Mac Baren Mixture: Scottish Blend

(2.94)
A mild and lightly aromatic Scottish Blend, manufactured from ready rubbed, matured Virginia tobaccos, golden brown burley, cavendish and loose, ripe Virginia. Mixture is one of the most popular pipe tobaccos in the world, and is the leading brand tax free, a position which Mixture has been able to maintain through decades.
Notes: A.k.a. "Scottish Blend". Introduced in 1958. Mixture is made from more than 35 different tobacco leaves from different parts of the world. MacBaren blender Per Jensen states there is no honey added to this blend.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc, Sweet / Sugar
Cut Mixture
Packaging 200 grams tin weight, 200 grams pouch weight, bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.94 / 4
138

149

78

42

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 407 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 23, 2002 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Mac Baren is one of the few brands you can find commercially in my country. I have always found its blends prepared with top grade tobaccos, but quite mild and sweetish (even its Latakia mixture tends to taste like truffles!), hence almost always leading to different degrees of tongue bite. Mixture-Scottish blend seems to be an exception. Slightly above the mild line (though not quite a medium strength tobacco), and not really sweet, it is composed of a variety of tobaccos and cuts that make it intriguing. There are, of course, small strands of black Cavendish with little or no flavouring at all, different types of Burley (an element which undoubtedly will dissuade the highly esteemed Eulenburg from trying it, or liking it!), and matured Virginias, some of it in broken flake form.

The tobacco texture is soft and pleasant to look at and, at least in the pouch (there is a tin version I have not yet tried), it has a slightly honey-on-toast aroma, a peculiarity that wears off if allowed to air for a few hours. I believe there could be some PG in it, but the tobacco is not at all moist or goopy. Rubbing it out a little, it facilitates the packing. I tried this in a Stanwell Golden Danish free hand.

The first few puffs reveal a slightly sharp taste, albeit rather sweet. Drawing very slowly for fear of tongue bite, the mixture burns dry and smoothly. By the ¾ bowl mark, the initial sweet undertones are replaced by a toasty flavour, a little bitter, but not at all unpleasant. No need to relight. By mid bowl, the different components seem to be better integrated, yet there is still a certain amount of competition between the black Cavendish and the Burleys, keeping the Virginias on the background. By the end of the bowl, there is the full flavour of a well balanced tobacco. Nothing extraordinary, definitely not an all day smoke, but a good pipe tobacco for a change of pace. It is a little bit harsh on the palate, but not terribly bad.

I think this is a mixture that would be enjoyed by those who want to break from strong cased aromatics without standing up to pure Virginia or Latakia based mixtures, or else by former cigarette smokers who would like to venture into the pipe experience.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 20, 2017 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I first started to smoke this blend in the mid 70's after a few months of smoking Borkum Riff whisky. This was much better and I would have sworn it was not an aromatic blend. It became pretty much my primary tobacco for a number of years and only when I had moved away from University (actually could buy this in large cans at the University bookstore) and could not seem to find it where I was that I tried Mac's V#1 and due to its easy availability and the slight sour citrus flavour that reminded me so much of Mac's Scottish blend became my go to tobacco. Now, some 35 years later I have returned to Mac's Scottish blend once I discovered it is readily available via P&C. The current rendition is not quite the same as I recalled the blend - either some changes to composition, topping, or more likely the inaccuracy of my memory. I still am very hard put to call this an aromatic as whatever top dressing there may be has been applied with a very expert hand as it does not overwhelm the fine, yet subtle, tobacco flavours present in this mixture. Intermittent hits of sweetness, some heavier notes, a slightly sour citrus, all these flavours and more grace every pipe load. It seems to smoke easily with only one or two relights required to finish a large bowl. The ash is somewhat mottled while predominantly producing a fine white ash. Like V#1 it is best smoked slowly to get the multiple nuances of the complex blend and to avoid the tongue bite that many Macbaren blends reward (punish) vigorous puffing with. Unlike some of the VaPer blends I have been smoking this can be smoked all day without one ever being overwhelmed by the peppery aspects of the perique in those offerings. The only negative is that when you have finished a bowl it is difficult to resist having another one right away. I believe two things contribute to this conundrum; one it really has a real kaleidoscope of subtle flavours and a relatively mild amount of nicotine both of which might make you want more. I highly recommend this to both the novice, as it is so much better than the vast majority of aromatics as to be a nice bridge to non-aromatic blends, and to the diehard smokers of non-aromatic virginia based offerings as a delightful change of pace.
Pipe Used: MC canadian, Brigham 1 dot bent, MM
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: 1 year
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 03, 2018 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Unnoticeable
A really tasty tobacco blend this. It also sends me back to the 70's and 80's when this famous livery was seen on shelves unimpeded with spoilsport metal doors at corner shops and newsagents' the length and breadth of the country.

I'm still amazed that this one has remained under my radar for so long. It's possibly because I was intent on trying the entire virginia range of Dan Pipe. And, of course, my general ignorance of MacBaren's blends.

