Sutliff Tobacco Company 507C Virginia Slices

(3.43)
The ultimate in natural quality tobacco. 100% A-1 bright matured Virginias pressed and single cut in the classic British European tradition.
Notes: Available in 5 lb. brick. Individually boxed.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Series Blending
Blended By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.43 / 4
28

24

4

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2017 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
This is as good and as basic a Virginia flake as you will be able to find. If other more high end or individualistic straight Virginias prove too temperamental or simply too expensive for you, Sutliff Virginia Slices are sure to help you realize what this style of tobacco has to offer without overtaking you with strength, heat, or overwhelming complexity.

This isn't Dark Star or Christmas Cheer, but it doesn't have to be. Hay, wood, and a little bit of citrus make up the overall flavor profile. You don't get much else on the palate, but what you also don't get is heat or anything to fatigue your mouth and tongue while smoking it. Sutliff has managed to capture the various elements that make a Virginia flake with no one attribute standing out or distinguishing itself and all for a price that can make this a daily smoke as opposed to a luxuriant indulgence.

Bulk tobaccos of all kinds should strive to be basic without being boring. Some of the best bulks do manage this: 1Q and RLP6 in the realm of aromatics, Stokkebye's English Oriental Supreme or Balkan Supreme for blends with Latakia. Drugstore OTCs have it covered insofar as basic burley is concerned. If you're looking for good, all around bright Virginia zest and tang but don't feel like ponying up McClelland's or Samuel Gawith, 507-C from Sutliff is one of the best, probably one of the few, options.

It should be noted that this is a flake that is meant to be smoked as a flake. If you rub it out it will lose something. Fold and stuff and smoke it slow and you will be rewarded. You won't be excited, but you won't be disappointed.
49 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 10, 2015 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
A wonderful surprise. My physiology usually has ph problems with Brights. They, more often than not, bite the fool out of me. No hint of a bite with this flake. The flavor is just as JimInks stated, sweet hay with a touch of earth. I do get some citrus notes toward the end of the bowl. It's not complex, but it is very pleasant and relaxing. This is a 3.5 star flake, but since it's so "toothless" I'm gonna give it 4.

Mild to medium in body and flavor. I prefer it rubbed and dried. Burns very well.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Mark Twain, Patriot
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
38 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 14, 2016 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Sutliff Tobacco Company - Virginia Slices #507-C.

It's a little difficult to review this without writing what's already been said, but I'll give it a bash!

High quality. That could be the review, that would about cover it all LOL! Joking aside though, even the scent from the pouch is a paroxysm of class. And then, preparing the flakes couldn't be any easier: they're quite thin, and of the right moisture amount to make them a breeze to rub.

The ignition is easy, and it burns even and clean all the way down. The flavour of this blend, that phrase again: high quality. It's a simple Virginia one, albeit not as zesty as some Va's can be: as well as the slight citrus note, there's a bit of depth to the flavour. The biggest contributor to this depth is quite a formidable woodiness ( I guess that's my take on the earthiness a few other fellows identify!). I wouldn't describe the smoke as cool, but I would say it's one of the most lenient blends where bite's concerned.

I find the nicotine quite mild from #507, and I think the room-note's very pleasant.

Simple: four stars.
Pipe Used: Mastro Geppetto
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Puff gently, and slowly. This stuff is very subtle. Citrus and grassy hay comes to mind. Might need a little drying time. My shipment was a little moist, but was still smokable right out of the bag. I use the fold and stuff method with this. Leave some extra out, so when it dries a bit, you can use the drier stuff as kindling. Slow burning. Leaves a fine grey ash. This is a good one with black coffee...
Pipe Used: Some Italian Estate pipe I smoke a lot from.
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 14, 2012 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
This is a great virginia flake. I smoked it in a brand new cob to get the maximum taste. Very mild, slight sweetness to it. No bite at all. It makes a great blender. This is one I like to mix with burley and perique.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2018 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Quality Virginia flakes at a price that defies the market laws. Nice smelling tobacco that responds better to fold and stuff than fully rubbed. I always prepare my pipe at least one day in advance so that the burn and flavor are better.

