Davidoff Royalty

(3.27)
A classic English with a beautifully refined flavor. Mature Virginia and Oriental tobaccos spiced with a pinch of latakia.

Details

Brand Davidoff
Blended By Orlik Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Orlik Tobacco Company
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.27 / 4
66

41

17

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 131 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 18, 2012 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
I can't believe I missed this one, I smoked a tin some years ago and its still memorable, very nice English oriental, well reputed and rightly so, quality baccy, it all works, the Virginias hold the blend together, similar to EMP by Dunhill. This is a benchmark blend in the oriental category. If you've always been wondering what the difference between an English and an oriental blend, this one paints the picture for you.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2008 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Now this is a pipe tobacco! I really liked the strength of the Virginia and sweetness of the Oriental. There's also a little bit of Latakia in the mix, but it stayed deep in the background. This is one of those blends that somehow ages beautifully. The older the better with Royalty!
38 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A nice, light latakia blend of predominately virginias and orientals. The color is mostly light with streaks of black and the cut is a ribbon - very easy to pack. I should also note that Davidoff gets high marks for presentation. The inner paper is of higher quality than most. It all looks very nice.

The tobacco taste is of sweet virginia with a sidebar of orientals, including a smallish dose of latakia. I'd call it soft, but in a good way. Reminds me vaguely of some other blends I've smoked but I can't put my finger on them. This is a good solid blend but doesn't really distinguish itself much. It's hardly what I would call complex, but it has a nice, steady flavor that does not disappoint. It could not be coaxed to bite but it does get harsh if overpuffed.

My biggest complaint about this one is the cost. But if that doesn't cross your eyes, give this a try. It's a good if not great blend that does nothing wrong but I didn't find it unique or tasty enough to make my rotation. For a blend named "Royalty", it seemed rather ordinary to me.
25 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Throughout this website there are many references in reviews to cost of tobacco. Two observations -- first, I believe that cost and the tobacco review (especially the star allocation) should be as separate as church and state (and mentioned only as an adjunct), and second, for U.S. residents (I understand the problems of international shipment/duties) if you're clever enough to write a review on this site then you may just be clever enough to order tobacco online from any one of at least ten good e-tailers (5 of which are flashing ads at me while I type!). $30 for a tin?? Seriously?? Try $9 and see how much better Royalty tastes. It's very, very good. Pure butter (which they say is an added flavor -- whatever) which, if you've ever enjoyed a rich yet mellow English latakia blend, you'll know just what I mean. It's nothing short of edible. Oriental way ahead of the latakia without masking it, and orientals of very refined quality. Not the least bit bitter or puckerish. The underlying tobaccos are, to my taste, rich and very well farmed/cured/processed. Top marks for a great light English, and "light" only in the latakia sense -- it is big and round in a very understated way. D's Flake Medallions are delicious as well (and, apologies for ranting, even at the exorbitant online price of $10).
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2016 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Davidoff - Royalty.

Davidoff blends are expensive here in the U.K, simple. Sometimes, like I found with their Flake Medallions, it's a justifiable price to pay. But on other occasions, I'm thinking of their English Mixture, it's a total waste of money. I'm pleased to be able to say that this is one of the blends where I feel it's been a worthwhile expense.

I had it in my head that this was an aromatic; idiot L.O.L! What it is, is a very mild English: normally English blends are headstrong with Latakia, whereas the Latakia in this makes a very subtle point; VERY SUBTLE. Instead of a huge smoky taste, instead I get a very good balance between a high quality Virginia and a brilliantly creamy Oriental. This creamy quality is embellished by the addition of the butter; it gives the smoke almost a stickiness. The description says "a beautifully refined flavour", and that would make a perfect review: short, succinct, and absolutely accurate.

I don't find myself getting much nicotine from Royalty, it feels mild for the entire pipe long. A perfect beginners English?

I can't find any fault with this remarkable blend: highly recommended.

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Petersom Founders 150th Anniversary
PurchasedFrom: My Smoking Shop
Age When Smoked: New
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 04, 2014 Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
I only needed to sniff the tin note o this a few times before going back to where I got it and nearly clearing out their stash.

Thinking of a word which you would not usually use for describing tobacco, which does this justice.

Regal? Maybe

Velvety? Yes, but not doing it enough justice.

Decadent? Yes, getting close


got it. This is OPULENTLY EXTRAVAGANT LUXURY.

How Davidoff produced this I will never know. Nothing else they do in pipes comes even though, and they come out of the woodwork with this stonker.

