G. L. Pease Chelsea Morning

(3.43)
Sweet red and bright Virginias, fragrant Orientals, a bit of rich Cyprus latakia, and just a pinch of perique. The leaf is blended in layers, briefly pressed, then sliced and tumbled into ribbons. Lively and engaging, with a subtle fruitiness, and an elegant, creamy texture, it's a great bowl to accompany the morning cup.
Notes: Chelsea Morning was introduced in October, 2009.

Details

Brand G. L. Pease
Series Old London Series
Blended By Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.43 / 4
102

34

18

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
The red Virginia provides tangy dark fruit, wood and earth with a light breadiness as the lead component. The bright Virginias are grassy with a touch of tart and tangy citrus as a supporting player. The Cyprian Latakia is smoky, woody, earthy, slightly musty, sweet, but is a minor player. The earthy perique is also a minor ingredient, being more raisiny and plumy than spicy. The Oriental/Turkish are floral, woody, earthy, herbal, vegetative, slightly sweet and more sour, indicating that Izmir is one of the tobaccos, and are noticeable in every puff, sometimes dominating the other components. It's more of a dry than sweet smoke with a little creaminess, but there's a few harsh spots here and there after the half way point. Has a slightly more than mild nic-hit. The strength is just past the center of mild to medium, while the taste is medium. Won't bite, but has a few rough edges. Burns clean and slow with some necessary relights, and leaves a little moisture in the bowl. Has a little inconsistency in flavor. Has a decent, short lived after taste and stronger room note. Almost an all day smoke. More of a two and a half star blend, mainly because the individual tobaccos don't seem work together as well as they should. Some reviewers suggest it improves with age, but my observations are from a freshly opened tin.

-JimInks
33 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
Never been a fan of Dunhill Early Morning: too heavy in nicotine (especially for a blend labeled as "Early Morning") and too dirty in taste. This GLPease blend, which I suppose is meant to a similar target audience, certainly fixes the dirty taste of the Dunhill blend (and is obviously made from better leaf), but still is a bit too strong for me in the heaviness department. Not that it's EXCEEDINGLY strong, mind you, but when I taste a glimpse of Latakia I want the full flavour... and with lighter flavoured blend I probably tend to overpuff to compensate, bringing along a nicotine hit (and at times bitterness, and not just a hint of it).

Anyway, if this kind of blend (Virginia + a pinch of Latakia) fits you, you should certainly enjoy it very much. Personally I question a bit the presence of Perique, which is not suited for such a blend in my book. And in any case, I seem to prefer the smoother/creamier experience offered by Piccadilly when (it happens rarely) I want a blend with just a hint of Latakia.

Ayway, objectively, it is a quality tobacco and the slightly thick cut is fantastic, offering a very nice burning rate and a dry smoking experience.

Pipe Used: Castello, Dunhill
Age When Smoked: 3 years
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Pip
Dec 08, 2020 Very Mild Very Mild Very Mild Tolerable
This review is for a first edition 2009 tin of Chelsea morning. Time has allowed the Virginias to fully ferment and present their tangy sweet earthy bouquet and has also allowed the smoky Latakia and Orientals to fully meld with the Virginias. The tin note also presents some small raisin and pepper undertones.

I had big expectations for this blend given all the positive reviews. However, I was left somewhat disappointed. Not by the quality of the leaf but by its lack of traditional Englishness. I knew going in it was going to be a light English. I was thinking more along the lines of Presbyterian but, to my palate it's much lighter than that.

My palette changes with the seasons and I was expecting a little bit more of an English forward blend. To me Chelsea Morning is more of a nuanced Virginia blend. Think of a VaPer slightly spiced with Latakia and Orientals. I usually don't smoke Virginias in the fall/winter as I like more heavier blend when it’s cold outside.

