Peterson My Mixture 965

(3.18)
Peterson's My Mixture 965 is for the connoisseurs of full bodied tobacco. Choicest small latakia imparts a rich nutty flavor and coolness. Macedonia bright is added for sweetness. Brown cavendish completes this blend beloved by English mixture aficionados.
Notes: From its inception and until 1981, it was produced by Dunhill of London.Production was then transferred to Murrays in Belfast who like Dunhill were owned by Carreras Rothmans. Murrays produced it until late 2004 when BAT, who by that time had taken over Rothmans International, closed the Belfast factory. Since then it has been produced by Orlik, Denmark, part of the Scandinavian Tobacco Group. Pipe Tobacco Hall of Fame Inductee. Formerly known as Dunhill My Mixture 965, STG bought the rights to some Dunhill blends and changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin, bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.18 / 4
294

194

90

47

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 194 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2001 Medium None Detected Full Strong
Pouch Aroma: Rich, smoky and leathery, this tobacco is touted as 'the finest smoking mixture in the world' by Dunhill. I don't know about that, but between the Latakia and Orientals in it I can sniff my jar for a while before I get around to lighting up. It has a dark sweetness from the brown Cavendishes and lighter Macedonian, and a woody, leathery smell from the some of the choicest Latakia I have ever experienced.

Appearance: This is a finely-cut tobacco consisting of medium to short ribbons varying evenly in color from golden-brown to black with some birdseye stems with an interesting woody texture.

Packing and Lighting: The cut of 965 makes it easy to drizzle pinches into my Jobey 'Asti' Canadian for filling, yet it doesn't seem to clog the airhole or pack too tightly. Drawing through the unlit pipe yields a nice leathery flavor - this is another tobacco that I'll sometimes put in a pipe for dinner in a non-smoking environment as I can 'use' the pipe unlit and get a nice flavor.

The first match raises a small crown and brings up a dusky sweetness which transmutes almost immediately into a full nutty taste and a semi-sweet aroma which mirrors that in the pouch. A few puffs and a light tamp later a re-light tames the sweetness even more and the smoke becomes reminiscent of burning autumn leaves (which I miss sorely since the Environmental Protection Agency banned the practice) and distant fireplaces in a cool autumn evening.

This is a mixture that is medium in strength and definately FULL of flavor. There are many nuances - burning hardwood, old leather, musty books and faint hints of exotic spices - this is one of the most rewarding smokes for an inveterate English lover like myself. I never allow myself to run out; if I had to pick only ONE tobacco to smoke for the rest of my life I have to say that this would be the one.

Exposition: As the bowl burns on it increases in strength and the flavor becomes slightly more unified. The neat thing is that what it unifies /into/ seems to change with my moods and which pipe I smoke it in. My Jobey emphasizes the nutty and leathery flavors, whereas my Italian pipes bring out the musky sweetness of the Cavendish and Macedonian. In my Tinskys, it is pure campfire heaven.

This is an easy blend to smoke hot, both due to the cut and the fact that I keep mine rather on the dry side. Taking my time, though, produces just enough warmth and moisture to bring out the flavor and my pipe never gets more than warm to the touch. Also, I have never been bitten by this at all. The room aroma is heavy and natural and seems unwanted my most non-smokers indoors. Outdoors, I get many compliments - it makes people wistful as they remember some wonderful night by the fireplace or a special camping trip.

The Story: Midway down the bowl a sharpness appears; far from unpleasant, this shows up as a tickle on the palate and a spicy flavor that I (when I first tried it) mimics incipient bite. But no! Stop puffing for a minute and it fades gently, leaving only a pleasant aftertaste.

The flavor changes very little as the bowl is smoked, only increasing slightly in heaviness and sharpness. This is so gradual that I find it barely noticeable unless I put the pipe down for a short while and come back to it. The aroma hardly changes, and the sidestream smoke from the bowl remains sweet and nutty - if I had an Oom-Paul, I'd reserve it for this.

