Gallaher Limited Condor Ready Rubbed (Green)

(3.06)
The special distinction of Condor pipe tobaccos lies in their superb flavour. Being pressed tobaccos, their taste, aroma and strength are in that perfect harmony so much appreciated by the most knowledgeable of smokers. Condor ready rubbed, Britain's most popular pipe tobacco. After pressing and slicing, the tobacco is rubbed-out to a perfect density, ready for filling the pipe.
Notes: (The description above doesn't normally appear on single packets of Condor, this is from a multi pack box of five 50 grams packets.) This was made in Ireland for many years, it is now made in Poland.

Details

Brand Gallaher Limited
Blended By Japan Tobacco International
Manufactured By Japan Tobacco International
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor, Floral Essences, Other / Misc
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 50 grams pouch
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.06 / 4
59

46

25

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 41 - 56 of 143 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2018 Strong Strong Full Tolerable
I know many people who love this, but I can't pretend to be one of them. Many years ago, I had an uncle who loved this too and it still carries the nostalgia that makes me want to keep trying to like it. I find that no matter how many times I return to it, the taste profile upsets my stomach, assaults my taste buds with soapiness, and reminds me of the nausea I have occasionally felt on open water in a small boat. I can't pretend that this is a balanced review, as too many experiences in bowls of varying sizes and different woods have spoiled my ability to be dispassionate or objective.

I don't believe that I will ever try this again, and if the draconian masters of tobacco deletion leave this tobacco on the shelves alone and freely available, I would hang up my pipes and vape. If you love this, I salute you and view you with respect for the diversity that accompanies a hobby such as ours, but I cannot share your enthusiasm.

I think my review is necessary to remind me never to have another go at this. It won't sway the inexperienced explorer, as so many rate this so well, but it may serve as a caveat for those who believe that the years may alter taste buds so much as to make valuable that which is essentially unpalatable.

If you love it, keep on! If you are unsure, give it a go! If you don't like it, find it a new home that will appreciate this, sooner rather than later. It isn't going to improve.
Pipe Used: Several
PurchasedFrom: OTC outlets
Age When Smoked: New, aged, ancient...
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 06, 2016 Medium to Strong Strong Full Pleasant
This is one of the great OTC pouch tobaccos of all time. In the description above it reads "Virginia" in the contents box, but I am not sure if I believe this. For one thing it is full-bodied. Secondly, it feels like you are smoking a burley of some sort. Were it not for the strong aromatics, I'd say it is pretty similar to St. Bruno, both in composition and strength. It seems like it wants to be smoked well moist, and once you get it going it is quite easy to keep lit. The flavoring is reminiscent of floral essences and tastes quite sweet. I cannot detect any tongue bite and does not seem to smoke hot despite its moist content. For $6 a pouch in Spain I think it's really good value for money as well, so based on all of this I think it deserves 4 stars.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum bowl on a Falcon pipe.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 18, 2015 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Leaf: A mix of rubbed and broken flake, with a few slightly larger, but still very small, chunks of flake here and there.there. Colors range from medium brown to slightly more or slightly less medium brown.

Tin Aroma: The aroma is very strong. There is an acidity that jumps up your nose,there is tangy sweetness, a little floral note and then a good dose of some sort of alcoholic flavouring, it is almost a little acrid. The tail end is a raisin like note that make you realise 'this actually smells all right now I think about it'. You will go back for another sniff... is that Grandma's old perfume?

Taste: With the first puff I got a strong floral/soapy hit, I got a bitterness and a bit of tang, then I got the flavour of whatever alcohol this is flavoured with. I tasted the flavouring at the back of my mouth as I do with a scotch or bourbon, but I couldn't tell what this was, it was nice enough though. The soapiness made its way to the rear and the Sweetness of the Virginia came through for the rest of the bowl. It was earthy, tangy, bitter-sweet, and very robust, the floral hint and the little soapiness never disappeared. It really comes together in a nice smoke though, it seems well balanced, the flavours are strong and consistent throughout. If you don't like the Lakeland floral experience, or bar of soap style some people sense it as, you won't like this. If you aren't averse to it this stuff makes for a pleasant and flavoursome smoke. It has really grown on me, and watch out, it really grows on your pipe too! Who you gonna call? Ghostbusters!

Smokeability: Fire danger = Extreme. This stuff is very easy to light, and stays lit with practically no maintenance. Straight from the tin, got going with one match, no relights, and very little left but white dust at the end. It doesn't burn hot or bite, and seems to not mind how it is packed, or which bowl you use. It billows decent smelling white smoke the whole time.

DISCLAIMER: It has a decent Nic kick to it, which I didn't expect as I puffed away like mad on Huge bowls of this stuff. It got me, the bastard, snuck up on me it did. It felt nice though... a suprise for such an easy smoking and simple blend.

