Sutliff Tobacco Company Great Outdoors

(2.94)
It is perhaps ironic that a blend named Great Outdoors should be appreciated for its room note. This outstanding aromatic is a mixture of burley, vanilla, and flavored black cavendish. Perfect for fans of Field and Stream.
Notes: This blend is manufactured by Sutliff and sold under their "Sutliff Private Stock" brand.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Series Sutliff Private Stock
Blended By Carl McCallister
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley
Flavoring Anisette, Vanilla
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 1.5 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.94 / 4
15

24

10

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is different than Field and Stream, and different from Sutliff's F&S Match blend, which, like this blend, was created by Carl McAllister. The Match is closer to F&S than this, and both are better than the original. I will stick to the subject, though, as GO was meant to be a "take" on F&S, and not a copy. The earthy, nutty burley has a light molasses sweetness, and is well complimented by the grassy, citrusy Virginia cavendish. The black cavendish appears to be unsweetened. The toppings include vanilla, light licorice, and plum and honey. It smells great out of the tin, and the after taste and room notes are extremely pleasant. It's sweet, but not powerfully so. Burns cool at a moderate pace with consistent flavor to the end. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no goop. Has a mild nic hit. An all day smoke.

-JimInks
32 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 29, 2010 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Another Altadis blend of the month gifted to my local pipe club, Great Outdoors is not a bad smoke. I thought it was actually somewhat elegant compared to the original Field and Stream it copies. Also F&S always seemed to have a "licorice" taste to me, this one did not. Just a simple coarse cut Burley/sweetened Cavendish blend that I found to be appealing. I had to work at smoking it slowly because this one has no bite or strength.
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2014 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
I am almost done with a 1.5 oz tin, and this review is based on however many bowls that is - 15? 20? This is a very good smoke. I find it puzzling that the description on TR says there is no flavoring, because I get mild vanilla, sweet, and maybe a little licorice. The tin is also missing a description, so I guess Sutliff is relying on reviews or experience to let people know what is in the tin. This is a basic mild burley with a pleasant topping that is not overpowering.

This is a very friendly blend for non-smokers. The room note is reported to be nice. It is a tasty tobacco as well. That makes for a great combo when you have a significant other and smoke in the house or in the car.

19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
This is a fine American blend. The quality of the tobaccos is top notch, and the flavorings are mingled in with the tobacco instead of being dumped on like many blends. The tin note is wonderful: sweet licorice, nuts, plums, and a hint of what I believe is chocolate. Packing is easy, and it holds a light very well. As with all Sutliff blends, I let this one dry a bit before smoking (open the tin for about an hour or two and let it breathe). Upon lighting, the nuttiness of the burley came through, and the licorice notes dance in and out around flavors of vanilla and Cavendish. This is a perfectly balance tobacco as far as flavor is concerned, and I enjoy it as an all day smoke (great with morning coffee too).
Pipe Used: MM Hardwood, Dr. Grabow Duke
PurchasedFrom: Tobaccotown, Beaver, WV
Age When Smoked: Fresh
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 24, 2014 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Pouch/Tin Note - Three words - Oatmeal Raisin Cookie. Ok, 5 words, Oatmeal Raisin Cookie with Vanilla. This smells very, very nice. Lots of sweetness and caramel, but some smokey backbone lurking around in there.

Char and initial draw - Incredibly mellow, and possibly the sweetest smoke I've ever had shy of a goopy aromatic. I stand by the tin note of oatmeal to describe the driving flavor here, it's almost breadlike but the sweetness and very subdued nutty flavors reminds me more of toasted oats.

As the bowl warmed, I started to get some very mild black pepper notes. This bowl is really good, and I've got to pace myself... the taste in my mouth is toasted pecan now, the initial sweetness has taken a back seat to the stronger burley notes, although it's still there. Oddly enough I'm not getting any of the smokey characters in the flavor even though it was in the smell of the tin/pouch.

