Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Dark Bird's Eye

(3.30)
Manufactured from dark tobacco 'whole leaf' rather than strips, the mid-rib (or stem) gives the 'birds eye' effect when cut. A strong smoke which was particularly favored by the fishermen as the finer cut meant the tobacco was easier to light and to keep-in on board ship when the weather was bad.
Notes: This is a combination of dark-fired whole leaf Virginias and mid-rib fine cut Kentucky leaf rolled and sliced to make 'bird's eyes'. This fine shag cut was preferred by fisherman and sailors because it was very easy to pack and light.

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Shag
Packaging Bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.30 / 4
68

60

16

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 141 - 148 of 148 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2004 Very Strong None Detected Very Full Tolerable
Appearance: This is a finely cut tobacco that snarled such that it looks like a bird?s nest. The color is medium to dark brown, with light brown stems intermixed. There appear to be no humidifying agents in this, as it dries out quickly if left out.

My sample was received from a friend was a couple of years old. I resealed it and let it sit for about a year before I smoked it.

Initial light reveals that this is clearly a scented tobacco. The scented nature retreats quickly to the background, although it remains for the entire bowl. The flavor is very full from the beginning, without any hint of high citrus notes. This is the closest that I have ever come to a cigar flavor in a tobacco; note that I have never knowingly smoked a tobacco that actually contains cigar leaf. Update: Having smoked this more, I cannot find the scented note that I originally noticed here. Odd to go from something that seemed so ?clearly scented? to not being able to find it at all. The best that I can suggest is that the range of flavor that I associate with natural tobacco has changed.

The nicotine level in this is high, and it packs a punch even in a fairly small bowl (group 3). I found it to be a slightly rough on the mouth, and would characterize it as an occasional smoke. It is a flavorful and unique smoke that requires some attention. It has a tendency to go a bit ashy on me.

Flavor 90/100. Smoking characteristics 65/100. Overall 80/100.

December 2003, Updated March 2004
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 24, 2003 Strong None Detected Full Pleasant
This is another of those G&H "dark" tobaccos I keep on hand, next to the big chair, and which I smoke perhaps once or twice a week. This does not have the maduro strength nor the sweet undertone of Dark Flake, but it is on the dark side. It is extraordinarily smooth in the mouth with no bite and with sort of burnt caramel note, but not that sweet. I am trying to approximate the flavor, but it is a bit ephemeral. It is sweet on the tongue with no bite, exceptionally smooth. This tobacco comes to life in the nose where it is spicy, tingly and dark, somewhat on the order of exhaling with a drop of Meyers Dark Rum on the tongue. This tobacco is a an exercise in patience to pack. It is a shag cut and snarled like a wad of hair. I like to dutifully separate the strands (allowing it to air, separating the wads) before packing. This is a unique and great tobacco. It is not an all day smoke because it is quite strong in in every dimension, but once or twice a week, it is a treat. And it packs a nicotine punch. If you have an interest in the Lake District treatment of dark English tobacco, I suggest you might want to start with this one. Most highly recommended. Paddy.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 24, 2003 Very Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
(05/24/03) This is a very fine ribbon/shag cut which you actually have to pull apart when filling your pipe. This would be a good pipe tobacco to roll into cigarettes, if you have the know how and materials. It is mostly dark brown to black in color, with some hints of tan and gold. This tobaccy packs very easily, in fact, you must be careful not to over pack it which I have done more than once. This is said to be a pure Virginia with no topping and I must agree. No topping is present but nor is there any of the natural hints of sweetness usually associated with Virginias. This lights and burns very easily. It can get hot and bite quickly, if your not careful. This tobaccy offers a whole lot of cool smoke, if you go slowly. The flavor profile unusual and unique. It is very deep, rich, delicious and pure Virginia. It is on the high octaine end of the nicotine spectrum and will kick your ass in a heartbeat if your not careful. Experianced smokers should love it! Beginers should go slow! Do not smoke this on an empty stomach. I've been buzzed by this tobaccy more than once but it do taste Sooooo Goooood!!!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2003 Very Strong Very Mild Very Full Tolerable
Whoa Nelly! Talk about your nicotine blast, this weed has a wallop that's right up there with all the other heavy hitters (Royal Yacht, Nightcap etc). At the tin, I am reminded of the rich, raisiny-cocoa spiciness I like in the matured Virginia vein (like Yacht or St. Bruno) but at the match, aroma seems to lose out to the powerful heap of smoke that tickles your nose and coats your throat and tongue with dense syrupy saliva--awesome! Thanks to the reviewers, I loaded a very small (317) Peterson System for this stuff, and I'll be sticking with it for the duration. A little goes a long way here. This tobacco is super stringy and needed to be torn up to get a good load. Great for a morning fix if yr in a hurry, but also worth luxuriating over. Not for complexity-snobs, aromatic smokers, or beginners. Those who like a wallop in their daily diet, coupled with the soul-satisfying smoke of good strong Virginia, check it out.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 14, 2003 Very Strong Medium to Strong Medium Strong
Dark Birdseye is a very spicy tobacco but not in the oriental sense. The spice-like sensation is probably derived from the high nicotine content. This smoke is very easy to light and keep lit due to the fine "angel-hair-like" cut. I love the hint of soap and strength of this tobacco. It is similar to G&H's Sliced Brown Twist but is earthier and without the sweetness.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2002 Very Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
Strong stuff and easy to pack if you remember not to press down too hard at first. Some smokers cut up the shag but I don't

The taste is creamy and rich with virginia sweetness. Sometimes I pick up some British "soapiness" but the tobacco is not topped.

I smoke this in small bowls, slowly, and after dinner to perk up.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2001 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Full Tolerable to Strong
This tobacco is not like any I've seen. It is ribbon cut, which makes it easy to pack, and subsequently easy to overpack, care should be taken. The tobacco is mostly brown in color with specks of gold. The tobacco is very easy to light, and maintain. The taste is of Va's, with no apparent casings present, it burns cool and smooth, with no bite, unless one puffs incessantly. Overall, I would give this tobacco a 10, because of the uniqueness, and the flavor. The only down side to this tobacco is that it would be easy to go through alot of it because of the fine texture.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2009 Medium to Strong Very Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
I was given about two ounces of this as I am a Five Brothers smoker at least once a day and don't find it all that strong and no "N" moments and I don't tend to like VAs all that much. But, man this is a good one. Had my first "N" moment in years with this one! But I love it. It is very cool to me especially for a VA, and burned well all the way down and lit on first attempt. Very mild but with the kick and tastes a little spicy and dark chocolate or expresso like. I like it's cut, reminds me of the Flying Dutchman of old but much darker and not aromatic. I have to say, this one will make me try more dark VAs as I really like it. I also like the room note, but it mike make my wife run for the hills, I have not smoked it around her yet. I highly recommend this to try, especially those that can handle Five Brothers as it is a great alternative. And IMHO, G and H does not know how to make a bad baccy. I have never disliked anything from them. Will keep this one around.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"