Hearth & Home Marble Kake

(3.14)
A firmly-pressed crumble cake blend of bright and red Virginias, it comes as a solid cake which can be broken or sliced and rubbed-out, and the flavor changes depending upon how you prepare it. Knowledgeable Virginia fans often compare it to Hamborger Veermaster as a smooth, but tasty Virginia blend.

Details

Brand Hearth & Home
Series Signature Series
Blended By Russ Ouellette
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Krumble Kake
Packaging 1.5 ounce tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.14 / 4
21

28

7

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 59 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 22, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I get a lot of the bright VA's out front, some citrus, and notes of grass and hay. Perhaps this is why the notes compare it to Dan's HV? The comparison really end there, for me, however. There is also a lesser dark fruit note from the red VA's that is tangy and there is also a sweet spicy note which (I think) comes from the reds as well. There is also a slight earthiness as well but this is far in the background for me. It does not have the depth or complexity that I really look for in VA's but it was a very nice change of pace. It will bite if pushed so slow and steady is the key to this blend.
Age When Smoked: 6 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 03, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
In the tin it's presented as pieces of broken kake instead of one big cube crumble kake. Very easy to rub them out and pack lightly. Bright and deep sweet virginia flavors floats out in the first puff and it may get a little hot if fast puffs. Not as complicated as some of Russ' Vapers, but really easy to fall in love with. I will give it 3 1/2 stars if I could.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 23, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Generally speaking, this is a very nice tobacco and will resonate well with the smoker looking for a reliable Virginia; it might lack some of the depth of some of the fuller VAs, but as light, airy blends go this really is a good one.

I had this in bulk, and it came not in a single cake but broken into very thick strips - in other words, its as if someone sliced top-to-bottom through the cake so that each layer was present in each strip (as opposed to, say, lateral slices cut one layer at a time). The presentation in an actual tin might be different. The aroma was a nice, citrusy tang that was somewhat sweet in a very natural way.

The smoke itself was fairly straightforward. Despite the layering of the cake, there wasn't much layering of flavors; this is not necessarily a bad thing, as the tradeoff is a consistent and predictable smoke, bowl after bowl. It is a tangy, sweet VA as one would expect, but I found a bit of spiciness in there as well. Not so much so that I'd suspect some perique to be hiding in there, but enough from the underlying VA to really highlight the sweetness. Very, very satisfying in that regard.

Rubbed out, it takes on the appearance of a chunky confetti, so I've found that gravity filling, followed by a VERY light tamp, then topping of the bowl resulted in the best burn. To that end, it takes the flame very well and requires very little in the way of maintenance - very few relights, does not overheat, and doesn't generate a lot of moisture. Very much a "set it and forget it" sort of blend.

The nicotine is medium - not a monster nic hit, but enough that it's noticeable. Personally, I have an above average (but not exceptional) tolerance for nicotine, so I can handle several bowls without feeling like I've overdone it, but for most the nic level is enough that MK probably won't be a bowl after bowl after bowl, all-day sort of blend.

In then end, I'd call it 3.5 stars. Definitely good enough for a re-order, keep on hand, and smoke regularly, but juuuuust short of being one of those "day dreaming about smoking while sitting at my desk at work" blends.

Pipe Used: Briars, Cobs, Meers
Age When Smoked: 2 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
One of the few Hearth & Homes blends I would recommend. It may be because of the moist cake it comes in that keeps it from biting, or the simplicity of the straight virginia.

It kept cool and had a good body. I wish they would stick to these simple blends because it seems the tobacco is quality.

I would recommend this blend, however there is a learning curve with all cake/plug tobaccos.
Pipe Used: Peterson System (Bent)
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & Cigars
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant
This is a good example of what I would call a 'standard VA' blend.

Slightly sweet, light hay, and light lemon. It's very mild and would make a good introduction into straight VAs. It's smooth, unoffensive, but lacks a 'wow factor'. Burns well and has a quick drying time. I prefer it in a narrower bowl as a wider bowl mutes the flavors too much.

Very pleasant room note which I enjoyed more than the flavor of the smoke.

2.75/4 stars. Would recommend if you;re looking for a mild VA.
Pipe Used: Peterson B42, Savinelli Duca Carlo Bent Billiard
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: 2mo
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2012 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Well I've never smoked Hamborger Veermaster but I have smoked C&D's Briar Fox and this blend has similarities. To me, Briar Fox, is an airy, fairly smooth stoved Virginia. Marble Kake is not, that is, not smooth and maybe should have been stoved. It has the ability to remove all feeling in my tongue ( I am a puffer). It is naturally sweet, low in "N" and not a heavy smoke but rather a non complex blend. I will cellar this and see if it mellows but I don't think this is one I need to buy again.

I just read some of the other reviews and was surprised to see others finding it similar to Briar Fox, and here I thought I was so informative!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 04, 2011 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I haven't smoked a terribly wide variety of pure Virginia blends, but I can say that this has miles over McClelland's 2010. It's smooth, requires little to no drying, stays lit well, packs easily weather worked or not, has less bite, a sweeter flavor, and did I mention how smooth it is? I realize that palate may not be as cultured as others posting here, but if you're in the market for a good Virginia blend, give this a try, it may surprise you!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2011 Mild None Detected Medium Tolerable
It took me a couple times to finally get into this tobacco but after trying it in my Savinelli churchwarden which is my dedicated Va pipe, oooo boy this stuff is tasty. Though I wouldn't go so far as to compare it to SG FVF, it is what it is... a nice golden VA that is properly aged and very smokeable right out of the bag. This is one I would like to try aging to see how the flavour changes over time.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
MDP
Mar 08, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Marble Kake belongs with blends like Orlik Golden Sliced, Dunhill Flake, and the many other mild-medium flakes of brighter Virginias pressed on the Continent. Fragrant and not noticeably flavored, MK delivers solid Virginia flavors on the sweeter and grassy side of the spectrum of that well-known leaf.

I have the best results trickling large pieces into a wide bowl with shallow chamber, such as a pot. Sprinkle in some well-rubbed pieces to fill in the gaps and to ease the lighting ritual. Kept on the dry side, MK will smolder gently and provide creamy, caramel notes delivered on swirls of smoke.

If you need more complexity, Russ offers blends with more types of Virginias and condimental leaf. MK is an utterly relaxing blend and won't hurt my tongue unless I get careless.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 22, 2010 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
A great tobacco I wasn't much on the presentation or the ammount of work it took to rub out. The tobacco is quality tobacco if your looking for a good Virgina this is a great option I had been smoking SG BBF but with the degree of dificulty in getting it I needed a go to for an all day smoke this one is that one not by any means BBF but a good substitute worthy of a try
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"