Gallaher Limited Condor Ready Rubbed (Green)

(3.06)
The special distinction of Condor pipe tobaccos lies in their superb flavour. Being pressed tobaccos, their taste, aroma and strength are in that perfect harmony so much appreciated by the most knowledgeable of smokers. Condor ready rubbed, Britain's most popular pipe tobacco. After pressing and slicing, the tobacco is rubbed-out to a perfect density, ready for filling the pipe.
Notes: (The description above doesn't normally appear on single packets of Condor, this is from a multi pack box of five 50 grams packets.) This was made in Ireland for many years, it is now made in Poland.

Details

Brand Gallaher Limited
Blended By Japan Tobacco International
Manufactured By Japan Tobacco International
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor, Floral Essences, Other / Misc
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 50 grams pouch
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.06 / 4
59

46

25

13

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 143 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2013 Strong Strong Full Pleasant
If you like fizzy lagers or, God help us, American bottled beer; if you like green salads and quiche or if you enjoy watching competitive figure skating then stay away from the Mighty Condor.

If, on the other hand, you crave strong English ales, porters and stouts; if you regard mature Cheddar and strong onions as ambrosia and if you adore the thud and blunder of proper(fifteen a side) Rugby Football then you are gonna love this stuff.

Condor is the best over the counter tobacco available in England, bar none. From the first puff it is all about the scent, slightly mildewy flowers, locker rooms, old fashioned barber shops and burnt toast. After that it's good old vitamin N, all the way to the heel!!

If heaven is a Public Bar where there is a never ending flow of IPA, the company of Pipemen and a constant supply of Condor then, Sweet Baby Jesus, take me now!
45 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 18, 2015 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The flavor of the Virginia is much sublimated, though I do get some earth, wood, citrus, and a hint of grass along with the more obvious tangy deep dark fruit. The topping is a little perfumy and soapy, and definitely floral. There’s a slight sharpness to it that I associate with burley, so perhaps a little is present? Has a medium nic-hit. The strength is a couple of steps past the medium mark, while the taste is in the center of medium to full. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns cool, clean and a tad slow with a very consistent deep, rich taste, which is more of an acquired one for many smokers. Leaves little moisture in the bowl and no dottle. Has a pleasant, lingering after taste and stronger room note. It's not an all day smoke, but if this fits your flavor profile, repetition will enter your mind. Made for the experienced smoker. Will ghost a pipe fast, so be prepared to either dedicate a briar or a cob to it. I suggest trying it out in a meer first.

-JimInks
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 11, 2015 Medium to Strong Very Strong Full Tolerable to Strong
When i was a young lad my granfather smoked this out of a stinking old hand carved pipe, i sat by the calor gas fire and watched the clouds of smoke bash against the rain filled window. Even thinking about it makes me shiver , the older i get the more i see the similarity. He was a hard working man and spent most of his young life out at sea braving the cold wind clutching on to his wee blackened pipe and now i can see why. I smoke this in the morning when its cold , i smoke it when the snow sets in for the first time of the year. I smoke it with some stout which i think, is its natural friend and companion.

This baccy has strength , it will slap you in the face and call you a bitch, it has an overwhelming floral taste that will never leave the pipe you either curse or bless with this concoction. It never ever bites, it never ever ever tastes any different from what it usually does no matter what pace you smoke it at , its obviously drowned in casing. I never understood the soappy comment , perhaps some old lads need to buy better denture cleaner or perhaps stop washing there teeth out with fairy liquid ?

Its brash , its over cased , it has balls and it aint afraid to slap you with them .... but its also an old friend , one that many an irish or scottish son will remember with fondness. If you think yer hard enough give it a try , embrace how obnoxious it is. learn to love it.
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2013 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
Was smoking Condor RR 50 years ago. Had a rest from smoking for many years and have come to my senses and realised what has been missing from my life - Condor! Am so happy to find my old friend again having come back to the Pipe. Condor is so readily available still, thank the Lord. Burns so well and really confirms that life still holds so much pleasure for an old guy like me. Bless you Condor.
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2013 Strong Strong Very Full Strong
I bought a pipe via ebay from a fellow in Manchester England. I chatted a bit with him during the transaction about what he smoked. He said he had been enjoying Grousemore recently but he “sucked down packets of Condor regularly”. As I am in the USA I had never heard of Condor and in trying to find it online, I discovered that I couldn't get it here in the USA and the British online stores can't ship it to me because the credit card processing companies restrictions. Mike in Manchester was nice enough to send me five 50 gram packet of Condor RR. (I paid him via Paypal.)

When I received it a loaded up one of my bigger pipes and smoked away. Be careful if you are not used to strong baccy. Condor will spin you out. I had to lie down for a couple of hours. When I recovered and could approach smoking again in a couple of days, I gave a more reasoned try. This is a beautiful smoke! The Virginia is dark and heavy. The smoke is dense. The pipe stays lit even if I put the pipe down for a couple of minutes. It is kind of incensey. I was afraid of the soapy thing found in many reviews, but I like the flavor. The bitterness of the topping balances the sweet of the Virginia so that it's neither sweet nor bitter, much like a well balanced malt/hop beer. This is my favorite tobacco now and thanks to Mike for sending it to me. I have since discovered Mr. Snuff in Ireland sells it online to the USA which I have ordered. Also John Fox sell it and the Condor Plug! It is expensive for USA smokers but well worth it.
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 24, 2003 Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Full Tolerable
I was recently sent a sample pouch of Condor from a friend in England as this tobacco is not available in the USA. It is remarkably powerful in the nicotine department and reminded somewhat of a few of the stronger Gawith & Hogarth tobacco offerings.

