Sutliff Tobacco Company 507C Virginia Slices

(3.43)
The ultimate in natural quality tobacco. 100% A-1 bright matured Virginias pressed and single cut in the classic British European tradition.
Notes: Available in 5 lb. brick. Individually boxed.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Series Blending
Blended By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.43 / 4
28

24

4

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 56 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 21, 2023 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Before getting into the notes let me spoil the surprise.

I first smoked this blend fresh. Was ok, but smoked very "green". Two years in a jar and I decided to try it again. Huge difference. Perfect moisture level, a lot more flavor. I liked it so much that it was the sole blend that I took with me to a weekend in Florida, after trying only two bowls.

A week has passed, I have smoked this blend exclusively without getting bored. I usually finish 2oz within 3-4 days, but somehow I still haven't finished this one despite only smoking this. You see where I'm going with this? Say that I'm pleasantly surprised would be a big understatement.

Sniffing the bag I mostly get citrus and a bit of berries, probably coming out of whatever casing was used.

Smoking notes: Straight in the middle moderate sugar, citrus, hay. Drop of smokiness, a hint of floral notes. Fairly straight forward Virginia, fairly one-dimensional, in a positive way. Nothing to think too much about. If you got it - smoke it.

Easy to rub out, pack, and draw. Sip it to get the best result and keep pipe as cool as possible. Minimal relights, if any at all, smokes pretty slow. No chance of tongue bite. Definitely an all-day smoke. I didn't even plan on smoking this exclusively over the past week, but it was very easy to do so.

Mild in body and strength, not complex at all.

Reality dictates the mind. If I was smoking this easily for a week without getting bored and enjoyed every smoke without even noticing, then this is a good blend. The time it aged at the tin definitely did a great job with it. I will definitely buy more and keep it for at least 2 years. And considering the price - it's a no brainer. Four stars.
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: 2 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 15, 2012 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
A one dimensional bright Virginia flake with a lot of tart and tangy citrus, grass/hay, sour lemon, some sugar, mild vegetation, floralness, and light earth, floral, wood and acidic notes. The latter aspect weakens when aged. The strength, nic-hit and taste levels are in the center of mild to medium. Won't bite or get harsh, but fast puffing may create a little tongue warmth. Does have a few rough edges. An effortless experience that burns clean and a little slow with a very consistent flavor that translates to the short lived pleasant after taste. Requires a few relights, and leaves little dampness in the bowl. Has a pleasant room note. An all day smoke that doesn't dull your tongue, and doesn't cost much. It also makes a very good mixer for home blending if you're so inclined. Greatly improves with age. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
61 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2017 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
This is as good and as basic a Virginia flake as you will be able to find. If other more high end or individualistic straight Virginias prove too temperamental or simply too expensive for you, Sutliff Virginia Slices are sure to help you realize what this style of tobacco has to offer without overtaking you with strength, heat, or overwhelming complexity.

This isn't Dark Star or Christmas Cheer, but it doesn't have to be. Hay, wood, and a little bit of citrus make up the overall flavor profile. You don't get much else on the palate, but what you also don't get is heat or anything to fatigue your mouth and tongue while smoking it. Sutliff has managed to capture the various elements that make a Virginia flake with no one attribute standing out or distinguishing itself and all for a price that can make this a daily smoke as opposed to a luxuriant indulgence.

Bulk tobaccos of all kinds should strive to be basic without being boring. Some of the best bulks do manage this: 1Q and RLP6 in the realm of aromatics, Stokkebye's English Oriental Supreme or Balkan Supreme for blends with Latakia. Drugstore OTCs have it covered insofar as basic burley is concerned. If you're looking for good, all around bright Virginia zest and tang but don't feel like ponying up McClelland's or Samuel Gawith, 507-C from Sutliff is one of the best, probably one of the few, options.

It should be noted that this is a flake that is meant to be smoked as a flake. If you rub it out it will lose something. Fold and stuff and smoke it slow and you will be rewarded. You won't be excited, but you won't be disappointed.
48 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 10, 2015 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
A wonderful surprise. My physiology usually has ph problems with Brights. They, more often than not, bite the fool out of me. No hint of a bite with this flake. The flavor is just as JimInks stated, sweet hay with a touch of earth. I do get some citrus notes toward the end of the bowl. It's not complex, but it is very pleasant and relaxing. This is a 3.5 star flake, but since it's so "toothless" I'm gonna give it 4.

Mild to medium in body and flavor. I prefer it rubbed and dried. Burns very well.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Mark Twain, Patriot
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
38 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 14, 2016 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Sutliff Tobacco Company - Virginia Slices #507-C.

It's a little difficult to review this without writing what's already been said, but I'll give it a bash!

