Newminster No. 403 Superior Round Slices

(2.86)
Whole Virginia leaves used as the wrapper and filler are combined with a center of dark-fired Kentucky, and are then rolled into ropes and cut into coins. The coins are slightly aromatic and medium to full in strength.

Details

Brand Newminster
Blended By  
Manufactured By Villiger
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Curly Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country Unknown
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.86 / 4
14

26

16

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 59 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Gorgeous irregular round-ish coins with specs of birdseye. My sample arrived at the perfect moisture level. I've been folding and stuffing....sorta. Actually, just kinda cramming the individual coins in the bowl until it's full.

The Virginias are at the forefront for me. I believe there's a sweet topping added as well. It's pleasantly sweet. The dark fired Kentucky doesn't jump out with earthy-smokey-meaty, but it does provide a bit of a bass note, and a little spice.

I quite like the flavor. Unfortunately, it seems a little bitey to me. I wish I enjoyed it more than I do, as it is a tremendous value.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 05, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I really enjoy the idea of coins/medallions for tobacco, they are a nice change from the standard ribbon cuts. Initial tin note of this was nice. I found subtle hints of hay and very faint aroma of dried fruit. The coins are at a perfect humidity for immediate smoke. I find that of all my other coin tobaccos, this one is fine folded and stuffed rather than rubbing out. it takes some effort to stay lit but once tamped a couple times lightly provides a nice mellow smoke. I picked up on the bit of spice and found that slow easy sipping makes for a really enjoyable smoke. This tobacco also seems to like a smaller bowled pipe.

I'm confident that with age this will mature into a beautiful smoke.
Pipe Used: several sizes, shapes
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 17, 2015 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This Dark Fired Tobacco goes to the top of my list as far as this thing goes. When I got my sample and reading some of the Reviews I was kind of prepared Not to like it. Well. Surprise! This cool smoking blend is delicious with its herbaceous smoky flavor. The coins are fun and easy to pack.

Recently I have been smoking more blends with Dark Fired Tobacco - some of my Favorites are HH Old Dark Fired Flake, D&R Ryeback and now this one.
Pipe Used: Thompson
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 09, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Newminster has done a great job at providing folks with fine tobacco at a great price. Superior Round Slices are no exception. They are flavorful little coins! They are thinly sliced, making them easy to rub out and pack. My order was a bit too dry, so I threw a pouch button in the jar overnight and it brought them up to the right moisture level. After rubbing out a few of the coins and packing them in a Peterson 999, I charred it. The sweetness of the VA's was there. Boom. No time wasted. After the flame catches on, you'll get that dark, heavy flavor from the Kentucky with a nuttiness that really rounds out the entire experience. I am aging some right now to see how much better it gets with time. For right now, they're a damn fine smoke that is simply hard to beat for the price.
Pipe Used: Peterson 999
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh, aged 4 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 27, 2014 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
While I enjoy the Kentucky spice and strength, this is too monochromatic for me. Tongue-bite comes on fairly quickly and there are faint undertones of sweetness. It doesn't change much unless you count the exacerbating swampiness.

Images evoked include the skeleton of a slow loris on the lakeshore, his empty optic sockets staring blankly into the soul of an half-discarded, eyeless fishing-worm.
Pipe Used: Straight Briar
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 08, 2014 Very Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
I bought a pound bag of this about as soon as it hit the market. The price WAS great, and from the start I thought that if it wasn't stunning by itself, it would mix in well with my own blend of Vaper/Cavendish. It was a bit strong and not dimensional enough alone, but boy, did it ever spice up my blend! I was through nearly half of it when I realized it wasn't what I thought it was- a vaper. No perique! I could swear that when I bought it- perique and black cavendish were listed as ingredients, along with VA., of course. But nope, it's this Dark Fired Kentucky instead of the perique & Cavendish... I'm convinced I didn't buy that listing of ingredients when I purchased my bag. The marketers must have initially sent out an incorrect listing. Ultimately though, it didn't matter that much to me, as mixed in 50-50 with my blend I'd hit pay dirt. But here's my problem- the stuff has gone up in price about 1/3 as much as it was originally. As I was saying, it was a great deal, but that price raise just blew it for me. I can't reconcile the new spendiness. It's just not worth the price when I might just as easily find something else that works as a component, because I don't often smoke it on its own.
Pipe Used: Petersons, and many others
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: first batch issued
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 16, 2012 Strong Mild to Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
Grassy but pleasant, uncomplex. A bit harsh if smoked too fast. Mine was a bit too dry.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 02, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Strong
Smoked fresh it was harsh, bitey, and spicy. It bit me worse than anything before or since, after letting it age a few months it mellowed out a lot and reminds me of Dark Twist from MacBaren... kind of. It has a sweet barbeque note from the DFK, which works with the red/matured virginias to create a wonderfull mouthfeel and the perfect nicotine content for me.

