4noggins Weybridge

(3.39)
By mixing and then stoving the Burley and Virginias, we obtained a nut-like and slightly sweet aroma. A touch of St. James Parish Perique is then added to set it apart from all other blends.

Details

Brand 4noggins
Blended By Rich Gottlieb
Manufactured By 4noggins
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
19

8

6

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 33 of 33 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2020 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Given some of the rave reviews here I have to wonder if my 2 oz. bulk purchase was somehow tainted. If what I received is at all representative I would urge caution: this will be an acquired taste. The aroma in the baggie was most unpleasant, like stomach acid (and other bodily fluids I won't mention). The smell was so worrisome it took some courage to finally load it up in one of my cheapest cobs (I didn't want the risk of it skunking any of my good pipes). Fortunately, it did not skunk the pipe, nor did it taste anything like the foul aroma. The taste was predominantly honey-wheat bread, rye whiskey and some Connecticut cigar.

Next I tried it in a better pipe, a meerschaum, to get a good neutral impression of what it was all about. This time I did pick up some acidic overtones, as if something in the flavoring had gone rancid. Fast forward a year after this has sat untouched in a mason jar, now in a vintage Hardcastle briar. The good news is that most of the really off-putting aromas are gone, though there are still some strange aromas and tastes that are just not my cup of tea. Nothing like the molasses-cased Burley that I originally expected.

I'm not sure what's going on with this one but I'm done trying to puzzle it out when there is so many other delicious blends to enjoy. Maybe if you like rye whiskey with a little funk on the side, otherwise I urge caution on this one!
Pipe Used: Ozark cob, meer, vintage briar.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2015 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
One of few blends that makes me fall in love at first puff. This is sweet and smooth, with obvious chocolate flavor in the tin note. Great all day smoke. One year in the cellar does indeed enhance the taste.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 08, 2013 Medium Mild Medium Tolerable to Strong
Meh...I found it rather bland. Light, fluffy tobacco (as are all of the 4noggins I tried). Not bad but far from great. All 4 of the ones I tried tasted very similar to one another.
Pipe Used: Corncob
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: 63
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 04, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
This is my favorite blend. It is a perfect combination of Virginias that add sweetness, Burleys that add body, and Perique that adds the perfect bit of spice. The Perique is definitely a condiment, and is light by most Va/Per standards. However, in this blend the amount of Perique is perfect for my taste. There seems to be a slight top coat which adds a slight amount of sweetness and makes the room note pleasant for the wife. Rich at 4noggins puts out great products, so give this or some of his other blends a try.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Got a free sample and thought this was really nice. Smoother and creamier than GLP Triple play with i also love. Easy all day smoke with the right balance of taste and reasonable nicotine. I ordered 2 pounds.

Update, 6 months ageing really brings out the flavours and makes this a very good value for money smoke. Easy all dayer.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 13, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
A very interesting blend from 4 Noggins. More of a vabur as the perique has been added with a very light hand. Slightly sweet and savory in flavor, it packs well and burns cleanly. Well done! Recommended.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2011 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable to Strong
This is a great change of pace tobacco. I find the aftertaste a little bitter with a slight McClellands Vinegary taste (whiskey topping?), very unusual but nice.I tend to smoke this when I'm a rush and just need that N hit. This packs easy, lites easy and with a little tamping, it keeps burning great while inside or out. I love the Perique hit when blown through the nose and this never bites no matter how hard you"stoke it",although I agree with some reviewers that say it needs some drying, the burley stays in the background. It has some sweet notes but this is not a tobacco I smoke to savor and contemplate, although it is nice when sipped. A good "on the go" tobacco that's great in a cob. It's my go too tobacco for those short trips to the store or work around the yard. This is very similar to P&C Sunza Bitches and OJK but I think this is mellower. I always want to keep this around.

Updated 9/8/11 I was looking for that evening smoke but my tonque just about had it. In the back of the cellar was some Weybridge, only cellared for about 6 months. What a treat, sweet, no bite good "N". Totally improved tobacco in only 6 months and now complex and very smooth unlike OJK that I find harsh. Want a little more spice, go for Prarrie Wind or C&D's 3 Friers but if you want something that you can really suck the "N" , Weybridge is for you ( great for us Northern Winter Smokers who can only stand outside for a few minutes)

Updated 2/27/2012- I recieved a new batch of this blend and I was a little disappointed with the consistency. It seems as though the Burley shows through more and doesn't have the Perique hit or topping note. I've got to take this down one star.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 14, 2008 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Again a winner from 4noggins. As always with Rich' blends the Burley is outstanding. In this blend the Virginia plays the supporting role, giving a sweet and creamy touch. If there is any casing (I think there is) it must be a very light one. The perique really shines, from begin to the end of the smoke. I think both begin and end are very good, and the middle part is even better. I smoked this in cold weather, but suspect the this blend is even better in summertime.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
b7q
Nov 07, 2022 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
This is a gentle Three Nuns, I prefer Prairie Wind a little more because of personality and unreferable flavor.

I have a lot of tobacco in the rotation every day, when you are bored, Prairie Wind will give you a different reminder, Weybridge is a well-behaved boy.

When I opened the bag, I smelled a pair of stinky socks that could stand up.I had to do it outside in the open
Pipe Used: Briar
Age When Smoked: new
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 02, 2018 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
When I first received this sample in my shipment I was really excited because of all the reviews I had read on this site. Was I ever disappointed, I got the bread flavour from the Virginias but that was it, this blend was just too wet: like a moist towlette to get much of anything. After a few months of drying in an old tin, I got what all the excitement was about. Very nice tobacco, tending toward the sweet side in terms of flavour, I find the burley is in the background on this one. Can't give it four stars, just too much drying time
Pipe Used: Various Briars
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: Approx 3 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Strong
As every english blends, it's smooth and a bit strong in the same time. If you like latakia, go try it. If you don't... don't even try. The fact that 4noggins is the brand doesn't mean it bad quality, for those who think that a "shop brand" can't make good tobacco.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2013 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
For me, this blend misses the mark somewhat. The flavor is good, but I get a bit of mouth fatigue. I'm not sure why in that I tolerate many other blends from other blenders just fine with similar ingredients (xref Hearth & Home, Cornell & Diehl) but most 4noggins blends just don't work for me. It's a shame as they seem to be high quality, taste good, and burn well...
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 17, 2012 Mild Medium Medium Tolerable
I had received a sample of this with an order some time ago and as I remember I thought that it was not great but pretty good. After reading the reviews here I ordered some with my next order.

I am afraid that I regret that decision. The tin(bag)aroma was clearly vinegary and this smell completely overwhelmed any of the tobacco smells. I hoped that this would not be true of the smoking when I set match to it in my favorite Pete, but that taste was indeed present in that first bowl as well as a bitter aftertaste. I tried it in several other pipes over the next 2 months, hoping that I might find some improvement from my initial bowl experience, but I just cannot get pass that McClelland vinegary taste. In this sample it is quite pronounced. I have cellared the balance hoping that time might make a difference. If it improves I will re-post, if not I will toss it.

Either way, it is just not my "cup of tea" and I will not be reordering. I must say that the rave reviews of this blend here makes me at least concerned about 4noggins quality control.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"