Hearth & Home Marble Kake

(3.14)
A firmly-pressed crumble cake blend of bright and red Virginias, it comes as a solid cake which can be broken or sliced and rubbed-out, and the flavor changes depending upon how you prepare it. Knowledgeable Virginia fans often compare it to Hamborger Veermaster as a smooth, but tasty Virginia blend.

Details

Brand Hearth & Home
Series Signature Series
Blended By Russ Ouellette
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Krumble Kake
Packaging 1.5 ounce tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.14 / 4
21

28

7

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 51 - 59 of 59 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 29, 2005 Mild None Detected Very Full Pleasant
I ordered a 4 oz sample from Russ to try and when it arrived i was very pleased to find two large red and golden yellow bricks of tobacco. The pouch aroma is very light and airy and the tobacco feels only slightly moist, perfect moisture level for me. This blend is easy to pack being a crumble cake, and if you leave the little shreds of tobacco out to dry for a few minutes the burn is exceptional and leaves no dottle. The flavor is that of a very sweet and light virginia blend and does not produce dense smoke but definatley keeps my interest. This is a morning smoke when anything else would be overwhelming and should be smoked before other heavier blends IMO. The price is very satisfactory and i just love the little bricks it comes as. A great smoke for sure.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 11, 2005 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Marble Kake has a toasty bottom and lot's of VA tastyness. Very akin to Hamborger Veermaster, with the Red VA giving this Krumble cake plenty of positive merits all its own. Smooth, toasty, nutty and full of flavor. Being that it is a true kruble Kake it affords the option of preparing as desired. This is a 4 star VA blend!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 24, 2023 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Hearth & Home Marble Kake. Well, it is marbled. And it sticks together like cake. And that is where the comparison ends.

This stuff was not a pleasant smoke. Dang near bit my tongue clean off. Had to look in the mirror to make sure it was still there.

And taste? Well, the grape vines I smoked at Boy Scout camp tasted better. Marble Kake was not good at all. Hot and dry and not even woody like the grape vines.

I have some more Hearth & Home to try, and I'm not looking forward to the experience. Only their Chestnut has been passable thus far.

I'm going to toss this one on the fire. Might keep the skeeters away.
Pipe Used: Peterson's Premier Selection 80S
PurchasedFrom: pipesndcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Tin note of tangy sweet, vinegary, and spices. Tobacco Krumble Kake is brown with smaller amounts dark brown and light brown. Moisture content is ok, some may want to dry it out a bit. Kake breaks apart and rubs out easily. Burns slow with a few extra relights. The strength is mild to medium and nic is mild. No flavoring detected. Taste is medium and consistent, with notes of spices, bread, wood, leather, floral, spicy, mildly sweet, stewed dark fruit, lemon grass, mildly sour, hay, acidic, earth, mildly zesty dry, mildly bitter, savory, a tar and tangy citrus background note, and a peppery retro. Room note is pleasant, and aftertaste is great.
Pipe Used: 1992 Ashton Sovereign XX Billard
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 5 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2012 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a simple, good blend of straight Virginias. It has the typical Virginia flavors of hay mixed with something citrusy and it leaves a pleasant taste in the mouth. I still think Rolando's Own is the best Virginia blend Russ makes; but this is good. It is easy to pack and provides a cool smoke. I don't think I'll be buying it again, but it is still a good tobacco, especially if you're a new pipe smoker and want to know what Virginia tobacco is like.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
This is my first review in about 5 years, because Marble Kake is that good. I used to smoke Dunhill Flake quite a lot, but alas, it fell by the wayside. MK compares very well to it, and is much less expensive, and when I buy it, I am supporting an American company, which makes me feel good too. This is a light VA blend, so it can burn, but if you are a VA lover, the taste more than makes up for it. Nothing here but good clean Virginia tobacco taste with medium body. I think it is quite a lot better than Hamborger Veermaster.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 02, 2009 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Good, bulk priced cake tobacco. Difficult to break up, but once broken and dried a little it smokes down the the bottom. No bite.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 07, 2008 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Another good offering from Russ, and the fine people at P&C.

This Kake resembles weathered particle board. Nice and dry. Pinch off the needed amount to fill you favorite pipe. Lightly rub out....this stuff falls apart into a light flaky mixture of bright, and red Va. tobacco. Easy pack, light, and burn. Mildly semi sweet taste. This blend has much competition, but with form, and price it holds it's own with more expensive Virginias. May not be "THE BEST" but is not far behind. Rate * * *
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2006 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I'm currently having a promising romance with Marble Kake. I have to admit, I thought the first couple of bowls were pretty bland, but something kept my interest. I had never smoked a crumble cake before. As my experience in preparation increased, so did my satisfaction with this blend. Every bowl seems to yield some new flavor or nuance. The burn is exceptional, and I don't think you could make this blend bite your tongue if you tried.

The flavor is slightly sweet and pretty earthy, but rather toned down compared to other blends, like Louisiana Red. It really could be an all-day blend if that's what you are looking for; it requires little attention once it's rubbed out and is priced right. All in all, a wonderful Virginia blend that's smooth, not too sweet, and burns wonderfully once you get the hang of preparing it. Highly recommended!
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"