Boswell Pipes & Tobacco Sweet Tea

(3.09)

Details

Brand Boswell Pipes & Tobacco
Blended By J M Boswell
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Cavendish
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus, Sweet / Sugar
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.09 / 4
18

13

10

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 20 of 43 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 09, 2013 Very Mild Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant
First and foremost I have tried many Boswell blends and although I am mainly a Virginia and English smoker--well I like an aromatic once in a while. Most aromatics for me I find goopy and clowing and usually do not smoke them for that reason. One needs to limit the heat with aromatics and you find the flavors will come through if you do not over heat and over work the pipe trying to find the flavor. With that in mind I loaded up a small Boswell pipe that would be concidered a group #2 size and sipped VERY slow at the pipe. This tobacco if given a chance will give subtle tones of citrus or tea like notes that do not over power the palate. It is a very mild aromatic and that suits me to a "tea". Also I find just as the description--little if any after taste. Also this blend will not bite back. Yes it seems heavily cased but I found it to NOT goop up the pipe--it burned clean and again--for those who are having a hard time with these mild aromatics---SLOW down the puffing--DO NOT over work and over heat the tobacco. When one takes their time with these you will find they tend to be better than you would think. I have smoked a pipe for a long time and through experience will say--if you over puff and over work a pipe with aromatics in them--all of you flavor is going out the top in steam and all your left with is no flavor. I actually get the tobacco notes first, and then the subtle citrus tea like undertones as I go with this blend. As with ANY aromatic--it needs babied along with subtl puffing and paying attention to not get the tobacco over worked. I especially recommend this blend to those who dont really care for really heavy aromatics. If you are looking for an aromatic that smacks you in the face with heavy flavors--this sin't it. If you are looking for an aromatic that is subtle and gentle--give it a try.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2017 Medium to Strong Medium Full Very Pleasant
Mr. Boswell makes some super fine pipes and his tobacco blends are some of the best out there. As aromatics go this is without a doubt the BEST aromatic I have ever had. Rarely have I ever found an aromatic that offers enough taste to truly enjoy except perhaps Frosty Mint which simply over does it to the point it is very distracting while smoking. Once opening the baggie I found the blend nice and dry. No goop at all. Light up was a breeze and burns very cool. You are immediately hit with a wonderful mixture of sweet hay, tart lemon and some sweetness.......just like the taste of iced sweet tea. It is really amazing how Mr. Boswell got the taste and flavor so much like sweet tea. It is truly delicious and continues throughout the entire bowl. You get sweet hay and tart lemon with a dry straw flavor that mixes and flows all during the smoke. This blend being an aromatic you expect some bite but there is absolutely none and for an aromatic this burns exceptionally cool and slow. The room aroma is very pleasant. My wife says it is about the only blend I smoke that actually smells good. You get a smoky straw aroma with a bit of sour tart lemon. It really is a pleasant aroma particularly for a non pipe smoker. This blend is great any time of the day. I would rate this a five star smoke but they only give me four stars so this is a four star smoke with honors. I have never rated an aromatic as a full taste but this blend is full flavor in spades. Plus there is nothing on the market, to my knowledge that even comes close to this flavor.
Pipe Used: Peterson Plip
PurchasedFrom: Boswell pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh. Open to air about four hours
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 08, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I was skeptical of the Sweet Tea... just didn't see how it was going to come through, but it does. The beginning of the bowl is heavenly.. as refreshing as a tobacco can be. Has a deep sweet flavor and the tea notes are certainly there. However, I don't really see the "Sweet Tea." If Y'all are after the southern syruppy tea flavor, it's not there. However, as a tea drinker, i do see the tea flavor and the sweetness. Maybe calling it "Tea, with Sugar" would be more approprite. Whatever it's called, it's a great blend... As it burns the flavor mellows out a bit and the sweetness falls off. This leaves a cool, mild smoke. But if you're looking for it, the sweetness and especially tea flavoring can still be found. Even after it goes out I find myself drawing it over the tip of my tongue to enjoy the flavor. This is a unique blend that I can see going back to over and over again when I want something aromatic that offers some different flavors than your standard black cavendish blends offer.

UPDATE: This really has become my absolute #1 go to smoke. It's unlike anything else out there. It starts so sweet and tasty with a really great room note and then eventually falls out to a slightly sweet smoke with some of the natural flavors of the tobaccos coming through. For me it's the perfect balance of aromatic and natural flavors. The most impressive thing is that it's light and clean, no harsh aftertaste. If you've not tried this, you are missing a true delight.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2010 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
The first time I tried this tobacco was under very strange circumstances. Many years back, I was working on a small farm in a rural midwestern town in the United States. The man whom had employed me was named Zuckerman. Zuckerman was a lousy boss, i would say that the only thing that kept me working there was the fact that he had some connections to some other local farmer daughter tail. That's about it.

