4noggins Weybridge

(3.39)
By mixing and then stoving the Burley and Virginias, we obtained a nut-like and slightly sweet aroma. A touch of St. James Parish Perique is then added to set it apart from all other blends.

Details

Brand 4noggins
Blended By Rich Gottlieb
Manufactured By 4noggins
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
19

8

6

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2013 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The nutty, and lightly earthy molasses sweet burley is the main player. The high quality citrusy, lightly grassy Virginias are a strong supporter. The perique is an important minor player as it adds a little fig, raisin and spice for complexity. There is a little essence of vinegar reminiscent of what you get in McClelland blends, and a light sour note or two that doesn't interfere with the creamy smoothness of the smoke. Won't bite. Well balanced, you'll notice the various aspects of the tobaccos in virtually every puff. The nic-hit is mild. Burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with no dull spots or weakening of the smooth, consistent flavor. Leaves a little moisture, but no dottle and has a pleasing after taste and room note. An all day and all night smoke that doesn’t wear out its welcome.

-JimInks
33 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
A delicious bell ringer with a dose of nicotine that made me smile and quit shaking. Not a lot of Perique but enough to let you know its there. I really enjoyed the Burley/Virginia combination that came through in unrelenting waves.

Want real "Grandpa used to smoke this" style tobacco? Well, here you go.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 29, 2010 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Wow. This is a good VA/BurPer.

I'm convinced the VA is McClelland 5105 and it pretty much runs the show here.

Weybridge has that soft high note sweetness of 5105 but with a burley bass note and a nice Perique twang.

Sort of a VaPer with a subwoofer. Maybe OJK before he got old and crotchety.

I've tried several 4Noggins Blends and haven't met one yet that didn't make me go "Holy cripes. That's good stuff!!!".
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Unnoticeable
Weybridge is a high quality blend of several brown tone and darker leaves of rough-cut ribbon. If it has any aromatic flavoring, I for one, could not detect it; and it burns cleanly, without gurgle or bite. The delicate sweetness of (what I think is red) Va and a nutlike Burley combine in a full-bodied smoke seasoned to perfection by Perique.

It produces a lush, almost succulent smoke. Its full body is nicely in balance with a medium-to-strong flavor and mild-to-medium strength, creating a smooth smoke that will not fatigue the palate. It is kind of woodsy, ideal for an Autumn stroll in the forest -- or at any other time, reminiscent of one. It has a naturally expansive flavor, so I prefer to use a pipe with a narrower chamber -- but a deep-bowled pipe -- because it seems to grow richer as it progresses, and you'll want to capitalize on that.

Smoking Weybridge will not distract you from any activities; but it will regale your palate with interesting tastes if you so choose. As a Vaper with Burley body it should appeal to most people who prefer natural tobacco taste, and it belongs on every Vaper lovers' short list of blends to try.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2017 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
This is a top-notch smoke. Bear in mind that I've used only cobs here. The Virginias lead by a slight margin with sweet hay and later with notes of bread. The nutty Burley starts in second place and catches up to the Virginias toward the end occasionally taking the lead. The Perique has a moderate influence providing dark fruit and spice to the background. Has a nice cool burn and needs few relights. A real pleasure.

Mild to medium in body. Medium in taste. I think there may be an extremely mild addition of anise.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: 4 Noggins
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 09, 2009 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
You can see at the first packing and lighting the high quality of the leaves used in this blend. Virginia of this blend has a natural, pure sweetness which has been rounded up with some Burley. The result is a nice semi-sweet taste. And this taste is balanced with a touch of Perique. I personally would like to taste the Perique in a higher proportion.

I could detect an extremely mild casing. This flavor reminds me the classical sour-sweet taste of McClelland tobaccos.

It is an easy keep lit tobacco. It smokes with a mild strength at the beginning and when I approach to the middle of the bowl it begins to satisfy my nicotine and flavor needs, and keeps this well balance till to the bottom.

