Cornell & Diehl Big n' Burley

(3.29)
Primarily sweet, long-cut Burley seasoned with small amounts of Latakia, Turkish, and a dash of Perique for added flavor. This big blend from Cornell & Diehl is a light English for Burley lovers.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Burley, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique
Flavoring
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk, 2 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
39

24

7

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 75 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 04, 2013 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
This tobacco is fine right off the bat, but six months of aging improves it quite a bit, and I recommend you do that. The toasty burley taste is nutty, slightly chocolatey, and a bit stronger and bolder than your average burley. It does sport a mild rough edge. The spice and raisins from the perique is not predominant, and is sublimated by the other components. There's just enough smoky, woody Cyprian latakia and woody, dry, musty, slightly sweet and more sour Turkish to give it extra "oomph". Won't bite, but can get harsh if you puff fast, and you will likely get a cigarette note, too. Has a potent nic-hit. Burns clean at a reasonable pace with a very consistent flavor from start to finish. Needs an average number of relights, and leaves little moisture in the bowl. The after taste and room note linger. Not an all day smoke.

-JimInks
51 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 31, 2010 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
C&D certainly named this one properly. It's definitely burley at the forefront, burley in the middle and burley to the rear. Oh, they throw in a bunch of other condimental tobaccos which do their job - they stay behind and provide a bit of toning and nuance. But this is burley, first and foremost.

The "Big" part of the name is also appropriate. This has a HUGE burley taste! Even the cut is big. Big n' Burley, indeed!

No shortage of flavor here. This is burley at its finest, from the folks who know how to blend it. If you're looking for a "set it and forget it" smoke, forget it! Too much flavor here to sit back and not notice. If you're squeamish about nicotine, look elsewhere. But if you love the taste of burley, look no further. This is an excellent tobacco and I can't believe it doesn't have more followers. It's made a fan of me!
41 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 26, 2010 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Yes!

I love this blend and smoke it often. Lots of Burley flavor and heavy on the nicotine... What's not to like?

This one arrives rather dry in the tin and delivers a knockout blow with every swing. I never taste the Perique and the Latakia is so far in the background that it too, can be missed.

You want to grow a moustache overnight? Smoke a bowl of Big and Burley just before bedtime.
41 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 04, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
When I first smoked this, I was expecting a full-flavored burley with a little latakia and some orientals to beef up the flavor profile. I loaded a bowl and got in the car for the commute and was impressed. The burley is there in spades. It is dark, nutty, and smooth. I never got bitter. The latakia is a light touch and contributes to the flavor in a subtle way. The orientals are an even lighter touch and are hard for me to distinguish. A touch of oriental tobacco can do wonders for a blend in "condiment" mode, and I think this is what is going on here.

The thing that puzzled me was that I could swear I was getting a little perique in there. I looked it up when I got to work and discovered I was not imagining it. It is there and it is just the right amount to add but not dominate.

This is very good. I really think everyone should try this. I have been smoking it in large bowls - pots and a Custombilt. I am claiming this may be a good combo to bring out the flavors.

This is a burley blend first, and it is somewhat potent in terms of strength and taste. If this description sounds remotely appealing, get a sample. This is a solid 4.

Edit 1/3/18: I have decided this has as much nicotine as OJK. It might have a little more. I am basing that on having smoked about 2 pounds of this so far. So - it is on the strong end of the medium-strong continuum. A little of this will really "beef up" a mild blend or an aromatic that is too much topping and not enough tobacco for your palate.

Edit 1/15/19: I went to the coast for a funeral, and I had some drive time. I can say that Big-n-Burley works very well for me in "all-day" mode. There is enough going on to maintain interest. There is not so much going on that you get palate fatigue. The most recent order seems a little less "edgy."
37 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 28, 2002 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Big and Burley. I only wish that I had been bright enough to conceive of this blend. It is a blend that clearly is neither for the faint of heart nor the uninitiated. My briar brothers and sisters, this is just rough-cut burley w/o much adornment. A little latakia and perique, a dash of turkish, all are like minot decorations on an old Int'l Harvester pickup. This is the roughcut burley show, which bites a little at first light, smoothes out in a grand nut-flavored smoke w/ hints of connecticut cigar leaf, then eases into a pleasant but heady finale. It burns cool w/o much extraneous moisture, cooler and smoother than Edgeworth RRd but not quite as full and sweet,. which probably could be attributed to the cubecut burley in the RRd. Personally, I like burleys. They are joyful for their flexibility and compatibility with some other tobaccos. But, burleys are tricky, and have to be approached with some respect for their potent quality. Burleys by nature have very little sugar so they burn a little cooler but can be harsh in the larger leaf. Unlike VAs which favor a smaller bowl, the burleys smoke best in a larger bowl pipe packed a little looser than normal. B&B deserves a large bowl, loosely packed and tamped frequently to experience its gifts of taste and aroma. My only caveat is to smoke slooooowly and savor the tastes. And, never a Dunhill, too much the gentleman for the burley. A cob with B&B might work to your advantage, or a Carey or custombilt could work very well.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 02, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a Burley lover's dream come true. I've been smoking a lot of Latakia/Burley blends lately and this is one of the best. The strong, creamy, nutty Burley leads the way here. The Latakia next with lesser contributions from the Orientals and Perique. There's a touch of sweetness and just a slight touch of spice. Not very complex, but full in flavor. Medium to full in body. An excellent blend.
Pipe Used: MM Freehand, MM General
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2011 Strong None Detected Very Full Tolerable to Strong
can't add much to what has already been said--if you like good, strong, old fashioned tobacco, then this is for you--

