Cornell & Diehl Engine 99

(3.45)
This is a full English blend -- a combination of Red Odessa and the unpressed components of Pirate Kake. A full bodied blend with enough latakia to pull ol' #99 up a mountain grade with flavor to spare. Loaded with latakia, perique, Virginias, burleys, and Orientals.
Notes: Engine 99 is a combination of Red Odessa, which is itself the same blend as Odessa but with red Virginia substituted for the cavendish cut burley, and the unpressed components of Pirate Kake.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Cornell & Diehl
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type English
Contents Burley, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.45 / 4
37

24

5

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 67 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2020 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
You love Latakia or English blend? This is definitely for you! It is a perfect definition of a strong latakia blend. I used to love nightcap and didn't want to try a similar blend, but this one has totally got my attention. Great loose cut, very easy and fun to pack. Latakia is the dominant flavour here, with a noticable perique hit when retrohaling. Very recomended for all english and latakia lovers out there.

Wish you all a happy smoke!
Pipe Used: Big Ben Bent Pipe
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 02, 2020 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
The Cornell and Diehl range of burley based and Latakia spiced tobaccos are similar to tobacco shop products prior to the vanilla Cavendish boom. They take me back to my early days of pipe smoking. These mixtures are good when new, but superior after two years of aging. Engine 99 is no exception. Enjoy.
Pipe Used: Several medium sized briars.
PurchasedFrom: Internet
Age When Smoked: New and two years.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I've only had this out of the tin -- and many tins of this I do have -- it's just fantastic stuff. Rich, creamy smoke -- a perfectly blended, classic English that I reach for any time of day, all year round. 4-stars.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2015 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
This is one latakia heavy blend, that needs to be stated early on. If one is not looking för that, this surely won't be a snug fit. The second thing about it one should know is that it is not sweet. Rather there is a wood-ish quality about it reminiscent of that of a cedar infused cigar, however not quite as pungent. There is not much to this one in terms of complexity, it offers up a straight profile that does not change throughout the bowl. For me, that does not matter. I enjoy it, quite so actually! For a latakia smoker who feels like smoking something straight, no surprises, it delivers. And for that price, one can not really ask for more.
Pipe Used: Äs nr64, MM Country gentleman
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 16, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I'm a big fan of Latakia/English blends and this one is a keeper! I found it while exploring said blends at a cigar/pipe tobacco shop and was drawn in by the canister aroma (kind of like the cookie stores in the mall). While I prefer a somewhat stronger tobacco, this one is smooth, burn well, and does not produce a lot of extra moisture when smoked at a slow-to-medium rate. Flavor is broad but not too hard of a kick in the palate.
Pipe Used: Altinok Meer, cobs, Dr. G. Omega
PurchasedFrom: B&M
Age When Smoked: 6 mo.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2014 Medium None Detected Mild Tolerable
An American type mixture that for me is in the category of a dime a dozen, nothing really special, mild tasting and not much strength. All the flavors are balanced but very subdued. 2 stars for the quality leaf and price but a waste of time for me nevertheless.

Virginia lover
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 10, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable to Strong
This is Pairate Kakes little brother, not quite as strong , but still a pretty good amount of Latakia, the Red odessa really tones it down tho
Pipe Used: La Rocca, Fantasia
PurchasedFrom: Alegheny Smoke Works
Age When Smoked: all ages
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2012 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable
I'm nearing the end of the two ounces I recently ordered, and this one is right up there with Pirate Kake for me, as I'm a big fan of heavy latakia blends. My wife likes the smell too, whenever I'm smoking it she thinks someone is grilling with hickory wood or using their fireplace. After smoking a couple bowls of this the other night and coming home from work the next day, we were greeted with a very fireplace-esque room note upon re-entering the apartment.

However, wifey dearest does not like how it makes my breath smell, so be sure to keep some mints on hand just in case!

All-in-all, I love the depth that this blend offers and will definitely be ordering more of it in the near future!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 20, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
When first I tried this blend I thought it was o.k. Not great but still good. I found the baggie with Engine 99 in it today and decided to give it another try and my opinion has changed. It is fairly full flavored, which I like, has enough nicotine to satisfy my craving, smokes very easily. It may not be the best full English blend I've had but it must be in the top 10, certainly good enough to keep some around and return to frequently.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Preface: I have been smoking Dunhill Standard Mixture Medium for near-on 30 years, believing that it has no equal anywhere on earth. But it is gone now, and so I begin a quest for my Holy Grail: A substitute to replace the standard on which all English tobaccos are based:

Engine 99 could 'ave been a contender! But, alas for me, the mixture contains Perique of which I am not a fan. But if you are, everything else here is good. Smoky & rich, good quality, good looking tobacco. If you are following my reviews, like my picks, and like Perique, give 'ol Engine 99 a whirl!

Cornell & Diehl says of Engine 99: "This is a full English blend -- a combination of #968R and #970.

968R "The same blend as #968 with red Virginia substituted for the Cavendish cut burley."

968: "Cavendish cut burley, Turkish, Latakia and Perique."

970: "A smooth, robust blend with LOTS of exceptional Latakia accompanied by Turkish and cavendish cut Burley."

So, if I am following this correctly, Engine 99 is a blend of red Virginia, Turkish, Latakia, Perique, & cavendish cut Burley. Sounds right to me except perhaps the cavendish cut Burley from Pirate's Kake was left out.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"