Two Friends English Chocolate

(3.41)
We begin with the finest Virginias and just enough Latakia to provide the taste that so many crave then press it to marry the flavors. We then tumble it out to a broken flake for easy packing and add just a touch of chocolate to awaken the senses. The end result is a blend that satisfies all day for a walk through the Dales yet is welcome in the drawing room in the evenings thanks to warm chocolate aroma.

Details

Brand Two Friends
Blended By Craig Tarler & Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.41 / 4
13

13

0

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The Virginias are grassy and tart and tangy citrus sweet, and always obvious. They form the base of the blend. The Cyprian Latakia is smoky, earthy, a little woodsy and sweet, and although it's a minor component, there are times I notice it more than I expect. The chocolate topping is tasty with no hint of chemical or syrup, and doesn't overwhelm the tobaccos or your senses. I sense a small vanilla note, too. The topping tone down the tobaccos to a moderate extent. The strength is in the center of mild to medium, while the taste is a step or two past that mark. Has little nicotine. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns clean, cool, dry and slightly slow with a very consistent, mildly sweet and lightly savory flavor. Requires a few relights, and leaves little moisture in the bowl. Has a very pleasant, lightly lingering after taste and room note. An all day smoke.

-JimInks
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 17, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Mouth-watering chocolate tin aroma and dirty brown stubby broken flake (or fat ribbon) cut. Tin moisture was about perfect.

I was all prepared to write this blend off after half the tin was gone. Couldn't get any chocolate flavoring and the entire blend tasted like dirt. Interestingly, this blend resurrected a pipe that I hadn't smoked much lately - a Bekler CAO meerschaum. The resurrection was mutual. In this pipe and only in this pipe, did the blend reach its potential. I got a nice chocolate flavor with just a hint of latakia, much like G&H's Bob's Chocolate Flake, but without the florals. In said pipe, I preferred this, although Sam Gawith's Chocolate Flake toasts them both. At any rate, this tasted a bit like an aromatic but it smoked very dry. Nice crossover blend. Burned beautifully to a clean white ash and didn't overpower me with nicotine. This was a very well behaved blend in the right pipe. Why it only likes one pipe, I have no idea, but if you try this and aren't getting a very noticeable chocolate flavor along with the room aroma, try it in several different pipes. Not a barn burner but definitely worth a go.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2017 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
This is a great tasting smoke. First half a dozen puffs give a good hit of Lat and sweet chocolate. The Lat then fades to the background and the Virginias to the fore. It's a fairly sweet smoke with both the Virginas and the topping contributing. I love the flavors, but I do get a mild bite which is the only reason I can't give it 4 stars. Bite is a subjective thing so you may not experience it here. I have no problem giving this a full recommendation.

Medium in body and taste. Flavoring is mild to medium. Burns very well.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 08, 2020 Medium to Strong Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
It was with some trepidation I got this one, as I could never get behind C&D blends, but here we are. Wow, this one smells great. It truly is a chocolate English with a clear cocoa topping wafting over some charcoal Latakia.

The thick ribbons feel great with a tactile flavor dusting on top. Great moisture content that was ready to stuff n' puff. Smolders into a strong* smoke that might catch you unaware with its strength. The highlight for me was it still maintained a chocolate veneer over the dominant Latakia, which was a first for me, as other 'flavored' English blends I've had never delivered on the added taste, making me wonder why they bothered (or why I wasn't just smoking a parallel Aromatic in the category).

English Chocolate manages to be an English with a working candy finish; a rare success story. Not to be smoked as a desert or all day puffer, but a nice change of pace to any English regiment.

*Most other reviewers found this one mild, so please note I have become a wuss.
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Nice cocoa aroma in the tin and room note. As many others have noted, just a hint of the cocoa in the actual taste, and I rarely got any Latakia flavors. For me, this burns a tad hot and acts more like a Cavendish-based blend than a VA, and is a bit too sweet for my taste, so overall, to me, it's closer to a true aromatic blend than a flavored English. Recommended for aro-lovers, I prefer to cut it with more Latakia-based blends. Since I know there are many tobaccos out there I would rate a 4, the question arises would I rebuy this particular tobacco, assuming my tastes don't change much more. In this case, the answer is probably not.
Pipe Used: briar, meerschaum, cob
Age When Smoked: 2 years when opened
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2011 Mild Medium Medium Pleasant
Upon opening the tin, this stuff has a wonderful aroma or chocolate cordial. It packs nicely, burns well, a bit moist right out of the tin, I liked mine better after the tin had been open for awhile. I didn't particularly care for this blend at first, the flavors just weren't bold enough for me and I was surprised after having smoked GLP's other english blends that the VA's in this blend seemed very muted tome, in fact I lost them in the latakia which is unusual in his projects and on top of that I wasn't really getting much of the chocolate taste that smelled so good in the tin. After having smoked it in a variety of pipes I discovered that the pipes I was originally smoking it in were part of the problem. I discovered that this blend shines in either a big bowl or at least a wide bowl pipe. Since I've found a few pipes that it does really well in, I'm beginning to like it more, the room note is fantastic and I'm starting to taste the chocolate a bit better, it's been a good companion in the summer heat, smoked at any time of day, it's not overwhelming, which is a good thing when it's 90+ degrees outside!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
I recently received my first order of this tobacco which was tinned on 12-27-10. I am smoking it in a Stanwell Vario - a featherweight poker. The tin aroma was decidedly Latakia, but not over the top as some Latakia blends go. I detected the faintest whiff of chocolate. It also smelled a bit alcoholic - like rum laden chocolate bobs, and very delicious. It came as a well rubbed out broken flake of medium brown to light tan. It filled and lit with ease and required only the occasional relight. As I am not a big fan of Latakia, I was very pleased that its dominant presence in the tin note was very well tamed by the sweet tasting Virginia. Although I wouldn't classify this an an aromatic in the traditional sense, I was able to taste the chocolate - very subtle and to my liking. English Chocolate smoked smooth, dry, and cool. Only with a faster puffing cadence could I detect the ability of this to smoke hot if pushed.

All in all, a very well put together tobacco. I believe this would satisfy pipe smokers across the board. It certainly would be a good blend for newbies to accustom their taste buds to Latakia. I've smoked other Latakia blends before - many of them, actually - and I would have to say that when I want a Latakia blend to smoke, English Chocolate fits the bill nicely for me.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 23, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
great aroma from the tin. you can smell the chocolate right from the start. taste just like it smells. gets stronger as you smoke.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
This is a very nice change up from the norm. Well flavored but not over the top! Produces a fine rich creamy smoke that will be enjoyed by everyone around you. I was very suprised to find that it smoked as dry as it did and stayed lit with very little effort. I found no tongue bite nor an after taste, but it will cling to everything on you. Overall just as advertised and a fine example of two fine blenders coming together to make a one of a kind smoke.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2011 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
I ordered a tin of this since Bob's Chocolate Flake seems to be hard to find these days and I am looking for a substitute so I don't have to smoke all of my stash.

Upon opening the tin and taking a big whiff, I get an overwhelming smell of chocolate liqueur - I like it. I load up a pipeful and it packs well and seems about the right moisture level out of the tin.

Its flavor profile is in between BCF and Honey and Chocolate. It is sweet but not overly so, fine hint of chocolate, and smooth and flavorful throughout the smoke.

I will definitely get more of this and keep it around in the celler.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"