Some people, including myself, describe some blends as "high quality leaf but just not a flavor I enjoy". This is exactly opposite of that, I love the flavor but the hard stems are unique to this blend. Even with some age it still bites me worse than anything and I have to attribute that to the quality of the blend and the noticeable lack of de-stemming.

Maybe time will get rid of that, but the savings are not worth the pain. Get some Dark twist instead. I think every tobacco is worth sampling, even if it only makes you appreciate others more. Or teaches you just how bad tongue bite can actually be.
Pipe Used: Briars
PurchasedFrom: Tobaccopipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh, 2 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2022 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I do not think this is a bad tasting blend. It has sweetness from the bright VA and some vaguely floral character. The pouch aroma is mild, lacking any of the DFK smokiness that I would expect. It is untopped, but I suspect some maple casing. I was super annoyed with this blend for the following reasons.

First, I posit that the coins are quite visually deceiving. I would expect much more DFK based on appearance alone. When carefully unraveled, the coins yield long interconnected slices of bright and red ribbon with small rough veins intact. Next is a birdseye haven of dark leaf. There is very little actual leaf, here though, mostly stems.

So, about the birdseye… There sure is a lot of it. It’s basically stem and mid rib that would normally be cleaned up during processing. Seeing that I’m not a 19th century sailor, I have no soft for or connection to birdseye. Being a modern consumer, I simply see this as an effort to weigh the bag down with stems and schwag, you dig? The stem carbonizes as opposed to a normal burn and doesn’t add much to the flavor as it is just xylem and cellulose. If you bought a bag of…herbs, and found that half the bag was seeds and stems, you might be a bit disappointed.

Which brings me to me next point… the burn. These coins burn about as well as asbestos. I was constantly relighting even after some last ditch measures : drying to a crisp, rubbing out to a fine shag, picking the seemingly fireproof birdseye and stem material out. This blend burns hot when I could get it going for any length of time. It also burns paradoxically wet as I was quite diligent in drying appropriately.

I don’t mind preparing flakes and plugs. This is a two star blend before accounting for how much tedious effort went into preparing it into something semi smokable. When the mind numbing task of “cleaning it” like a bad bag of weed back in the day is considered to get it to smokability, this is squarely one star. I really did try to get this blend to sing. Clearly I am in the minority here. I just don’t see why anybody would pay a premium on getting a product with less actual leaf.

I also felt the blend to be a bit thin. I don’t need nicotine as part of the experience, but these little coins left me wholly unsatisfied and wanting in every imaginable way.
Pipe Used: Numerous briars
PurchasedFrom: SP
Age When Smoked: Fresh bulk
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 06, 2022 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Bag note is sweet a bit musty some light citrus and tartness. Beautiful coins. I have tried both rubbing it out and folding the coins. It smoked much better just folding the coins and putting them directly into the pipe. This blend was much milder than I expected from Kentucky, Virginia its right at the medium mark. this is a bit more sweet than tart with a bit of spiciness. Great flavors of molasses and pure tobaccos. Even when puffing hard its stays smooth. I find it burns to more of a charcoal ash (not white) and requires a bit of tamping or dumping the charcoal at the midway point but its well worth the effort. Its very close in flavor to Dark Twist at a fraction of the cost and the quality very good. I will be stocking up on this as I am sure it will age very well. Nic hit is mild to medium.
Pipe Used: Peterson full bent billiard
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bag
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"