Lane Limited BLWB

(2.44)
Burley Light Without a Bite, a breakthrough in pipe tobaccos. Here's a burley blend without burley's traditional bite and with Lane Limited's fabulous aroma. This unique blend is not for the cavendish smoker, but the person who likes burley.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley
Flavoring Cocco, Other / Misc, Vanilla
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.44 / 4
13

19

27

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 72 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 05, 2018 Mild Very Mild Mild Very Pleasant
These notes are my first impressions of BLWB. I’ve only had a few bowls of this, so far. I’m using it to break in my brand new Gardesana Bianca Lovat pipe. I’ve also had a large bowl in a meershaum. I suspect I’ll get to like it more over time. I agree with some of the other reviewers that there is nothing to get too excited about with this blend. But I like it. I find it to be very similar to Carter Hall, Prince Albert, Granger and the like, and I suppose that is Lane’s intention. Seems they succeeded very well. There is plenty of nuttiness here, it smokes smoothly, cooly and really doesn’t bite. The topping isn’t chocolatey. Just a gentle sweetness that is very pleasant. This blend packs easily, burns well and leaves no gunk and little moisture. Minimum re-lights. There may be some humectant applied, but if so, it seems minimal to me. BLWB does what it is supposed to do, and it does it very well. It is mild and unobtrusive, but still tasty. If you like mild, OTC, “old codger” burley blends, you can’t go wrong with BLWB. The price point is pretty good, too. Frankly, I don’t understand why this blend doesn’t get better ratings here. It is really very decent. Cheers!
Pipe Used: Gardesana Bianca Lovat Molina Natura meershaum.
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & Cigars, Bethlehem, PA
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 13, 2014 Very Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
No complexity to speak of, besides the molasses and brown sugar sweetness and a little nuttiness, earth and wood from the burley. If it does have a coconut topping, the coconut is very mild. There is a light sugary vanilla topping, and the toppings sublimate the burley to a fair degree. I didn't notice a change in the flavor from beginning to end. It burned cool and clean at a moderate pace, though a little moist out of the bag, and required a minimum number of relights. It has no bite as the name suggests, and little nicotine. The strength is very mild, and the taste is mild. Leaves some moisture in the bowl. A work and play all day smoke when you just want a pleasant tasting aromatic burley that you don't have to think about much. The after taste and room notes are pleasant, but short lived. Deserves another half star. Sold at various places, occasionally using the same name, but not always.

-JimInks
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 09, 2009 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Ok. First off, forget all the people trying to discern all the different flavours and exact aroma notes, etc. This isn't a wine, it's tobacco. You smoke it. It either tastes good, or it doesn't. It either smells good, or it doesn't. As far as the BLWB goes, it's my personal favourite. I've tried many a pipe tobacco since I began smoking a pipe, and this is the best for me. It tastes great, it smells great, and better yet, the wife doesn't mind when I smoke it in the house! Quite possibly the best thing about this tobacco for me, is that when I smoke it, it reminds me of my Grandfather when he used to smoke his pipe. I highly recommend the BLWB to anyone who enjoys a good traditional smoke. Now, if only I could find it in Ontario Canada...
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2017 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is easily the world's most friendly, mild, inoffensive tobacco. It's not exciting. It's not sophisticated. It is good, though.

It's everybody's grandpa's pipe tobacco. A mild, easy smoking, sweet smelling cased burley that you'll be happy to smoke any time of the day or night. You'll be happy to smoke it, that is, if you don't wish to project any ambiance of connoisseurship. Burley Light Without Bite is nothing to get excited over, but it is perfect to relax with on a lazy summer day: at a barbecue, say, or when mowing the lawn or fishing. I don't, personally, engage in such activities, but I am told that they are very nice and this is just the sort of nice, uncomplicated tobacco that would compliment such activities.

Every aspect of BLWB is as advertised. There's just enough earthy, nutty tobacco flavor from the base leaf to give it that drugstore tobacco pedigree. The fruity, creamy top dressing rounds it out and softens what raspy edge might be there. There's not a hint of harshness or bite. It's like grandma's peanut brittle or a golden wrapped butterscotch candy from the same grandma's purse.

I could smoke this for the rest of my life and not feel particularly deprived. I wouldn't feel particularly excited or stimulated in my palate, but that doesn't mean that BLWB is anything other than a success. It's exactly what it says it is and that's okay by me.
Pipe Used: Various cobs and briars
Age When Smoked: New
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 22, 2011 Very Mild Very Mild Mild Very Pleasant
This is what the name says it is, Burley and it's light without a bite. There is no bite because it is so light. The taste is very nice though, sutle, lightly sweet. From other reviews I hear that the flavouring is Coconut. I would have never guessed that in a hundred years, but that just may be what it is.If it is coconut, it takes on a very different and magical taste and aroma with this blend.

Update 07/10/2012 This is begining to be one of my favorite smokes. It has something about it that takes me back to the late 1960's and 1970's and reminds me of my dad's pipe aromas.I prefer a good burley blend and this one is excellent. If you get tounge bite with this blend you need to take pipe smoking lessons. (P.S. I mix this with Carter Hall).
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 19, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Lane Limited - BLWB.

It surprises me how many low scores this has achieved so far, it's not the most auspicious smoke, but neither is it, in my opinion, worth so many low results!

It's quite a well rubbed blend, meaning there's no twigs or large leaves of tobacco in there. The pouch-note implies no casing whatsoever, there's nothing sharp nor piquant emanating from it to suggest added flavouring of any sort.

