4noggins Weybridge

(3.39)
By mixing and then stoving the Burley and Virginias, we obtained a nut-like and slightly sweet aroma. A touch of St. James Parish Perique is then added to set it apart from all other blends.

Details

Brand 4noggins
Blended By Rich Gottlieb
Manufactured By 4noggins
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.39 / 4
19

8

6

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2013 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The nutty, and lightly earthy molasses sweet burley is the main player. The high quality citrusy, lightly grassy Virginias are a strong supporter. The perique is an important minor player as it adds a little fig, raisin and spice for complexity. There is a little essence of vinegar reminiscent of what you get in McClelland blends, and a light sour note or two that doesn't interfere with the creamy smoothness of the smoke. Won't bite. Well balanced, you'll notice the various aspects of the tobaccos in virtually every puff. The nic-hit is mild. Burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with no dull spots or weakening of the smooth, consistent flavor. Leaves a little moisture, but no dottle and has a pleasing after taste and room note. An all day and all night smoke that doesn’t wear out its welcome.

-JimInks
33 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
A delicious bell ringer with a dose of nicotine that made me smile and quit shaking. Not a lot of Perique but enough to let you know its there. I really enjoyed the Burley/Virginia combination that came through in unrelenting waves.

Want real "Grandpa used to smoke this" style tobacco? Well, here you go.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 29, 2010 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Wow. This is a good VA/BurPer.

I'm convinced the VA is McClelland 5105 and it pretty much runs the show here.

Weybridge has that soft high note sweetness of 5105 but with a burley bass note and a nice Perique twang.

Sort of a VaPer with a subwoofer. Maybe OJK before he got old and crotchety.

I've tried several 4Noggins Blends and haven't met one yet that didn't make me go "Holy cripes. That's good stuff!!!".
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Unnoticeable
Weybridge is a high quality blend of several brown tone and darker leaves of rough-cut ribbon. If it has any aromatic flavoring, I for one, could not detect it; and it burns cleanly, without gurgle or bite. The delicate sweetness of (what I think is red) Va and a nutlike Burley combine in a full-bodied smoke seasoned to perfection by Perique.

It produces a lush, almost succulent smoke. Its full body is nicely in balance with a medium-to-strong flavor and mild-to-medium strength, creating a smooth smoke that will not fatigue the palate. It is kind of woodsy, ideal for an Autumn stroll in the forest -- or at any other time, reminiscent of one. It has a naturally expansive flavor, so I prefer to use a pipe with a narrower chamber -- but a deep-bowled pipe -- because it seems to grow richer as it progresses, and you'll want to capitalize on that.

Smoking Weybridge will not distract you from any activities; but it will regale your palate with interesting tastes if you so choose. As a Vaper with Burley body it should appeal to most people who prefer natural tobacco taste, and it belongs on every Vaper lovers' short list of blends to try.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2017 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
This is a top-notch smoke. Bear in mind that I've used only cobs here. The Virginias lead by a slight margin with sweet hay and later with notes of bread. The nutty Burley starts in second place and catches up to the Virginias toward the end occasionally taking the lead. The Perique has a moderate influence providing dark fruit and spice to the background. Has a nice cool burn and needs few relights. A real pleasure.

Mild to medium in body. Medium in taste. I think there may be an extremely mild addition of anise.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: 4 Noggins
Age When Smoked: fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2014 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Another one ounce sample from 4noggins. Deep brown mixed with black and with the most bizarre bag aroma ever. Some sickly sweet artificial scent that I couldn't place but made me wonder if PG has an aroma. At any rate, I didn't taste it much, so much ado about little.

VaBurPer with the emphasis on Bur. The VA and perique seemed minor players and simply served to keep this one from monodimensionality. Perhaps a little more should have been employed because this one was pretty much a one trick burley pony top to bottom. Nothing wrong with that, of course, but the burley turned bitter on me fairly quickly. I could not finish some bowls as a result. When the flavor was on, it was quite good - no bite and with deep nutty character made slightly sweet and sour by the condiments. But it was just too persnickety for me - I couldn't make it work for me. Might be worth a shot to order some more and age it for awhile, because it just seemed too youthful. Then again, I'm not sure what 3-5 years would do to a burley. At any rate, I'm going to take a pass on this. A couple more 4noggins to go but Alamosa wins the prize so far to my taste buds.
Pipe Used: meerschaum and morta
Age When Smoked: new
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 14, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Weybridge is an example of a blend that I thought had a lot of promise but ultimately failed to deliver.