High quality English ingredients, but then it blows you away with a casing that not only works, its unique in how it works. The whole thing combines to resemble plumes of smoke that you could charge people to be around, the buttery finish making it almost a crossover blend, but it doesn't smell like an aro, the butter just adds a deliciously fat and needlessly overwhelming element of fullness to every single element, so its creamy Latakia, its rich and smooth VA, its smooth and creamy orientals, everything is covered in this glory.

Multiple tins getting stored, and I have enough to see me through a shortage.

A real winner - don't bother with the rest of the line though. Awful.
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Very good traditional english blend. If you are new to the world of english tobaccos, Royalty can really tell you what they are all about.

Oriental and virginia in the front, with latakia used as a condiment. Very middle of the road english blend. Many blends tend to favor certain component tobaccos, latakia, virginia, etc. Royalty is very well balanced and very medium in terms of strength and taste.

Like I said, if you are new to English tobaccos, this is a good starting place. work your way up or down in terms of strength to suit your tastes.

If you are an english fan, you will enjoy this as a very well blended perfectly balanced medium english blend.

Personally, most of the time I prefer something either heavier or lighter as opposed to right in the middle, but this tobacco definitely gets my reccomendation.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2009 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
This is an excellent English blend. It is dry and restrained, spicy and complex. I think it succeeds at what Westminster fails at. This is probably due to the fact that the tobaccos in Royalty have enough age. You can easily verify that by the tin smell. It has that musty fermented smell that only properly aged tobaccos have. I also think it is a nice alternative to my other English favourite: Squadron Leader. SL is a bit sweeter and nuttier. Royalty a bit dryer and restrained.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 31, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Even with the first bowl of Royalty I smoked, I was blown away. Within the ocean of English mixtures, Royalty stands out for me. Mild in strength but full of flavor. It is rather subtle on the Latakia, which acts as a condiment to the sweet mature Virginias and the creamy, sweetly spicy Orientals both of which are the main players. Homogeneous taste with all elements balanced superbly.

Generally the Orientals are renowned for their distinctive natural aroma but can be often sour and tangy to the point of acridness. On the other hand the ones used in Royalty must be of the most refined and elegant type to be found. If there is a butter casing which produces this result I do not know – actually the only place where I have seen such a casing mentioned is here at the tobacco reviews description. What I do know is that they taste pure bliss!

As anders1 mentions, and I agree wholeheartedly, Royalty can serve as a nice alternative to Squadron Leader. For me it’s like these two tobaccos came out of the same mould. If I was forced to compare these two excellent tobaccos I’d say that Royalty is tamer, less smoky, creamier, more refined and elegant if a tad less exciting lacking that ancient feel that Squadron Leader induces.

Royalty can be smoked out of the tin, burns impeccably, produces an agreeable room note and does not get bitter or harsh.

One of the top tobaccos I’ve ever smoked regardless of style. Highly recommended.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 22, 2014 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Mild and smooth yet surprisingly intriguing . Slight sweetness stays the whole bowl with the Orientals providing a nice scent and just the right spice , almost cinnamon like. Latakia perfectly balanced and in the background. Not a big "N" kick and not a heavy bodied smoke , but I could see myself smoking this anytime and all day, Nice light change of pace. I find it more interesting than Lanes LEO but similar in strength but not as sweet. Possibly has some similarities to Chonowitsch T17 with those "Gingerbread Orientals". This is a better indoor tobacco as it seems to get lost outside.

Update : 2017-04-22- I just opened a tin that had 3 years of cellar time and was excited to try an aged bowl, what a disappointment ! Totally bland !!! I waited another week and tried a second bowl, same thing totally blah ! I decided I must have been wrong with my original review or got a bad tin. I just threw it aside and was going to give it away when after about 2 months I tried it again, Wonderful !!! The remainder of the tin was great ??? Moral of the story, Give this blend plenty of time to breath .
Pipe Used: cob
Age When Smoked: 1 month
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2005 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
First of all, this is a first rate tobacco. It is nothing more than its own blend. Not competing or asking for comparison to Dunhills or other domineering tobacco companies/blends. I rate it on its own.

I have found that this tobacco is one of my favorite anchor blends. It is a wonderfully spicy and smokey english blend. Yes, it is a little light on the Latakia, but it offers a wonderful campfire, smoke-lodge pleasure with its mature Virginia base. I have found that this blend shines in my large Brigham half-bent.

The blend is easy packing ribbon cut with lovely contrasting darks and bright Virginia with a balanced dash of Latakia and Oriental. It has a rounded, dense, mildly warm solace, regardless of its somewhat piquante room note. Sheer briar bliss, but not for the novice.

Last notes.... lichen-covered granite and fresh morning woods. This is a timeless blend, and is most definitly a recipe from a the early 1900's as it purports to be.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"