Newminster No. 403 Superior Round Slices

(2.86)
Whole Virginia leaves used as the wrapper and filler are combined with a center of dark-fired Kentucky, and are then rolled into ropes and cut into coins. The coins are slightly aromatic and medium to full in strength.

Details

Brand Newminster
Blended By  
Manufactured By Villiger
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Curly Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country Unknown
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.86 / 4
14

25

16

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2013 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Strong
I can see how these rounds could appeal to those who like basically unflavored straightforward uncomplicated blends. I often like them as well. The rounds pack easily and burn well. For me, however, the blend is slightly bitey, the taste doesn't appeal, and the room note is terrible. For those who like Kentucky/Va's, give them a try, they might appeal to you.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 01, 2014 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
These Virginias have teeth and they use them. It not only bites my tongue, but it stings my lips. It does calm down some in the second half of the bowl allowing a small amount of enjoyment. It's a shame because the flavors are pretty nice. The toothy Virginias are the star and the Kentucky adds a mild smokiness and depth. Not complicated, but would be a nice smoke if the Virginias could be tamed. If you're one of those people who never gets bit you may really enjoy this.
Pipe Used: MM General, MM Country Gentleman, MM Freehand
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 05, 2013 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
I enjoyed the Citrusy flavor of the virginias, and the slighty smokey taste of the fired cured Kentucky, but it gives me a bit of tongue bite
Pipe Used: Butz-Choiquin D'accord apple
PurchasedFrom: Alegheny Smoke Works
Age When Smoked: unkown
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 21, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
I was given some of this at our last pipe club meeting. It was from a bulk purchase dated Dec 2018. These are small coins a little larger than a dime with a nice bird’s eye. I am amazed at how thin these were cut and yet retained their shape, must be some high-grade steel being used. I took a few coins and twisted and rolled them like a tube and inserted it into my Poker Meerschaum. This is a mild smoke, not sure what has priority, the VA or the Kentucky. Thanks again Dawg for all of the samples you have given me in the past and future. Ha. A good all-day smoke but nothing to make me want to add more to my cellar.
Pipe Used: Poker Meerschaum
Age When Smoked: 1 year
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2015 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
I only ordered a 1 oz. sample of this one so I didn't have too much to evaluate. The coins had a good moisture content and were easy to fold and pack as I usually do with flakes. I think the dark fired KY tasted harsh and towards the end of the large bowl, bitter. However it smoked cool and without bite so I don't think I was puffing too strongly. I didn't sense the claimed 'aromatic'. Much prefer PS Luxury Bulls eye Flake.
Pipe Used: Charatan
PurchasedFrom: pipes & cigars.com
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 26, 2015 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I did'nt think much of this. Tastes thin and burns a little hot. I'm comparing this to Dunhill and Escudo so it has some tough competition. Also felt that this would improve with more ageing. Light on the nicotine side. I will not be ordering any more.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 13, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
hoping that age will mellow the bite as the bite is very harsh to me, similar to a macbaren sugar bite.

The Virginias surprisingly dominate the generous amount of kentucky to me. Very flavorful, sweet and grassy. The kentucky isnt very strong, i tend to like it very smoky and ketchupy but i cant taste much smoke in this one or smell the notes of ketchup. Very dominant VA

It seems to have a hard time staying lit, even with proper drying, it smokes better just by folding the coins rather than rubbing them out.

I enjoy it, I would like to enjoy it more as it is not a common blend and cut. I think i will age some for at least a few months
Pipe Used: Country gentleman (rubbed) morgan bones (folded)
PurchasedFrom: Online
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Newminster- 403 Superior Round Sliced

This blend is a rope than sliced into coins, although this blend unlike most other blends is just Kentucky and Virginia.

I bought a 16 oz bag of this as it was cheaper than buying the smaller oz versions. I tried this a few months prior at Pipe club and enjoyed it. The bag I received was from Dec2018.

This blend has a fair amount of spice, the Kentucky brings a nice smoky barbecue flavor, the Virginia’s come in on occasion and bring a nice sweet note, I think it is primarily a yellow being a little bright but very enjoyable, with an almost honey sweetness and bready flavors.

I will get a larger jar to store what I have left and keep one for smoking and the other for aging, I’m excited to how this ages in the next few years, will be purchasing another affordable 16 oz bag.

I will have to try three Nuns original and see how this compares to it.

I really enjoy this blend, a lot more than I thought I would but if you like spice, smoky and a little sweet this may be fore you.
Pipe Used: Bones Dublin, Rossi 320
PurchasedFrom: Tobaccopipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 year 5 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Gorgeous irregular round-ish coins with specs of birdseye. My sample arrived at the perfect moisture level. I've been folding and stuffing....sorta. Actually, just kinda cramming the individual coins in the bowl until it's full.

The Virginias are at the forefront for me. I believe there's a sweet topping added as well. It's pleasantly sweet. The dark fired Kentucky doesn't jump out with earthy-smokey-meaty, but it does provide a bit of a bass note, and a little spice.

I quite like the flavor. Unfortunately, it seems a little bitey to me. I wish I enjoyed it more than I do, as it is a tremendous value.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 27, 2014 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
While I enjoy the Kentucky spice and strength, this is too monochromatic for me. Tongue-bite comes on fairly quickly and there are faint undertones of sweetness. It doesn't change much unless you count the exacerbating swampiness.

Images evoked include the skeleton of a slow loris on the lakeshore, his empty optic sockets staring blankly into the soul of an half-discarded, eyeless fishing-worm.
Pipe Used: Straight Briar
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"