Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Dark Bird's Eye

(3.30)
Manufactured from dark tobacco 'whole leaf' rather than strips, the mid-rib (or stem) gives the 'birds eye' effect when cut. A strong smoke which was particularly favored by the fishermen as the finer cut meant the tobacco was easier to light and to keep-in on board ship when the weather was bad.
Notes: This is a combination of dark-fired whole leaf Virginias and mid-rib fine cut Kentucky leaf rolled and sliced to make 'bird's eyes'. This fine shag cut was preferred by fisherman and sailors because it was very easy to pack and light.

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Shag
Packaging Bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.30 / 4
68

60

16

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 25, 2012 Strong Very Mild Full Tolerable to Strong
The sweet, deep, rich earthy, woody, fermented tangy dark fruit from the Virginias, and nutty, lightly woody, earthy, spicy, floral, herbal, vegetative, dry and lightly sour Kentucky will fill your senses. The Kentucky is the lead component. It reminds me a little of Kendall Kentucky, which is less sweet, and a little stronger in intensity and nicotine, but this is no light weight blend. The strength is potent and the taste is full. The nic-hit is in the center of medium to strong. Won't bite or get harsh even if you're working at it. Has a few small rough edges mixed in with some smoothness. It may need a little drying time when you first open the bag. Thin cut, it burns at a slightly slow pace, cool, clean with a very consistent sweet and savory, floral flavor. Leaves some moisture in the bowl, and requires some relights. Has a pleasant, lingering after taste, and strong room note. Not an all day smoke. Smoke it in a small bowl or have a little something on your stomach if you use a bigger pipe for it.

-JimInks
47 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 09, 2002 Very Strong Very Mild Very Full Very Pleasant
I recently smoked a bowl of this powerful, yet delicious tobacco at a pipe club Christmas dinner. Not only was the company outstanding, so was this delightful, shag cut tobacco.

If I had smoked this at home, I would have given the leaf a whirl in my blender because the shaggy strands were too long for an easy pack job. The strength will make the veteran puffer giddy with excitement. The neophyte on the other hand, may swoon, drool and topple over.

Rich, smooth, creamy and mounds of smoke. Cool too. What more could a pipe man (or woman) ask for? On second thought, I don't think the women will want to try Dark Birdseye because this blend will put hair on your chest!
37 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 10, 2007 Strong None Detected Full Pleasant
UPDATE: Because of the amount of this tobacco that I consume and the frequency at which I consume it - I felt compelled to revisit my review. I have elevated this from 3 to 4 stars.

This is now in the forefront of my daily rotation. It is strong - but not overwhelming. For me ... slow ... shallow puffs gives me the most enjoyment.

Not unlike Fairmorn's Dark Fired Shag there is an unmistakable smoky quality when flue cured with oak. But - this IMHO is a better smoke for a few reasons, not limited to wonderful fine ribbon cut. The overall tobacco is more pleasant and the faint Lakeland Distict cologne may have a great deal to do with it. If one is so inclined to enjoy an occasional pinch of tobacco in the cheek (I'm not talking about those candied floor cuttings they pawn off as chew or that fiberglass laden crap one dips) - you wouldn't be disappointed in this at all either.

This tobacco loves aging and becomes sweeter, more complex and the faint Lakeland scent lingers in the background. I find the room note draws no complaints, which is mind-boggling considering the stoutness of the tobacco.

Cheers, VC

9/21/05 - This is the equivalent of a doppio espresso in pipe smoking for me. It's simple, straightforward and strong. It has it's own bit of complexity and lanquishes in the deep tones.

Fill is easy, burns cool yet quick and is the perfect full flavor short smoke. In my experience this is best for a small bowl despite its fast burning qualities, great in a cob. I smoke this when I don't have time for my ritual but would like my satisfaction. The perfect tobacco for a long walk off a short pier.

Cheers, VC
32 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 11, 2016 Strong Extremely Mild Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Sweet, dark fired, natural tobacco flavor with just a hint of Lakeland in the background. I like this flavor very much. I also like the strength of this smoke. If it were a weapon it would be a blunt instrument. I have smoked this in small bowls only and can't imagine ever using a large one. It's just not necessary or desirable. If you like your tobacco strong and natural you owe it to yourself to try this. If you have an aversion to Lakeland flavor, don't sweat it as it's barely noticed. It's actually a nice touch.

Body is full (strong). Taste is full. Lakeland is extremely mild. Burns perfectly. Wonderful stuff.
Pipe Used: Ropp Acorn, MM Dwarf, MM Little Devil Acorn
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 10, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
This is the espresso vermicelli of tobaccos! And the last time I enjoyed virginia like this was with Ratray's Black, only you don't have to fight Bird's Eye, in fact it is nothing but easy to pack, light, smoke, tip out ash, and clean after. The long long fine shag cut is great and so is the deep dark caramelized flavor. The strength is just strong and very predictable - nothing to be afraid of. Bag note is a bit intimidating and don't be scared off by this, but it reminds me of a stinky dog's ear and coffee beans (now you have to buy some). Flavor is simple but full and if you've been smoking brown twist, you'll surely recognize this as one componet of those more complex tobaccos.

