Peter Stokkebye Sweet Vanilla (No.6)

(3.29)
Ripe Virginias are added to Toasted Cavendish to create a more complex mild smoking blend. The aroma is an Elegant Vanilla with the natural sweetness of Toasted Cavendish combine for a smooth and rich smoke. According to Peter Stokkebye; The toasting process takes the tobacco to a much higher heat, locking in the natural sweet tobacco flavors and eliminating any tongue bite.

Details

Brand Peter Stokkebye
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.29 / 4
20

12

3

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2011 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
OK, right off, if you are not an aromatic lover, you might as well leave as I am going to give a glowing review of this aromatic. But then I would question why you are reading reviews of aromatics to begin with.

This blend is a very pleasant surprise for me. It dispells all the negatives that one reads about aromatics. It does not burn hot, in act I don't think one could get tongue bite from this even if they wanted to. Second, it is not goopy or wet and leaves no crud in the bottom of the pipe. Yes, one does taste the vanilla flavor so it does taste like it smells in the pouch, but you also taste the VA tobacco in it as well so you get the best of both worlds. It is simply a great aromatic, it produces a rich and creamy smoke that has lots of flavor, the room note is to die for, and it smokes dry to the bottom of the pipe to a dark grey powder ash. In the pouch it smells very sweet and rich, it is a mix of colors from light brown to dark almost black ribbon cut tobaccos, and it is moist but not overly so. it can be smoked without drying out with no issues. It packs easy in the pipe, it lights up very easy with one charring light and then one more light and then it stays lit well, burning slowly down to the bottom. On average it might take one relite. It is cool on the tongue and it's nice as you can smell your own room note. I can smoke this all day long without any cloying of my taste buds and my pipe is still dry afterwards. I highly recommend this blend and consider it the best vanilla blend out there, even as good or better as MB Vanilla Cream which I have smoked for many years. If anyoone claims that aros are not any good, try this one and you will change your mind.
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 05, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I can't begin to say how delicious this blend is. This stuff smells fantastic. Pack it in your pipe, light it up. Cool burning, hints of vanilla, NO BITE at all or burning your tongue...this stuff is delicious!

I can't stop smoking this blend! Seriously, I am ordering the PS factory full of sweet vanilla! this is unbelievably good! The room note will get the attention of EVERYONE around you.

Seriously, this is the best tasting aromatic I have EVER experienced. This stuff is cheaper than Captain Black and hundreds of times better...try it! You will fall in love, so will the people around you!
Pipe Used: Kaywoodie Briar
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & Cigars
Age When Smoked: 23
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The Virginias are grassy sweet, and its presence has a underlying tone through the smoke. The toasted cavendish is a little sweet, sort of like a mild honey. Can't say I notice the burley much outside of a light nuttiness. The black cavendish sports a mild vanilla sweetness in the background. The vanilla topping is not over the top, but has a little richness and is certainly the reason to buy this blend. It does tone down the tobaccos a little. Has a light nic-hit. Burns reasonably well with a smooth consistent flavor, and no bite. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle or goop. Needs an average number of relights. The after taste is as pleasant as the room note. An all day smoke.

-JimInks
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 26, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Personally I think this is a very good aromatic, not necessarily a "sweet vanilla" taste so to speak of but still very flavorful with a nice room note. Definitely recommend this to everyone one like me who has relentlessly purchased tobaccos hoping to find a better taste or blend than the last one.
Pipe Used: Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: wvsmokeshop.com
Age When Smoked: fresh out of the mail box
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2013 Very Mild Very Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
Peter Stokkebye - PS-6 Sweet Vanilla

Star Rating = 3

Rating Scores - 10 is the Best and 0 is the Worst

Pouch Note = 8

Room Note = 8

Flavor = 9

Bite = 9

Burn = 9

After Taste = 9

Raw Score = 52

Rated Percentage = 87%

Comment = Very Smooth, Very Mild, good vanilla Flavor, a bit sweet on the Finish
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2008 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Although our eternal (unreachable) search is for the perfect tobacco, and I am convinced that we would choose more than one if we found the right tastes, SW comes very close to one for me. I am not a strong fan of aromatics but I tried this baccy out on a whim and it surprised me with a rich, smooth, satisfying taste. Not too strong but with appreciable flavor. Easy to pack. No bite. Not hot in the bowl. Lights easily and keeps burning well. And it leaves the air with an atmosphere reminiscent of an unobtrusive air freshener (my words, not my wife's).

The only small fault I have with this is that it gets a little heavy at the bottom of the bowl. As with almost any tobacco that I have puffed, it needs a wee drying out before use.

I highly recommend this. After going through about 6 ounces it has become one of my top 5-6 baccys and will probably remain there for a looong time. It should also be a good recommendation for a newby to get started with.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 14, 2020 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Peter Stokkebye - Sweet Vanilla (No. 6).

With the weather cooling I fancied aromatics over the past few days. Because No. 6 is in loose form I went for this rather than breaking into a sealed tin! It's a lovely smoke!

The mixture contains slightly more brown ribbons than black, it's only a little moist, smells sweet and vanilla-esc, and although mostly mid-size there are a few coarser pieces.

I don't particularly taste much sharpness from the Virginia, I get more of a subdued sweetness from it. The Burley coalesces nicely with the toasted Cavendish. The pair offer a rugged, yet saccharine flavour. The black Cavendish is a lesser addition than the brown, it doesn't make the flavour cloying or heavy. Now, the added flavour: delicious. The vanilla isn't sticky, but rather crisp. I also note a kind of honey addition. No.6 burns exceedingly well, not needing much maintenance, making a cool temperature smoke.

Nicotine: below medium. Room-note: lovely!

Sweet Vanilla No. 6? A belting example of a vanilla aromatic done right! Highly recommended:

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Ismail Baglan meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 11, 2011 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
The name is a bit of a misnomer. It is not as sweet as the name may imply. Yes there is a nice subdued underlying sweetness but not the gloppy overly sweet mess that might make you afraid to try this blend. You actually taste real tobacco particularly some nice Virginias. The vanilla is also lightly applied and adds more to the aroma than the taste. Over all this is a very tasty blend that will be enjoyed by all except the anti-aromatic snobs and the nic-heads. Smokes dry with no bite and is not overly mild. I could easily see this being an everyday smoke for many.I smoke mostly Va/Pers but this is a very nice change of pace and it's dirt cheap to boot. Enjoy!
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 05, 2016 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
At first light, its apparent that the quality of this blend is higher than what I'd expect in the price range. As with the vast majority of aromatics, you're not going to get much tobacco flavors. But what's impressive is how much flavor you do get from a topping so modestly applied. Definitely not a run-of-the-mill goopy, over sweetened mess. And I respect that. This stuff burns great, maybe a tad fast (probably the burley), but it has never burned hot, bit my tongue, or even gurgled (except in a Stanwell with a very narrow draw). In the bag, it smells of sugar, strong vanilla, with hints of liquor. The taste is not overwhelmingly sweet or vanilla, but the vanilla is there alongside a pleasantly mild, toasty sweetness. Creamy...mellow...smooth. This is an aromatic I will keep in rotation for the days when I crave a vanilla break from the non-aros. Just can't beat that price. Well done Stokkebye
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh to 1 year
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2015 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
This tobacco is very cool. I really love it. It is full of all kinds of flavors that tantalize the sensors. Very enjoyable indeed. I think You will really like this blend.
Pipe Used: Genod
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: newly bought
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"