reminds me of what the 'old geezers' used to smoke in the old general stores, or the barber shop in my old hometown back in the '40s and '50s--i've been looking for this one for a long time-- can't believe it took me this long to try it--

if you don't like fairly potent tobacco, give it a miss; otherwise buy and pound and settle in for some good smoking--
EDIT:after six months in the jar, this wonderful burley blend has done nothing but improve--the flavors have melded, and the rough edges have smoothed greatly--it's almost sweet(subtly sweet)and oh so enjoyable to sit back on the porch with; kicked back in the rocker and just relax and unwind while sipping on what may be the best burley based blend in the C & D stable--
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2006 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I have discovered I can't take latakia in more than a condimental level. Mr. Tarler made this suggestion and after half my sample I can say it was a great one. This is one of the best blended examples of a Old time Burley blend. The Perique, Turkish and Latakia never step out of the Chorous, giving the burlyies the spotlight. Cut of this blend is chunky-Which I like- Supports the frank method of fill. Sweet smokey and nutty- Others have refered to a cigar like taste....Don't get that at all. For me its a great subsitute for an english....Top stars for the Burley lovers and those looking for a condimental use of Latakia.....Not for the drip crowd....
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 07, 2016 Very Strong None Detected Very Full Very Strong
I have smoked a lot of this tobacco and don't know why I haven't review it yet. It's become one of my top 5 tobaccos and I smoke it at least twice a week (I don't smoke pipes that often anymore). Big n' Burley is definitely "The Burley Show" and it certainly is what it says that it is. Full flavored, high in nicotine and wholly satisfying. I can taste very little Latakia and even less of the Turkish, but all the tobaccos compliment each other for a dark and rich experience.

I don't think I would call this very complex and definitely not nuanced in any way. It is, however, very satisfying and enjoyable. If you don't like burley and have a low nicotine tolerance, leave this one alone. But if you love burley, you have to at least try it. I can't imagine one not loving it, if the person loves burley.

At any rate, I have at least 4 ounces at hand any time of the year. I f I get low, I reorder it. My wife thinks it stinks to high heaven and I won't argue that point. Though, I don't really think any pipe tobacco downright stinks, this tobacco definitely has a strong odor. So, smoke it outside so that you can remain married, but do smoke it!
Pipe Used: Custom-Bilt Billiard
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & Cigars
Age When Smoked: From fresh to 1 year of age
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 01, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Being an unabashed fan of burleys and C&D blends in particular it should have been a forgone conclusion for me to have tried this blend a while ago. I suppose the name may have made me question the strength of this blend and that was enough to hold off on trying this particular burley. Well I should have just jumped into trying it a while back because this is a great blend that is something that will quickly be in my regular rotation and join the ranks of Old Joe Krantz.

When looking at the leaves it seems to be a nice chunky cut of medium brown with a very small smattering of darker leaves which seem to be the latakia and perique. I couldn't for the life of me find the turkish in there but it may just be hiding. Although C&D lists this as an "English" blend it is most certainly not and if you buy this thinking that you'll be horribly disappointed. It is a through and through burley blend with strength in flavor and I would rate it on the medium-high scale for nicotine but nothing that would give me the spins or create a flip flopping stomach. Just treat it with respect and slowly enjoy it by sipping away on a quiet afternoon. This is not a blend to be rushed.

The taste is pretty straight forward and I read one review that nailed the taste profile exactly: "chocolate covered dirt." It's earthy with a beautiful burley/chocolate taste and an ever so slight sweetness that you can coax out through sipping. The condimental tobaccos rarely ever poke their head out and only briefly can you catch the perique. Even so they add interest to the blend and move it from just a plain burley into something that is blending genius. If you enjoy burley then you can't miss this one. Just treat it with respect and make sure you're not hurrying through the bowl.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"