Boswell Pipes & Tobacco Raspberry Cream

(3.56)
Rich toasted raspberry cavendish with a sprinkle of golden cavendish is a mild and sweet blend.

Details

Brand Boswell Pipes & Tobacco
Blended By J.M & Dan Boswell
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cavendish
Flavoring Raspberry
Cut Shag
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.56 / 4
41

14

5

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 61 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 26, 2023 Mild Medium Medium Pleasant
I don't usually smoke fruity aros, I'm more of a vanilla-chocolate-coffee flavor guy. This blend is delicious. Dark creamy raspberry, mild chocolate, a hint of tobacco. It works. Burns well, no bite, and flavor lasts till the end. By second bowl it became a top three aro for me. Gonna buy a boat load for the apocalypse. --Edit-- So one disappointment that cost a star: the raspberryflavor/ aroma flashes off quickly. Two weeks after opening and jarring, the raspberry has faded to a basic modern cavendish. As long as you smoke the tin in a couple weeks it's fine, but I expect aros to last a little longer.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 18, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This is a very sweet and creamy blend with hints of raspberry and vanilla. This blend smokes very cool and does not bite easily. I recommend Boswell's Raspberry Cream to any aromatic smoker. I am looking forward to ordering more
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2018 Mild Very Strong Very Full Very Pleasant
This is a top-notch aromatic blend. With a name of Raspberry Cream, most smokers should already have some idea of what to expect. The flavoring seems like a genuine food-grade topping, not a chemical substitute that cheap aromatic blends use. But it's Boswells, they have excellent blends and a great reputation.

The tobacco is great quality. The smell is exactly like the name, a Raspberry cobler with a creamy hint to it. Room note is the same. And like Berry Cobler, the taste of the smoke was just like the smell. It did seem to fade as the bowl smoked down, but I've experienced that with just about every heavy aromatic blend. I think that just comes with the territory.

The only word of caution is that this blend WILL ghost a pipe. And very quickly. I think after 3 or 4 bowls I could get a hint of it in the bowl. But again, I expect that from a heavy aromatic and planned which pipe to use accordingly.

If you haven't tried this and love aromatics, it will not disappoint. If you haven't tried anything from Boswell's they won't disappoint either.
PurchasedFrom: http://boswellpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2015 Very Mild Strong Full Very Pleasant
This tobacco should be in every aromatic enthusiasts reserve. First, there simply aren't many raspberry aromatics in the first place. This one fits the bill better than any in the field and really puts just about any other aro to shame. Its very well balanced. Raspberry plays loud and clear, but is nuanced with creamy undertones. Base tobaccos hold things together well giving you voluminous smoke, not the wispy, gurgling nonsense of inferior aros. Boswell has their finger on the pulse of aros in general and Raspberry Cream has to be one of the best around. I smoke this all year.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 17, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Loved this blend. Mild vanilla, and actual raspberry taste! Also taste a bit of cocoa. Kept lit very well, no bite. Smoked all the way down with no dottle. All day smoke easily, sure to satisfy a sweet tooth craving.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Pride
PurchasedFrom: JM Boswell's
Age When Smoked: 1 month old
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 05, 2015 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Some aromatics get it just right. This is definitely one of them. The note of the raspberry smells great without that over-the-top casing you can get with some aros. The smell is good but the smoke is even better. The flavor nuance of raspberry is ever present but not too much. A very light even keel smoke that's like a dessert. The burn is consistent beginning to end. If you like raspberry this is definitely a must try. Reminds me a lot of cherry Bon Bon by PS on consistency, balance, and burn (aside from the obvious - flavoring). This would be a great smoke for anyone - for a newbie as an introduction, for a regular who is looking for a sweet change or anyone in between. This is a nicely done aromatic no doubt about it.
Pipe Used: Rossi, Red Point, La Strada
PurchasedFrom: Boswells
Age When Smoked: new, 6 mos, 1 yr
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 18, 2014 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
What is not to like about the blends from the good folks at Boswells? You get a very high quality product, at a reasonable price, that is made right here in the USA from what I understand to be incredibly nice people running a small business.