One day I had gone out to feed the stupid runt of a pig named Wilbur his slop. And that's when I saw it... Written in a spider web, in the doorway above the stables were the words "Smoke Boswell's Sweet Tea" I was shocked. Never had I seen anything like this. So I immediately jumped the fence to get a closer look, stepping on Wilbur's face and killing him in the process. Heh, some pig. Sure enough, to my surprise, there was in the corner, clear, coherent writing... "Smoke Boswell's Sweet Tea".

I ran to catch Zuckerman, but the man was so fat, he could barely get up from his recliner, let alone make the march out to the barn. So i grabbed his stupid wife. She came out and viewed the spectacle and was equally amazed as I was. After a few minutes, we parted ways. I went to the general store to buy Boswell's Sweet Tea, as per the spider's instructions. But Mrs. Zuckerman had a more sinister plan.

When I returned hours later, Mrs. Fat Zuckerman had begun to market the spider and sell tickets to see it. This pissed me off as I was smoking the Okay blend of tobacco. This madness of her making money off of the spider's various messages involving Boswell's Sweet Tea continued for about a week. The farm was going down hill. Zuckerman himself still hadnt even seen it, cause he was so obese. The farm was going to ruins, quickly becoming commercial. I had to end it. The story goes that the legendary spider died of old age, but I know better. I killed her. It had to be done. To end the soiling of a good old fashioned miracle.

I left later that night, gathering up all my things and stealing a bunch of money from the Zuckermans and breaking their niece Fern's favorite doll on my way out.

THE END.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 14, 2007 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
In all my years of Pipesmoking, I have never found a Tobacconist who can blend tobacco like The Boswell's! This is my first time smoking any of their blends, and I am amazed! Having been lucky enough to purchase one of J.M.'s newest Hand Made Pipes, I ordered this and several other blends to try. This is like NOTHING I have ever smoked! Smooth and flavorful, it does taste just like Sweet Tea! And you can also taste the baccy as you smoke it, absolutely fantastic! If you are wanting to try something different, that burns cool, has wonderful flavor, and is low in Nicotine, give Sweet Tea a try! HIGHLY Recommended!! Happy Puffing!!
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2019 Very Mild Strong Full Very Pleasant
Time to review the next candy infused Boswell tobacco I ordered. I've come to the conclusion that all their Aromatics are just stewed Cavendish drowning in a mountain of toppings composed of different flavored sugars. Boswell's Sweet Tea has a sour/citrus powder sugar thing going on, that sort of emulates a corn syrup gas station drink (ie. 99 cent Arizona can or Lipton Raspberry Tea from the soda fountain).

It is pretty sticky, yet don't bother drying it, it lights great. Released to the wild is likely the best smelling product to ever fill a room, transcending any "mmm, that pipe smells good" smell and making one wonder what additives in it likely do cause cancer. Inside the smoke is, well you guessed it, a terribly sweet haze with nothing in the way of natural tobacco purity. It is also one of the lightest strength smokes I have come across.

Perhaps I am becoming an Aromatic snob (if such a thing exists), but all of their products remind me of pipe blends from head shops with flavors like "French Silk Pie", "Hostess Twinkie", or other beyond silly sweet concoctions. They are too sweet for me and what I consider kid flavors.
PurchasedFrom: boswellpipes.com
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 14, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I liked this mild aromatic after a strong perique smoke. Mild, sweet, vanilla, almost banana like. Light caramel flavour. Burns cool, no bite. Like others say, sipping it slow allows for more of the flavours to come out. Very enjoyable.
Pipe Used: Missouri meerschaum mini cob
PurchasedFrom: JM Boswell's
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 12, 2010 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Now I'm finding out why the mojo of tobaccoreviews.com scribes grant most Boswell tobac 3 and 4 star ratings. And with 23 reviews to date I figured - being the sweet aro lover that I am -I've just got to try "Sweet Tea." When reviewers lay on a blend in such numbers there's really gotta be something there: good, bad, or the ugly. Glad I did because this is an exceptional smoking experience and I think I am going to like this mixture for a long time to come. What an adventure...

Just opening the pouch and savoring the scent of lemon and citrus spices is exhilerating to the nostrils...and from charring light on this was an uplifting encounter. Besides the bona fide gentle sweetness and nut like aroma of the tobac the topping flavour is exceptional. Also detected some chocolate and Mocha traces. Doublessly more aromas will emerge exponentially. Pleasantly complex encounter. Happy hunting ...
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 21, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Any person with some experience in this wonderful little travel down briar lane that we call pipe smoking knows that this is a hobby of subtly. As a beginner we all bought those tobaccos with names like super cherry jubilation par excellence, or chocolaty explosion mania. We also, as beginners, expected these tobaccos to taste as the label stated. It takes only a short time to realize that the cherry tobacco does not taste like taking a large bite out of a piece of cherry pie (although paladin is remarkably like smoking a jolly rancher, and not so much in a good way). These tobaccos are not meant to taste like a tootsie roll, but rather have subtle hints of chocolate or other flavorings. Most of us experienced pipers realize tobacco tastes like tobacco first, then maybe a hint of something else.

