Mac Baren Capstan Original Navy Cut

(3.42)
This blend is a composition of select, ripe Virginia tobaccos whose citrus and grassy notes go brilliantly with the natural sweetness. A must try for everyone who appreciates a good, straightforward Virginia blend.
Notes: Originally produced by W.D. and H.O. Wills, now re-released by MacBaren. According to the Tolkien estate, this was J.R.R. Tolkien's favorite tobacco.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Other / Misc
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.42 / 4
122

72

20

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 218 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 09, 2018 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Capstan is a classic. Definitely a five star tobacco. Luxurious packaging within an elegant tin with flakes neatly stacked in two rows. The flakes are soft and pliable and can be rubbed easily in the palms of two hands. They can also be torn and folded for a slower smoke. Each flake can fill a big bowl. Moisture is just a bit higher than optimum.

The tobacco from the tin has a beautiful sweet aroma of stewed fruit like fig and a touch of vanilla together with hay notes from the tobacco itself. No trouble to get it lit. Burns impeccably, evenly, cool and to the end with no harshness at any point and has an extremely easy draw.Instantly, it produces a smooth and flavorful smoke with a creamy texture. Mature, dark, bready, oaty, figgy and honeyed Virginias intermingle with a faint but detectable touch of something like molasses and vanilla. While I mentioned quite a few aromas, it’s not complexity that is the greatest asset of Capstan, rather its uniform – does not evolve much throughout the bowl - and characteristic taste, one that is instantly recognizable and its creamy and soft mouthfeel. If I had to describe it in two words only, they would be sweet and figgy.

Capstan is an excellent product from packaging, to leaf, to casing which though only mild plays a significant role in the taste of this tobacco. Strength is medium and room note sweet and tobaccoey, quite pleasant …for smokers at least.

Overall, it’s a very easy smoke, recommended for experienced smokers and I think it is a great introduction for newcomers to flake tobaccos.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 24, 2016 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
This shares a lot of the same qualities with Cap Gold. Similar flavor profile of hay, citrus and slightly darker fruit. This is a bit spicier and not as sweet. It's a little smoother than the Gold, in fact that's the first thing I noticed upon lighting. Both also maintain a consistent flavor with no fading, but evolve very little. This version has a little more strength. I like both equally and I'll rate them the same. 3.5 stars rounded up to 4. A very fine and enjoyable smoke.

Medium in body and taste. Flavoring is mild. Burns very well.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
CTS
Feb 22, 2014 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Extremely smooth, creamy smoke - almost silky. Two flakes, folded, fit perfectly in the bowl of my Grabow Grand Duke (no filter). Perfect straight from the tin. Slight raisin-like fruit flavor. Tastes like Best Brown Flake and Full Virginia Flake, in equal amounts, with the positives of both. Flavor and strength build through the bowl. Excellent flavor, particularly when sipped. 4-*.
Pipe Used: Grabow Grand Duke, MM
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: APR 2013
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 27, 2002 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Appearance: Well made flakes, finely cut, about 2 by 3 inches. The color ranges from lemon to rich chestnut, with no dark traces. Over time, a cellared tin will turn .mostly dark, but this takes several years.

Aroma: The aroma is well matured Virginia, with a small quantity of Burley, and a trace of top dressing. Overall, the bouquet reminds me of Fribourg & Treyer?s Cut Va. Plug.

Packing: Owing to the fine cut, it packs well in any bowl. Rolling the flakes into cylinders is very easy..

Lighting: The quickest lighting flake I can recall. A one match light is possible.

Initial flavor: The initial flavor is sweet medium strength Vrginia, quite beguiling and gentle.

Mid-bowl: The tobacco burns cooler than expected unless puffed too quickly. There is a full range of medium to high notes that keep you interested, but don?t stress the tongue or palate.

Finish: Even at the finish, there is no harshness. The ash is medium gray and quite fine.

Summary: This is to me, an excellent all day tobacco that can be smoked either casually or contemplatively. It is rewarding either way.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 23, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Kudos to MacBaren for keeping Capstan Original Navy Cut alive. I paid a pretty penny for a "retro"-style tin of this offered by my local tobacconist, and on popping the tin I was immediately transported (way) back in time, when (Tinder Box proprietor) Ed Kolpin gave me a tin to go with a Dunhill pipe I was to dedicate to this blend. He then went so far as to offer a money back guarantee for the lot, provided I used only wooden matches, and I was not to try to smoke the very last of it. Today, as I smoke this tobacco in the very same pipe, I offer TR readers the same advice, though I admit I am addicted to the convenience afforded by my Tsubota “Bolbo” lighter, and I imagine any “good smoker” might be dedicated with good results. In other words, it’s the tobacco, not the pipe, that makes CONC great.