The real reason I am a huge fan of the Boswell blends is they are just downright fantastic. I really look to them when I am looking for a quality aromatic. For me this is where they really shine. Do not get me wrong, Northwoods is a fantastic tobacco, but there are a lot of really good english blends out there. What is truly a rare beast is an aromatic that is not goopy, that does not require an asbestos tongue, and really delivers on the flavor it advertises. For most aromatic blends out there whatever extravagant name the tobacco holds it becomes a sad let down. This pouches of wild fruit cherry passion jubilee really just taste like hot steam. Not Boswells. If it says apple or chocolate or berries in the name, that is exactly what you can expect. That is a rarer bird to find in the pipe tobacco world than a good english.

Raspberry Cream is just like all the other Boswell favorites. Packs well, burns well, leaves behind a nice dry grey ash and a pleasant and nostalgic type of room note. Cannot go wrong. I do prefer Berry Cobbler to Raspberry Cream but you would never find me turning my nose up at a bowl of this blend. Definitely worth a try.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 10, 2013 Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
This is a good blend; the smell from the bag, the room note, and the lemon-like zing in the flavor. But there are a few things which don't make it outstanding in my book.

I like my aromatics to have a very mild tobacco taste, and a medium to strong flavoring (without being overpowering). Raspberry Cream, when being compared to the Berry Cobbler, has a somewhat stronger tobacco taste and a duller flavoring. I prefer the bag smell and room note of the berry cobbler as well. Still a very good blend, not quite what I had expected.

I'll be purchasing Boswell's Chocolate Cream next, and I have high hopes that this Raspberry mixed with the Chocolate would be a killer blend.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 02, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is a dessert Tobacco all the way, and a good choice for relaxing after a big meal. You need to let this one dry for a bit before you can enjoy it to it's full capicity. The aroma in the pouch will have you wanting to put it over ice cream rather than smoke it, and this aroma is very much like the taste of this blend. I blend this with some of boswells "christmas cookie" and let it rest for a few months and all I can say is if you want a rich sweet tobacco that will satisfy any sweet tooth....Give this one a try!!
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Full Extra Strong
After trying Berry Cobbler and Christmas Cookie with good but not great results I continued on to the NEXT highest rated Boswell aromatic. Raspberry Cream is by far the best for me.

The smell upon opening the pouch is a very delicious aroma of raspberry and slight hint of granola. Beautiful black cavendish dominates throughout with lighter ribbon style cavendish.

Lights fantastically well from the first light all the way down to the bottom of the bowl. Produces grainy white ash and dottle throughout the smoke. I tipped the bowl halfway through and relit. Has a great relight quality, like having a fresh bowl all over again. This is the easiest blend I've had with the baccy staying lit.

The taste is sensational! This is the first aromatic that actually tastes like the smell. A sublime rustic, smokey, velvety smooth raspberry taste that lingers on your tongue after each puff. About halfway through the bowl I noticed more of the vanilla cream and tobacco taste come through but the smooth cool raspberry taste dominates. It has virtually no bite whatsoever. I even tried to smoke this fast and hard to see if I could even produce a bite to no avail. I am simply amazed by this blend.

If you are a fan of aromatics and Boswell like I am you simply have to try this amazing blend. You will not be disapointed. Raspberry Cream is my favorite so far from Boswell with Christmas Cookie and Berry Cobbler following close behind.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 31, 2020 Very Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Boswell's Berry Cobbler and Peaches and Cream have burley added to the cavendish and black cavendish formula. I'm curious why the Boswells didn't use the same tobacco base for Raspberry Cream.... Tis but a mystery!

Raspberry Cream is predominately black cavendish, with a few speckles of brown leaf. Like Berry Cobbler, the aroma of this blend is absolutely intoxicating, and very appealing to the olfactory senses. As I've stated several times reviewing Boswell's aromatics, they use nothing but high quality flavoring components to their high grade leaf. There are several reasons they have been in business so long as a boutique blender, Customer service, and fine tobaccos!

Raspberry Cream loads and packs well. Lights without any hassle. No stickiness on the fingers.

Initial lighting has tons of natural berry flavoring. Not cloying or artificial in any way, shape or form. Burns slowly and evenly, never hints at biting and no harsh/rough spots. A well rounded aromatic that is a definite crowd pleaser. A great indoor smoke, I enjoy it in the summer on my early morning commutes. I love coming back to my truck at lunch time and smelling the sweet aroma of pastry and berries. Another 4 star aromatic from the great folks at Boswell!
Pipe Used: several
PurchasedFrom: Boswells
Age When Smoked: 3 months old
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"