Lane Limited Captain Black Cherry

(1.62)
The cherry blend combines sweet-smoking cavendish leaf with a sound kick of cherry casing, for a very flavorful smoke. Exceptionally mild, delightfully aromatic.
Notes: Due to EU regulations, this is now sold in some European countries as Ruby.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Ltd.
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cavendish
Flavoring Cherry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging pouch weight
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

1.62 / 4
6

13

28

70

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 81 - 90 of 117 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 19, 2006 Very Mild Medium Medium Pleasant
A strongly synthetic tasting blend. It is not particularly inexpensive either. There are many cherry blends that are much better than this. I'm not even sure this has tobacco in it...
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 18, 2006 Extremely Mild Medium to Strong Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Upon opening the pouch I smelled cherry bubble gum, very sweet smelling and I started to have reservations about what was in store. It packed well and lit very easily. The taste was similar to Middletons Cherry Blend, it hit me as overwhemling and quickly faded into blandness. After about 30 seconds all I could detect was a slight hint of casing. As most flavored tobaccos do, it produced a fair amount of tounge bite, but that was to be expected.

It took me a while to track this down, as it is not readily available in my neck of the woods. After going through the effort to find it I can report that it was a wasted effort. It tasted flat and sweet. Try Macbarens Cherry Ambrosia if cherry tobacco really interests you.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 03, 2023 Mild Strong Mild Pleasant
100th review! I should get a prize. For saving your from this baccy.

Smoked hot. Is very sweet. Is very mild.

Not the makings of the most flavoursome blend.

For those who like cherry, I’m sure it’s a delight.
PurchasedFrom: Dimensi, Malaysian Airport Duty Free
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 12, 2023 Very Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
So this blend wasn’t Captain black good, the pouch smell was nice, smells like Ludens cough drops, however it did not translate well in the smoking. This blend tasted like smoking BLK cherry cigars by swisher sweets which those I love every once in a while, they have more cherry flavor though, through a filtered pipe it may be different but it did leave what felt like a film on my tongue which was displeasing, also 15 bucks was pretty steep for an average blend, there was very little aromatics with this as well. Would give it a pass as opposed to other blends of equal price
Pipe Used: Corn cob
PurchasedFrom: Cig discount
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 17, 2021 Mild Strong Mild Very Pleasant
The smell to me is Cherry Koolaid. The same taste comes through the smoke. As long as this one is smoked SLOWLY its quite pleasant for a change of pace. It reminds me of when my Grandfather smoked his pipe. He usually smoked CB classic, but would have cherry once in awhile.

It really seems to do better in cobs. I have a couple dedicated to aromatics so I'm not worried about ghosting in those. The cherry basically overwhelms any other tobacco taste, so it is one-note. After a smoke, I can always smell the cherry in my beard, usually for quite a while.

It's not a blend that I'm going to be smoking everyday, but when I want it, it hits the spot.
Pipe Used: Cobs
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: new from tin
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 23, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
Mild if moist. Gets harsh as it dries out. Too sweet for my taste. Syrupy smell that permeates from the pouch
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2012 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
I decided to try this blend because I love the taste of cherries but was hestiant because a lot of people hated the cherry from captain. I also got to mix with a bad tobacco I got Peterson old Dublin. Not bad mixed together but a lot better by itself. I understand why a lot people don't like this blend because it does taste like a cherry cough drop after a while if not like syrup substance.

I most taste the black cavendish that's in the blend mixed high a very high dose of cherry casing. The casing is so strong you can smell it thru the bag unopened. Once you pack a bowl and lit up its not that potent to taste. Beginning to quarter of the bowl down its a relaxing cherry cavendish smoke which is very enjoyable. Then once you get to about half way down the cherry taste frys coarser and turns to a syrup liquid taste but not overpowering like some say that gives them headaches.

There are better cherry blends out there than this but it will do if your in a pinch and get the tobacco you really like. It's not good tobacco but its not terrible either. I didn't get a lot of tongue bite but I was smoking out of a churchwarden which probably why I enjoyed it so much. On re lights I did get some tongue bite but it was minor and annoying. But if you do smoke it too fast it will let you know and bite hard pretty much telling to stop for a second.

It's a decent aromatic to try and is cheap about 5 bux. But to some the cherry casing might be to overpowering so if you get some just smoke it slow and you be to go and will enjoy the cherry smoke. I think they did a good good considering its in the bottom of the barrel selection
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2012 Medium to Strong Medium Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I personally like Captain Black Tobacco, but just not this one. I liked the flavor of cherry which was very obvious in this tobacco. It has been a while since I have tried this one, so I cannot remember if this one had a bite or not. Well I would recommend it to a beginner, because it is a step up from those drug store brands.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2012 Extremely Mild Very Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
If you have an your mother in-law coming over for the week and you want to stay on here good side...smoke this because its about 95% room note and the rest is a very neutral flavor that reminds me of eating bread.

Unfortunately because of this flavor it leaves me wanting more from this blend.

If i could somehow get a stronger flavor out of this then this would be the perfect company smoke which to me needs to have a universally pleasant room note and taste good too...Ill keep looking.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
Ever broken up one of those cherry Children's Motrin tablets and smoked it? Me neither, but I'm sure that experience wouldn't be any different than smoking this stuff.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"