Lane Limited Captain Black Gold

(2.15)
Matured golden cavendish tobaccos.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Ltd.
Manufactured By Lane Ltd.
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Cavendish
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 1.5 ounce pouch, 12 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.15 / 4
13

57

88

52

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 210 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2022 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
My grandmother used to say "if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all". Well, Captain Black Gold has a... sort of... nice room note. Maybe I should end my review there. Really though, aside from the sentimentality of remembering grandpa's pipe smell, there isn't much pleasant here. It has an unnaturally weird chemical scent and taste. It tends to burn pretty hot. And I'm not sure there is any nicotine in it at all. It's just not a good tobacco.

Bottom line: If I follow the definitions of the stars, with 2 stars being "somewhat recommended" and 1 star being "not recommended"... I have to give it one star. There are just so many better blends out there, even if you want a cheap vanilla aromatic.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2017 Mild Very Strong Mild Pleasant
Every new pipe smoker usually tastes captain black blends.same here before 5 years...when i broke yhe seal oh my god!what a nice smell..smells very promising...but it isn't...quite the opposite..very moisty even after drying..when i light it a blue flame came out!after a half bowl you get nothing but moist..it burns the pipe like hell!needs 1 9mm for 1 bowl..the pipe is full of moisture after finishing and it needs serious cleaning...the aftertaste is like smoking something chemically blended.
Age When Smoked: When opened!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 25, 2016 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Lane Limited - Captain Black Gold.

I've smoked a few of the Captain's lately, I enjoyed Regular and Dark, but feel this falls a bit behind.

The smoke isn't horrible, it's quite mild and sweet: honey, vanilla and hay. The main issue for me is the bite; it hurts my tongue after a very short amount of time. There are some better points: the burn's good, the smoke's cool, the nicotine's mild, and the room-note's superb. But to me, this is the worst of the C.B's I've piped as of yet.

That said though, it still gets two stars not one.

Somewhat recommended.
Pipe Used: Levent Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2015 Very Mild Mild Very Mild Pleasant
I tried this again after writing a bad review and found the second go-around not as bad as I had previously written. This is a decent blend and is actually great value for the price. Like Captain Black Regular but with a little more kick.
Pipe Used: Corncob
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2015 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Tolerable
Bright and fair, very aromatic but definitely bites. Like all Captain Blacks, it has the signature taste, the vannila-cocoa and slightly chemical but pleasant taste, however not mild at all. It has a wooden, bitter note that develops in something that from a distance might resemble cinnamon when the tobacco ages outside a sealed can or a ziplocked poach. It burns too hot, for being a quite dry tobacco thus giving us a harsh tongue bite, not so present in the canned version. It does not Last long in the bowl even when well horizontally flattened rested. It just be sipped slowly or the bites will eventually turn into Burns. Works better in cold days, at half bowls with a good air flux. I would prever Royal Blend instead, for the flavour being richer and the tongue bite very similar, if not less damaging than Gold.
Pipe Used: Bertoldi
PurchasedFrom: Tabacaria Rodovi√°ria - Itapetininga (SP)
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2015 Very Mild Very Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Not much to say. The room note was wonderful, SO-approved. Extremely deficient in vitamin N. The taste was good but rather faint -- not much intensity there. If this blend had a little more balls it would be a 3-star blend. Very pleasant, though, and a good blend for newbies and those not looking for a lot of body or flavor intensity. Not bad at all, but I have not bought any more. I would probably give this a 2.2/4.0 or so.
Pipe Used: At least 5
Age When Smoked: Fresh pouch
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 29, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This isn't as good as Captain Black Royal. Still, it's available everywhere, the price is good, and the quality is better than most people give it credit for. Interestingly it's completely different depending on the speed of smoke - when smoked fast it's rather bland and uninteresting, but when smoked very slowly much more depth is revealed. Because it's so mild (and presumably very low nicotine content) there's a temptation to puff away quickly in order to get some taste and a 'fix'. If that temptation can be resisted, a slow smoke gives a much more satisfying result with much deeper flavors.

I think it's a pretty good tobacco for the price, but Captain Black Royal is much better.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 02, 2014 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
The Good Old Captain Black Gold was my third tobacco I tasted after the horrors of Erinmore Mixture and a slight surprise with Captain Black Royal. I would say it's a nice welcome to the Captain Black Series. So here we go with the review.

Tin/Pouch Aroma: Excellent, not overpowering like Captain Black Regular and also fortunately misses that Chemical X smell I experienced with Captain Black Regular.

Smoking experience: I would recommend airing any aromatic for atleast 15 minutes before packing your bowl, it will allow extra moisture to evaporate giving you very few relights. The first light was really good and didnt actually required tamping or relights till I reached mid-bowl and after the second light it smoked perfectly till the end.

This tobacco is quite mild, tasty and a little bit complex. I would occasionally get taste of vanilla and something sweet without being overpowering like the Regular version. Very nice smoke for when you are relaxing and working on something and can sip on it slowly enjoying it with your mouth and yes with your nose. The bowl finished with relatively smoothness and ease and the only con I see in this tobacco is the black burnt cookie crust it leaves instead of turning into white ash. You can simply break it with a toothpick without touching your bowl and drop the ash in the ashtray.

One word of caution: Do not smoke this in a briar pipe, it will become bitter and the moisture will creep the stem into your mouth, instead, use a corn cob pipe with a medium to big size bowl and you will have a blast.

However, if you have better options like Lane's 1-Q, go with that. I reserve CB for when I can't get my regular tobaccos. It is not a third grade tobacco but rather a mild distraction when your main show is not available.

Get a tin and not a pouch !!

2.5 out of 4 stars.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Erik Nording 190
PurchasedFrom: www.cigarsindia.in
Age When Smoked: 2 weeks
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 11, 2014 Mild Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
First tobacco I smoked. Even then it seemed sickly sweet. Moist to the point of being soggy, it was hard to keep lit.

I'll move on.
Pipe Used: Corncob and Brindisi Briar
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 05, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Sweet mixture of Mild, Golden Cavendish Tobaccos. Excelent for people that enjoy sweet aromatic tobaccos, but with not so much strong in nicotine. This is for me the second between the better Captain Black Blends, after the Royal.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"