Summary: It is actually quite a nice tobacco, a bit different for me due to the floral and soapy tastes, which aren't what I consider overpowering, not by a long shot is this stuff bad. It appears the taste is how it is intended to be and typical for some Lakeland blends, and it is worth giving a chance if for nothing other than to expand your palette, and the Nicotine of course. Much like the Player's I recently reviewed, this seems to be a no fuss, no frills OTC blend that probably has a huge cult following of old codgers shouting praises at the heavens about it, and I can't blame them. It only seems to be available in the U.K and a few other countries they stole (Except Australia, but we are only Convicts anyway..) so U.S buyers will pay a premium plus postage which makes it hard to recommend to you. For people who can find it, go for it, I am pleased with my new experience with Condor.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2015 Strong Strong Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
I find it very difficult to review this blend, but I'll give a try nonetheless.

My first impressions teeter between the sublime and a dumpster fire. I'll begin with the good news—Condor imparts a most interesting taste. There are a variety of notes, though a floral one seems to dominate for me (I get no liquor taste, as advertised). It's a smooth, airy smoke, yet, oddly, this blend definitely has some balls to it. Those that state this blend is strong are true, yet the strength, for me, didn't slap me in the face, rather it built up as I smoked the bowl—then, towards the end, it gave me a bit of a clout on the noggin. There are stronger blends out there, that's for sure.

At times, the taste of this smoke was outstanding (including a great side stream), at others, not so much. In other words, it's an uneven smoke for me. This may be because of the vast amounts of additives injected. Marmite, bangers, and soap, indeed. Whether or not any of those "spices" have been added or not I cannot say, but something surely has been. There is a good amount PG added as the tobacco was still moist after a year of it being decanted. Let there be no doubt, this is an additive stew.

I definitely can see why someone would thoroughly enjoy smoking this, but, for me, it's just an every once in awhile smoke—I find it hard to bypass the additives in this one. So, I'm giving this blend two stars, a split right down the middle.

Happy piping!
Pipe Used: Leonessa Capri
PurchasedFrom: A pipe shop in Paris, France 2013
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2012 Medium to Strong Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Certainly a fairly strong and perfumed smoke; if neither appeal, stay far, far away. While the scents used are a bit on the strong side for me, it made a nice change of pace. I seem to get a bit more of the underlying tobacco in the folded flake than in the ready-rubbed, while in the latter the scents are a bit stronger.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 14, 2012 Strong Medium to Strong Full Strong
i tried this tobacco many years ago and iam glad i didnt review it as my knowledge of tobacco and taste variation was concluded to captain black..not to say i am an english tobacco smoker as i went back to aromatics with arms wide open but i tried my share of non aromatics and this tobacco has improved to my personal rating much more. easy packed and hold the fire very well, mellow and no tongue bite of any kind, strong in the nic department and have a lakeland soapy incence smell and flavor to it, the room note is not some thing that you would please your surrounding with (hell even i didnt like it) but all an all its a very nice otc blend..could use some drying though. to my tatse i found this tobacco to earn its righteous place with a cup of earl gray tea (very complementing taste-wise).
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 12, 2009 Strong Medium to Strong Medium Very Strong
When I first tried Condor, I hated it. This seems to be a common reaction! The soapy, hairspray smell of the unlit tobacco was fairly repellant. I tried again some years later however, and I'm glad I did. I smoke this in an unfiltered Falcon. It packs extremely easily, is easy to keep lit and gives a pleasant but not overpowering nicotine hit.No tongue burn, ever. The soapiness is just noticeable in the taste of the smoke, but not in an unpleasant way. I love the dense texture of the smoke this stuff produces; very cigar like! I would smoke this more, but the room note is very strong and not at all pleasant, so I'm confined to the garage with this one.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 14, 2009 Very Strong Medium to Strong Full Tolerable
I tried this (as my first tobacco) with my first ever pipe. (I ordered Condor Blended but recieved the Original variety.

It truly is a wonder I am still alive, let alone remain a regular pipe smoker!

This is HIGHLY POTENT, okay it's not going to blow your man-bits off, (it'll try, it'll try well at that) but it is very strong and I would not try this again (for a long, long time) for fear of getting the shivers (and nausea) like that ever again, almost as bad as the food poisoning I once recieved so gratefully.

That said I will never throw away any of my old pouches/tins -- I may one day return when my palate is far more experienced and able to tolerate a lot more.

I was a cad and a pillock to think I would get away with this as my first tobacco.

I am very sure that it's a decent smoke -- when you are accustomed to it.

I am sure it was the Nicotine rather than the taste that did it.

Overall: One to be wary of.