The first part, I'm greeted by sweet hay and very little citrus. There's an extremely mild sweet licorice/anise flavor that permeates during the smoke, that's more evident at the beginning. The second part, I get more sweet hay and a light earthy almost nutty flavor, due to the maturation process. The last part settles into a stronger hay and earthy/ nutty flavor profile with an occasional sweetness.

A perfect creamy and mellow Virginia flake that never bites, to be smoked every day, on any occasion, by the Bright Matured Virginia tobacco aficionado.

Virginia lover
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 03, 2009 Very Mild Mild Medium Very Pleasant
Altadis 507-C Virginia Slices

Went to the Altadis site on the Internet and browsed through their offerings list. I am not an aromatics smoker but do appreciate that those that are could find one or indeed several things to try. What intrigued me most was the Benjamin Hartwell blends (Signature and Chesdin Mixture)Good stuff. They were nice enough to send me a generous sample of each as well as several other non-aromatics I thought were intresting. All smoked well,some better than others but the Virginia Slices was the best of the bunch by far. Being a big fan of the Kendal and Peter Stokkebye's blends this Altadis offering seemed to fit in very well. The closest description I can give is that it is a very similar tobacco to Peter Stokkebye's "Luxury" blends (not the Bulleye but the others since it does have some mild sort of top dressing,I believe)It rubbed out well and "stuffed" equaly well. Nice flavor and nicotene factors both. Not strong at all but still flavorful and satisfying. Good morning or evening or even possibly an all day smoke as well. The room note is I suppose is good but as I don't smell my own smoke I couldn't remark on that part reliably but my wife assures me it is "Nice'.

The added incentive is that it is not a British tobacco which , some of which by the way I love, but hate the supply problems they seem to constantly have for the smokers in the U.S.. I got the guys at PipesandCigars.com to order it for me so if anyone cares to try it that would be the place to go. Good stuff and very reasonably priced as well.

The Piuper at the Gates of Dawn.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 24, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
507c is a lovely, easy smoke. It is way, way better than the price would suggest, this has gone under the radar for too long. The flakes are soft and smell of baked bread. Once lit you are greeted with a grassy, pure Virginia tobacco that is a nice smoke first thing in the morning with a cup of coffee or as an all day staple, as it never gets ashy or harsh. I’ve put away 5 pounds of this if that tells you how fond I am of this pure, basic Virginia flake.

P.S. ~ Buy This Now!
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 04, 2018 Mild None Detected Full Tolerable
This is by far my favorite Virginia, and I am a Virginia junkie. It is definitely sweeter than most Virginia's, but not in an Aromatic way. It just feels like it was prepared perfectly from the get-go. In any case, this is my go-to smoke and I enjoy it each and every day.
Pipe Used: Every pipe I own.
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com and Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
First off: the smell of these lovely slices in the bag is pure bliss. A lovely essence of honey and classic easy smoking Virginia. I lightly rubbed and crumbled the slices, but not too vigorously. Just the right moisture (not the ready-to-smoke dry like Three Nuns from the tin) for a pleasant smoke.

I think the lingering smell of this on me is probably the best part. Reminds me of European smokers, Dutch ones in particular.

I'll admit that I felt this is kind of dank and barnyard-like when first lighting up. And seemed a bit one-dimensional for the first few minutes. But as I smoked down the bowl, I enjoyed it more and more. No bite, but a decent little nic hit by the end.

Also, the room note -- which I liked -- is probably a bit strong for indoors (which I really don't do anyway). Comparing this to the toastier, Kentucky-laced Three Nuns, I much prefer the Nuns. But 507-C is a much lighter smoke.

Definitely a solid 3.5 stars.
Pipe Used: Irish second billiard
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh bulk
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"