Denoument: The end is approaching and there is still no sign of sour, bitter or ashy taste. Relights become a bit more frequent but not because of any moisture - I don't dump the ashes at all as there is very little produced and I like to coat the bowl with them (by shaking the pipe with a cleaner in it and the bowl covered with my thumb) and I think this also helps it burn cooler. I don't mind, since the relights just blast me with the flavor all over again anyway, and the burn is so even that this process produces the kind of thin hard cake I like best. I break all of my pipes in with this or McClelland's 2015 (a Virginia/Perique flake), which has the same effect.

Actually, the only way I can tell that the bowl is done is either the draw becomes too easy (no resistance from ashes) or I can't get it to stay lit. The flavor is still pleasant and there is no bitter dottle, which is a problem I have with aromatics.

Pros: Just re-read the above paragraphs, as I think I have effused quite enough on the virtues of this, my favorite English mixture 🙂

Cons: The room aroma is too heavy for most non-pipers, and the flavor and strength can be a bit much for those not accustomed to heavy English blends.
118 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 03, 2012 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
The smoky, woody, earthy, musty sweet Cyprian Latakia takes a little of the lead, and is aided by the Oriental/Turkish in regard to the smokey, woodsy quality of the blend. The spice, floralness, herbalness and dryness from the Orientals is lightly moderate. The Virginias are tart and tangy citrusy and grassy with a little wood, earth, and tangy dark fruit in a support role. The brown cavendish amplifies the sweetness, and adds a slight sugariness. The various elements are all noticeable, and work well together as the well balanced blend it is. The strength and taste levels are medium. The nic-hit is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium. Won't bite, or get harsh. Burns cool and clean at moderate pace with a very consistent, slightly creamy, mildly sweet and rather savory flavor. Leaves very little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a pleasant, lightly lingering after taste and stronger room note. This can be more than a once a day smoke, even with its strength as it won't knock you off your feet. The Murrays' version was a little more complex than this incarnation.

-JimInks
93 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
965 is about harmony of the constituent tobaccos. There are certainly bigger "Lat bombs" out there. There are definitely sweeter English/Cavendish blends. There are more oriental-forward mixtures. But few blends present the harmony and balance of 965, from tin note through the final sip. I suppose that's why there are so many reviews of this classic blend, a must-try for every serious piper.

While not predominately a smoker of English blends, this is on the top shelf of those I would reach for: a classic of the style, on par with what Dunhill Flake is to Virginias - the best? Debatable. A classic? Indisputable.

Highly recommended.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2002 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
Appearance: A slighly broad ribbon cut, about equal parts medium and dark colors. Ribbons are quite uniform, typical Dunhill attention to detail

Aroma: Lots of Latakia, with a good Virginia base. Little Turkish present to my nose.

Packing: Packs easily in most pipes, group 3 and up.

Lighting: Typical lighting procedure, not too quick or too slow.

Initial flavor: Just like it smells, lots of smokey Latakia, with some slightly sweet Va flavor.

Mid-bowl: Not very complex, just the two flavors changing intensity slightly as they interact. Dry and cool, and not too sensitive to puffing rate. You can smoke it while being active outdoors.

Finish: Nice, clean finish. No tendency to get harsher at the end, and no wet dottle.

Summary: An excellent blend, even though I normally prefer more Turkish with my Latakia. If you haven?t tried it yet, you should. Could be a wonderful intro to Latakia blends
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2015 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
This is very good. It is not latakia heavy, and is a good combination of slightly spicy and a little smoky. The Virginia adds some sweet and some hay. It has some more body than many oriental/Va blends, and the brown cavendish provides some fullness and enhances the sweet.

This is one of those blends that grows on you and does not have much "wow" factor. It is tasty and balanced. I could smoke a lot of this but won't given the price point. I can easily understand this has fans. I prefer the "zestier" quality of London Mixture in terms of taste, but this one is a little stronger and "rounder."