A few notes.... Packing the pipe is as easy as it gets and there is absolutely no marginal material in the product. No woody bits or clumps that need to be fussed with. Lighting the fine shag is easy as is tamping it. Because the vermicelli like strands are deep seated in the pipe, you can tip out the ash as you smoke without fear of dumping out the unburnt tobacco. This is a good to the bottom of the bowl tobacco; never sour but it does get potent. Nice clean pipe afterwards no gooey sugar mess or heavy soot to clean. Like most Gawith products, this is quality UK style. Treat yourself to something other than cheap!
Pipe Used: MM Diplomat COB
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2022 Strong Extremely Mild Full Pleasant
Long time reader, first time reviewer. 🙂

Dark Birds Eye has quickly become one of my favorite smokes. Deep and rich, sweet and smoky. There’s a bit of chocolate and coffee, especially on the retrohale. Maybe the faintest note of that famous (infamous?) Lakeland essence that others have mentioned, but it’s barely perceptible. Overall this is wonderful all-tobacco smoke. Strong? Yes, but not overly so. Compare to ODF, Kendal Kentucky, Irish Flake, and similar. The fine shag cut makes for an easy pack - make sure to pack it tight, as it will burn quickly. A terrific smoking experience.
Pipe Used: Various
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 18, 2021 Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
There's not much to say on packaging as it comes in bulk, or if you are very fond of it you can buy the 17oz green bag of it. When I first looked inside, I saw a very nice dark brown shag cut tobacco. When I stick my nose in the jar, I smell Mesquite Barbecue, earth, hay, and wood. A very nice smell. It came at the perfect moisture for me and it was easy to pack and light. Just a side note but in my experience the tighter you pack this the easier it stays lit.

Dark Fired Kentucky has a lot of natural oils so as soon as I light my pipe I have plumes of luscious white smoke. The first thing that hits me is the soft, but somewhat spicey barbecue notes from the Dark fired Kentucky. It has a nuttiness, and cigar-like floral qualities. The Virginias add depth, hay and body. The Lakeland is just enough to let you know it's there without making this into any iteration of an aromatic. A nice, bold, real tobacco flavor.

The taste is a medium-full. A nice lingering dark fired aroma. The strength is strong but not as strong as HH Bold Kentucky, more like Old Dark Fired. Right where I'm happy with Lady N most days. The room note is Burley forward so keep that in mind. A very good blend and an easy smoke that is smooth, strong and consistent.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Oceano Poker
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2018 Strong None Detected Full Strong
A wonderful, stout blend in the manner of Kendal Dark and Kendal Kentucky! The scent of the unburnt tobacco is smoky, hearty and earthy and somehow I perceive a whiff of cinnamon, which I find most pleasant!

Lovely, yet rather coarse cut, but packing isn't too much of a magic trick.. from the first puffs you get a full-bodied, smoky and earthy aroma. Woodsy smokiness, earthiness and a cool, dry smoke. There's a whisper of Lakeland Essence, yet so mild that I think it wasn't applied to the tobacco but got "infected" with it in the production hall. It's not unpelasant and disappears quickly. Not complex at all, what you smell is what you get! Smokiness, earthiness, woodsy notes, with very little sweetness. Perfect for a quick, powerful and satisfying smoke. Tickles the nose pleasantly on retrohale.

Recently I tried quite a few G&H blends (and those produced by them for others) and most of them turned me off.. a few taste of burnt rubber and burnt cookie crumbles, some have too much of the 'old grandma perfume'-Essence... but whenever G&H grabs dark fired leaf, especially Kentucky for blending something wonderful comes out of it! Stout tobacco goodness, that gives me this "back in the old days"-feeling, of old fishermen and sailors that puff this weed in their pipes while working.
Pipe Used: Clays, Cobs, Briars, Morta
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2016 Very Strong Extremely Mild Full Pleasant
Do you really think that your most precious and most craved early morning pipe must be a light sourish Oriental with a whiff of Latakia? That rather will sooth you back into your bed. Take the Dark Bird's Eye - and it will instantly cheer you up for the new day!

Fast-burning potent stuff with pleasant smoky aroma and hints of sweetness is ideal for those still battling their cigarette addiction (like me) and craving a fast nicotine fix in the morning. Not overwhelmingly strong, not sharp (like Kendal Kentucky might feel sometimes). I even dare to inhale it to get that awesome tickling sensation in the throat with no bitter consequences. I would highly recommend this manly tobacco to former heavy cigarette-smokers.
Pipe Used: Tanganyika Meerschaum
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 23, 2015 Strong Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
Summary: a strong, comfortable smoke that varies the sweetness of Virginia leaf with spice and mid-range flavors.

Among the codger blends, the shag cuts often tend to be both the most unassuming and the least likely to take prisoners. This dark shag reveals its origins in smoke curing which transfer the sweetness of Virginia leaf into a broader range of flavors and gives it a smoky tang. The odious Lakeland essence, a cousin of AIDS and funeral home rosewater, burns off quickly and leaves a strong dark smoke with undertones of sweetness and earthy flavor. This is a great all-day smoke for people who enjoy being outdoors.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"