What at first is a disappointment, soon becomes a challenge. Its like being a part of a secret club, or being able to decipher a special code. It is really quite an eye opener to finally "get" what these tobaccos truly are.

That is the case with this tobacco. It is nice, but do not buy it expecting to taste like a nice sip of your southern grandmothers home brewed specialty. This tobacco tastes like tobacco, but if you sip slow enough, and you pay careful attention to it, you will uncover that slight hint of sweet tea, and when you find it, how sweet it is.

Aromatics tend to be the tap dancers with two left feet of the pipe tobacco world. They are tolerated by some, but never though to be the prettiest girl at the ball. That being said, some aromatics are clumsier than others

The folks at Boswell always put out an outstanding product of the highest quality, and I would not hesitate to recommend any of their fine offerings. This one has that nice sweet tea taste, half the fun is finding it, and it takes the skill of a true pipeman to unlock the pleasure in this blend.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 09, 2011 Very Mild Very Mild Mild Very Pleasant
This is a great aromatic for smoking outdoors on a warm night. This blend burns dry and consistent, and has nice hints of citrus.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2011 Mild Mild Mild Unnoticeable
ehhhhh.... I think people just read what other write on here and make up stuff similiar. Didn't really taste like much to me. Only time I could taste it was when I was actually drinking iced tea and then who knows if it just wasnt the aftertaste of the tea? I'll pass.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 15, 2009 Extremely Mild Very Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Very Pleasant
Well Dang if it don't taste like "sweet tea" One has to stretch it a little but it does kind of have that taste though very weak tea. This is a very mild, in every aspect, fine ribbon cut of light and dark tobaccos. It lit up very well, burned doen to the bottom but did give me a little gunk in the bottom of my bowl. I very much felt like I was smoking Borkum Riff with it's light sweet taste and great aroma. I enjoyed smoking this after lunch as the sweet light smoke was refreshing. While this is way too weak for me to be my everyday blend, I will enjoy using up this sampler without feeling the need to mix in burley to give it body. No vanilla here or if it does it fooled me, and the vanilla smell is not on my fingers or clinging to my beard. This would be a great starter tobacco for a beginner.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 19, 2008 Mild Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
[Rating down to 3 stars, reajusted based on my experience over the past couple years. This is a fine aromatic blend, though a bit two-dimensional, and has long since fallen out of my rotation.]

ORIGINAL REVIEW: I'm surprised that mine is the first review of Sweet Tea, as I know that this blend has a significant following among the pipe smokers I stay in touch with online.

This is the only aromatic I keep in my permanent rotation, and is perhaps the most consistent, "easy" tobacco I have ever smoked. I far prefer English and Balkan blends, and this is to those what 7-Up is to good cabernet. But when I want something sweet, mild, and with a kind room note, this is what I reach for.

In the jar, Sweet Tea is a dark, fine shag, with a very pleasant, sweet aroma. I can't place the casing with any specificity: It alternately conjures up either Little Debbie Oatmeal Creme Pies or Louie Bloo Raspberry Otter Pops. It smokes sweetly also -- with none of the sour or bitter edge I get from most other aromatics -- and with a remarkable smoothness. The base tobacco is quality stuff, but not overly assertive. This is an almost flawlessly cool, goopless smoke. Once lit, it smokes down to a dry ash, requiring fewer re-lights than most blends. It is one of the few blends that smokes like it smells, pretty much through the entire bowl.

If you don't like aromatics -- or find yourself perennially disappointed with them -- this may be worth a try. If you do like them, this is a must try.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 27, 2022 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Aiming to quench that parching pipe smoking thirst comes a lively brewed swill. JM Boswell presents their inspirable rendition of Sweet Tea. This flavorful coarsely cut mixture is served up ornamented by a mix of Burley and Black Cavendish varietals, steeped in affective black tea flavoring, fruity citrus, and gobs of sweet sugary goodness.

A gritty mixture of blacken chunks and variable brownish morsels greet you with formal introduction. The pouch nose offers a heavenly scent of distinctly brisk and malted sugary tea, tarty lemony zest, dark complementing sweetness, and some docile earthiness/soured wood. Sweet Tea tobaccos are bit dewy with composed moisture so observing a reasonable period of drying time is most advisable.