Approach with caution, armed and deadly!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 03, 2007 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
I was prepared to give Condor a zero, and it certainly isn't my kind of blend. But some people do go for it, so I'll try to be a reasonable boy. From pipe tobacco, I do not expect Hotel soap. I don't look for it in my coffee or my chocolate, in my whiskey or my Stilton, or in a grilled salmon. Why would I want it here? I prefer the breath of a grassy field, the density of dark and complex sweets and the spice from Perique. Opening the pouch I got the distinct nose of grandmother's Yardley. However, it did burn well, and it must have a good dose of Nic b/c I had to sit down part way through my first headachy bowl. This floral sensation may be just the ticket for a former menthol smoker(?) Finally I like to comment on the aftertaste, which was, guess what? Smoked hospital soap. 2 out of 5 stars.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2007 Very Strong Extra Strong Full Very Strong
I bought this tobacco on a lark in Spain, before I got a chance to research it on Tobacco Reviews. I commend men like Pipestud who try the tobaccos (especially the nasty ones) so I think twice about it. I had no such tobacco gardian angel in this case. I was alone with my pipe, this tobacco and what ever chemicals the boys at Condor R&D decided would be good for their company's bottom line to put into this tobacco. Condor is the only collection of substances that has made me sick thus far after putting it in my pipe and smoking it. After less than a quarter bowl in a small briar, I was dumbstruck. And I definately don't think it was only the nicotine. There is an artificial chemical quality to this product that gives off every signal of being extremely unheathy in every way you could think of a pipe tobacco being unhealthy. After I smoked it my wife said I turned white like I had seen a ghost. I told her it wasn't a ghost, it was the tobacco. I still was feeling it the next morning.

This is a contemplative blend. I seriously contemplated quiting pipe smoking after my Condor Experience.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 27, 2007 Mild to Medium Extra Strong Very Mild Strong
Let me preface by saying that I enjoy trying old-timey blends and hey, I even got through a couple bowls of Mixture 79. Thus, I kept an open mind when I tried Condor. It's economical -- only about 3 euros where I spotted it in Spain. There, the praise stops. It tastes like soap. That's it, brudda. Soap. Not a tobacco-taste molecule in the bowl. Tainted a perfectly good yard pipe too. Am I really to believe this is an old standby? As my friends in the U.K. say, there are horses for courses. But, really, I can't think of a steed noble enough to like Condor. No cheers.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 31, 2007 Strong Strong Full Tolerable to Strong
When I was young, I cursed my mother, and my father washed out my mouth with soap. It only took once to learn my lesson. Never again.

Now, as an adult, I smoked Condor, and my mouth was filled with an even more foul taste of soap. It only took once to learn my lesson. Never again.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2006 Medium to Strong Strong Full Tolerable to Strong
condor should change it`s name to soap, thats all i could taste maybee it becuse im quite new to the pipe, but i wont be buying it again and i still have not got the taste out of my pipe. yuk!!!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2002 Very Strong Medium Very Full Tolerable
The most potent supermarket tobacco availble in England. A real powerhouse of virginia flake at its most voodoo. Strong when first puffed and keeps getting stronger. But thats not the whole story as it tastes of soap. Not a little bit, but like a sample of washing powder had been thrown in the flake press for good measure. Hay maybe they could use it in an advertising promotion. Cleans you pipe as it smoked!. The bar version is also availble for those requiring greater strength.( this has been known to make young women faint/swoon/callapse. Honestly. Pretty unbeatable in the room note stakes also.Hopefully unavailble outside UK, they would'nt dare.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2022 Medium to Strong Strong Full Unnoticeable
Fresh tobacco smell after floral essence. No chance to taste tobacco even after light. You can find earthiness some kind of fruits some floral topping and I even taste something like mushrooms. Tobacco was too dry to pack immediately. You need to dry it at least one hour. After that still need to be relighted several times.

I enjoyed smoke it, taste was interesting. Definitely worth to try. Maybe it is not for everybody, but for lakeland lovers a must choice.
Pipe Used: BPK6164, BPK6715, Savineli315, MM
PurchasedFrom: Tesco in London
Age When Smoked: 1 year
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 19, 2021 Medium to Strong Strong Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Condor is something that puts a big grin on my face every time I open up a pouch. Condor Flake was the only thing my Great Grandfather smoked, so his pipes are now my dedicated Condor pipes. I like all versions of Condor, but Plug and Long Cut (formerly Flake) are my favourite versions. I think there's slightly more sauce on the Ready Rubbed version, which might appeal to some people.

Condor was once extremely popular in Scotland. Walk into any of my local pubs and you can still smell the mighty Condor haunting the building, despite indoor public smoking being banned for 15 years. For this reason, definitely consider trying Condor out in a cob first, because it will ghost a pipe quickly. For anyone interested in trying it, I pick up the following flavours: wintergreen, incense, floral and alcohol.

It's easily an all day smoke for me. Easy to pack, light and smoke. I rarely find myself relighting. The flavour is strong, but it's fantastic. I go through phases where I hoover through packets of Condor. No tongue bite and no hassle of any kind. I can still buy this at some of my local supermarkets, which is a bonus.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"