Manifatture Sigaro Toscano Comune

(3.00)
A quality mixture, medium strength, based on Italian Kentucky tobacco appreciated for its pleasantness and balanced intensity.
Notes: Ente Tabacchi Italiani (ETI) has been bought by British American Tobacco (BAT) in 2003, which was sold to Manifatture Sigaro Toscano the pipe tobacco production along July 2006.

Details

Brand Manifatture Sigaro Toscano
Blended By Manifatture Sigaro Toscano
Manufactured By Manifatture Sigaro Toscano
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Kentucky
Flavoring
Cut Shag
Packaging 40 grams pouch
Country Italy
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
6

8

6

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 02, 2010 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
Steden was kind enough to provide a pouch for me to try, I think placing me in a small group of Americans to have had the pleasure of this OTC Tuscan tobacco - suitable for pipe or cigarette.

My first few bowls were curious but not convincing. Eventually, I began to take it for my first pipe of the day with my tea. A fresh mouth and cleansing tea really opened Comune up for proper examination.

The Kentucky, a fired tobacco, is very full of tobacco flavor and the other tobacco blended in keeps the tobacco from being completely flat and dull. There is a natural sweetness to the tobacco, that is illusive yet when noted, it the key that unlocks this blend and I believe this small sweetness completes the experience. If you aren't lucky enough to detect it, which seems to be happenstance, you miss the entirety of the potential experience. Unfortunately, I was half way through the pouch before I nailed it down and and before I could consistently catch this fairy.

Perhaps "Comune" means common or ordinary and it may well meet those definitions in Italian but Comune is somewhere above my understanding of "ordinary" since discovering it's secret.

I suppose Prince Albert is America's common/ordinary cut tobacco but these two tobaccos have nothing in common outside of the cultural aspect. I believe Italy wins this one.

It is cold here now with snow on the ground and while smoking Comune I imagine the vineyard workers with soiled hands eating their simple noon meal quenched with local table wine and topped off with a bit of Comune while chatting under the warm Tuscan sun. That is a good winter dream isn't it?

My wife dreams of visiting Tuscany and now I'm beginning to as well.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 23, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
There is a heated debated going on in Italy about this baccy, which has been around for ages apparently. On one side are those who love this stuff, buy it in bulk and smoke a lot of it, pure or mixed with other tobaccos. On the other are those who can't stand it, either because they say it's not the same as before, or because they just find it disgusting.

The main point raised by critics is the use of reconstituted tobacco inside this blend, which many say did not happen before. In effect, this baccy is made of dark brown stripes of Italian Kentucky, and light brown recon, which could be basically anything. Proportions, I would say 70/30.

I confess I picked out and threw away the longest stripes of recon. However, I must say that this blend is not bad at all. There is definitely some nice tobacco aroma here, and some nicotine too. Not too much, but noticeable. The taste, of course, reminds Toscano cigar, but more dry. This is what I find a bit annoying. Being quite dry (especially if the pouch is a bit old) it can scratch the throat (but nothing compared to cigars). It definitely needed rehidration in my case. However, it burns very cool and doesn't bite. I enjoy it pure or mixed with a light VA. Smell is strong, so it's good for smoking outside. So if you're in Italy, give it a try, it's cheap and you may like it.

****

Update: I have to upgrade my rating to 3 stars. I find myself craving for this tobacco more often than for other, more expensive ones. Definitely a good no-frills, unflavored, medium-strength Kentucky. Earthy with a moderate sweetness. Recommended.
Pipe Used: Falcon, Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 09, 2013 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This is my favourite for price vs quality. It's easy to fill and to smoke, no frills and medium to full body. Very good alone or 50/50 with a virginia blend. Grab it if you are so lucky to find one.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2018 Very Strong None Detected Full Strong
I'll be honest: I bought this tobacco with the intention to break-in and reset pipes. After a while I was charmed by this tobacco and it made a place in my rotation. It is very strong, natural tobacco flavor. Very spicey in retrohale. Like smoking a Toscano!
Pipe Used: Corn Cobs & Savinelli 804KS Orient
PurchasedFrom: Tabaccheria Giordano Ivrea(TO) Italy
Age When Smoked: weeks
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 08, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant
It's a very good ad cheap tobacco, it has a good taste of nuts and "earth" at it grows during the smoking. At the beging it's very light and pleasant and burley does its part than the kentuchy kicks in and gives a strong contribute to your puff.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Tolerable to Strong
purtroppo non conosco l'inglese, ma fumo il Comune da tempo, alternando con il sigaro Toscano. Credo che non si possa comprendere la forza e dolcezza di questo tabacco 100% naturale se non si amanti del sigaro toscano. Per chi ama il dolce del tabacco, non puo' non provarlo per una fumata sicuramente appagante e con una dolcezza tutta particolare. Un grande tabacco naturale.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
Another excellent review of Skando which I endorse. Comune is a mixture cheap and popular (Trinciato Comune literally means "Ordinary Cut"), rustic but not rough, simple and unpretentious but absolutely dignified. Opening the package the smell is very earthy and reminiscent of a newly plowed field. During the smoke aroma, taste and flavor turns to absolutely soft woody/tannin-free notes and with clear references to the Toscano cigar (the same thin tasty salinity/minerality) although in Comune is not very pronounced the leathery aroma (so characteristic for Toscano... ). A large pipe is probably the best, but (IMHO) you might appreciate this even with a corn-cob pipe.

Recommended with ... full stomach!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 07, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Strong
Comune is a cheap italian blend, entirely produced from italian harvested tobaccos of the Kentucky Burley variety.

Many years ago it was sold in small papers 20grms packs, and it was clearly intended to be for RYO use. Now it comes in 40grms sealed pouches, and seems to me the cut is a bit larger, nevertheless in the shag category. The pouch preserves an acceptable moisture and it's use for the pipe smoking.

The pouch smells very nice natural tobacco. A faint note of spirit of some kind over a earthy/woodsy base. I would think to something of the like of McB's Burley London Blend, but stronger and less sophisticated.

A Tundra by Savinelli # 129 (6mm filter removed), straight with a "generous" bowl, has been in use for a number of bowfuls.

Due to the cut and low moisture level, this is tipical one-match-and-forget. Slow draw has been my care, resulting in a rewarding typical burley-sh smoke, very smooth with cigarish notes. Never bitter, biting nor wet. Of course we are in the mono-dimensional field, I have not expected many things happening ... The strength starts from medium and develops to strong.

Nice experience, and good tobacco to reinforce some milder VaB, I think.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"