Now, I think the smoke's a very high quality Burley one; it's exorbitantly nutty, but like the un-lit note, I notice no toppings. This isn't a bad thing, it tastes great! Although the description says "no bite" I find it can issue a little nip if it's not puffed with care, but due to the subjective nature, and the small amount, I'll let that one go! The burn from BLWB is very good, and I think I find the nicotine a bit more than most folks on here: mild to medium. I really like the room-note, it smells very nutty; this does suggest a flavouring!

A good quality Burley blend:

Recommended.
Pipe Used: Comoy's Elegance
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: New
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
If more aromatics were like this, I would gladly smoke them. This is a Burley blend which has been lightly sweetened and flavored, creating a vanilla Cavendish effect that brings out some of the underlying tastes in odd ways. Sometimes, I taste something like amaretto; other times, sarsaparilla. The room note is the pleasing toasted mushrooms scent of old school OTCs, and since the tobacco is only lightly flavored, the sore throat from burnt sugar and unpleasant charred goop in the bowl of a full aromatic are missing. Instead you find a tobacco which tastes better than it smells, which says a lot, and lends itself to a mild smoke which is simple and easy to prepare. To take it to the next level, however, mix this with C&D's "Cube Cut Burley" which kicks the performance up to medium-to-strong and slightly lessens the sweetness, which while less than seemingly every other aromatic, when reduced allows more of the natural tobacco to shine through.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 17, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
A mild and pleasant smoke. A little nuttiness and earth from the Burley. A semi-sweet topping of chocolate/cocoa. And yes, no bite. A simple, enjoyable, all day kind of blend. I really can't find any faults with it.

Mild to medium in body and taste. Topping is mild. Burns perfectly.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Diplomat Apple, Mark Twain
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 25, 2015 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Lane Ltd makes tobacco blends that appeal to the mass market. BLWB falls into this category quite well. Pouch note is slightly sweet and low key. Similar to vanilla wafers with a hint of coconut. Packs easily and lights without a problem. First half of the bowl is where the sweetness comes through. Second half, after the topping and casing burns off a little, the burley tobacco taste is evident. Mild to medium strength smoke that tends to burn very quickly. No bite as advertised but fairly straightforward. I enjoy burley blends and this one is good as a first venture into burley. Seems best suited for cobs.

Update: 5/18/15. I have found myself coming back to this tobacco more and more. I love the sweet pastry/coconut aroma from the pouch and the sweetness on my tongue. Pipe snobs may have a problem with this Lane Ltd offering but I have come to love it on a daily basis. I just ordered a pound of it and it will have a place in my daily rotation. It is great for mixing with other blends that need a little sweetening. If you love burley this has to be on your list.
Pipe Used: Various
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 30, 2003 Extremely Mild Medium Very Mild Pleasant
I tried this blend at the same pipe club meeting attended by OSR. We all pretty much agreed that it stayed lit well considering it was a goop laden aromatic. It also tasted better the farther down the bowl it was smoked -- opposite the way most Burley based tobaccos smoke.

Anyway, the above are the positives. OSR hit the negatives perfectly. Yucky stuff!
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 02, 2020 Very Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Okay, these reviews of tobacco are amusing to me. Having several certifications in wine, spirits and beer service (Certified Specialist of Wine, Certified Specialist of Spirits, Certified Beer Steward), I'm classically trained in Culinary Arts, have consulted for professional coffee roasters, and I've taught college-level courses in Brewing and Distillation Science, Wine & Spirits, and Food and Culture. Formal, systematic and method-based tasting and evaluation is something I've spent 20 years at.

So...

First: Smoke what you like, and don't be intimidated by the so-called sophisticates who look down their noses at anyone who likes aromatics and simple mixtures, or doesn't relish Nic/Lat/Per-bombs.

Second: Taste is very individual, and varies in the population based on the number and type of taste buds you were born with. Some of us are more sensitive to bitter, while others are less or more affected by sour-tart. The unfortunate terms used in the literature to describe these individuals (super-taster, non-taster) and their tasting sensitivities apply not only to wine and beer, but to tobacco as well.

Third: Some characteristics that reviewers attribute to the tobacco are more dependent on packing/smoking techniques than the tobacco itself. The ubiquitous phrases "requires an average number of relights," or, "leaves no dottle in the bowl" are related to packing and airflow, air direction through the draw, fire management, and whether you choose to smoke to the tarry bottom sludge or not. I pack using the air-gap method, only tap once after initial development of the coal when the bowl is 2/3 smoked, smoke using the breath method, and really don't ever have to relight any tobacco, once pre-dried to the desired state. I dump the bowl when it tastes bad- just like throwing out a cigar when it gets tarry. There's no glory or pleasure in smoking to consume the tar and dregs at the bottom.

That being said- don't fret if you don't taste what others describes as the flavors during the smoke. Taste is very individual. If someone describes specific flavors, those flavors certainly are there for that smoker. They just might not be there for you, or you may taste completely different flavors. That's okay, and valid.

Smoke what you like, and be confident enough to resist apologizing for liking aromatics, economy tobacco, or other mixtures the smoking culture might classify with derogative labels like "tasteless," "candy," or "goop."

I look at tobacco reviews a lot like beer reviews. To some folks, beer just tastes like beer. Like tobacco varieties, within the larger classifications of beer styles associated with types of malt, there are common taste characteristics associated with the individual tobacco types. A skillful blender can bring out these in the mixture.

In the case of BLWB, the characteristics of burley express themselves. It's a simple, pleasant, enjoyable experience. The things I like about burley are here- smooth, dense clouds of creamy smoke, a perfect match with coffee, relatively ph-balanced, a nice aroma, both in the bag, and in the room. While it's not like a Founders KBS (Chocolate Coffee Bourbon-Barrel Aged Imperial Stout), it's more like a Pabst. It's smooth, simple, and is that nostalgic "grandpa's pipe" experience you sometimes want.

Pipe Used: Savinelli Oscar Lucite
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"