This is a very well balanced, and proffesionally prepared blend. An all day day smoke for my tastes.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 01, 2020 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
While I like this mixture, and will buy it again, my first impression of the pouch note agrees with Brunello's review that it has a tinge of unpleasant aroma. Brunello described it as "stomach acid," and from my experience evaluating beers, wines and spirits I'd say it's a definite, but very faint, isovaleric acid or butyric acid note. These fatty acids have aromas of cheese, or oxidized fats. The predominant pouch note is actually quite pleasant, but the odd sour note is there- way in the background.

And, while I've never experienced these in tobacco before, I have noticed acetic acid in several blends, which folks describe as vinegary or ketchupy.

The good news is that none of these comes through on the taste or room note. Sometimes I like to stick my nose in the tobacco before packing, but for this one I just pack and light.

The flavors in this smoke, for me, are nice for anytime of the day. Right now it's my morning smoke, and goes nicely with my fresh-roasted Mexican Oaxacan coffee.

There's just enough sweet tang on this (but no bite whatsoever) to keep the smoke interesting and tasty to the end of the bowl.

UPDATE: I've plowed through the first 2oz sample of this, and I have to up the rating to 4 stars. I put some in a pouch, and within a few days the odd sour pouch notes dissipate to undetectable. I'm finding I really like this, and just ordered more. This is a really nice morning tobacco, and now it's becoming a habit.
Pipe Used: Crown Manolo Spot Carved 9mm
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: Fresh from baggie
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2019 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Here’s a crazy question: Given 4noggins’ Weybridge, who needs Royal Yacht, anyway? No, Weybridge is not billed as a “match” blend, and just as well because it isn’t actually a match! It isn't as plummy, nor is it nearly as strong in the nic department. Still, once I found the right pipe for this blend (a #6 Punto Oro billiard), and I exorcised the ghosts from it, Royal Yacht was what came to mind as I smoked my Weybridge. As far as W is concerned, it features a range of VAs, but it is Burley forward for me, with butter, pecan and cashew scents and tastes, sweet, slightly earthy, meadow grassy, a trifle sour, and certainly bitter, growing in strength and tastes as it is smoked down. The Perique lends some musty prune and mild spices, and there is an extremely mild, berry-ish topping. Short ribbons and small chunks range from gold to mid red-ish, and dark browns. Bag note is pretty much AWOL. This blend handles, loads, lights and smokes down fine right from the bag. The tobaccos stay well-melded and well balanced, top to bottom, with overall tastes remaining “mid-band”. While both brighter and darker tastes are present, neither dominates. Strength is more medium than mild. Tastes ramp up to just past medium. Room note is nice for moi. Aftertaste is pretty much a trailing off of the best of the smoke, VA sweet and Burley bitter.

Among all available VA/Bur/Pers, Weybridge is an easy recommendation. Factoring in the quality/price ratio of this blend only boosts the rating. 4 stars, and well done, 4noggins
Pipe Used: #6 briar preferred
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: right from the bag
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 29, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Nice, simple, natural blend I can smoke all day. This is just great straight up tobacco without any tricks. Good for those like myself who enjoy basic Burley blends without flavouring. Highly Recommended.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 20, 2015 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Another from the BoB bombing I got.

I decided to try and smoke from my jar of this pretty much at random today. I have to say, it was a great pick. It doesn't look like much in the jar, it's not very pretty anyway. It doesn't smell so great in the jar either for what it's worth. Kind of a bit of a vinegar tin note, but I can smell the perique in there well enough. It reminds me of something from McLelands, they may be using blending components from them. Dark fruit kind of perique, but it comes through as spicy in the smoke. It it packs and lights up easy enough. It does a slight moisture to deal with. I had to relight this twice before it burnt well.

It is delicious by the way. Has a really good base to it with a nice zip from the perique. The nicotine content is pretty good as well. Full four stars for this one, it's going on the shopping list I think.
Pipe Used: Peterson 408
PurchasedFrom: BoB bombing gift
Age When Smoked: Not sure
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"