Lane Limited Captain Black Cherry

(1.62)
The cherry blend combines sweet-smoking cavendish leaf with a sound kick of cherry casing, for a very flavorful smoke. Exceptionally mild, delightfully aromatic.
Notes: Due to EU regulations, this is now sold in some European countries as Ruby.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Ltd.
Manufactured By Lane Ltd.
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cavendish
Flavoring Cherry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 1.5 ounce pouch
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

1.62 / 4
6

13

28

70

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Tolerable
Tastes and smells like a cheap stale cherry chap-stick. Sort of plastic smelling. Cherry cough syrup maybe too. Very thick, sweet and syrupy pouch note. A tad bit dry. Overall, an unpleasant experience.

Update 1-30-2017: I'll up it one star. My original review might be a bit harsh, but still not as harsh as this blend can be haha. Far better cherry blends out there for sure, but this is tolerable if I'm in the mood for it.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 04, 2016 Very Mild Very Strong Mild Pleasant
Against better judgement and wisdom. I broke down and bought a pouch. First cherry from CB in years. Opening up the pouch the strong vicks cherry cough syrup hit me, and I thought oh boy wasted my money. But I packed my pipe lit it. And guess what it was a pleasant smoke. Light on the cherry flavor. And no goopy in the bowl. So it's not my every day choice. But I will finish the pouch. It also stayed lit no bite. CB must have changed their formula. Still only getting two stars.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: The tobacco depot
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 02, 2019 Mild Strong Mild Very Pleasant
I know this is kind of the "thunderbird wine" of the pipe smoking world but I like this for a change up from some of my higher end product. The aroma when first opened is very polarizing. Most people love it or hate it. It does mellow out as it ages and tastes more natural. I will say it: I like Captain Black Cherry. I will keep some around for those few times per year when I have a hankering for it. If you haven't tried it, you should.
Pipe Used: Dunhill 5103
Age When Smoked: weeks to year
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2016 Mild Very Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
I did not think it as bad as the other reviewers. It does have a very strong cherry flavor. It's a cherry bomb! Maybe a little too much like cherry cough syrup though. As usual, I mixed it with some cube cut burley which gave it the needed body and nic hit. 2.5 stars
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2016 Very Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
This is another otc tobacco that is over the top in cherry flavor. The rest is the same as most otc tobaccos , a fill in before the real stufff arives. The use of more steamed cavendish would smooth this blend out and make it more enjoyable.
Pipe Used: Corns and Medico's
PurchasedFrom: local smoke shop
Age When Smoked: 65
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 23, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
The pouch aroma is quite desepcionante seems a remedy for cough cherry or a pedialite's Cherry is more the character of a drug that of a good mixture of tobacco, but smoking it its aroma in the room is very nice Burns pretty well and not very warm which helps care for the language gives you fumadas very peaceful and relaxing.
Pipe Used: Mark Twain Corn Cob Pipe
PurchasedFrom: Centro de Bogota
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 03, 2012 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I don't dislike CB Cherry per se, but as others have mentioned there are better cherry blends out there. This stuff isnt all bad though and it seems to taste a little better with some age on it (I've had some in mason jar for about a year now) which is nice considering that aromatics usually dont age well. And of course the room note is great.

Having said that, if cherry aromatics are your thing then obviously it would behoove you to seek out some of the better ones. However, as a cheap, once in awhile smoke, its ok.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 03, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
No tongue bite. A pretty fair deal at $5.99 a pouch here in Connecticut. More cherry flavor than Middletons.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 24, 2010 Very Mild Very Strong Mild Pleasant
This is a good, inexpensive (cheap) cherry aromatic blend that is ideal for someone starting out(with a cherry sweet-tooth). A solid prforming drugstore blend. If you don't like cherry or aromatics then don't expect to like it, obviously. A few things...

Right off you might want to try this in a corn cob pipe or other non-expensive pipe. The first few bowls definitely left my aromatic briar reeking of cherry so I switched to my trusty cobs. The flavor reeked (that word again) so strongly out of the pouch I kept the pouch in a sandwich bag so the flavor didn't infuse my other bagged aromatics.

Smoking: CB smoked smooth, cool and had a pleasant cherry taste. Cherry blend definitely got more tolerable half-way through the bag when the casing/flavorings wore off a bit. The last half of the bag I could smoke in my briar. And the wearing off casing/flavoring is of course common with aromatics. Still, a smooth, cool, pleasant smoke.

Outdoor smoking is probably best with this pungent blend. I smoked it in my home office and while the room note is very pleasant the after smell the next day reminded me of a urinal cake! Still, I walked home smoking it on a moonlit, November Boston evening last night and it was a thoroughly enjoyable smoke.

This is not a high class blend etc.. it's a drugstore blend. I usually smoke all the oo-la-la upscale English/orientals and ocaasionally the big name aromatics. I certainly have smoked better cherry blends but this blend is a good cheap smoke and fun. And pipe smoking is suppose to be fun.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2010 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable
After more than twenty years without a cherry tobacco in my rotation in a holiday's trip, I tried Captain Black Cherry and liked it, out of the bag its aroma is good, although after a couple of weeks on C.B. Cherry, I tried Pipeworks & Wilke's Cherry Cavendish and the difference is noticeable in Aroma, Flavor and Taste, C.B. Cherry is weak in flavor and taste, aroma is not too bad although at the end of your bowl the tobacco becomes a Pit Bull, let's say, full of bite, even in slow pace. I do recommend Captain Black Cherry only in that case that you cannot reach your favorite blend from your tobacconist, but from the Captain Black's line-up, White and Royal seem to be better options.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"