The pouch aroma is one to die for. It reminds of Rattray's Terry Red (can you still get this?). The sweetness of this made me suspect it might be one of those blends (like Dunhill's Royal Yacht for example) that promises so much in the opening fragrance yet delivers none of the enticing aroma in the smoke.

This does however and I have found it best to smoke one whole bowl in one go if possible and the flavours remain constant throughout. Like some alcohol flavoured tobaccos this does have a tendency to burn off the casing and smoke hot if pushed. Certainly a fair comment in this regard from one of the other reviewers here. You are greatly rewarded if you can smoke this one as slowly as possible wih as few relights as possible, so a small to medium filling volume seems the best bet.

The citrus-like honeyed character of this blend shines through, bowl after bowl and, again, as previously mentioned, there is no shortage of complexity here. It's certainly a friendly old blend, no bite unless abused, and a welcome addition to anyone's cellar with a firm nod to the past.

Incredibly, and perhaps the only downside to this blend, is the lack of room note. The aromatic qualities have remained unremarked by Mrs RW. It could be that she has been assaulted by so many different tobaccos over the years she may be immune to the allure of this one.

This is a tobacco I intend to have in stock as often as possible and one that bridges the gap between plain virginias and aromatics very nicely indeed. A worthwhile all-day smoke to come back to time and time again.

Pipe Used: All
PurchasedFrom: Gifted by son from Spain
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2018 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
One of the pipe worlds most best loved stalwarts, in fact I remember when this was sold at my local co-op, yes, Scottish blend was an otc, about 25 years ago, unfortunately I wasn't a 5 year old pipe smoker.

Anyways that's the anecdotes out of the way, i must say though Scottish blend is the biggest chameleon I have ever came across.

opening the pouch, you are greeted with mostly beautifully light chunky golden broken flakes speckled with darker tobaccos and loose cut Cavendish.

Aroma straight away, is almost like honeyed lavender, a nice chocolatey/hazelnut wisp here and there and a slight fruity over tone, a little cinnamon like spice and some nice hints of fresh Virginia.

packing is a doddle, whether you choose to rub out or pack as is, it won't give too much trouble.

lighting is also just as easy then settle back and enjoy the myriad of flavours that come to the fore, some are fleeting visits others hang around a touch longer.

during the smoke I get sweetness, wildness, hints of leather, that honey slightly floral taste, fleeting visits from citrus fruits, some nice chocolatey burley, grassy/hay like Virginia notes along with a host of others.

performs well in any pipe you put it in although I find narrow and wider chambered pipes work best personally.

Now anyone reading this would be forgiven for thinking that with all these nuances that it would just end up as a convoluted mess, but somehow, Mac baren have made it work superbly. It is a delight to smoke from start to finish and when finished, you are left with that fabled "fine white ash.

it's a tobacco I have skirted round for a good number of years and finally plucked up the courage to try it. Boy am I glad I did.

oh and room is one of the nicest I have encountered, shouldn't offend the majority although it may raise an eyebrow with ardent none smokers.

As a side note I would not recommend to the total novice, as fast puffing will lead to tongue bite, gain a little experience and when you can sit back and savour a fine tobacco with the correct cadence then you will enjoy this and savour it whole heartedly.

4 stars easily earned and already looking at buying a 5 pack.

Pipe Used: falcon Dublin and Apple hunter
PurchasedFrom: Mysmokingshop.co.uk
Age When Smoked: new
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2017 Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
Another classic Dane by Mac Baren.

The tin note has indeed some honeyish qualities (I wouldn't know how to decribe it otherwise) as well as a subtle alcoholic note (due to German government information, 5mg of rum are used for 1000mg of tobacco).

Loosely packed (esp. bacause it's nearly a ready rubbed tobacco) and smoked VERY carefully, the aroma can be enjoyed during the whole smoke. The tobacco can burn slow and cool but smokes hot quite easily (to then transform into a fierce Tongue Gremlin).

The taste is round and just nice, without any particular aromas to be detected. On the other hand it is also complex, with changes from grassy undertones to almost earthy qualities to the end. All the time it keeps a dominant sweetness, also in the roomnote, which is not really a crowd pleaser but also nothing to get banned to the balcony.

I recommend to smoke it without a filter, with a 9mm charcoal filter it tastes strange to say the least.

To be honest, I don't know exactly why I like this tobacco so much, and why I keep buying it. It just finds its way into a pipe almost by its own, almost as if it sneaks into the bowl.

I enjoy every smoke, every time of the day every time of the year. And then, suddenly and by surprise, the tin is empty again and I hadn't noticed that I did smoke it so often. I then think I will lay of a bit and after e.g. a visit to a gas station or after buying grocerys I spontaneously buy another tin and the same begins all over again.
Pipe Used: Danish briars, unfiltered
PurchasedFrom: local shops and local gas station
Age When Smoked: fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 14, 2017 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
Mac Baren - Mixture Scottish Blend.

