I can't imagine this one not biting all who smoke it. Decent tobacco, two stars.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 27, 2013 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Like all the aromatics I've tried, the aroma off the tin is great but the real proof comes at smoking time.

After a couple of horrible experiences with some other MB aromatics who's bite was too much for me, this one was somewhat smokeable due to a pleasant coating effect and dense smoke at the beginning of each draw. There's bite in it too and that's a no-no.

I'm left wondering how many people give up the beautiful world of pipesmoking due to the bite and hot temperature of your average, readily available aromatic tobacco.

I can't help but think that if a mild cool burning english mixture was as common as a mac baren vanilla, we'd see more people enjoying the pipe!

in the end perhaps it's worth a try for a soft entry into aromatic tobaccoes.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 27, 2020 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Purely an English blend. It was very pleasant for me when it's lit up i can't put down my pipe. taste is got a light bourbon whiskey note. it can be smoked without any drinks at any time of the day.
Pipe Used: Angelo Briar
Age When Smoked: 40
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 24, 2019 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
I remember back when Walgreens sold this in the tins. It’s probably hard for the younger pipers to believe, but Walgreens used to sell quite a large variety of pipe tobacco and cigars. Mac Baren Scottish Mixture was the one tobacco I really learned to smoke a pipe with. It’s a real tasty tobacco blend that requires one to slow down and take it easy. Smoke this mixture faster than a sip and it will nip at your tongue. Mixture has a handsome aroma, and the taste is grassy sweet Virginia with the roundness of Burley. It seems I may taste a wee bit of liquor added. Could it be Teacher’s? This tobacco mixture satisfies with good medium nicotine level, a rich tobacco taste and flavor.
Pipe Used: Ashton Canadian
Age When Smoked: Fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 17, 2019 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
First take:

This blend is just excellent but I couldn't figure out why it's labeled as an aromatic. It's a very complex blend that is excellent from the first light to the end. I had to re-light this often because it made itself known as a slow burner. Slow and low. I tried the breathing method and still couldn't go slow enough. It's definitely one I plan on keeping in my rotation. It has a lot going on except for the "Aromatic" flavors that I'm used to in my aromatics. That's not a bad thing at all, just something I was searching for while going through the bowl.

Nutty, full but not overpowering, complex. Every draw had something a little bit different until I got it too hot. Too hot and the nuances get hidden. Aftertaste is a bit like unsweetened chocolate, but I didn't taste any chocolate at the time. I can't wait to get back to it.

2022-08-06 Update: I brought this same jar out of my cellar, so at this point, it's almost 3 years old. After going through a catalog of English blends, I can now tell why this blend is technically called an aromatic. There is something sweet in this blend. Maybe it's just regular, white sugar. But whatever has been added to this blend makes it an absolute pleasure to smoke. It has just the right amount of sweetness--just a hint. The rest of the tobaccos in this blend play off each other so well. Not one of them looking for center stage. This blend is mild and approachable enough to recommend to someone new to a pipe, but good and interesting enough for an old codger to enjoy. I will keep this blend on hand for as long as I own a pipe.
Pipe Used: Peterson 314
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 month
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2019 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This one has a very complex flavor. It's subtle and mild, and I can't begin to identify all flavors. Sweet, creamy, spicy, musky, fruity, nutty, and citrusy are the first things that come to mind. Different aspects of the blend's character can vary from one puff to the next. It does this in a way that makes it interesting, not inconsistent, if that makes sense.

I don't find this to be a particularly bitey blend, but if you're going a little fast it will get hot both in the bowl and on the tongue. I like the room note, the gf doesn't. Smoking it at the recommended slow pace means an occasional relight, but doing so can open up a new set of flavors and aromas.

I can see this as a blend that one could smoke all day. I haven't done that, but I think it's a great first-thing-in-the-morning blend.

It might help to think of this as a blend that rewards the lazy pipe smoker. The less effort you put into smoking it, the more you'll get from it. You can't say that about many things in life.
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Unknown bulk, purchased 3 months ago
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2018 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
I've been smoking this stuff all day and still can't figure it out.