It is a solid three on the scale.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This is the benchmark blend for English tobaccos. (Here in the US we use English tobacco in reference to a mixture with clearly apparent oriental/latakia content.) As the benchmark, MM965 is not automatically the best one has smoked (for me that would be GLPease Renaissance), but it provides the mean against which others are judged. Some insist an English mixture with cavendish should be called a Scottish mixture. MM965 does have cavendish, unflavored Virginia cavendish, which provides a slightly sweet base. The oriental/latakia component comes in at the medium to strong level--just under medium if ranking only the latakia. The mixture lights easily and burns well, and does not bite so long as the puffing cadence remains reasonable. In over a half century of pipe smoking, I have gone through the Dunhill production, the Murray version, and now the Scandinavian Tobacco Group. I have not experienced notable changes in taste and quality, although when I first smoked MM965 it almost certainly had Syrian rather than Cyprian latakia. There will be slight variations in taste for aged tins, and MM965 does age well. The full room note is delicious for latakia lovers and universally hated by significant others.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 31, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Another one of the old Dunhill mixtures for me today. This is a blend I had several years ago as one of my first English blends I tried. I had bought a tin of this, a tin of Old Dublin and if I remember correctly I bought a tin of WhiteKnight and Blackhouse after that. I remember not being overwhelmingly impressed with English mixtures when I first tried them, but it was smoking through the tins of WhiteKnight and Blackhouse that I earned an appreciation for what a good English blend do.

The tin is nice and old fashioned, it looks as though the tin art hasn't changed in the last 40-50 years, though I could be wrong. When I open the tin I see a nice medium ribbon with a few stems here and there. When I smell the tobacco in the tin I get whiffs of Brown Cavendish nuttiness, Macedonian sweetness and herbalness and a light and alluring Latakia smokiness. The smell is, in a word, captivating. This comes dry enough to pack and light right away. Like all my new tins I like to jar this right away.

When I light up I taste the smokiness of burning leaves in the autumn. The flavor is very harmonious. The brown Cavendish is not as sickly sweet as its Black Cavendish cousin can be. It gives a distinct nutty flavor and makes for a very nice base. The Macedonian leaf is very interesting to me, it adds most of the sweetness, but it gives a nice herbal backdrop to the blend. The Latakia pops in here and there, and it is present throughout. It gives some leather, earth, and creamy smoke.

The taste is a medium, I'm not overwhelmed by any means, but it is substantial. The Nicotine is a medium too. The room note is pretty typical of an English blend: nice and subtly smokey. I could smoke this at any time of the day, and it really is quite repeatable. Even though I was unsure about this blend when I smoked it a few years ago, I really like it now. I think this is a fine blend that really pairs well with my tea.
Pipe Used: Kaywoodie Birkshire Large Panel
PurchasedFrom: B&M
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
AC
Mar 10, 2020 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
When comparing the Peterson 965 to the (previous) Dunhill 965, I found the latest version to be just as balanced, flavorful, with very good burning qualities, but sweeter. I like the profile it became with the added Cavendish, as the naturally sweet flavor is a bit more pronounced. There was a little too much mouth residue after smoking this blend, which I would have preferred to be without. Hence, an easy 3 stars for sure.
Pipe Used: Peterson Deerstalker
PurchasedFrom: www.smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 27, 2015 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I'm writing this review for the single purpose of "warning" others: do not despair because of the disappointing taste you get when smoking this tobacco straight out of the newly opened tin! This used to work with the old Dunhills, but apparently doesn't with the new ones or at least some of them. You have to let them breathe, i.e. open the tin, let it open for about five or ten minutes, close it again and wait 2 or 3 days (better: a week) before smoking.

The same goes for Nightcap.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2023 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant
It has very high quality and burns very well. It has an interesting taste and does not bite at all. Sometimes I feel that it has some Perique and a little smoky aroma. It needs a few times of light, although I put the tobacco in the bowl right away, maybe it needs some aeration.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"