Two Friends English Chocolate

(3.41)
We begin with the finest Virginias and just enough Latakia to provide the taste that so many crave then press it to marry the flavors. We then tumble it out to a broken flake for easy packing and add just a touch of chocolate to awaken the senses. The end result is a blend that satisfies all day for a walk through the Dales yet is welcome in the drawing room in the evenings thanks to warm chocolate aroma.

Details

Brand Two Friends
Blended By Craig Tarler & Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.41 / 4
13

13

0

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I was fortunate to discover a tin dated August 2011 at the tobacconist, so this blend doubtless benefited from a few years of sitting and thinking about itself. Presentation is beautiful, dark broken flake. I have to agree with a reviewer from a few years back that the initial tin note is Latakia-forward. Interestingly, I stirred the tobacco around a bit with my finger in the tin and doing so released a pleasant aroma of light cocoa. It was reminiscent of the powdered cocoa one would use to make chocolate milk.

From the charring light through the first third of the bowl, I tasted mainly Latakia. Good Latakia. Which was fine, but not the reason I purchased this tobacco. I seemed to get chocolate in small doses, interspersed worth the Latakia, with little harmony between the two. I continued skeptically.

I have to say that after the initial third, as the Virginias begin to assert and tie the blend together, this blend really came alive for me. The Virginias are smooth as silk, the Latakia becomes a true condiment, and the chocolate is very sweetly subtle. This blend burns very dry and cool, truly leaving the proverbial grey-white ash. Absolutely no doddle. This is definitely an English blend, not an aromatic. A crossover blend, perhaps, but one that can stand on its own to satisfy English smokers looking for a change of pace that's still true to its roots. Sweet, savory, smoky, and very satisfying.

Edit: this stuff is really growing on me. Maybe it's the change in seasons. Upgrading to 4 stars as I find myself reaching for this more often. A nice inside smoke when company is present and one desires a balance between room note and flavor.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2019 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Two Friends - English Chocolate.

Love at first light!

The tobacco has been tumbled to a perfect consistency, chunky pieces but not too coarse meaning further rubbing's required; only a small amount are larger broken flakes. The moisture's perfect and the nose is chocolatey and sweet.

The chocolate has a definite presence from the start, but isn't sticky or heavy. It embellishes the Virginia lead tobaccos, but doesn't take things over. The Latakia is a much lighter addition than the Va. It gives some woodiness, slight dryness, and a little smoke, but don't expect a 'bomb. The smoke's cool, and bereft of bite.

Nicotine: medium. Room-note: nice.

English Chocolate? To me it bridges the gap between an English and aromatic nicely. I'll happily give it four stars:

Highly recommended.

Pipe Used: Peder Jepessen
PurchasedFrom: Tobaccopipes.com
Age When Smoked: 06 06 19
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Pleasant little change of paced tobacco...Nice little transition between English and Aromatic blends...If you're an Aromatic smoker and would like to try some English/Balkan blends, try this to ease your way...Also would work if you're an English/Balkan smoker and would like to dip into Aromatics...Just enough flavoring to make it interesting...Flavoring does not overpower the Virginias or the Latakia...I could see some even using this as an every day tobacco...Would be welcome as part of a regular rotation.
Pipe Used: various for testing
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh from Smokingpipes
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 10, 2012 Mild to Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
I bought this on a fluke. I needed another 10 dollars on my order to get free shipping, so I wanted to find something totally out of my realm.

I was looking for a latakia blend that I could smoke indoors, so I searched for something sweet, but with a latakia punch.

The tin note is awesome, perfect moisture and free of humectants. All medium brown leaf makes up this blend. The cut is a bit weird, a small chopped ribbon, that is easily sucked through the stem into your throat. This is the only drawback to this blend.

Moderate notes of smoky latakia with an upfront chocolate note that is in perfect harmony with the latakia. Thick smoke produces a great room note, and the blend smokes great and leaves the pipe extremely dry. If you are looking for a chocolate blend that delivers the fullness of an English, look no further.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 08, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I purchased this tobacco on a whim as I was curious how a touch of chocolate would go with the Virginia/Latikia. Not only do they work well together but this has become one of the very select few tobaccos to receive the "OK in-the-house" official stamp of approval from my wife! I have come to love it with a glass of espresso or simply on its own. There is no bite, none of the over-moistness found in some aromatics and has quickly become a favorite.

