Forums

Which tobacco cut d...

Notifications
Clear all

Which tobacco cut do you prefer?

Juan José Pascual Lobo
Topic starter
Noble Member

Of all the different types of tobacco cut, which one is your favorite and why?. My favorite is coarse cut. Very easy to pack and blends with this cut have a distinctive flavor. Burns slow and I find flavors a bit deeper. I also like broad ribbon cut. More flakes than normal have been entering my stash lately. As said, I have no much experience with them.

23 Replies
Ted
 Ted
Famed Member

Interesting question. I had to think about this for a bit. The cut can have quite a large impact on how a tobacco will smoke, not just in the mechanics, but also in how the flavors develop (and meld together in the blend prior to smoking).

I tend to match certain blends to certain pipes, or at least certain bowl sizes and airflow characteristics. Though certainly not the only reason, I think a large factor in why some blends smoke better in one pipe over another has to do with different cuts. Rough cuts in deeper, narrower bowls generally burn poorly for me, with little flavor and regular relighting. While narrower ribbons in wide bowls require more concentration than I want to give to keep them burning at a good pace and not too fast. 

I can’t really think of any tobacco that I like that I would prefer to be in a different cut than it’s commonly made in. Also the cut doesn’t usually affect my decision to purchase a particular tobacco either. An example of one that is sold in different cuts where I have tried both is Haunted Bookshop. I bought the cake version when it first came out. I didn’t notice any substantial difference over the usual ribbon cut, but it changed which pipes I preferred it in. 

The only time I pay attention to cuts is when I’m cutting ropes or true plugs. I tend to cut ropes into thin coins Mac Baren style and stack and fold them the same way. Plugs it depends on the blend, some into thinner ribbon and some I cube.