This is a blend I reviewed a few years ago, one of my first reviews, but when I re-read it I thought it was a fairly inane attempt. Take two, lol:

The pouch contains an aesthetically pleasing blend: black, gold, and brown, tobaccos in many different shapes and sizes. The note from the pouch has a touch of fruit and spice to it, a bit like a mince pie! Moisture's perfect.

Getting a bowl lit is a simple task, and it gives a steady enough burn. The only problem with the burn is the heat from it, there's way too much. Regarding the tobacco tastes, I find them fairly pleasant. Yes, it's a busy flavour, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. It's too tricky for me to label any one of the tobaccos as being the most imperious, they all pop in and out, sooner or later! Like the aroma from the unlit blend, the topping comes over in the smoke as being mince pie like: spicy, fruity, sweet, with maybe a drop of alcohol. Unless I'm delicate with my cadence it can issue me a bite, so have to I puff it with care.

The nicotine's medium, and the I'm not exactly a fan of the room-note.

I feel this is a more accurate review than my first, but can't increase my rating much. It goes from 'not', to 'somewhat'.

Two stars.
Pipe Used: Peterson # 68. My first Pete'!
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 10, 2014 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This is a very tasty blend that reminds me of eating warm wheat toast with butter and honey. This blend does not produce billowing clouds of smoke, but rewards the smoker with small, fragrant wisps.

The wife likes the room note more than any other aromatic tobacco I've smoked. She says it has a distinctive incense-like aroma. Despite the room-note, I only detect a very pleasant tobacco flavor.

Smoke this blend slowly, as it will bite if pushed. However, with good technique, this blend can be enjoyed all day.
Pipe Used: Various briers
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 04, 2019 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
A staple blend for me. Golden virginias and some cavendish on a fairly coarse cut offer you a pleasant smell from tin cracking. It does smell like honey and maple for me... It packs well, lights and burns well. Must be savoured slowly to produce a profound relaxing taste and aroma. Puffing hard will over heat and make it lose the best of its flavour profile. It gives good tingling on retrohale and it is a very satisfying smoke. It gets better towards the end of the bowl. I like to smoek this one on larger and thicker walled bowls. It is certainly a pipe tobacco that stood to its time given the greatness of the achieved blend.
Pipe Used: Vauen, Stanwell, savinelli, Brebbia
PurchasedFrom: Duty Free
Age When Smoked: about 2 - 3 years
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I tried this blend a few months back. It's a curious blend that I almost passed without spending more time understanding. For me, this tobacco has different impressions. It can be mild and sweet if smoked very slow. It can be more robust if smoked faster. The flavor changes along with it's intensity depending how you smoke it and how one packs the pipe. It's better for me if broken up some, spread and let to dry a spell for about 30 min before loading the pipe. I find it more enjoyable smoked in a MM Diplomat cob. Lately I've been reaching more for this blend. It's become a favorite. It's, in my opinion, one of the best smokes available. You will miss how good this tobacco is unless you invest a good bit of time smoking Mixture. However, the time invested may convince you why this blends has become one of the "all time" favorites of pipe smokers. A real classic. I smoke it at least once everyday and has become one of my favorite "go too" tobacco blends. It's lovely tobacco. I always of late, keep this tobacco readily on hand.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2020 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
I have only tried the pouch version. I have learned from someone who smokes it daily that it is advisable to buy the tin version since it is better in taste and lasts longer wet. I have also seen many comparisons with the Mac Baren Mixture Flake and there are those who say that it is the same tobacco, only here in the Mixture Scotish Blend that flake is crumbled. In some of these comparisons it is said that they first pack the flake and then crumble what is left over to make the Mixture Scotish Blend, leaving it somewhat drier and with a slight loss of flavor.

Returning to the mixture that concerns us here, it is a tasty, sweet tobacco, with a certain honeyed touch (although as you can see in the heading the mixer claims that it does not contain honey), creamy and full-bodied. It is not tiring or cloying despite its sweetness, so it can be smoked at all times and even repeated on the same day. But beware! If you smoke it carelessly the pipe will become red hot and your tongue will be in danger. Thanks to the advice on this page, I have managed to smoke it several times without getting itchy at all, and as people here say, it has no secret: smoke slowly and if the pipe gets hot, let it rest. It is worth some discipline in this process to enjoy this tobacco. I also add a filter to the pipe when I smoke any aromatic and with this I do not make an exception. The result has been a series of very pleasant and tasty smokes, although I take a star from it for the excessive heating that occurs in the pipe. Anyway, I will repeat, and next time I will buy the Mixture Flake to see if it is true, as some say, that the flavor remains more intense and lasting during the smoke.

Its qualification as "aromatic" can lead to some misunderstanding, since its topping seems so natural that if it were not for the warning, some of us could have gone unnoticed. I also want to mention the good relationship between its quality and its price.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"