The interpretation of Sweet Tea as the problem statement at hand proved to be a simple drop in the pitcher so to speak, as there is nothing too mystical going on here. Upon lighting one is instantly presented with a tasty tea-centric extravagance. The pictured deep grained hardwood cob obliged the experience as the deliciously refined sugary and spicy black tea note emerged forward to characterize the essence of the base flavor profile. A lovely aftertaste very comparable to the chase of a healthy gulp of the old fashion beverage itself marks with residual impact.

Additionally, a prominent citrus top accent seasons the base that I want to say is lemon obviously, yet some decent orange-marmalade twist embellishes the overall flavoring in my opinion. A further commentary of rich dark molasses sweetness carrying inklings of what I perceived to be candied horehound, namely a combination of bitter spicy licorice and with dense syrupy root beer-like nuances, provides a very delectable finishing rim. Finally, there is some zingy native spice formed by the presence of plain earthy soiled Cavendish and charming Burley nutwood. This blend is discerningly elegant bottom-line.

With that classic Boswellian magic, this blend holds its tasty savor for the entirety of the session. Sweet Tea does burn even and slowly offering a nice extended mellow experience. However, it can get a little hot if you are too rambunctious on the drawls so in deference to popular etiquette this tea should ideally be sipped for optimum enjoyment. No bite and easy on the nicotine intoxicants.

Surprisingly, the room essence is extremely prominent bringing a bold dark sugary/tart spice that some may find overbearing. I rather enjoyed its magnetic persona, yet my wife did not as I received the classic Moe Howard numb-skull slap glare for failing to open a window to vent its strong airs. Oops!

Sweet Tea from JM Boswell another spectacular standard offering that brings originality, uniqueness, and uncomplicated gratification. Try it in traditional southern fashion with a piece of yummy, fired corn mush drenched in a puddle of maple syrup for that extra special treat, mmm, mmm! This pleasantry of this mixture does not disappoint. Whether ritualized or casually sipped, teatime gives us is a chance to relax and enjoy the simple things in life such as a comforting bowl of a solid aromatic mixture. 3.3 pipes!

1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2022 Extremely Mild Very Mild Mild Pleasant
Bag note smells very sweet the description is spot on for the Bag. This is what I would consider a very lite aromatic. Lite in taste, lite in strength, lite in flavor, Lite in nic hit. It defiantly tastes like light sweet tea when smoking. This would be a great smoke for anyone just starting out with a pipe. Puffing gently produces much more flavor. It even has a Retrohale of sweet tea. Its a bit too one dimensional for my taste but its a great blend if you are looking for a lite aromatic. Note it does have a slight chemical aftertaste.
Pipe Used: Paronelli Briar
PurchasedFrom: Boswell direct
Age When Smoked: fresh from the bag
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2020 Very Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I love sweet tea. I usually drink a little over a liter a day on average, so buying this blend from Boswell was a no-brainer. Unfortunately, the blend had a little trouble staying lit well, and the flavor wasn't as "sweet tea-ish" as I had hoped for. Even for aromatic lovers, I suggest passing on this one.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Like all things Boswell the tin note is fantastic. sweet and citrusy with a some "tobacco" flavors in the background. Moist but not sopping wet and no PG that I can detect. Very lightly flavored, sweet and citrus flavors come through along with mostly Burley/Cavendish flavors from the leaves. What I love about Boswell aro's, the only aro's I smoke for the most part, is that they are not overpowering and this one is very subtle and is a nice morning smoke. Simple and enjoyable. Not sure if it tastes like sweet tea...I am an New Yorker by birth and had never even heard of sweet tea until my late teens and had no desire to attain diabetes by 25.
Pipe Used: Cobs and briars
Age When Smoked: fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 05, 2017 Extremely Mild Very Mild Very Mild Pleasant
this review is just to keep track for myself mainly, less intended as a serious in depth review. Just to keep an eye of what ive tried and what I like, with quick notes about it. alot of these notes are from memory, and I will update the review as I continue smoking them.

i mean i want to give this a much better review. i haven had it in awhile so i could try it again. but this was a hot air tobacco last ai remember, a little sweetness with nothing more too it. however this might be too harsh a review and could revist. but ill prob try another boswells tobacoo
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2010 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
A very pleasant aromatic. Depending on the pipe and the weather that day it actually tastes like, well, SWEET TEA. It is a slightly fruity/citrusy mix with a fair amt of black cavendish. My previous review was less than kind until I realized something. This Tobacco needs some SIGNIFICANT DRYING TIME. This is 1 of the few aromatics that actually burns cooler and tastes better BONE DRY! Definitely toward the berry loving crowd as far as topping and sweetness go.As far as taste, it is more like Long Island Ice Tea than sweet tea. A very nice addition to the world of aromatics.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2009 Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
I have been trying to figure what all the fuss is about this tobacco. A lot like having a plain girlfriend with no personality. I have it jared, and in storage for a few years, let's see if anything happens in that time.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"