Unfortunately the local brick and mortar as well as Internet sources are now sold out so I guess the secret is out. I highly recommend you try it if you can find it.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2011 Medium Mild Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Got tired of NorthWoods as an all day smoke and after a few months of searching I found a replacement. Glad I picked up picked up a tin of this wonderful stuff.

Tin note is very latakia, with subtle hints of cocoa or maybe burnt coffee with the familiar hay-ish sweet smell of virginias... Nice broad cut flakes broken into wide ribbons that pack easily. Lighting is a bit touch and go, requiring a very good first charr. Keeping this stuff lit is effortless. Smokes best in a cobb or wide bowled briar.

The taste is incredible! Sweet quality VA is the main player here, so don't expect a "lat BomB" or some super complex smoke. The latakia is there in a perfect amount; there is very little. Latakia is more of a condiment here and for that it plays its role perfectly. The casing is very modest, peeking through if you look for it. The room note is warm, chocolaty, and just a touch of sweet smokyness. Reminds me of sitting next to a campfire while drinking hot cocoa.

English Aro hybrids don't get the attention they deserve. One would think that English smokers would actually enjoy something like this once in a while instead of claiming it to be the work of a heretic or pointing their noses into the air and passing it by without consideration.

As a primarily VA smoker, this one really hits the spot for me and has earned a permanent place in my rotation. If I had to choose one blend to smoke for a month this would be it.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2011 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a great blend, reminescent of Bob's Chocolate Flake. I dried it out an hour before lighting, but it appears to be ready to smoke from the tin. Lots of Latakia here to my taste, which is not a bad thing. The chocolate is not as evident in the smoke as it is from the tin note; but it is present. Nicotine was satisfying; and it burnt cool with not a gurgle at all. I smoked it in an old Meer lined billiard. I will be getting more to sock away. Recommended.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 23, 2021 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is really really. Really good stuff. Given two years to age and it’s SUBLIME. the perfect dessert tobacco. Like a slice of dark chocolate raspberry cake.

Don’t worry about the Latakia if you’re not a fan. This is quite possibly the best aromatic in the market for English smokers like myself. But even for no English lovers it’s a wonderfully sweet tobacco (not in an unnatural or cloying way). Never had anything else like it. Get two tins. One to open one to age.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 14, 2021 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
The tin note is very pleasant: smoky and chocolate, and a bit fruity. The cut is a nice broken flake, long chunks that fold up nicely when packing. No rubbing out necessary. The cold taste has chocolate and a fruity note (raspberry or blackberry).

When smoking, at first it reminded me of chocolate milk. The kind that gets made in large pots at big winter events. Creamy, milky chocolate. As the bowl progresses, this taste dissipates a bit, as the sweetness from the Virginia really kicks in. At that point you get a very consistent, full bodied sweet smoke.

The Latakia is used sparingly, mostly condimental. However, if you're like me and you want that Latakia smoky goodness, I recommend retrohaling -- on the retrohale, the spicyness and smoky leather and heather comes through a bit more strongly, working very well with the taste of the tobacco.

The tobacco needed a fair number of relights (that's my experience with flakes, broken or not), but burned to the bottom of the bowl, leaving no noticeable moisture at the bottom, even though I gave it no drying time.

To me this is a great tobacco to smoke while reading. The flavor is consistent and there aren't too many surprises (good or bad) that draw your attention. Sitting in an easy chair with a good book, a pipe, and enjoying a pleasant winter (or fall, or spring, or just a slightly colder summer) evening.

I will very likely buy this again.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Churchwarden 601
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 year
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 25, 2021 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Lemony hay like Virginia with enough Latakia to provide a smoky campfire hit you nose and pallet from the get go here. An additional treat of light cocoa and semi sweet chocolate come into play soon after the match. Very well behaved in the bowl throughout the process. Flavor profile true from start to end. No goopy gunk or excess moisture in this one. If you like Latakia and you like chocolate then you need to try this blend. Very well done, gentlemen. One of my late night go to blends. Plan to keep this one around for a time to come. Aromatic of a different breed, indeed!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"