Manifatture Sigaro Toscano Comune

(3.00)
A quality mixture, medium strength, based on Italian Kentucky tobacco appreciated for its pleasantness and balanced intensity.
Notes: Ente Tabacchi Italiani (ETI) has been bought by British American Tobacco (BAT) in 2003, which was sold to Manifatture Sigaro Toscano the pipe tobacco production along July 2006.

Details

Brand Manifatture Sigaro Toscano
Blended By Manifatture Sigaro Toscano
Manufactured By Manifatture Sigaro Toscano
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Kentucky
Flavoring
Cut Shag
Packaging 40 grams pouch
Country Italy
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
6

8

6

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 20 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 09, 2013 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This is my favourite for price vs quality. It's easy to fill and to smoke, no frills and medium to full body. Very good alone or 50/50 with a virginia blend. Grab it if you are so lucky to find one.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2019 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I kinda developed a taste for Toscano stogies, available in most duty free shops globally, so I was very happy when I had a chance to buy and taste their pipe tobaccos (Comune and Forte). However I discovered that they have at least a 20-30% of shredded paper in the pouch. Those are the yellow threads. I thought that was the Orientals, but it's actually paper. Took out one and put it on fire. It burns and smells like paper. Shame, if it wasn't for that, it could have been a great baccy
Pipe Used: Ashton Brindle 216 XX, Savinelli Riviera 315
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2018 Very Strong None Detected Full Strong
I'll be honest: I bought this tobacco with the intention to break-in and reset pipes. After a while I was charmed by this tobacco and it made a place in my rotation. It is very strong, natural tobacco flavor. Very spicey in retrohale. Like smoking a Toscano!
Pipe Used: Corn Cobs & Savinelli 804KS Orient
PurchasedFrom: Tabaccheria Giordano Ivrea(TO) Italy
Age When Smoked: weeks
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 18, 2018 Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
Bought a pouch in Rome (2017/12). Don't expect any flavorings, toppings or subtle fruity notes. Comune is not of this kind. Raw, pure taste of tobacco, it needs a moderate smoking pace to enjoy this blend. Not an every-day smoke; its strong taste and the absence of any flavor notes will bring fatigue. But it's ideal in the morning, accompanying the first coffee of the day. If you visit Italy, Comune is a must.
Pipe Used: Various briars
PurchasedFrom: Rome
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 08, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant
It's a very good ad cheap tobacco, it has a good taste of nuts and "earth" at it grows during the smoking. At the beging it's very light and pleasant and burley does its part than the kentuchy kicks in and gives a strong contribute to your puff.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Tolerable to Strong
purtroppo non conosco l'inglese, ma fumo il Comune da tempo, alternando con il sigaro Toscano. Credo che non si possa comprendere la forza e dolcezza di questo tabacco 100% naturale se non si amanti del sigaro toscano. Per chi ama il dolce del tabacco, non puo' non provarlo per una fumata sicuramente appagante e con una dolcezza tutta particolare. Un grande tabacco naturale.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 23, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Strong
A milder version of E. T. I. Forte, also made with italian Kentucky tobacco but without strong types (like the Kentucky Beneventano). Some decades ago it was considered a second choice tobacco; as its italian name saids "comune", that means "common", was a popular and cheap tobacco. Now made obviously with a more selected but still a basic kentucky has a very natural and genuine taste. Slightly bitter, woodsy and with a sort of barley leaf note; it's very dry and fast burning but not much as Forte: more linear, straight and sincere, but also more pleasant, with a constant note of Toscano cigar. Awesome if combined with any sort of distillate, especially "grappa". Like Forte is often used in homemade mixtures to add a natural cut without strong influence in the final taste and without increasing too much the strenght of the mix. I vote four stars because, at my opinion, it's a true allday tobacco; you can't get tired of this, it's relaxing and reflective!

4 Stars, and all deserved!

Type: Natural medium ; Contents: Italian Kentucky ; Cut: Shag, medium size ; Humidity: Dry but not much ; Lighting: Fast and easy lighting, constant and fast smoking ; Pipe recommended: Any type, try it with a meerschaum and a corn: delicious.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 30, 2011 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Rustic but mellow. Woodsy with trace of sweetness.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
Another excellent review of Skando which I endorse. Comune is a mixture cheap and popular (Trinciato Comune literally means "Ordinary Cut"), rustic but not rough, simple and unpretentious but absolutely dignified. Opening the package the smell is very earthy and reminiscent of a newly plowed field. During the smoke aroma, taste and flavor turns to absolutely soft woody/tannin-free notes and with clear references to the Toscano cigar (the same thin tasty salinity/minerality) although in Comune is not very pronounced the leathery aroma (so characteristic for Toscano... ). A large pipe is probably the best, but (IMHO) you might appreciate this even with a corn-cob pipe.

Recommended with ... full stomach!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Strong
Comune is a cheap italian blend, entirely produced from italian harvested tobaccos of the Kentucky Burley variety.

Many years ago it was sold in small papers 20grms packs, and it was clearly intended to be for RYO use. Now it comes in 40grms sealed pouches, and seems to me the cut is a bit larger, nevertheless in the shag category. The pouch preserves an acceptable moisture and it's use for the pipe smoking.

The pouch smells very nice natural tobacco. A faint note of spirit of some kind over a earthy/woodsy base. I would think to something of the like of McB's Burley London Blend, but stronger and less sophisticated.

A Tundra by Savinelli # 129 (6mm filter removed), straight with a "generous" bowl, has been in use for a number of bowfuls.

Due to the cut and low moisture level, this is tipical one-match-and-forget. Slow draw has been my care, resulting in a rewarding typical burley-sh smoke, very smooth with cigarish notes. Never bitter, biting nor wet. Of course we are in the mono-dimensional field, I have not expected many things happening ... The strength starts from medium and develops to strong.

Nice experience, and good tobacco to reinforce some milder VaB, I think.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"