My confusion with this blend started when I popped the tin the other day. While inspecting the contents, I saw every color and almost every cut available on the market. Ribbons, broken flakes, cube cut, shag, bits, and quite a few dusty specks at the bottom of the tin. The color is mostly light brown, with bright streaks, reds, and a bit of dark.

The tin note is very pleasant, sweet Virginia's lead the way, combined with a sugary topping. I get fruity citrus notes, along with a bit of a nutty chocolate smell. There also seems to be a touch of something alcoholic in the background. Every sniff brings out something different. Again, I find myself confused.

The smoke is mildly sweet and pleasant (but it will bite if you puff like a madman). I mostly get a Virginia and burley flavor, but the toppings show up from time to time. The flavor changes quite a bit from bowl to bowl, and even puff to puff. The room note is sweet and non-descriptive.

Not much to say about this blend, good or bad. It is a flavorful smoke that borders on an aromatic, but maintains a natural character. It's the kind of smoke that you can reach for when you don't really know what your in the mood for.
Pipe Used: Moonshine Poker
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2017 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
MB Mixture is an underrated tobacco that everyone should try at some point. Aromatic lovers and natural fans can both enjoy this one. The complexity is mindblowing, starting from the tin note which is so good I nearly ate it instead of puffing it. Needs some drying when you first smoke it, though. Otherwise burns clean, little moisture, leaves white ash behind, nothing else really. It tastes really good, as you can enjoy the sweet aroma and the natural flavours of the tobacco at the same time- and this is a great example that they can work really well together. It won't bite you even if you push it, however, it the taste will decrease; so try to puff it at a moderate pace. Now this one can be an all day smoke, and, as others have pointed it out too, you can smoke this for months and you will never tire of it. Highly recommended for the starters and experts as well.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Bunös élvezetek kicsiny boltja, Pécs, Hungary
Age When Smoked: Freshly bought
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 06, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
I really can't understand why this only has a average rating of 2.8 stars! I was expecting this to have a much better average rating tbqh!

Great tobacco taste and a decent, well done flavouring.

As I opened the 50g pouch today I was very pleased by the smell. It has a spicy (almost Perique-ish peppery) and soft honey-ish sweet note to it. Also a bit citrus-/hay-ish smell to it, which i guess is owed to the excellent Virginas used for this one. At first I thought there were Orientals in it, due to the spicy character the tin-smell gives. But it's just VA/Burley/Cavendish as the description says. The mixture is filled with a lot of ready rubbed Virgina, accompanied by a bit burley and speckled with little bits of Black Cavendish. The appearance is very appettizing, as well as the smell.

The taste is pretty sweet compared to the spicy smell. It's a typical MB Aroma I guess. Honey-ish - very natural, but easily noticeable flavouring, that almost appears to be "real honey". Smoked in a clay, I could make out a taste remind me of butter-cookies, but just a whiff of it. Very pleasant!

Even tho it comes along pretty sweet, you can still clearly taste the delightful tobaccos in there. It has got a decent spiciness and very little peppery tang to it especially towards the end of the bowl, but the VAs dominate the rich taste. Honey, bread, some grass and hay. I personally can't taste the burleys as those, but I guess they play a supporting role to this tobacco, giving some nutty backbone and perking up the spice. Cavendish adds a slight toasty-ness to the flavor and makes the smoke creamy and full.

"35 diffrent tobacco leafes were used" - and that is noticeable. With every pinch you take out of the pouch there is a chance you get a few different nuances to the smoke. Interesting, but may be bothering people who want a consitent smoke. I don't mind it, I find it to make this blend unique

A excellent blend, which is easy to find (you can get it nearly everywhere; even the small tobacco shops who only sell 2-3 pipe blends often have it here in Germany), easy to smoke and - most importantly - easy to enjoy. Even if you don't have time and leisure for conscious tasting, it will reward you with a nice, fresh and not overly, but decently sweet smoke. If you take your time it's a even bigger joy. Due to it's high percentage of VAs you shouldnt smoke it to hastily or rushed, or it will just become bity and the tasty flavour will hide.

3-stars, not the "eye-opening" smoking experience, but solid as rock and may as well be a 4-star blend for lovers of more aromatic tobaccos!

|| Personal rating: 3-stars | Rated for what it is: 3,5-stars! ||
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"