In the tin, this fine flake looks and smells, for all the world, like the same tobacco I “remember”, slightly musty/earthy, distinctly vegetal, yet unmistakably VA, rough-sh, brown bread over damp silage, with some dry meadow grasses, and nary a trace of else to spoil the experience. I still smoke it straight from the tin (or the jar), folding and loosely stuffing a flake, then slowly, patiently bringing it up to the point where it stays lit. Well tended, it burns OK at a slow pace, and I still leave some dottle at the end of a bowl, to avoid spoiling the last of the smoke. The aroma and the taste are all fragrant VA tobacco of the highest quality, mostly air-cured brown, with some flu-cured lemon, well aged and conditioned. IMO, CONC compares very favorably with Germain’s Brown Flake, in terms of overall quality and in the realization of its potential. Though CONC's lighter, flue and air cured VAs offer a different spectrum of tastes and aromas than GBF's darker VA/Bur blend, it is also very rich and subtly complex (rather than overtly so)., with a similarly natural, sweet aftertaste that goes on and on. Strength is mild to medium. Tastes build from mild toward medium. Room note is spectacular.

Obviously, IMO, CONC is something special for VA lovers. While my own rating system turns a 3.5 into a 4, CONC is a solid 4, best of the best VA flake.
Pipe Used: dedicated briar
PurchasedFrom: Liberty Tobacco
Age When Smoked: old and new, from tins and jars
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 30, 2013 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Great little tobacco. The flakes are very well packaged and come out of the tin ready to smoke. Has a light sweet smoke to it that reminds me of champagne. This blend must be smoked slowly to really let it shine, if you smoke it too quickly you will loose the beautiful delicate flavor.
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 22, 2021 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
This is a wonderful tobacco! It has a sweet, grassy, hay like aroma in the tin that plays out well in the bowl. The flakes are perfect for my Peterson 999. Roll one up and stuff it in the bowl; it fills it perfectly and burns well. the initial light gives a sweet, bright and citrusy flavor that is truly delicious. It makes me know why I love to smoke pipes. Halfway through bowl, the flavor becomes a bit more earthy. I find Capstan an excellent balance of bright sweetness and rich earthiness. Not heavy like a Latakia, but musty and solid with a pleasant lightness that I think is characteristic of good Virginias. I think Mac Baren does well by its tobaccos; they are well worth the cost. The flavor burns through consistently and clearly, and Capstan is a delicious blend of mildly sweet, bright and bready tobacco. I tried this to get a sense of what a solid Virginia would taste like. I think I found it.
Pipe Used: Peterson 999
PurchasedFrom: TobaccoPipes.com
Age When Smoked: new
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 30, 2017 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
This is, simply put, one of the best VA flakes I have ever tried. I went through the first tin very quickly and without "trying" - a definite sign that i really liked it. This is not a "try-hard" tobacco. Burns clean and evenly with few relights, moisture is perfect right out of the tin and all that classic VA creaminess that we VA fans love and crave. Rubs out easily with a wonderful VA haylike grassy smell. This one smokes cool with no bite and no bitterness towards the bottom of the bowl. I think this would be a great VA flake for the veteran or the beginner. It can easily be enjoyed by all. There is no reason that great pipe tobacco should be a difficult effort. Capstan original is surely not difficult. It is quite simply one of the few perfect smokes I have ever had in my adventures with the pipe. PLEASE don't stop making this one Mac Baren. It is a Classic!!

4 stars ****

Cheers All,,

Glorfindel
Pipe Used: Peterson Half Bent Christmas Pipe 2016
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 29, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
That's the stronger version of capstan flakes.similar to the gold one but with a few differences.when you open it you get get citruses earth and a fig topping.rubs easy with i bit moist.no drying is needed.lights with i bit effort and might need a few relights.burns cool and slow with proper moisture.the flavours are between citrus,dried fruits, earth and sweetness from fig topping in my opinion.leaves a little moisture at the end of the bowl.the nicotine level is ok for an all day smoking experience.the differences between this one and the golden version.this flake is darker with deeper flavours and more sweetness.the golden flake is more citrusy and lighter in nicotine level.both blends are not complicated with natural flavours and certainly a must try!
Age When Smoked: Rubed and left it dry for 1/2 hour.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 07, 2014 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
My wife, an occasional pipe smoker herself, gifted me two tins she found at the West Coast Pipe Show several years ago. I still have half of one tin remaining that I opened from a Ball jar for a Christmas treat this year. This review is based on those aged tins as I was not a pipe smoker back when this Willis version was brand new. If I had to pick one Virginia tobacco to smoke for a lifetime, this would be the one. Its beautifully sweet, with a slight taste of hay and with all of the age on these tins, it was just sublime. Maybe it was more medium when first tinned, but I would place this more in the mild, or mild to medium category. It is topped, but very lightly and at this point can’t quite tell with what. What I can say is that I would happily pay the price on another tin! Great stuff.
Age When Smoked: over 25 years
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"