Cornell & Diehl Engine 99

(3.41)
This is a full English blend -- a combination of Red Odessa and the unpressed components of Pirate Kake. A full bodied blend with enough latakia to pull ol' #99 up a mountain grade with flavor to spare. Loaded with latakia, perique, Virginias, burleys, and Orientals.
Notes: Engine 99 is a combination of Red Odessa, which is itself the same blend as Odessa but with red Virginia substituted for the cavendish cut burley, and the unpressed components of Pirate Kake.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Cornell & Diehl
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type English
Contents Burley, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.41 / 4
36

25

6

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 68 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 10, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
This is Pairate Kakes little brother, not quite as strong , but still a pretty good amount of Latakia, the Red odessa really tones it down tho
Pipe Used: La Rocca, Fantasia
PurchasedFrom: Alegheny Smoke Works
Age When Smoked: all ages
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The smokey, woody, earthy, musty sweet Cyprian Latakia has a strong presence, though this is no lat-bomb as the other components always have their say. The burley is toasty, earthy, woody, nutty with some molasses in a back up role, though it’s inconsistent as to when it shows up. The red Virginia is tangy dark fruit sweet with a little earth, bread and wood, and generally underscores the experience. The Oriental/Turkish is woody, earthy,herbal, vegetative, mildly floral, lightly spicy, sour and buttery sweet as a regular support player, and here and there, seems a little more obvious than that. The earthy perique is almost minimal, though you’ll mostly taste a little raisin and plum along with a mildly more active spice. The strength and taste levels are medium. The nic-hit is just past the center of mild to medium. There’s no chance of bite. No harsh spots either, though it does have a few rough edges. Needs light hydration. Burns at a reasonable pace with a cool, clean, smooth, deep flavor. Requires few relights, and leaves hardly any moisture in the bowl. Has a smokey, woody, lightly lingering after taste and room note. Not an all day smoke, but it is repeatable for the veteran.

-JimInks
43 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2013 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
This is a near perfectly balanced English/Balkan blend. I love it and am going to cellar a few pounds of it. Burns great. Tastes great. Strength is just right. Can't beat the price and it's available in bulk. What's not to like?
38 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 19, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Strong
Engine Engine 99, coming down Chicago line, see it sparkle see it shine, Engine Engine 99.

I really like this blend. This is like pirate kake if it didn't take steroids. It is a lot more sophisticated in the balance department, and the deep flavors are very lush.

The evil genius's over at C&D have done it again with this one. This is an english that I feel can stand up to the majority of fancy tinned english blends out there. Just as good but at a better price point.

Get some smoke some you wont regret it. Highly recommended.
30 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 22, 2009 Mild None Detected Mild Very Pleasant
Engine #99 purrs nicely... and quietly. Not a lot of strength or strong English flavor (IMO). I never have been able to figure out exactly what a "Balkan" style tobacco is, but I do know that Perique is not a Balkan component. Engine #99 is indeed a little spicy, but does not contain any Perique. The Latakia and Oriental leaf are quality components of this blend and combined for a bitter sweet, subtle smokey flavor.

If cool, calm and quiet can be adjectives for flavor, then those are mine for this nice blend.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This is a very enjoyable tobacco for fans of a good quality English blend with some backbone. On lighting, I detected the fruitiness of the Perique along with the smokiness of the Latakia, which is not overwhelming, but very smooth and balanced. This is an amazing blend for a bulk blend--I can't believe the quality, and I love the cut. Much chunkier than, say 965, and as a result smokes much more slowly and much more flavorful. To me, it is most similar to H&H Armada, but the Burley in this one gives it slightly more N and a little more firmness in taste. I'm very taken with this one--most highly recommended!
Pipe Used: Billiards--Larrysson, and Castello
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: fresh
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Just by reading that this was the same components as Pirate Kake had me excited, and I bought a pound without so much as even having a sample. That was a few years back. A good pipe forum friend sent me some saying it wasn't for him, so I just added what he sent to the jar.

Once again, another perfect English blend from C&D. I am not a fan of their Burley forward blends, but they have English down to a science.

Packs and lights with ease, minimal relights needed. This blend opens up with a medium density smoke. Aroma of your standard C&D Latakia, but a certain sweetness accompanies the smoke. Latakia is not as up front as Pirate Kake, nor as chewy. This blend smokes extremely cool and dry, and leaves a nice clean finish on your palate. Puff as hard as you wish, it won't bite, but it will change the flavor profile to burnt rubber. If you like Pirate Kake, but looking for a bit less chunkiness, this is your blend.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 27, 2012 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Bulk Blend Smack Down: This is a fantastic bulk buy! What stands out about this is the bang for the buck! The price point is a steal! For roughly $2.10/oz your getting a smoke that rivals many $4.00+/oz tins. Strong nic hit is a plus right off! Lat was nice and buttery…right up front in the flavor profile. Nice toasty notes in the mid bowl. This might be a serious contender to replace Dunhill Nightcap.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2013 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Engine 99 is a great mixture in which to begin transitioning from medium English blends to strong English blends. It is not overpowering but it's strength is noticeable when compared to many medium category English mixtures. It is a good blend to make one's standard. Heavy in Virginia and Latakia with a rich Turkish undertone. The Black Cavendish cuts the more robust tastes of the Oriental leaves with it's sweetness while the Perique spice cuts on the sweetness.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 18, 2012 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Full Tolerable
This is one fantastic tobacco, and an almost instant favorite. I ordered a five blend sampler pack from C&D, and this was one of my chosen five. . I am certainly glad i chose this! having smoked about six or seven bowls of it, i can already tell it is. Going roto be one of my all time favorite tobaccos , and perhaps in the near future my all day smoke.

It is a full flavored english Latakia blend, which is smoothed out incredibly by the cavendish, and sweetened by the virginia and burley. the perique is faint but positively adds to the complexity, and the turkish serves the same sort of purpose but in a different way.

An All round fantastic blend for anyone who loves English tobaccos, I am very impressed.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 22, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
This is another favorite blend to put on cellar and fit as my daily smoke. The cut is very well so is very easy to pack it into my Stanwell 11 Black Diamond. I just make a 3 layer method packing, a good cherring light, and the journey of pleasure is starting. Great smoke, right moist, and great taste.

Probably this is one of the sweetest english blend (without flavor added) that I ever smoke. The virginia and burley is just at right composition to make it balance with the smokey latakia, and the spiciness just came with smooth that not overwhalming. I just puff it slowly and the light is easy to keep and burnt very well on my pipe.

Other pipe smokers says if this blend is highly recommended and almost similar with the Dunhill Night Cap and I totally agree. This blend is very good with ascending taste from the beginning untill finish the bowl. It started with medium taste of the smokey of Latakia and soon the sweetness of virginia follows. I almost can not detect the burley accept smokey Latakia and the spicy oriental, but at the middle of the bowl I start to taste a thin fruity plum like taste, perhaps from the perique but it not dominant the taste.

The blend has a complex taste and very enjoyable. Sure I want to buy another tin and highly recommend this blend.
Pipe Used: Stanwell 11 Black Diamond
Age When Smoked: 1 year
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"