Condor is a Virginia/Burley mix, with some topped black cavandish thrown in to round out the field. The topping gains strength at the mid-bowl point, and I did not find it to be pleasant - a bit soapy in fact.

The quality of the leaf was typical for a pouch tobacco blend; good, but not top-shelf. Thick smoke and very dry ash that will scramble from the pipe onto your clothes made this an unusual smoking experience for me. While I will finish the pouch, I shall not go seeking more. I much prefer St. Bruno Ready-Rubbed. Both have a topping added, but Condor's topping is too soapy. I certainly would not cry if this was the only available tobacco in the world, but I would not be giddy with excitement either.
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2017 Medium to Strong Strong Full Very Pleasant
Gallaher Limited - Condor Ready Rubbed (Green).

I've been re-writing a few of my early reviews that I didn't think much to, and here's another I thought I could improve!

Now, if anyone has bothered to read my profile page on Tobacco Reviews, it says how I suffered a traumatic head injury: knocked off motorbike by some cretin, comatose for best part of three months, hospitalized for a year, and left with some issues. I'm not trying to tug on anyone's heart strings, but this got me through some dark moments: a relaxing bowl of Condor R.R. after a day of physiotherapy, was always well appreciated!

Anyhoo, on with review: in the pouch resides a dark brown, very well broken flake, of a decent hydration (this pouch is, it can arrive too moist, but never too dry). It smells heavily cased: the floral attribute rules the aroma. The ignition depends on the moistness of the pouch in question, this lit well. The flavour, however, doesn't fluctuate any from pouch to pouch: heavily cased Lakeland. I guess it could be perceived as being soapy, but that's never been an issue to me. I find, like the pouch-note, the floral side rules. The tobaccos' are mild in flavour; the topping masks them to a certain extent. The burn from Condor R.R. is one I've always found good, and the smoke's quite cool.

The nicotine's pretty strong, and I love the room-note.

Condor Ready Rubbed? For a myriad of reasons, sentimental value being one of them, I'm highly recommending it.

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Jake Hackert (for this review)
PurchasedFrom: Various, usually My Smoking Shop U.K.
Age When Smoked: New
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2014 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Full Strong
Oh I love this tobacco and as a standard over the counter sale general tobacco makes it even more remarkable.. lol soapy, nooo it's the balsamic taste due to adding pine chips during the smoke curing process. it's the taste of the orient, of exotic Lebanese cedars blah blah and you say 'soapy'.. giggle.. a very typical English lakeland blend with a twist.. try it.. you may not hate it..

Pipe Used: all sorts but my parker jockey zulu mostly
PurchasedFrom: everywhere
Age When Smoked: new-as i can't wait not to smoke
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 22, 2012 Mild Strong Medium to Full Overwhelming
Condor is the ultimate Marmite tobacco! This blend is for anyone who enjoys smoking a tobacco that smells and tastes of carbolic soap and burns very hot and with serious tongue bite. I actually had friends leave the room from the "Palmolive Pong!" At first I thought it was my pipe so I switched to a Peterson Churchwarden in the hopes that it was just my previous blend interfering with the Condor... no such luck; I turn the loveliest shade of Irish Racing Green to match my Churchwarden's bowl and put it aside. And to add insult to injury, my Churchwarden now smells like the washing powder aisle at Tesco's! All I can say is that although some swear by Condon, I think I'm in the opposite camp and swear AT it instead.
PurchasedFrom: Tesco
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2015 Medium to Strong Strong Very Full Pleasant
My best loved tobacco of all time.Pure nostalgia in every bowl.Roaming around the streets of industrial east Manchester as a boy it seemed every pipesmoker smoked this blend.Heavenly sweet and pungent aroma (yes,floral!).Having smoked many differing blends both English and Aromatic over the decades I always come home to the mighty Condor. Perfect moisture from the packet.....one good charring light,tamp then enjoy. Very well behaved in the pipe not needing constant tamping.Very floral taste on first light but soon settles down to a good heavy licquerish deep tobacco taste.You either like Condor or you don't. Must admit it has put many a prospective pipesmoker off piping for life...Ben asked many a time "thinking of taking up a pipe Mick...give us a blast"...they all turned the colour of the packet (green)

Whoa folks .Just smoking the new incarnation of my once beloved Condor.Sorry to say nothing remotely like its previous makers efforts. Gone is the fruity tang on light up.No florals here.Lights easy and stays lit.But alas is not the Condor I smoked for over 40 years.Sad

Pipe Used: Petersons,Falcon,Barlings etc
PurchasedFrom: Virtually anywhere in UK
Age When Smoked: Straight from packet
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"