The moisture content in the tin was spot on as it took to the flame right away and didn't need many relights. To me CM is just too light. I know the Latakia is in there but I really don't taste it that much in the smoke. Once it a while I’ll get a sour note but it’s mostly sweet Virginia that I get. It’s very smooth to me and you can puff as hard as you want and will not even get the slightest bit of bite. The aftertaste is also very light and fleeting. It's an overall good blend definitely but, more of a summertime smoke for me.
Age When Smoked: 11 Years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 24, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
If you want a morning smoke, the following blend will be perfect: Samuel Gawith - Squadron Leader or skiff; G. L. Pease - Piccadilly (Classic Collection), Kensington (Classic Collection); if you prefer a little bit stronger, head up to Drucquer & Sons - Blairgowrie, Samarra (Original Mixtures) or Blackpoint (Classic Collection).

Why don't Chelsea Morning fit me?

Like Beer said: "Personally I question a bit the presence of Perique, which is not suited for such a blend in my book. And in any case, I seem to prefer the smoother/creamier experience offered by Piccadilly when (it happens rarely) I want a blend with just a hint of Latakia."

Like Jimlinks said: there are a few harsh spots here and after that the halfway point( my note: cellar can change this ); the individual tobaccos don't seem work together as well as they should.

In other words, compared to Dunhill early morning, it is far better; but with distracting Perique, inharmonious ingredient and a little too much strength for a morning smoke, for me it is a two and a half stars rating tobacco.

Enjoy + Never to buy → Two and A Half Stars Rating
PurchasedFrom: 2oz tin from smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: six months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 03, 2014 Strong Mild Full Tolerable to Strong
Yet another blend I've mixed feelings about. On the one hand, the taste of the tobacco is superb (if not too full), and the side stream, well, it's outstanding, but, for me, this blend packs such a nicotine wallop, it sent my head spinning and stomach churning. Also, my throat paid a heavy price—this blend smoked harsh and rough for me, it wasn't a pleasant experience (I wonder if it was the perique in this that was responsible for that?).

Chelsea Morning is really full of both the things I love about pipe smoking, and of the things I hate about pipe smoking. If your sensitive to high levels of nicotine and really full tasting tobacco, bypass this one, if not, you'll probably like it a lot. I'll split the difference and give it a solid two stars.
Pipe Used: I can't remember
PurchasedFrom: 4 Noggins
Age When Smoked: ?
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 28, 2020 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Smooth and creamy, little spicy and nutty flavor. Not lat bomb but still enjoyable EM, the perique works well with others. Not my favorite GL Pease but worth to buy.
Pipe Used: Peterson Aran
PurchasedFrom: Dubini
Age When Smoked: 2
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 19, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
This one will improve with age for sure. However, the tin I smoked was about 1 year in the cellar and it was still too sharp for my taste. I will jar it and revisit down the road.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2013 Medium to Strong Medium Full Tolerable to Strong
CM is the blend i like the less from the Pease`s works. I´ve smoked several bowls in several pipes but for some reason i can`t get stuck with this one. Put it to cellar for a while and then i´ll review again. So far, nothing special for me.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 22, 2013 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
Have smoked this fine tobacco for several months now. Smooth morning and all-day smoke. Room note and taste is like Penzance light!

2014 10 19 Have stopped smoking this as more and more it has tasted unpleasantly sour and bitter to my tongue, although my colleagues still prefer this tobacco over many of the others I have moved to.
Pipe Used: standard to large
PurchasedFrom: Cupojoes
Age When Smoked: 3 years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 02, 2010 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I had high hopes for Chelsea Morning and ordered an 8oz can from 4Noggins solely on the positive reviews here. First impressions, while seldomly accurate, were a bit disappointing for me as I could taste quite a lot of a liqorice/anise flavour added to the blend, which lingered in the mouth for quite a long time. On top of that, it was stronger than expected but did not have a lot of body. But the presentation is immaculate, nicely rubbed out pressed tobacco and I feel it will improve if left alone for a while. So this I will do and report in a few months time.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"