The room note was odd, despite the sweetness in the pouch and in the smoke, the room note was mildly sweet toasted burley with a whisper of vanilla. Not a big deal to me, as it still smelled fantastic to my nose.

This is an incredibly mellow tobacco with subtle flavors that play very well with each other. Absolutely nothing offensive, and incredibly well balanced. Even with a healthy burley content I didn't feel overpowered by the tobacco strength either. Seriously well done.
Pipe Used: MM legend
PurchasedFrom: Unknown (gifted)
Age When Smoked: Unknown
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Brown and black ribbon/chop cut with a fairly heavy tin aroma of licorice. They claim vanilla as well but I neither smelled nor tasted any, although there was some semblance of a scent and flavor that was not licorice. Came a bit too moist but not glaringly so. A short drying time and I was ready to go.

Not sure if this is a "match" for Field & Stream and it's been awhile since I smoked any, but the flavor of this matched my recollection of the old HoW blend. The licorice was there but much more subtle in the taste. Unfortunately not much tobacco taste came through. This lacked the nostalgic feeling I got from the original, but that's all in my head anyway. What this delivered was a slightly sweet and a little fruity, non-goopy aromatic taste that also smelled kind of nice in the room. It seemed to me that the tobacco was of a higher quality than the HoW, but hard to tell. I'm not sure fans of the original would like this or not, but it does seem true to it's source. 2 stars was all I could muster for F&S, and this one is worth 2.5. Nothing I'd care to smoke again, but worth a shot for those that liked the HoW version, as this is likely to be as close as any blend will come to that.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 18, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
On opening the tin, my first thought on the aroma was root beer. Vanilla and anise flavors abound in this blend, but are not overpowering whatsoever. Consisting of burley and black cavendish, this blend is made up of various cuts: from ribbon to ready rubbed. Moisture in the tin was nearly perfect. It seemed hard to keep lit a various points, most likely due to the mixed cut. Flavor-wise, Great Outdoors is pleasant. I would consider this a semi-aromatic, or perhaps an "old-school aromatic." The "aromatic" component works in concert with the tobacco flavr on the blend. Overall, a very nie tobacco that I would recommend to anyone looking for a mild, all day blend, with a little extra aroma added...
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 19, 2015 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
For those of you who like a nice OTC burley or burley-based like Prince Albert, Sir Walter, or Carter Hall this might be a interesting step up. This blend is very well named and just feels like a late fall day in the woods, with a mug of campfire black coffee. Got it? The burley is there - definitely there - but not overpowering and balanced with the barest touch of anisette and maybe, maybe vanilla - but the real star is the nutty mild chocolate that is just exquisite. Think mild milk chocolate. In the end this blend is about smooth, nutty, warm, woodsy burley that remains there - more than just a wisp here or there.

Easy pack, easy light, easy smoke, pleasant and warm, that gets deeper and richer as you move along. If you like burley - or want to - you will like this one. The very mild aromatics are there, but so integrated that they only enhance, not overpower or detract. Looking for vanilla - try BCA instead. This isn't for you. Loved it. A burley lovers blend, and I'm a burley lover.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Local closeout
Age When Smoked: Unknown
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 30, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I like this one, but I'm not in love with it. It's toasty, earthy, mildly nutty, and has just a touch of sweetness. I'd like a little more sweetness, but it's still pretty good. The vanilla is mild and the anisette even milder. The Burley and the Black Cav have close to equal influence to my taste buds. A nice smoke.

Mild to medium in body and taste. Mild in flavoring. Burns well.
Pipe Used: MM Diplomat 5th Ave, MM Patriot
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
This is not bad. Not bad at all. I don't care much for blends with anise, but in this blend the anise is really only noticeable for me in the first quarter of the bowl, if that. The burley gives a nice, nutty flavor and there is plenty of smoke, too. Packs and lights easily with minimal relights. Very decent smoke. I will likely buy more on occasion. Recommended!
Pipe Used: Nording, MM Country Gentleman, meerschaum.
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"