The pouch note is exactly what you'd expect from a VaBur with a hint of perique. Sweet, nutty, free of discernible topping, and maybe just a half-a-hint of depth and mustiness (in a good way) from the perique. Dark brown and black ribbons with just the right amount of moisture straight right from the start. It packed very easily, and took the flame like a champ, and smoked consistently throughout.

The quarter or so of the bowl was pleasant enough. The promise of sweetness and nuttiness in the pouch was found in the smoke, although somewhat subdued. The volume of perique was small enough that it added little (if anything) to the taste itself, although its spicy character was present in the sinuses. If the bowl remained exactly like this for the duration, I'd say that Weybridge was decent, inoffensive, and straightforward (if not a bit monotonous).

Then things began to go south.

Of all of the bowls I smoked, only a very few (two, maybe three) didn't take a turn for the worse during the middle portion of the smoke. The monotony left the smoke underwhelming, any sweet nuttiness gave way to a smoke with very little taste and seemed rather ashy in nature. The final quarter of the bowl either continued in the same vein (at best) or turned rather bitter and unpleasant (at worst), with the same ashy/muddy qualities of the mid-bowl.

For what its worth, I think Weybridge benefits from a corn cob in a big way. the VAs are a little more noticeable, and it gave me the best chance of avoiding getting mired down in an undesirable smoke late in the bowl.

All that said, I openly acknowledge that - while I am a smoker of burlies and not averse to the leaf - I'm not a great burley enthusiast. Burley lovers may have a better time with this than I had. It does have the benefit of being straightforward, easy-burning, and on the weak side of medium in the nicotine department, so it could easily be a true "all day blend" for those who enjoy it.

To my tastes, it was closer to a 1.5 star blend, although the first quarter of bowl (judged apart from the rest of the smoke) could be in 3-star territory. True burley lovers should probably give it a try...but casual burley guys will probably not find this worth their time.

For my money, if I'm looking for a no-nonsense VaBur/Per that does (what I think) Weybridge is trying to do, I would still put McClelland's Grey Havens at the top of the class.
Pipe Used: Variety of Briars & Cobs
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 25, 2014 Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I get the mild nuttiness, but not much else other than some unpleasant bitterness in the last 1/3 of a bowl. A very soft and mild blend, rather bland other than the bitterness in a meer or briar. In a cob, there's a bit more of the VA showing, and the bitterness a bit less unpleasant. More of a 2.5 than a full three star for me. Burley fans looking for something mild and a bit different may like this more.
Pipe Used: Country Gentleman cob, meer, briars
PurchasedFrom: 4 Noggins
Age When Smoked: new
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 09, 2009 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
You can see at the first packing and lighting the high quality of the leaves used in this blend. Virginia of this blend has a natural, pure sweetness which has been rounded up with some Burley. The result is a nice semi-sweet taste. And this taste is balanced with a touch of Perique. I personally would like to taste the Perique in a higher proportion.

I could detect an extremely mild casing. This flavor reminds me the classical sour-sweet taste of McClelland tobaccos.

It is an easy keep lit tobacco. It smokes with a mild strength at the beginning and when I approach to the middle of the bowl it begins to satisfy my nicotine and flavor needs, and keeps this well balance till to the bottom.

This is a very well balanced, and proffesionally prepared blend. An all day day smoke for my tastes.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2008 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm very surprised that I'm the first to review this blend. I can't say if it's a new blend, just recently having discovered 4 - N's (and very glad I did). I'll say straight off this is an early impression - not tempered by having tried in in various pipes, over time, etc. I ordered this because I fell in love with C & D's new Exhausted Rooster (damn near the Holy Grail) and this appeared to be close to the same blend (though it's not flake and I'm sure the ratios and specific tobaccos used must be somewhat different). But it has that same musty Perique aroma (love it, just love it) on top of the stoved VA and Burley mix. How can this go wrong? Well, it guess it could easily have gone South, but it seems to be a well designed and proportioned blend...with the Perique making it's presence known from top to bottom. It doesn't burn as easily as 4-N's self-smoldering "Down by the River" Burley blend...you have to attend to it. Maybe drying this one a bit would be a good idea - it gurgled a bit in my pipe...had to mop it with a cleaner twice. No biggie as I'm certainly a puffer. Be that as it may, this is certainly a winner in terms of flavor - high quality tobaccos here as I'm guessing in all their blends. It's nice to find another blender that really cares about that aspect...as the reviews of all their other blends will attest. My early read on this goes to three out of four stars. If further testing goes one way or the other I'll revise it. I have to add that to my mind there are maybe a half dozen blenders out there from which you can get good Burley - if you love Burley, you know who they are. Now I'm adding 4 Noggins to my short list of these.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"