High quality. That could be the review, that would about cover it all LOL! Joking aside though, even the scent from the pouch is a paroxysm of class. And then, preparing the flakes couldn't be any easier: they're quite thin, and of the right moisture amount to make them a breeze to rub.

The ignition is easy, and it burns even and clean all the way down. The flavour of this blend, that phrase again: high quality. It's a simple Virginia one, albeit not as zesty as some Va's can be: as well as the slight citrus note, there's a bit of depth to the flavour. The biggest contributor to this depth is quite a formidable woodiness ( I guess that's my take on the earthiness a few other fellows identify!). I wouldn't describe the smoke as cool, but I would say it's one of the most lenient blends where bite's concerned.

I find the nicotine quite mild from #507, and I think the room-note's very pleasant.

Simple: four stars.
Pipe Used: Mastro Geppetto
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2010 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I purchased this blend because of the previous review. And I'm glad I did. This is a lovely, cool, tasty virginia flake. Excellent quality and a great value. Very well mannered and even burning. High quality virginia flavor with a slight touch of flavoring. Upon opening the pouch, you can smell the faintest whiff of anise. You can almost taste the anise while smoking, but not quite. I kept asking myself if this was really an Altadis product. That's how good it is. I thought I tasted a little perique on the finish, but I'd guess it's really the touch of stoved virginia visible while examining the flakes. It's very easy to handle. Perfect for those who havn't experienced the pleasures of a straight virginia flake. Rub out a flake and don't pack it too tightly. Delicious to the bottom of the bowl. My review is based on ageing for at least six months. My first bowl lacked the sweetness that six months of ageing provided.

PurchasedFrom: PipesandCigars
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Puff gently, and slowly. This stuff is very subtle. Citrus and grassy hay comes to mind. Might need a little drying time. My shipment was a little moist, but was still smokable right out of the bag. I use the fold and stuff method with this. Leave some extra out, so when it dries a bit, you can use the drier stuff as kindling. Slow burning. Leaves a fine grey ash. This is a good one with black coffee...
Pipe Used: Some Italian Estate pipe I smoke a lot from.
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 14, 2012 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
This is a great virginia flake. I smoked it in a brand new cob to get the maximum taste. Very mild, slight sweetness to it. No bite at all. It makes a great blender. This is one I like to mix with burley and perique.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2018 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Quality Virginia flakes at a price that defies the market laws. Nice smelling tobacco that responds better to fold and stuff than fully rubbed. I always prepare my pipe at least one day in advance so that the burn and flavor are better.

The first part, I'm greeted by sweet hay and very little citrus. There's an extremely mild sweet licorice/anise flavor that permeates during the smoke, that's more evident at the beginning. The second part, I get more sweet hay and a light earthy almost nutty flavor, due to the maturation process. The last part settles into a stronger hay and earthy/ nutty flavor profile with an occasional sweetness.

A perfect creamy and mellow Virginia flake that never bites, to be smoked every day, on any occasion, by the Bright Matured Virginia tobacco aficionado.

Virginia lover
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 28, 2017 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
I recently purchased some of this tobacco to blend with. I've only ever tried one other Sutliff tobacco being I'm usually stuck on my favorite 3 or 4 brands. I was looking for less expensive tobacco's to experiment with and thought I would give this a try. These are beautiful long flakes, thinly cut into strips. I'm not a huge fan of thick flakes, so the presentation of this blend is perfect. I've just realized that I've smoked more than half of my order without having even begun blending with this. IMO, this is a great, affordable tobacco. Certainly, there are better, more complex Virginias out there, but as an everyday light smoke, this works rather well. Straight bright virginia taste, sweet and sour, with hints of muscadine, hay and grass, citrusy. Also, I think this will age very well. I will definitely be buying more of this and believe that, if I can hold on to it without smoking it all by its self, it will go great with anything. I plan to press a cake with some perique. Maybe adding a touch of oriental leaf would be interesting. The possibilities are endless. I somewhat recommend this if you enjoy the brighter side of Virginias or if you would like to get into coming up with your own mixtures. As an affordable bulk tobacco, you really can't lose.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Monsieur, Petersons Canadian Kapet
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars
Age When Smoked: Fairly new
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 10, 2015 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
Grassy slightly sweet bright Virginia as described. Slices were easily rubbed into a medium shag. Packed well into the bowl, take care not to pack too tightly! Very mild with no harshness or overly large Nicotine punch. Most assuredly an all day smoke for the smoker who enjoys a good Virginia. As with nearly all Sutliff tobaccos this one is an excellent smoke and a good value as well. Believe it would mix well with either Kentucky or Perique, which I plan to do. Details into that experiment to follow. A good entry tobacco for the beginner.😀
Pipe Used: Kaywoodie Standard 72
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: New bulk
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"